Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - [Ch9] LDU's camp 'working hard to get a deal done'

This poor bastard was supposed to be paired (this year) with one of TT, JHF or Harley Reid. Big bodies, hard at the footy.

He's got Wardlaw, who is an animal, but is 182cm and just beginning his physical development and overcoming his hamstring issues.

And he's got Powelly, who has reasonable height (184cm), and a good midfielder with some tricks, but he isn't a killer is he? He plays like he works part time at a law firm ;).

IMHO, Phillips gets every game for the rest of the year, at Xerri's feet, and is told to train like Cunnington - deadlift and squat until you can pick up the ball and release it effectively while two blokes are hanging off you.

I'd still be looking very hard at drafting the biggest and best mid we can with our first pick.

Great illustration of playing well when it counts, and when it doesn’t.

No surprises we as a team played better when LDU was playing better in the first half, when there was still hope to be in it.
You can see that on North as a whole. Check out how our disposal gap widens vs out opposition as the game goes on:
1712630063349.png

Agree in principle, like the idea of drafting Smillie, still feel Phillips needs to be part of the rotations.
Unless Phillips gets a look in soon - either on the back of some dominant VFL performances or a succession of injuries to our current mids - then it is going to be too late for him.

I still can't fathom that Clarko isn't playing him - especially after Laz missed last week - but the fact that he can't get a game given all our circumstances suggests writing is on the wall.

Unless Phillips gets a look in soon - either on the back of some dominant VFL performances or a succession of injuries to our current mids - then it is going to be too late for him.

I still can't fathom that Clarko isn't playing him - especially after Laz missed last week - but the fact that he can't get a game given all our circumstances suggests writing is on the wall.
Maybe, maybe not. I thought Kallan Dawson was done at the club last season given he only played one game and it was the last game of the season but he got offered another contract. I'm not prepared to write off Phillips just yet.

Happy to have him in the team, but is not anywhere near an “elite” AFL player.

Defensive efforts are par & has zero scoreboard impact 🤷‍♂️

This poor bastard was supposed to be paired (this year) with one of TT, JHF or Harley Reid. Big bodies, hard at the footy.

He's got Wardlaw, who is an animal, but is 182cm and just beginning his physical development and overcoming his hamstring issues.

And he's got Powelly, who has reasonable height (184cm), and a good midfielder with some tricks, but he isn't a killer is he? He plays like he works part time at a law firm ;).

IMHO, Phillips gets every game for the rest of the year, at Xerri's feet, and is told to train like Cunnington - deadlift and squat until you can pick up the ball and release it effectively while two blokes are hanging off you.

I'd still be looking very hard at drafting the biggest and best mid we can with our first pick.
We don’t need to be spending top 5 picks on big-bodied inside mids though. Each year, teams pick up highly effective inside mids with smarts, strength and skills from picks 5-50.

We aren’t needing a huge athletic profile with this player. Just someone who can use their strength and smarts to get to each contest and release the ball for the glut of speed and power we have accumulated (Wardlaw, McKercher and LDU will rival JHF, Rozee and Butters as the most explosive mid trio in a year or two) to run onto.

Going to circle back to LDU's lack of goalkicking power as the biggest separator from greatness.

If you allow for our sides general shitness you can explain away his defensive numbers most of the time. But what he lacks compared to other explosive less unaccountable types I much indication he can get off the leash and hurt opponents. The way Dangerfield, Martin, Petracca all demonstrated from quite early on.

In his favour though is that he's entering his peak right now. All those guys went next level into years 7-8.

Going to circle back to LDU's lack of goalkicking power as the biggest separator from greatness.

If you allow for our sides general shitness you can explain away his defensive numbers most of the time. But what he lacks compared to other explosive less unaccountable types I much indication he can get off the leash and hurt opponents. The way Dangerfield, Martin, Petracca all demonstrated from quite early on.

In his favour though is that he's entering his peak right now. All those guys went next level into years 7-8.

Some one else mentioned how us not having TT or JHF beside him as another big mature bodied inside mid hurts.

I reckon its really impacting his ability to smash out of the stoppages and score.

Some one else mentioned how us not having TT or JHF beside him as another big mature bodied inside mid hurts.

I reckon its really impacting his ability to smash out of the stoppages and score.
Geez if the cards got dealt another way our current midfield would be LDU, JHF, TT, with Powell, WAP, Colby as the 2nd unit. I think if I do it right we also still have Harry. It’s George W we lose?

Yeah, albeit in that magical world where JHF and TT were bought in professionals, we probably don't finish last year anywhere near as badly and miss Colby.

Probably have Sanders instead though ...

Or Windsor given we needed outside run. Far out it hurts thinking about it.

TT hurts but it is what it is.

JHF was always ****ing off I reckon, and Wardlaw is fine as a straight trade, let alone the extra with Goad.

Playing devil's advocate, he has previously struggled when there's a strong first possession player (Cunnington) in the side.

His two perfect 10s last year were with Cunners in the middle. I think he can do perfectly well without being the first possession.

I think with Goldy tapping we could get away with it, cause LD had a bit more room, but X brings it close in and we need that down and dirty extractor.

His two perfect 10s last year were with Cunners in the middle. I think he can do perfectly well without being the first possession.

I think with Goldy tapping we could get away with it, cause LD had a bit more room, but X brings it close in and we need that down and dirty extractor.

Good point. I can't fully be arsed going back through the stats but the look at his perfect 10 against the Eagles suggests Cunnington only had 3 touches at the centre bounce, so I'm not sure what role Cunners was playing then.

Even when he wasn’t getting possessions, cunners was using his innate smarts and strength to protect and create space.

This is possible worth more that the possies you get yourself playing this role, especially if you have the sort of explosive athleticism running through space to gatherthe ball that we have with LDU and Wardlaw.

This is an essential role we need to fill.

Even when he wasn’t getting possessions, cunners was using his innate smarts and strength to protect and create space.

This is possible worth more that the possies you get yourself playing this role, especially if you have the sort of explosive athleticism running through and coke ring the ball that we have with LDU and Wardlaw.

Cunners was putting on blocks for him. Very much took a back seat.

Imagine having those tree trunk legs plonked there holding the opposition.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

This is possible worth more that the possies you get yourself playing this role, especially if you have the sort of explosive athleticism running through space to gatherthe ball that we have with LDU and Wardlaw.

100% agree there mate. First receiver will confuse LDU IMO. But the defensive player to create space for him works.

When Cunners left, Jy was actually playing this role effectively.

We need someone to play it as I think there isn’t enough differentiation between the roles of LDU, Tom and George.

Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - [Ch9] LDU's camp 'working hard to get a deal done'