AFL Round 1 Brisbane Lions V West Coast Official Thread

Spilt a few grabs he'd normally swallow and missed many shots he'd frequently snaffle as well. A few weeks down the track when his hands and feet are working a bit better and if he receives similar opportunities, he'll put a dozen on the board. :thumbsu:

Has your better half jumped on the bandwagon yet, or still fighting the riptide? ;)

Riska had easily his best game - he did what I have been waiting for him to do for a couple of seasons now.....move to a higher level by sustaining through the whole game his best form which has only been shown in patches previously.

His intensity was at a higher level too.

The 5 day break to the Carlton game is a worry - would have been better a bit further down the track when the early season cobwebs have been shaken out.

I think that we will suffer for the first month due to our less than perfect preseason and new combinations.

Whilst Black and Power were both very good and Brennan was a match winner the most exciting thing for me was the even level of contribution from the next generation of players moving through the midfield.

Riska (28), Sherman (23) ) Rich (18) Redden (18) each had enough disposals for their opposite numbers to make them accountable.

Would have been interesting to see how Buchanan went with full game.

I'm amazed that anyone thought that Banfield had anything but a great game - 17 disposals, 6 marks and 1 goal are great stats for a small forward. For comparison Eddie Betts had 19 disposals being a major target against Richmond.

This.

I wont be attending many games this year so will miss the live interpretation of games but I was loving Banfield's game.

I thought we looked rusty and were happy with the win. If we can keep the necessary players on the field we'll be a good force to reckon with in 4-6 games. Black has a lot of improvement in him and his frustration was obvious. The rucks need to build some endurance and practice so was glad about their 4th quarter resurgance.

I want a Polkinghorne from last year back in the side as I thought we could have used his hardness - hope he picks his game up quickly.

So pleased with Hobo's game. Now let's hope he's consistant. The hair and beard are frightful - does anyone know what's behind it?

Wasn't overly impressed with Staker - not sure why.

Fev made the comment after the game that the dewiness was affecting his kicking and he just has to get used to it. He also made a great comment about Browny and is obviously in awe of him.

I'm starting to think Travs look is him trying to turn back the clock a bit..

show_image.php

The beard is awesome. Don't be haters.

I also have to comment that that the centre bounces by umpires last night were deplorable. How many were recalled? Seemed like a large number. The hard Gabba pitch should be the easiest place in Australia to do a good bounce.

He also made a great comment about Browny and is obviously in awe of him.

We were having a bit of a laugh because whenever Brisbane kicked a goal it looked like Fev was running up to seek JB’s approval.

Of course all the players give each other a pat on the back but we couldn’t help supplying 12th man style voiceovers: Whenever Fev ran up to JB we had him saying stuff like “You still like me don’t ya Browny?” with JB responding with “Yeah Fev you are okay, now go on run back over there”

I also have to comment that that the centre bounces by umpires last night were deplorable. How many were recalled? Seemed like a large number. The hard Gabba pitch should be the easiest place in Australia to do a good bounce.

Totally agree, TBD. They should have a rule that after a certain number in a game are recalled it should be mandatory to ball it up. It simply wasn't good enough last night.

How did Tim's send-off go?....Was it you nigelicious, who said Bernie Vegas got in the way?

I dont think Bernie really got in the way, Mr Ripper maybe overselling it a little. ;)

Nice send off... had his little boy Baxter with him. A mostly standing ovation from the crowd.

Thanks TBD:)....I thought they may have shown it on t.v. at half time...if they did I must've missed it, I was in and out of the room a few times, checking the Saints game..

I'm glad he got such a great reception...young Baxter would be 3 -4yrs now wouldn't he?....how lovely for Tim..

Did a tear appear TBD?;)

I wonder if there is a link between our failure with the defensive zone and clearances, in both situations you need to have the nous to know when it is your turn to go!!

not sure about connections between zones and clearances but the zone defence comes from basketball's full court zone press poor basketball zones generally share a common trait - they have defenders guarding a space rather than the players in or near that space and they start to 'ball watch' rather than (as you said) be proactive and adjust to the ball

it's fairly common to have a poor press early in a basketball season because it's difficult to simulate true game scenarios and players in early season games end up defending like a bunch of witches hats spread across the court in a training drill rather than being a single, pressure-generating, rotating, trapping defensive unit

anyway, that's what the Lions zone reminded me of last night - the good news is that it should improve with some exposure to match conditions

peace

The beard is awesome. Don't be haters.

The replay is quite amusing. I forget which commentator says it but one goes "I reckon that centre umpire's got one arm a lot stronger than the other". There's a bit of a pause then all you can hear is chuckling out of all of them and Matty Campbell saying he'll leave that alone.

ed: I certainly wasn't hating on Travs beard. I sport a bit of a Grizzly Adams look myself and probably wouldn't look out of place laying under a couple of newspapers :p

Black, Brown, Power. Say no more:thumbsu:.

I would also like to say that our fullback was OK from where I sat. An improved and very underrated player.

Gotta feeling that Staker playing as a 3rd tall either back or forward may now free up Brennan to play a bit more freely. Nothing but good can come of a free Brennan in form and on fire.

Braved all the sad 20-something bogans at the Walkabout in Shepherds Bush (apologies if I'm offending anyone - but not really ;) ) to watch a replay of the game yesterday. Was really pleased with the victory. My take:

Rischitelli was brilliant - looked like we had the player of early '07 back. V pleased with the regulars - Brown, Black and Power as solid as ever.

Thought Drummond (in 1st half), Johnstone and obviously Brennan were very good. Didn't pick up Maguire being a bit off the pace but definitely conceivable. May need to apply a 'horses for courses' scenario with him (e.g. no obvious match ups against the Bullies or even Geelong).

Not particularly impressed with Raines - hopefully he improves. If not there's certainly able replacements for him.

Thought Banfield had on the whole a pretty good 1st game. Adds pace, hard at it and just looks like a smart footballer. A few shocking kicks and fumbles but dew and 1st game nerves were probably to blame. I'd have him in the team against Carlton (unless he doesn't handle the short break). Looks like he belongs in the Lord of the Rings haha ;)

Fev/Brown combo looked good - 23 scoring shots between them and Staker - who I was reasonably impressed by. Will always be frustrating to watch but a good impact player who should be able to get a lot of cheap ball when the twin towers are attracting all the attention. On that note, wasn't too happy that Fev and Brown were taking so many shots from the boundary.

Obviously they're both brilliant players but we will continue to be inaccurate if we're taking 8-10 shots from 40+ on the boundary every game. Would like to see them try to spot the quick lead after they take the mark and also the small forwards, Staker and midfielders work hard to provide a better option.

Disposal pretty scrappy but should improve in better conditions and with match conditioning. Echoing earlier sentiment, kick-ins (both defensively and offensively) need work - Eagles went 'coast to coast' at least four times last night - which obviously isn't great. We also had quite a bit of trouble with our kick-ins - looked quite stagnant and reactive at times.

But all in all I'm pretty happy with the result. Bring on next week :thumbsu:

Whenever Fev ran up to JB we had him saying stuff like “You still like me don’t ya Browny?” with JB responding with “Yeah Fev you are okay, now go on run back over there”

I lol'd. :thumbsu:

Richy seemed to be playing a bit of a different role than normal. Either that or I wasn't paying enough attention.

Not very many trademark, "get the ball at the back of the stoppage and bomb it forward" plays from him that I was getting accustomed to.

Fev needs a good role model to bring out the best in him......and they don't come bigger or better than Browny:D
This :thumbsu:.
Has he ever had a good role model before?

Thanks TBD:)....I thought they may have shown it on t.v. at half time...if they did I must've missed it, I was in and out of the room a few times, checking the Saints game
Watched the replay and it wasn't there. Rather dissapointed in that.

I'll miss Poss :(

Two seasons ago we were the team who managed to pull defeat from the jaws of victory with our sleepy quarters. I must admit, I prefer being the come from behind victors. I am in complete agreement with Vossy, completely in awe of our boys - they never give up. So glad to see this has carried over from last season.

Richy seemed to be playing a bit of a different role than normal. Either that or I wasn't paying enough attention.

Not very many trademark, "get the ball at the back of the stoppage and bomb it forward" plays from him that I was getting accustomed to.
I saw him on a HBF at one point.

He spent a fair chunk of the game playing out of the back line, didn't seem to be a part of the main midfield rotations, or at least, not as much as he was late last year.

AFL Round 1 Brisbane Lions V West Coast Official Thread