Another Wilson article

The venomous so called football journalist continues her quest to bring us down...Not sure if this has already been posted.

Kangaroos appear a disjointed mob after 'decisive' vote
Caroline Wilson
March 4, 2007

RON Joseph's elevation to the North Melbourne board should never have been like this. The football powerbroker from the 1970s and 1980s who helped set Sydney on the right track in the 1990s has been a heroic figure for the Kangaroos over decades and one of the game's great romantic symbols.

Of course he has made enemies along the way, fallen out with close friends and later rekindled those friendships. In his later career as player manager, his negotiating processes proved frustrating yet usually remarkably effective — for his clients.

Joseph is a Kangaroos life member and a Hall of Famer. After exhausting a series of bureaucratic avenues and searching for the right running mates, he chose to stand for the board — having been thwarted several years ago in a bid to become president — alongside the Brayshaw brothers, Mark and James.

Joseph did so with the support of old North Melbourne, notably Bob Ansett, although Joseph has also remained close over the years to famous North families such as the Trainors and the Mantellos. Glenn Archer gave Joseph a ringing endorsement and Ansett gave him several thousand B-class shares with which to vote in the club's confusing but decisive election.

Or was it? The day Ron Joseph became a Kangaroos director should have been decisive because Joseph has always been clear in his motives and steadfast in his football philosophy. The game is about winning premierships and creating great dynasties through great leaders and good people — and perhaps a few clever tricks along the way.

He should have returned to the ailing club like a white knight. Instead, he appeared three days ago like the ghost of Christmases past.

Having talked up the Gold Coast and talked down chairman Graham Duff before the election, Joseph insisted he did not want the presidency himself. But then he used the Ansett shares to vote for Duff's opponent, the enigmatic Peter de Rauch, who with a $27,000 cheque the week earlier tried to take over the club during a board meeting.

De Rauch, who was beaten in the election, plays a starring role in a long history of conflict. His name still stirs passion — not all of it negative — in people ranging from Denis Pagan to Greg Miller to Geoff Walsh to Mark Dawson. The suggestion was that had de Rauch won back a place on the board, Joseph could have been president.

Ansett was furious and he wasn't alone. The Brayshaws were surprised, to put it mildly, and Joseph's language — both verbal and body — when the new board fronted the media on Wednesday night signalled anything but unity. He does not deny attempting to woo former AFL commissioner Peter Scanlon onto the board as president.

So how on earth can anyone suggest the Kangaroos board is united? Certainly no one is expecting instant answers but the Gold Coast situation remains the question mark on everybody's lips and the bizarre A-class, B-class share situation has left the door open for big-time shareholders such as de Rauch. It is hardly a stable situation.

A radical decision regarding relocation must not wait another two years or even one. And membership remains a massive concern. As insulting as this may sound to Dean Laidley and his team, the impression at the moment is that the club is doing a lot of watching and waiting and not a lot of doing.

Compare North with the Western Bulldogs. The latter played better football last year and have a real prospect of survival in the Melbourne's western suburbs but remain unable to come close to turning a profit without AFL help.

Yet they are rarely talked about in the same breath as North Melbourne these days when struggling clubs are mentioned. For one thing they have an identity. Equally significantly they have unity, or at least the very strong appearance of it.

People who know and love Ron Joseph are waiting to see if he can still work his magic when his North Melbourne Football Club needs it most. Perhaps there has been some method in his madness but he hasn't made a great start.

I think we are totally defenceless against the relocation media push at the moment.

That is why we need a formal group if you like, which must include not just supporters but former players and officials, who can fly the flag and counter comments like this on radio and at every opportunity.

The club clearly doesn't want to do that.

A radical decision regarding relocation must not wait another two years or even one. And membership remains a massive concern. QUOTE]

Why, we have a 3 year deal up there for 10 games?

Membership last year was at an all time high despite our cruddy negative footy. We are now showing a more positive brand thus far.

We look to have a heap of guys on our list who will play 3-12 years and 200+ games.

We have still recovered from the Hay, Rawlings, Picoane, Thurley type recruiting to still have a pretty young and exciting list.

I have posted on another thread that we should look at playing more games up there with 8 home games in Melbourne but I certainly do not see any rush and I would only do a deal if we really had to.

CW is a panic merchant. She claims the WB are not financially viable but we should relocate to find an identity.

Not so much a panic merchant but a malcontent. She campaigns for radical change and then complains that the changes, once made, have destroyed the fabric of the game.

And did you notice in today's Age, a pic showing a lot of empty seats, with a line about the sparse crowd at the game ? It wasn't a big crowd, but about what you'd expect for a NAB Cup game againts a WA side.

What I like is that the pic was taken when Freo were doing their warmups, about 35 mins before the game started ; so it was gardly an honest indication of the crowd that was there for the game.

The media's white-anting campaign continues ! :thumbsdown:

And did you notice in today's Age, a pic showing a lot of empty seats, with a line about the sparse crowd at the game ? It wasn't a big crowd, but about what you'd expect for a NAB Cup game againts a WA side.

What I like is that the pic was taken when Freo were doing their warmups, about 35 mins before the game started ; so it was gardly an honest indication of the crowd that was there for the game.

The media's white-anting campaign continues ! :thumbsdown:

They could, of course, have chosen to point the samera at the other end of the ground at North's full cheer squad area, or round where North's reserved seats are, but where's the pathos in that?

Funny how there is no article ro pictures of the empty seats at the dome on Friday night?

Friday night football with an excitement about the Dogs and a team that has a good Melbourne supporter base for an interstate side and still only 12k.

Wouldn't be in USC's or the AFL's best interests to write about that would it?

The Age's efforts to find a negative picture to run in their sports section contrast with the Herald Sun : couple of good pics of Duff celebrating with Laidley & D Mac. I guess you can always find a negative pic if you really want to !

A radical decision regarding relocation must not wait another two years or even one.

I agree with leatherface, the decision must not wait another two years or even one. We need an immediate show of strength that definitely rules out relocation, at any point in time if they want to grow in strength here in Melbourne.

We need a clearly defined picture of what kind of supporter base we need to survive here comfortably as an 11 game Melbourne team then we can work towards building up a sustainable level of support for the club.

That is never going to happen unless the club get passionate about the supporters and about being a Melbourne only club. We also need an admin that is not going to take crap from the AFL. North vs Collingwood at Carrara. North vs Carlton at Carrara. North vs freaking Fremantle... TD. We don't want the freaking games against a side we can pull a decent crowd to be on Carrara and playing freaking interstate teams in Melbourne.

They MUST sit down with the AFL to give all games vs the top drawing Melbourne clubs as priority Melbourne games. If it is not down on paper we should not support games on the GC because they will just screw us like they are screwing us now.

The picture was actually of the Freo cheer squads end, which had about 25 people there.

North's end was awash in a sea of blue.

I find it funny that Caro states that the media never talks about the Bulldogs relocation any more, when SHE is the media.

She's the one who stopped writing about the doggies and started writing all this crap on us.

Why is The Age taking this stance against us? Even a non-North supporting mate at work said it's just so obvious that they have an agenda in having us shipped off.

Is the AFL urging them to push this barrow? Or is the editor a bitter Essendon supporter tired of us beating them up over the past 5 years?

I hope RA is on the phone to them at some stage today.

I also found it funny that their was no match report in the Age.

Instead there was a picture of Petrie, and an article on several Freo players getting suspended.

The picture was actually of the Freo cheer squads end, which had about 25 people there.

North's end was awash in a sea of blue.

I find it funny that Caro states that the media never talks about the Bulldogs relocation any more, when SHE is the media.

She's the one who stopped writing about the doggies and started writing all this crap on us.

Only way to throw it back in spades

Keep winning North, get the members signing on and fill the stands come regular season.. construction on the re-development will make he look like a LIAR and a LEPER! :p Top it off, her Tiges struggling.

Is the AFL urging them to push this barrow?
Of course they are. You'd never convince me the AFL aren't pulling the odd string in all this. I don't want to sound paranoid but I think all the negative press, lack of membership advertisements and ignoring of positives (ie - encouraging early on field results, great young talent with bright futures) is deliberate. The AFL want us on the GC. We're the only ones who can stop that. But they're using their sly tactics by getting the media to be their vehicle.

And what better person than Caroline Wilson who has probably had a hatred of North Melbourne since her old man was president of Richmond in the early 70's when the two clubs had a distinct dislike of each other. Most older Richmond supporters are probably still whingeing about Keith Greig's brownlow's.
Or is the editor a bitter Essendon supporter tired of us beating them up over the past 5 years?
Another thing that irks me. Once upon a time you didn't know who the sports writers supported. But now with the likes of Wilson (Richmond), Walls (Carlton - thought he was gonna cream his pants in the comm box when they played Essendon) and Mark Robinson (Essendon). Robinson is ridiculously biased. He'll find a way to work either Essendon or Sheedy into every discussion or article, while at the same time has been proven idiotic on his knowledge of other clubs players most noticeably, ours. And these muppets are actually getting paid for this!!

On the plus side, the coverage is much more reasonable in the Herald Sun, which people read, than in the Age, which hardly anyone reads. Big back page photo of happy North people, top shot of Matt Campbell after a goal and lots of fans in the photos they managed to take.

Re: Robbo does his homework

... Mark Robinson (Essendon). Robinson is ridiculously biased. He'll find a way to work either Essendon or Sheedy into every discussion or article, while at the same time has been proven idiotic on his knowledge of other clubs players most noticeably, ours. And these muppets are actually getting paid for this!!

I've been listening in & reading MR articles/ radio segments over the last 12 months and definately has matured/ wised up/ educated himself about North and turned the corner...is questioning the AFL more than most other journos which is were all the REAL ISSUES are and isn't as biased as he use to be (couldn't stand him at one stage...so much blah blah bombers blah). Give credit where it is due on the basis of continual successive articles/ discussions. Onya Robbo.

usc currently has a score of 10 out of about eleven articles being in the negative against the roos, and at the moment i dont give a brass razoo.

she is starting to look foolish and if she can find anything negative about pratt in this farmer incident she will try:rolleyes: .

the pro north crowd was great yesterday, we are getting heaps of decent press now, my only complaint is next weeks game, do we get afl compensation for next week, as it is not one of the allocated games for the season?

logically brisbane playing in brisbane and two melbourne teams at the dome, but then im not the afl.:confused:

The venomous so called football journalist continues her quest to bring us down...Not sure if this has already been posted.

Kangaroos appear a disjointed mob after 'decisive' vote
Caroline Wilson
March 4, 2007

RON Joseph's elevation to the North Melbourne board should never have been like this. The football powerbroker from the 1970s and 1980s who helped set Sydney on the right track in the 1990s has been a heroic figure for the Kangaroos over decades and one of the game's great romantic symbols.

Of course he has made enemies along the way, fallen out with close friends and later rekindled those friendships. In his later career as player manager, his negotiating processes proved frustrating yet usually remarkably effective — for his clients.

Joseph is a Kangaroos life member and a Hall of Famer. After exhausting a series of bureaucratic avenues and searching for the right running mates, he chose to stand for the board — having been thwarted several years ago in a bid to become president — alongside the Brayshaw brothers, Mark and James.

Joseph did so with the support of old North Melbourne, notably Bob Ansett, although Joseph has also remained close over the years to famous North families such as the Trainors and the Mantellos. Glenn Archer gave Joseph a ringing endorsement and Ansett gave him several thousand B-class shares with which to vote in the club's confusing but decisive election.

Or was it? The day Ron Joseph became a Kangaroos director should have been decisive because Joseph has always been clear in his motives and steadfast in his football philosophy. The game is about winning premierships and creating great dynasties through great leaders and good people — and perhaps a few clever tricks along the way.

He should have returned to the ailing club like a white knight. Instead, he appeared three days ago like the ghost of Christmases past.

Having talked up the Gold Coast and talked down chairman Graham Duff before the election, Joseph insisted he did not want the presidency himself. But then he used the Ansett shares to vote for Duff's opponent, the enigmatic Peter de Rauch, who with a $27,000 cheque the week earlier tried to take over the club during a board meeting.

De Rauch, who was beaten in the election, plays a starring role in a long history of conflict. His name still stirs passion — not all of it negative — in people ranging from Denis Pagan to Greg Miller to Geoff Walsh to Mark Dawson. The suggestion was that had de Rauch won back a place on the board, Joseph could have been president.

Ansett was furious and he wasn't alone. The Brayshaws were surprised, to put it mildly, and Joseph's language — both verbal and body — when the new board fronted the media on Wednesday night signalled anything but unity. He does not deny attempting to woo former AFL commissioner Peter Scanlon onto the board as president.

So how on earth can anyone suggest the Kangaroos board is united? Certainly no one is expecting instant answers but the Gold Coast situation remains the question mark on everybody's lips and the bizarre A-class, B-class share situation has left the door open for big-time shareholders such as de Rauch. It is hardly a stable situation.

A radical decision regarding relocation must not wait another two years or even one. And membership remains a massive concern. As insulting as this may sound to Dean Laidley and his team, the impression at the moment is that the club is doing a lot of watching and waiting and not a lot of doing.

Compare North with the Western Bulldogs. The latter played better football last year and have a real prospect of survival in the Melbourne's western suburbs but remain unable to come close to turning a profit without AFL help.

Yet they are rarely talked about in the same breath as North Melbourne these days when struggling clubs are mentioned. For one thing they have an identity. Equally significantly they have unity, or at least the very strong appearance of it.

People who know and love Ron Joseph are waiting to see if he can still work his magic when his North Melbourne Football Club needs it most. Perhaps there has been some method in his madness but he hasn't made a great start.
Lucky for me I have been doing English analysis lately, and for me all credibility was lost here.

If the roos had the playing group the dogs CURRENTLY have, and showed the same exciting footy that the dogs showed last year, in no way would Roos be having problems with memberships.

Although this sounds depressing, that we have alot of possible bandwagon members not signing on, if we continue to play this style of football, and attract media attention because of it ** something we failed to do last year **, we will find it much easy in years to come to attract people to come watch us.

Can someone please give me her address. ................. :mad:

Your honour, Giantroo was never at USC's house when the bag of flaming poo poo was hurled. Giantroo is a conscientious student who stays home studying and isn't even allowed to go to his beloved North Melbourne games. Your honour, Giantroo has been framed for this heinous crime. The defence rests.

The Age is at it again today : a story by Tim Lane saying how North should relocate to Tasmania, because that would work so much better than the gold coast. We could wear blue & white for games in melbourne, green & gold for games in Tassie, and it would be so convenient for Melbourne-based fans to travel to Tassie to watch games there.

Idiot !!!!!! :thumbsdown:

Another Wilson article