AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 17 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Continued Q&A for AFL Live 2011 on 360, PS3 and PC here.

Q&A FAQ

Part 16: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=805936

*Guys now we have a dedicated forum. Lets keep these threads to just Q&A.

Also....

Ross has said he reads every post. Therefore, there is no need for large fonts, colours or CAPITALS. If you don't get an answer please don't repeat your question over and over.

A. That is just spam and you may get infracted for it.
B. There are things Ross can't answer or are being held back for the release.
C. Ross has a business to run and family too, there are worthy questions that he may not get too because of time and detail required.

He can answer questions in a very opportunistic manner and does als

Re: AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 17 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTI

Those that went into glenno's store today, i'd love to see some footage of west coast in game! :)

(Posted this in the AFL Live Demo in WA thread, may as well go here as well)

Ok, so went to the play test today. Big thanks to both Glenn and Ross for putting it on. Ross, you were awesome in basically watching people play all day and talking about aspects and depth of the game. Cheers for that. Glenn was great also, as he wouldn't play (maybe he was chicken :p) but he wanted people to have go.

I was a bit of a hog, as I was there from 9am until about 2:30pm playing with various people. I tried to give other people a game but no one wanted to, so I kept going. My back is killing me now from those chairs!

Anyway, onto the game itself. Great gameplay. Controls are kept very simple and doesn't take long to get the hang of it. Graphics are great. I honestly think they're on par with FIFA, particularly during the game, but maybe that's just me. The menus are very slick and load time was very minimal.

Played a variety of teams throughout the day. West Coast and Fremantle were used multiple times but games weren't limited just to those two. After a few exhibition matches, Ross set up a NAB Cup and I think that worked better for getting a lot of people to have a go, because first round matches were quick.

After a few simmed games, I got to play the NAB Cup final as Melbourne against Collingwood by myself. The AI was on rookie, I think. I'm pretty sure Ross said it was on the 2nd lowest AI setting (there are 5 AI settings in total). Anyway, won pretty handsomely. The start of the final had the players line up for the national anthem. I was tempted to get the phone out and get some footage (Ross even said a lot of people on BF would be dying to see some of these shots) but in the end, I just wanted to play and have fun. Confetti rained down over the ground as it started as well, which was a cool touch, but the confetti was randomly pink, aqua and yellow. :p

After winning, the players celebrated and we saw them gather for team photo with the NAB Cup trophy. They were snapped and the screen faded to B&W, which is a nice touch.

A few others joined in and we set up a finals series with all non-Vic sides (West Coast, Freo, Port, Crows, Sydney, Brissy, Gold Coast and Tassie... ah, I mean Hawthorn). Myself and another guy had gotten pretty used to it so we played against each other with a n00b each on our team (sorry guys!). Played for a while until someone else wanted a go, so I took off after almost 5 and a half hours of playing! Had a headache and sore back (ok, I'm old!) but had a great time. Feel like I've got my fix to tide me over until the 21st. Ross commented that I'm WA's HBK as well, which is cool. :p

Oh, me and the guy who was playing for a while with me managed to flog Ross and another guy by 100 points (as West Coast v Freo). Scores were 101 to 1 (admittedly, Ross didn't start having a go until the margin was about 70 points, and his partner was having a bit of difficulty, but still WEST COAST BEAT FREO!). ;)

Didn't see everything I would have wanted, mainly because the test was for playing matches. Can't wait to look at the custom teams, Ross tells me there's around 30 to 40 different jumpers you can use. He did show us the trophy room (we tried to see the NAB Cup in there, but because we simmed some games, it doesn't go into your trophy room) which has honour boards for all the awards you win (it includes the date won, level of difficulty you won it on, and team/player who won it). You also see the trophys you win displayed (NAB and Premiership... not sure if there were any others). You also see the individual medals (Brownlow, Coleman and Norm Smith) on the actual players who won it (like a wax dummy kind of display). Of course, as none of them had been won yet, there were just silouettes occupying those spots.

I've probably gone off on a tangent and not really discussed the gameplay a whole lot, but others have mentioned it. What I liked about the game was the ease of the ruck, goalkicking, kicking off the ground, tackling... well, pretty much everything. Ross tried to show us advanced techniques, such as pinpointing players, interchange on the fly, and bananas on the run, but given the situation of having to play strangers at different experience levels, there just wasn't the time to give it the attention it deserved. Will definitely we working on it when I have game in hand.

There are some little touches that just make the game. I really love how the crowd is just background, and out of focus, but when you kick a goal, you see them rise. Just real nice.

The commentary wasn't too bad. From the clips I've seen online, it seemed choppy. Ross said he's not happy with it, but to be honest, I really didn't notice it because I was too focused on playing. I may notice it more when playing at home, though.

Spoke to Ross about the release time of the next version. Some interesting info. Not sure if I should say anything, so I'll leave it up to him (he may have divulged it already, I may have missed it, but I don't think he has).

Also spoke briefly about the cricket game Big Ant are working on. He couldn't say much about it either (although he had it on the PS3 he brought over! Wouldn't let us play it :p), but given the awesomeness that this AFL game is, I'm sure we're in for an awesome cricket game as well play during the footy off-season.

Anyways, that's my day. It was fun, I'm exhausted. And I didn't fly across the country and stand watching people playing all day! Thanks so much to Ross for coming over and to Glenn for hosting the playtest. It was great fun, and even though I missed an awesome Eagles win today (I did record it!), I'm glad I rocked up and had a chance to play.

I was a bit of a hog, as I was there from 9am until about 2:30pm playing with various people. I tried to give other people a game but no one wanted to, so I kept going. My back is killing me now from those chairs!
YOU HAD CHAIRS?!:eek: Beats standing for 4 hours at a time...can tell you that.

I know what you mean about the 'hog' thing, I know I definitely feel like I am hogging the control when having a go but you offer people standing around a go and they all decline so what can you do but have a go yourself, no use letting that controller get cold.:D
Ross commented that I'm WA's HBK as well, which is cool.:p
BRING IT ON!:D:D:D

Haha, I commented to one of the other guys playing that we need couches! :p

I wouldn't have minded standing, but the TV was low and the chairs were small. I'm a big guy who's 6'4 and over 30 so I need to stretch my bones after 5+ hours hunching and slouching. :p Still, can't complain. I blame all the other people who didn't want to have a go, basically forcing me to keep playing! ;)

arent we suppost to get another team lineup tonight?

Nah there was one last night. We get another one tomorrow night.

Also, went down to the play test at EB Games in Midland today, thanks to Ross @ BigAnt and Glenno from the store for their efforts and being so welcoming of us, very impressed by what I saw, and can't wait to get my hands on the real thing soon!!

Nah there was one last night. We get another one tomorrow night.

Also, went down to the play test at EB Games in Midland today, thanks to Ross @ BigAnt and Glenno from the store for their efforts and being so welcoming of us, very impressed by what I saw, and can't wait to get my hands on the real thing soon!!

did anyone get footage at all ?

i was at the play test today it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life !!!!!!!!!!!

the game was that awesome i will be dreaming of playing it
19 days is a long wait for such a good game

P.S Ross and Glenn top blokes :thumbsu:

A mate and I were only there for about an hour and a half as we had our own footy match we had to go to, so we didn't have time to record any footage, and I'm not too sure if anyone got any footage later on, sorry.

Perhaps either Ross or Glenno can fill you in on that one.

Pretty sure no one bothered. One person may have early on, but most were either playing or watching. Having said that, by 11amish, I was pretty much always playing, but I don't recall anyone taking any footage.

I was going to at one point, but a most gameplay stuff has been shown online anyway. I do recommend to anyone who can get to a play test session to go down and have a go. It's great fun and good to get some practice in before it's out. I was lucky enough to play it for a while and really get a good fix of it to tide me over for 2 and halfish weeks until it's out.

There are aspects you don't get to fully explore in store anyway (like custom teams, creating players, etc), so plenty of goodies remain for the time when you get to play it at home even if you do get a chance to play it early.

Haha, I commented to one of the other guys playing that we need couches! :p

I wouldn't have minded standing, but the TV was low and the chairs were small. I'm a big guy who's 6'4 and over 30 so I need to stretch my bones after 5+ hours hunching and slouching. :p Still, can't complain. I blame all the other people who didn't want to have a go, basically forcing me to keep playing! ;)
i thought i was lucky playing for 12 mins

Also. Priddis is SO SLOW. So many times I was like "CHASE FASTER PRIDDIS" but he had a bit of a jog going at best ;)

Whats the bet Ross is still partying?

Yep, AFL Live party at Glenno's place last night! Had my son point his webcam at a screen from Melbourne so as to watch the Blues welcome GC to the AFL! (otherwise Perth had no coverage!).... Glenno and his mates had a really good hit out on the game - it was great to see!

So, I was too busy last night to post the latest team... the Bulldogs lost to the Blues, and no, it wasn't rigged :p

WesternBulldogs.jpg

Yep, AFL Live party at Glenno's place last night! Had my son point his webcam at a screen from Melbourne so as to watch the Blues welcome GC to the AFL! (otherwise Perth had no coverage!).... Glenno and his mates had a really good hit out on the game - it was great to see!

So, I was too busy last night to post the latest team... the Bulldogs lost to the Blues, and no, it wasn't rigged :p

WesternBulldogs.jpg

Scores?

WesternBulldogs.jpg

No Luke Dahlhaus :( is he actually in the game?

WesternBulldogs.jpg
Glenno... you are soooo lucky.

WesternBulldogs.jpg

Ah, the finals win we needed to keep Ratts. Good induction for GC last night Ross :thumbsu:

Did anyone at the Midland trial yesterday play against a 40-50 yr old man who played as Adelaide? If so, thats my uncle and he is challenging me to some games over easter. Was he any good?