All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

Can anyone explain why the full U19s fixture hasn't been released yet? After 5 rounds there wouldn't be any regrading now would there? (even though there's a couple of teams that ought to be).

Interesting that my team plays a team for the second time, but has still yet to play all the other sides 🤷‍♂️
It’s incompetence by NFNL

4 rounds of Juniors and old Jeff Downie still can’t decide on Divisions, no ladders yet and all he goes on about is the league’s integrity etc etc
Jeff, just man up and say you have no idea what you’re doing and you’re too terrified to upset the woke and make some common sense decisions.

Junior (inc. u19) and women's comps are an after thought for this regime.
Was advised last night at training that Women's competition grading games completed and teams repositioned. Full 'new' fixtures to be released soon. This happens in the VAFA also. The VAFA have not released their fixtures for Thirds and Womens after regrading as yet I believe, so looks to be a challenge for any competition who has grading games.

It's not ideal, but balancing evening a division up so teams dont get flogged with trying to settle fixtures is difficult. Until we get to a stage where we just have promotion and relegation for all competitions then I suppose the difficulty will exist. I cant speak to juniors as our juniors are in YJFL.

Was advised last night at training that Women's competition grading games completed and teams repositioned. Full 'new' fixtures to be released soon. This happens in the VAFA also. The VAFA have not released their fixtures for Thirds and Womens after regrading as yet I believe, so looks to be a challenge for any competition who has grading games.

It's not ideal, but balancing evening a division up so teams dont get flogged with trying to settle fixtures is difficult. Until we get to a stage where we just have promotion and relegation for all competitions then I suppose the difficulty will exist. I cant speak to juniors as our juniors are in YJFL.
my understanding is this process isnt a new thing?
They have graded the first 4 games and set up divisions and fixtures for the remaining season by now for the last 20 odd years im pretty sure.

Junior (inc. u19) and women's comps are an after thought for this regime.
absolutely.
How many families you reckon this affects?
How many junior clubs? times how many junior teams at each club times 20-25 kids per team?

many many thousands and they simply dont give a toss. Not every family has one child, there would be shit loads with multiple kids playing in all different age groups with parents trying to arrange getting to between 1-3/4 games of footy on a sunday.

Let alone every Club trying to arrange the thousands of volunteers it needs every weekend to run these games.

my understanding is this process isnt a new thing?
They have graded the first 4 games and set up divisions and fixtures for the remaining season by now for the last 20 odd years im pretty sure.
New to the comp, just giving some context of past experiences in the old comp to suggest it's happening elsewhere. Not saying that's right and it certainly is not ideal and has caused some uncertainty for players trying to lock in work shifts.

Would suggest it's time to go with promotion and relegation and be done with grading games? Maybe two up two down to start with like the ammos in womens, unders to start the process and then move to one up one down in another year or two as it balances out? All new teams - like us in the mens - start in lowest division and work up if good enough?

New to the comp, just giving some context of past experiences in the old comp to suggest it's happening elsewhere. Not saying that's right and it certainly is not ideal and has caused some uncertainty for players trying to lock in work shifts.

Would suggest it's time to go with promotion and relegation and be done with grading games? Maybe two up two down to start with like the ammos in womens, unders to start the process and then move to one up one down in another year or two as it balances out? All new teams - like us in the mens - start in lowest division and work up if good enough?
Well if you are thinking common sense decisions will be made by the NFNL bosses dont hold your breath.
Pick the opposite and youll be closer to the mark.

Time for a reality check on our League full of Integrity.
https://www.footyfasttracker.com.au/programs/coaches
The Head of Football Development Rick LeGassik who runs the prestigious NFNL Rep Program has once again filled the boys and girls training sessions with every team member of his side business Footy Fast Tracker.
We assume Paul, Meg, Rick and Chris dont do this for free. So Jeff Downie will have to approve these weekly invoices so Rick and his partners get paid. At the expense of the kids not having a decent venue for jumper presentations, or whatever else the money could be spent on.
Why would Elite Rep players need specialist coaches for kicking and running? I could maybe agree with tackling but if a player cannot kick or run, im guessing he probably shouldnt be in the program.
I wonder, how many of Ricks paying clients are in the u14/15 boys and girls Rep squads?
Do you think he uses his influence to pick the best players? or does the NFNL spew out memo's to parents and players about having 2 even teams? Allowing Rick and his merry men of Club Coaches to pick who they want, not who deserves to be picked. This is fact. Ask anyone who is remotely involved, and its been happening for years.

Lisa Kankaanpaa runs and owns this business, the long time NFNL Administrator started this little side business nearly 2 years ago. She has recruited coaches of the Rep teams to be part of this little money making scam, who are there to pick the girls and boys she has as clients. This is happening. Its not a rumour.

Also
One current Rep coach is under an NFNL Investigation, another has admitted to his own club last year of displaying an inappropriate cartoon image to 13/14 year olds and using vulger language describing the image and inciting violence towards the opponents of the day. This is also fact, he apologized for it to parents and players last year.
The other fact is that ALL REP coaches last year were aware of this

NFNL Management including the CEO are aware of this. But have refused to respond to me or act on it.

My kid isnt in the Rep program so no sour grapes here. Just an observer who is sick of the blatant corruption that we hoped had stopped when Heidelberg FC exposed the corruption that brought the DVFL to its knees. But it still goes on.

Maybe this is why they cannot get more than 5 teams in Division 1 of most boys football?

This is happening in the Junior Football Department, i hate to think of what is happening at a higher level.

Time for a reality check on our League full of Integrity.
https://www.footyfasttracker.com.au/programs/coaches
The Head of Football Development Rick LeGassik who runs the prestigious NFNL Rep Program has once again filled the boys and girls training sessions with every team member of his side business Footy Fast Tracker.
We assume Paul, Meg, Rick and Chris dont do this for free. So Jeff Downie will have to approve these weekly invoices so Rick and his partners get paid. At the expense of the kids not having a decent venue for jumper presentations, or whatever else the money could be spent on.
Why would Elite Rep players need specialist coaches for kicking and running? I could maybe agree with tackling but if a player cannot kick or run, im guessing he probably shouldnt be in the program.
I wonder, how many of Ricks paying clients are in the u14/15 boys and girls Rep squads?
Do you think he uses his influence to pick the best players? or does the NFNL spew out memo's to parents and players about having 2 even teams? Allowing Rick and his merry men of Club Coaches to pick who they want, not who deserves to be picked. This is fact. Ask anyone who is remotely involved, and its been happening for years.

www.ultimatempb.com.au

team - UltimateMPB

Our Team members team leaders Phiv Demetriou High Performance director View Profile Bachelor of Education Level 2 coach AFL National Presenter AFL Development Manager AFL kicking Masterclass Lisa Kankaanpaa director operations View Profile Diploma Health Science Diploma Sports Massage NFNL...
www.ultimatempb.com.au
Lisa Kankaanpaa runs and owns this business, the long time NFNL Administrator started this little side business nearly 2 years ago. She has recruited coaches of the Rep teams to be part of this little money making scam, who are there to pick the girls and boys she has as clients. This is happening. Its not a rumour.

Also
One current Rep coach is under an NFNL Investigation, another has admitted to his own club last year of displaying an inappropriate cartoon image to 13/14 year olds and using vulger language describing the image and inciting violence towards the opponents of the day. This is also fact, he apologized for it to parents and players last year.
The other fact is that ALL REP coaches last year were aware of this

NFNL Management including the CEO are aware of this. But have refused to respond to me or act on it.

My kid isnt in the Rep program so no sour grapes here. Just an observer who is sick of the blatant corruption that we hoped had stopped when Heidelberg FC exposed the corruption that brought the DVFL to its knees. But it still goes on.

Maybe this is why they cannot get more than 5 teams in Division 1 of most boys football?

This is happening in the Junior Football Department, i hate to think of what is happening at a higher level.

How prestigios even is rep football these days? club nominations always become a way of appeasing parent coaches and their friends and often committee members too. i didnt realise Rick LeGassick had left the Northern KNights I know Rocca is coach now but wasnt he the head coach before him?
Just read his resume on the link above and tobe honest theres not enough reward financialy at nab league now for those credentials and theres plenty of empty resume types willing to do it for a tracksuit and a few grand so if the man can do better elsewhere for less expectation then half his lcuk

How prestigios even is rep football these days? club nominations always become a way of appeasing parent coaches and their friends and often committee members too. i didnt realise Rick LeGassick had left the Northern KNights I know Rocca is coach now but wasnt he the head coach before him?
Just read his resume on the link above and tobe honest theres not enough reward financialy at nab league now for those credentials and theres plenty of empty resume types willing to do it for a tracksuit and a few grand so if the man can do better elsewhere for less expectation then half his lcuk
Rep is not elite. It’s rubbish due to people like him.
I think you’re missing the point here.
Financing your side business via NFNL $ and not acknowledging it and or the league being in on it is a total conflict of interest and an absolute rort.
It’s the kind of stuff that destroyed the DVFL.

Got it now, yes I did misntepret it sorry.
Thats definitely rather crap if it is a well known practice and even more concerning if the same influences impact how the knights function regarding list opportunity and roles for the adults

NFNL Member I wonder if the intrepid NFNL Journalist (@benhiggins....aka on here as ????????) would be able to actually be a journalist other than his recent 'article' (aka fluff piece to get his face in print)

@benhiggins, we know you are on here, maybe do some 'investigation' and 'journalism' (other than diary writing) and look into allegations made.....unless you are on the alleged books as well.....

Local footy journo Ben Higgins charts his fitness journey to a local footy return at 39​

Incredibly unfit and almost 40, out-of-shape local footy journo Ben Higgins charts his journey from pre-season pain to earning a local footy debut at Watsonia.

The mind was willing but the body was flabby.

When I rolled into Watsonia’s first pre-season training session in November, I had no intention of pulling on the jumper and boots.

I was 110kg, 39 and had last played a competitive game 14 years ago.

And as it turned, I couldn’t run a lap.

That first session – my first since 2012 – did not go well but I didn’t throw up, so that was a win.

In hindsight, some preparation would have been a good idea. I was knackered before the end of the warm-up.

Asked to run five laps, I got through one before I slowed to a walk.

The second training I managed two-and-a-half laps.

Watsonia coaches George Lattouf and Gary Cutler must have been wondering what the hell I was doing there.

However, I could never motivate myself to run long distances or do repeat sprints, and footy training is an amazing way to get fit.

Seven months later, on Saturday, I played my first official game since 2010.

There are some rather unflattering videos and pictures of those early sessions – plodding along, sweat soaked and in pain.

Just before Christmas I ran five laps consecutively for the first time.

After a couple of pre-pre-season sessions at Bundoora I came back in the new year confident – over-confident.

Quickly I got put back in my box with a near 11-minute 2km time trial.

As training ramped up in the new year, so did my trips to the physio – highly recommend Jacqui at Watsonia Physiotherapy.

The knees were stuffed from the start. The calves were the next to go.

I discovered how good rollers were for knackered muscles and joints.

It’s frustrating knowing what you used to be capable of and coming to the realisation you’re not 25 any more – not 35 any more either.

Attempting to keep up with a bunch of 20-year-olds gets you there a lot quicker.

So as January turned into February and practice matches approached I thought ‘why not’.

I’d encourage anyone to get down to your local footy club and join in.

Even if you’re not as fit as you once were but still keen for a kick, a great many clubs are looking for players and, if you don’t play, perhaps you find a new community and become a volunteer, which are even more valuable these days.

Practice match No.1 and while most may not agree I’m pretty sure I inspired the reserve grade win over Eastern club Heathmont.

Showed the boys how to kick straight with the first goal and could have had a couple more if the bounce of the ball had been kinder.

I backed up against Essendon District club Oak Park and played almost an entire game due to a lack of numbers.

Running down one young fella from behind was awesome before a rush of blood gave away the free kick. I still contend he bounced the ball as I tackled him, which should have given me the free.

That resulted in an infected blister and me unable to walk properly for three days – so yeah, fun.

I got the 2km time down to 10 minutes and had shed five kilos and several centimetres off the waist by this point.

It probably could have been more if I’d dieted properly but unfortunately I found the best ice cream in Melbourne at Dairy Bell off Grimshaw Street in Bundoora.

Diamond Creek coach Andrew Tranquilli gave me a good reminder of where I was when I asked him where my time trial would put me at his club.

“We could probably find a spot for you behind the bar,” he quipped.

Unsurprisingly, I missed out on Round 1 selection – reserves obviously – but I kept training. I felt a part of the club now.

Not going to lie, I was flat missing out on the Round 5 match against Panton Hill – flatter still when the Redbacks kicked six goals in the last quarter to pinch the win.

That brings us to Saturday against Northcote Park.

Being late wasn’t a great start.

Things have changed since I last ran out for Wagga Tigers in Round 1, 2010.

The music is blaring – I was asked to provide the tunes – and away white shorts, which I didn’t have, were required.

I’d never had to pay for shorts and certainly not the guernsey before. Is that a metro thing?

First opportunity came and slipped straight through the fingers, quite literally, ruining a potential shot on goal.

I was blowing after five minutes.

Two handballs, one clanger, one free against and a tackle was all I had to show for the first half.

Maybe a move to the backline would be better?

Five intercept marks, six disposals (at 100 per cent efficiency I might add) and a couple more tackles and I finished pretty content with the performance.

The Cougars are struggling for numbers at the minute so credit to the boys for rocking up and giving us a game.

Maybe I can hold my place?

If not, Watsonia plays Diamond Creek on Saturday and I can do some bar work.

NFNL Member I wonder if the intrepid NFNL Journalist (@benhiggins....aka on here as ????????) would be able to actually be a journalist other than his recent 'article' (aka fluff piece to get his face in print)

@benhiggins, we know you are on here, maybe do some 'investigation' and 'journalism' (other than diary writing) and look into allegations made.....unless you are on the alleged books as well.....

Local footy journo Ben Higgins charts his fitness journey to a local footy return at 39​

Incredibly unfit and almost 40, out-of-shape local footy journo Ben Higgins charts his journey from pre-season pain to earning a local footy debut at Watsonia.

When I rolled into Watsonia’s first pre-season training session in November, I had no intention of pulling on the jumper and boots.

That first session – my first since 2012 – did not go well but I didn’t throw up, so that was a win.

In hindsight, some preparation would have been a good idea. I was knackered before the end of the warm-up.

Watsonia coaches George Lattouf and Gary Cutler must have been wondering what the hell I was doing there.

However, I could never motivate myself to run long distances or do repeat sprints, and footy training is an amazing way to get fit.

There are some rather unflattering videos and pictures of those early sessions – plodding along, sweat soaked and in pain.

After a couple of pre-pre-season sessions at Bundoora I came back in the new year confident – over-confident.

As training ramped up in the new year, so did my trips to the physio – highly recommend Jacqui at Watsonia Physiotherapy.

It’s frustrating knowing what you used to be capable of and coming to the realisation you’re not 25 any more – not 35 any more either.

Attempting to keep up with a bunch of 20-year-olds gets you there a lot quicker.

So as January turned into February and practice matches approached I thought ‘why not’.

Even if you’re not as fit as you once were but still keen for a kick, a great many clubs are looking for players and, if you don’t play, perhaps you find a new community and become a volunteer, which are even more valuable these days.

Practice match No.1 and while most may not agree I’m pretty sure I inspired the reserve grade win over Eastern club Heathmont.

Showed the boys how to kick straight with the first goal and could have had a couple more if the bounce of the ball had been kinder.

I backed up against Essendon District club Oak Park and played almost an entire game due to a lack of numbers.

Running down one young fella from behind was awesome before a rush of blood gave away the free kick. I still contend he bounced the ball as I tackled him, which should have given me the free.

That resulted in an infected blister and me unable to walk properly for three days – so yeah, fun.

I got the 2km time down to 10 minutes and had shed five kilos and several centimetres off the waist by this point.

It probably could have been more if I’d dieted properly but unfortunately I found the best ice cream in Melbourne at Dairy Bell off Grimshaw Street in Bundoora.

Diamond Creek coach Andrew Tranquilli gave me a good reminder of where I was when I asked him where my time trial would put me at his club.

Unsurprisingly, I missed out on Round 1 selection – reserves obviously – but I kept training. I felt a part of the club now.

Not going to lie, I was flat missing out on the Round 5 match against Panton Hill – flatter still when the Redbacks kicked six goals in the last quarter to pinch the win.

The music is blaring – I was asked to provide the tunes – and away white shorts, which I didn’t have, were required.

I’d never had to pay for shorts and certainly not the guernsey before. Is that a metro thing?

First opportunity came and slipped straight through the fingers, quite literally, ruining a potential shot on goal.

Two handballs, one clanger, one free against and a tackle was all I had to show for the first half.

Five intercept marks, six disposals (at 100 per cent efficiency I might add) and a couple more tackles and I finished pretty content with the performance.

The Cougars are struggling for numbers at the minute so credit to the boys for rocking up and giving us a game.

Well Denny, Mr Higgins is a bit like Houdini Stillman.
Never to be seen at the crime.
I’ve emailed Ben, wasn’t interested.
Enough said.
Well done on a great career though Ben.
I’m sure it’s better than Houdini’s.

Can’t believe someone would get paid to write this dribble 🤦‍♂️

Ben Higgins aka Thunder1

0 integrity

Ben Higgins aka Thunder1

0 integrity
He’s not the only one.
AFL Vic- not interested it’s a NFNL issue.
Higgins- not interested in an anonymous tip off.
Houdini Stillman- no response
Mr Downie- as per Houdini
Rick Cashfortheboys LeGassick- no response.
Kilmore JFC- no response.
NFNL Rep- no response of course as it’s all of the above.

Integrity 🤔 zero.

All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread