ACT Based Supporters

Hi dogs folk. I’m curious to know how many people on the board are like me and located in the ACT?

Me for one.

There have been a couple of other Canberra locals post here but I can't recall their user names. I sat with one of them at a Manuka match against the Giants 2-3 years back. He was living just outside the ACT.

I know a few Doggies supporters around Canberra but they are pretty scarce. I don't think any of them post here.

The scarcity of any true believers up here was what got me into BF. Most people just gave me a sympathetic/patronising look when I said I was a Dogs supporter. At least that was until 2016.

Me for one.

There have been a couple of other Canberra locals post here but I can't recall their user names. I sat with one of them at a Manuka match against the Giants 2-3 years back. He was living just outside the ACT.

I know a few Doggies supporters around Canberra but they are pretty scarce. I don't think any of them post here.

The scarcity of any true believers up here was what got me into BF. Most people just gave me a sympathetic/patronising look when I said I was a Dogs supporter. At least that was until 2016.

Yeah interesting. I mainly encounter League fans or Swans and GWS fans. Might contact the club and see if they can give me a figure based on membership addresses. Obviously not names and addresses for privacy reasons.

Hi dogs folk. I’m curious to know how many people on the board are like me and located in the ACT?

I've technically been on the board a while but maybe this as good a time as any to stop lurking 😁 Been up here for just shy of a decade.

Funnily enough, when I was at the 2016 GF I saw someone reading the Canberra Times a couple of seats over. I almost thought I saw them on bigfooty on their phone and was going to ask - but wasn't sure where the line between lurking and stalking stood!

I've technically been on the board a while but maybe this as good a time as any to stop lurking 😁 Been up here for just shy of a decade.

Funnily enough, when I was at the 2016 GF I saw someone reading the Canberra Times a couple of seats over. I almost thought I saw them on bigfooty on their phone and was going to ask - but wasn't sure where the line between lurking and stalking stood!
Welcome to the chat. :thumbsu:

It wasn't me reading the CT. I was there but only in the standing room area. Hobdog maybe?

Welcome to the chat. :thumbsu:

It wasn't me reading the CT. I was there but only in the standing room area. Hobdog maybe?

Ha! Nope wasn’t me. Funnily enough I arrived in Canberra in March 2016 and made the drive down for the GF.

I've technically been on the board a while but maybe this as good a time as any to stop lurking Been up here for just shy of a decade.

Welcome mate

Have been toying with the idea for a couple of seasons of starting an ACT and surrounds supporters group, hence my exploration of numbers. Have two little kids though, so still not sure I have the time to devote to it.

Try contacting the club. They would probably want to help such a group get started and might be able to give you an idea of its potential. Subject to privacy laws of course.

Hi Hobdog,

Long time supporter here. Three more in the family and working on the grandson. Going back a long ways, prior to Pay TV sp[ort we used to watch some games at Eastlake. Must be 20+ years ago now.

Yep I’m a capital dog. Grew up a couple of kicks from VUWO and family home still there with siblings and relatives scattered in surrounding suburbs , yarraville, maribyrnong, etc.

I'm planning on moving to Canberra in May next year. I don't know the place very well but moving to be closer to my wife's family. What should I expect? I'm moving from the Western suburbs of Melbourne.
I've done Canberra a few times for work.

To say that its boring would be an understatement...

..although you can legally grow two weed plants their so I suppose that could make it fun?

Hi Hobdog,

Long time supporter here. Three more in the family and working on the grandson. Going back a long ways, prior to Pay TV sp[ort we used to watch some games at Eastlake. Must be 20+ years ago now.

Hey mate, nice to hear from you! Hopefully the grandson gets on-board. I need to begin the process with my two little kids. I recall the days back in Hobart where I’d head to the casino to watch games that I couldn’t watch at home.

I'm planning on moving to Canberra in May next year. I don't know the place very well but moving to be closer to my wife's family. What should I expect? I'm moving from the Western suburbs of Melbourne.

Like anywhere Scrag, it’s as good as you make it. If you’re an outdoors exercising person like me, it’s absolutely brilliant. Heaps of great restaurants and markets too. Easy to get around and I’ve never wanted for anything living here. I grew up in Hobart, spent seven years in Darwin and now live in Canberra, so I’ve heard it all in terms of people sticking the boot into my towns! Anyway, I really don’t want this thread to become a debate stage about cities, so I’ll trade it there, mate.

Yep I’m a capital dog. Grew up a couple of kicks from VUWO and family home still there with siblings and relatives scattered in surrounding suburbs , yarraville, maribyrnong, etc.

String ties then CD. Seems there’s a few of us here on Bigfooty.

Like anywhere Scrag, it’s as good as you make it. If you’re an outdoors exercising person like me, it’s absolutely brilliant. Heaps of great restaurants and markets too. Easy to get around and I’ve never wanted for anything living here. I grew up in Hobart, spent seven years in Darwin and now live in Canberra, so I’ve heard it all in terms of people sticking the boot into my towns! Anyway, I really don’t want this thread to become a debate stage about cities, so I’ll trade it there, mate.

Sounds perfect to me. I don't really enjoy the city of Melbourne as much now that my weekends revolve around entertaining a two and a four year old. Looking forward to watching the Dogs smash the Giants at Manuka with ya, mate.

Need to change your name to ScragCapital

As Hodog says it's an outdoors town. If you like running, riding(mtb and road), hiking this is the place for you. snow 200km away and the coast 150k away. Every sport catered for, and right on your door step. If you need any contacts/intro to any sport/club check in with me, always happy to assist new comers to Canberra.

Second those comments! Will be excellent to have another member of the dogs family here.

I'd echo everything everyone else has said.

For me, coming from the west/northwest (Footscray, Yarraville, Newport, Tullamarine), I feel like the vibe is similar to Melbourne in the late 90s/early 00s - but with the lifestyle offerings caught up with modern times. The growth corridors are going a bit cookie cutter, medium-high density development, so if you'd prefer a more open feel the northwest (Belconnen) or the south (Tuggeranong, where I live) are probably the better bets. Or you've got Queanbeyan right across the border, or the satellite towns give the country vibe and are commutable.

It's also a beautiful city to live in. The valleys the city is set in and the mountains that ring it means there's pretty much always a beautiful backdrop.

Would also be really keen to catch some games with everyone! I've got a little one too so I might need some tips on how to avoid them going feral at games 😬

You should expect a lot slower lifestyle - not necessarily a bad thing.
Less (ie no) traffic, less people, more space, fresher air. Nothing is more than 20 min drive away really. Good freeways/roads to get wherever you need to go.
It's a beautiful city. Lots of green space, huge lake in the middle and mountain views surrounding.

Access to bush hikes basically in the middle of the city (Mt Ainslie northside or Red Hill southside), world class mountain bike trails just out of the city. Less than 3 hours drive to the snow or some of the best beaches in Australia (Pretty Beach is a great camping spot btw).

You should expect HOT in summer, and COLD in winter. More polarising than Melbourne's seasons. Autumn and Spring are both really nice but don't really last too long in terms of the temperatures you'd expect for those seasons. From memory it transitioned between summer and winter (in terms of temperatures) pretty quickly.

Socially I would say most people are quite progressive politically/socially and generally pretty switched on. Lots of interesting people IMO. People enjoy talking about politics and their work a lot, as well as current affairs, sport, etc. It's a good city for lively discussion IMO as most people are on the pulse of things that are happening. Some born and bred Canberrans can be a little bit cliquey or just a bit odd sometimes (no offence anyone), but there is a huge number of people that have moved there for work (mostly), so making new friends is very easy. On the whole, it's a very friendly city.

Nightlife on the weekends can be bustling - maybe not a big deal for you with kids now, but it is quiet during the week. For more underground stuff, there is a bit of a scene but it's pretty small and harder to find. There are some amazing quality restaurants and bars, although a little pricey. Finding cheap, hidden gems like say you would in say Footscray or Brunswick is a bit hard. In general, everything costs more as it aligns with the wages there.

I lived all over (Ainslie, Belco, Griffith, Woden, Forrest, Narrabundah) but I personally liked South side better as it was a bit quieter but still had enough to do there. There is a bit of a North/South rivalry.

If you play local footy, get involved with the ANU Griffins. Best club :)

Biggest drawback for me was the lack of gigs. A lot of bands I was keen to see didn't tour to Canberra.

All in all, great place to live.

You should expect a lot slower lifestyle - not necessarily a bad thing.
Less (ie no) traffic, less people, more space, fresher air. Nothing is more than 20 min drive away really. Good freeways/roads to get wherever you need to go.
It's a beautiful city. Lots of green space, huge lake in the middle and mountain views surrounding.

Access to bush hikes basically in the middle of the city (Mt Ainslie northside or Red Hill southside), world class mountain bike trails just out of the city. Less than 3 hours drive to the snow or some of the best beaches in Australia (Pretty Beach is a great camping spot btw).

You should expect HOT in summer, and COLD in winter. More polarising than Melbourne's seasons. Autumn and Spring are both really nice but don't really last too long in terms of the temperatures you'd expect for those seasons. From memory it transitioned between summer and winter (in terms of temperatures) pretty quickly.

Socially I would say most people are quite progressive politically/socially and generally pretty switched on. Lots of interesting people IMO. People enjoy talking about politics and their work a lot, as well as current affairs, sport, etc. It's a good city for lively discussion IMO as most people are on the pulse of things that are happening. Some born and bred Canberrans can be a little bit cliquey or just a bit odd sometimes (no offence anyone), but there is a huge number of people that have moved there for work (mostly), so making new friends is very easy. On the whole, it's a very friendly city.

Nightlife on the weekends can be bustling - maybe not a big deal for you with kids now, but it is quiet during the week. For more underground stuff, there is a bit of a scene but it's pretty small and harder to find. There are some amazing quality restaurants and bars, although a little pricey. Finding cheap, hidden gems like say you would in say Footscray or Brunswick is a bit hard. In general, everything costs more as it aligns with the wages there.

I lived all over (Ainslie, Belco, Griffith, Woden, Forrest, Narrabundah) but I personally liked South side better as it was a bit quieter but still had enough to do there. There is a bit of a North/South rivalry.

If you play local footy, get involved with the ANU Griffins. Best club :)

Biggest drawback for me was the lack of gigs. A lot of bands I was keen to see didn't tour to Canberra.

All in all, great place to live.

Thanks for the super detailed response. All of that makes me feel really good about moving there. Fewer people and more green spaces are a big selling point to me.

ACT Based Supporters