Game Day AFL Round 9 - Collingwood vs Sydney Matchday & Postmatch Discussion.

What was our handballing efficiency tonight? Especially in that second quarter? Seems every handball was wide, or at the feet of the target.

******* woeful all game though, where was the pressure from last week?
What was all the rapid hand passes to a link on player when they were under pressure??? Multiple times that happened and of course someone's handball is intercepted and there's turnover and we're killed once they spread.
Also, again tonight the bombs into 50!!????!?!?! Cloke is outnumbered 2 to 1, 3 to 1!.. Or worse it's all Swans players running back with the flight with no Pies around. WOW.

What was all the rapid hand passes to a link on player when they were under pressure??? Multiple times that happened and of course someone's handball is intercepted and there's turnover and we're killed once they spread.
Also, again tonight the bombs into 50!!????!?!?! Cloke is outnumbered 2 to 1, 3 to 1!.. Or worse it's all Swans players running back with the flight with no Pies around. WOW.

Two worst games this year i reckon have been the Freo game and tonight. Both games the opposition just sat 2-3 people on Cloke, and we had no idea what to do.

Thankfully Voss is almost as clueless as Buckley so next week that probably wont happen, but good teams just have to smother Cloke and we have no other options.

I like to read stats a lot and to see that we had 10 more I50's but only scoring 55 points is a real worry.

too slow. not enough heart on a consistent basis. poor one on one.

I am losing faith after each loss. In the team and in Bucks/selection panel.

I wish i could hear the reasoning behind some of the selection decisions. Seems to me like the Witts-Jolly combo in the ruck was off the back of a 100 point VFL win against an average team. Don't even get me started on didak.

Lynch has looked worse than Dawes ever did(thats difficult) in the last month, bar the Carlton game he has been average this season. Swan has dropped right off, has not polled a vote in my brownlow predictor, and the backline lack athleticism to win one on one contests. Clarke and Maxwell were woeful.

IN: Didak, Goldsack, Shaw
OUT: Witts/Q-stick, Clarke, someone.

If Jolly is suspended Huddo comes in.

Positive notes;
- Caff, another awesome job, players need to learn of him.
- Marley, looked solid, didn't look like he lost many one on ones, has a crack
- Seedsman is developing nicely
- Clokes game
- Kennedy as the sub, found the footy(all be it, majority in handballs

Negatives;
- Swan's work rate the last 2 weeks
- Q-stick and Witts playing like witches hats
- Maxwell and Clarke getting out ran, and out marked
- Krak unable to back up a good game
- Jolly looking really old
- Nathan Brown lost far to many one on ones for someone of his size and talent

Eddie Mcguire, I tip my hat off to you, Sir.

A gentleman and a very nice gesture.

Cops a lot of crap, but his actions tonight were brilliant.

Sorry to intrude.

Yeah, will be a massive story and it's very upsetting. Ed no doubt sees that and has done everything he could so far.

So, we can only hope the focus of it will help advance this issue even further.

Respect to you CC.

what baffles me about picking Witts, is that he is picked to bolster the ruck stocks, yet he won 4 hit outs in the 2 and a half quarters he played.

He needs to go back to VFL level and dominate in the ruck. He is near useless up forward aswell, unless Pendles spoon feeds him like in the first quarter.

FYI, Q-Stick had 3 hitouts in the quarter he played as the second ruckman. 1 less than Witts had in a half of footy.

if mick was still coach we would be saying his game plan was out of date. It may well be or the players arent owning it - regardless of which the bottom line is Bucks isn't getting the best out of them

Lets not freak out. Yes it was a bad loss but now we have an easy run and should get some confidence up and regroup.

Lets try and get Shaw, Thomas, Young, Beams and Goldsack on the park.

Witts shouldn't be playing we are far to top heavy. Hudson should maybe take over from jolly.

Didak in for witts. Lets hope he can bring something.

Yes it was a shocker but against a team who won a premiership at that ground less than half a year ago.

Pretty disappointed..
Mainly with a senior guys, swan looks terrible.

But just gotta remind myself, out of the best 22 is.,

Beams, Shaw, Thomas, Toovey, Goldsack, Fasolo, Johnson, Keefe, Didak

That's a large chunk of senior bodies, not to mention 3 of our top 8 players

The younger guys will be better for the run, just need to stay in touch with the top four until we get some of these guys back!

Lets not freak out. Yes it was a bad loss but now we have an easy run and should get some confidence up and regroup.

Yes it was a shocker but against a team who won a premiership at that ground less than half a year ago.
its not the loss that's the problem - when we hit a good team and there are a several in the comp we look totally out of their league - even with the teams we have and haven't played we look to be deserving sixth on the ladder at best.

can someone please tell me the thinking behind playing swan in the fwd/back and then pendle in the fwd when you getting smashed in the middle? and now in last you playing both in the middle when it's all too late?
Well when they aren't getting the ball in the middle, what other option is there ?

The sooner they bring in the 80 cap interchange the better. It will force backmen and forwards to stay in the arc.
We seem to put 18 players within the two arcs and the minute there's a turnover we are too lazy to get into space.
FFS....

Liked Marley's game. Not sure if it's because most of his touches were "Right in front of me" or not, but still, hope he keeps his spot :)

Don't worry mate, Bucks will spank the boys hard - whip up a few more quad injuries during the week. And we'll SMASH the Lions next weekend.
Followed by a Humiliating Queens Bday loss to Melbourne.
i called it earlier this week, we'll lose to Melbourne, whenever Collingwood plays something happens unfortunately.

Our list is still strong enough, but not with the injuries we've had, you can't get passed it. But to make a prelim last year after the rubbish we served up was a poor result for the immediate term. We probably just need 1 really poor year to get the wheels turning the right way again, and by poor I mean either miss the 8 or get buried in an elimination final.

Midfield were hopeless, played like a bunch of downhill skiers, on the spread no one was willing to run with an opponent and the likes of McGlynn, Hannerbery and Jack killed us.

We simply lack speed, someone name 4-5 genuinely quick players? Swan (who only runs when he wants) and Harry? We are slow, and when you get done in the clearances like that what have you got going for you? Serious problems...

Game Day AFL Round 9 - Collingwood vs Sydney Matchday & Postmatch Discussion.