Just goes to show you that a live telecast makes stuff all difference to the crowd.

This talk in the Herald-Sun during the week of the MCC being "compensated" during the next TV deal, for the networks going live against the gate is totally unwarranted.

Probably one of the best contested games of the year ..skills were pretty good...it'sccertainly a hundred percent on the garbage the saints have turned out this year .

Wasn't described that way on the radio. 88,181 who counted that Mr Magoo. Empty seats galore in the forward pocket Collingwood were kicking to in the first qtr.

I wonder how the tv ratings went, i swear i could have smashed my TV a few times tonight with channel 7's sh*thouse coverage/ camera views 10 kilometres away/ megawall crap/ lets show the crowd while the game goes on. Footy coverage was better 10 years ago.
Although their crappy camera views probably wont impact the ratings.

There were plenty of empty seats tonight but for once the MCC turned up and filled their area. Shows what is possible if the MCC decide to show.

Probably one of the best contested games of the year ..skills were pretty good...it'sccertainly a hundred percent on the garbage the saints have turned out this year .

Pfffffft. You have got tobe kidding. Not the worst, but not the best.

Probably one of the best contested games of the year..skills were pretty good...it'sccertainly a hundred percent on the garbage the saints have turned out this year .

Not according to your board...

Great crowd though, well done folks. How was the Carlton:Collingwood ratio?

Disagree. Thought the skills were average from both sides, never thought the Blues were in with a chance, even when they were level or in front. Maybe it was their body language, I don't know - to me, they didn't seem a team ready to hunt Collingwood; they were not desperate enough by half to really create something exciting. I thought the Pies sensed this, and essentially cruised in about 3rd gear.

I expected more from Carlton and I'm embarrassed to say I actually tipped them.

For mine the Blues have too many players of the same 'type'. Their backmen all play pretty similar, their tall forwards too. They've a few speedsters (Gartlett was very good) and a couple of blue-chips, in Murphy and Judd. Gibbs continues to be played out of position and has serious issues with any sort of body contact. The amount of times he throws the pill on his hand or boot in panic... At this rate the Squibbs tag will stick and with due cause.

Team, as a whole, seems to lack a whole lot of mongrel and desire. You could do with a few more Robinsons, I think.

Having said that, at times Collingwood were made to look quite vulnerable, with some solid tactics employed. But to be honest, I reckon the Pies had a pretty off night themselves - seemed to be puffed a lot of the time and moving rather sluggishly - yet still won easily.

As I said, IMO an ordinary, lackluster game of footy.

The last game I saw start to finish was the Saints Tigers draw - and I can tell you there was a whole more passion on show. Biased of course, but as a spectacle I think significantly more entertaining.

:footy:

There were plenty of empty seats tonight but for once the MCC turned up and filled their area. Shows what is possible if the MCC decide to show.

A wonderfull turn up considering it was almost live on CH 7.

The G can hold 104,000 when full so with 88,000 ofcourse there would be a few vacant seats.

The last game I saw start to finish was the Saints Tigers draw - and I can tell you there was a whole more passion on show. Biased of course, but as a spectacle I think significantly more entertaining.

:footy:[/quote]

It was a game that was hard to get into it was that 4-5 goal comfortable buffer for most of the night. Both sides probably wernt at their best tonight more so Collingwood.

Having said that id rather watch any team other than Stkilda on a friday night they bore the hell out of me and everyone although Richmond made the game close and competitive last week.

All you flogs can go **** yourselves tbh, your the same people who don't think we will make the 8 and picked collingwood to win by 60+ points this week.

Collingwood won the 2nd quarter by 28 points and that was the final margin. The contest was pretty even all over, 5 goals from stoppages in the forward 50 + that blair dive was the difference tonight.

As a carlton fan I am quite happy,Full strength collingwood vs carlton missing half our spine. A lot more upside for the blues and its a long way before september rolls around :thumbsu:

Disagree. Thought the skills were average from both sides, never thought the Blues were in with a chance, even when they were level or in front. Maybe it was their body language, I don't know - to me, they didn't seem a team ready to hunt Collingwood; they were not desperate enough by half to really create something exciting. I thought the Pies sensed this, and essentially cruised in about 3rd gear.

I expected more from Carlton and I'm embarrassed to say I actually tipped them.

For mine the Blues have too many players of the same 'type'. Their backmen all play pretty similar, their tall forwards too. They've a few speedsters (Gartlett was very good) and a couple of blue-chips, in Murphy and Judd. Gibbs continues to be played out of position and has serious issues with any sort of body contact. The amount of times he throws the pill on his hand or boot in panic... At this rate the Squibbs tag will stick and with due cause.

Team, as a whole, seems to lack a whole lot of mongrel and desire. You could do with a few more Robinsons, I think.

Having said that, at times Collingwood were made to look quite vulnerable, with some solid tactics employed. But to be honest, I reckon the Pies had a pretty off night themselves - seemed to be puffed a lot of the time and moving rather sluggishly - yet still won easily.

:footy:

You lost me there. Gibbs played on Pendlebury in the first half and kept him to 11 disposals. Had a very good game. Sure Carlton lost, but we take a lot of positives out of it.