Atmosphere

Wicko26

Rookie
Mar 25, 2003
Kangaroos
Last night i came to the ground expecting 30,000 + but obiviously some supporters have no faith with the young!!! with only 24,359 people there they made a lot of noise and when the point was given thats when it was the loudest. Anthoney Stevens was being interviewed by channel 10 and from one wing round to the cheersquad and round to the other wing were all chanting NORTH MELBOURE!!! NORTH MELBOURNE!!! The team was standing infront of the race and looked pretty disapointed but from the reaction of the crowd have a lot to be proud of and will come out all guns blazing at freo next week

I sat to the right of the cheersquad with my 6month old boy for his 1st game (who thoroughly enjoyed it!), and I also felt the atmoshere was terrific.
I estimated b/w 24,000-26,000 there, but thought the energy and excitement generated was fantastic.

I thought channel 10's programming to shpw the game @ 7:30 did nothing to help the attendance figures and suprised this hasn't raised a mention as a factor.

What was the atmoshere like at the other end of the ground?

I was on the top level on the wing that had the stage setup before the game. It was mostly Lions supporters and therefore I came away thinking the game didn't have the same atmosphere that one would have expected from a game like that.

They're quite a good crowd the old Fitzroy supporters.

I was seated next to the interchange bench and in front of the flag presentaion and all I can say is that we can make a racket when we want to!!!!!!!!!:D

Anyhow how much is it to join the Cheer squad? and does joining the cheer squad allow you a reserved seat behind the goals?

Atmosphere? Yeah, it was always my favourite Joy Division song.

Oh, hang on......the footy on Saturday.....best atmosphere in a long time, but Docklands has weird acoustics. The sound seems to vibrate in the section that the crowd is in, but doesn't seem to travel to other sections of the crowd (we could see Roos and Lions fans chanting in other sections, but they sounded almost as if they came from outside the stadium).

We stood on the ground level behind the North Melbourne reserved seats and the North Melbourne chants were almost getting more frequent and louder in the second half, and it was almost constant through the last quarter.

I sat with my girlfriend, a new north member first live game, we sat near the bris cheer squad...There was one north supporter (abit *****ed) giving them hell...

I notice on the second tier at the north cheer squad end on the right there was a section that no-one sitting there. And watching the reply when I got home it made the crowd look small on tv than it actually was...

I must add that my girlfriend favorite players are Jess (like all women) and spider...

but on the night she was getting so upset at no. 9 for brisbane for pushing harding around and yelled things out, that I did know could come out of her mouth, now harding is one of her favorites...
;)

We were sitting in aisle 34 in the reserved seating area and the atmosphere around us was great. The 'NORTH MELBOURNE' chant, especially in the second half, seemed to be very loud. It could clearly be heard on the television replay, too.

After the game we went to the Victory Room for a drink. A few of the players came in. Anthony Stevens, David King and Allen Aylett spoke briefly to the supporters. When Stevo was speaking, he said it was disappointing to have a 'loss'. All the crowd started yelling out to him that we didn't lose and he corrected himself but said that it felt like a loss to him. David King said that one of the bad things about him kicking those two freakish goals was that they would be replayed and everyone would see his shaved head!

I spoke to Daniel Motlop in the Victory Room and asked him about his injury. He was very friendly and easy to talk to and continued to sign autographs, despite the injury to his AC joint.

Originally posted by Wicko26
Last night i came to the ground expecting 30,000 + but obiviously some supporters have no faith with the young!!!

It's probably worth mentioning that we have never drawn 30,000+ against the Brisbane Lions, Brisbane Bears or Fitzroy post 1958 in a h&a match in Melbourne. Overall the crowd was down on our recent average against the Lions, but not by much and I am sure the Saturday night factor, and the 20 minute TV delay factor played it's part.

I thought the atmosphere was excellent as well, and for a crowd of 24k odd we certainly made plenty of noise.

Moomba

We were about 5 rows back just to the right of the North players' race, and during the final minutes the noise was deafening. Congrats to both North and Brisbane fans (in my immediate are at least) for their exemplary behaviour throughout such a tense encounter.

Gotta say that I understand Laidley's frustration and comments as a result .However , I agree that 24K is a pretty good crowd result for North against an interstate club.

Sure , Brisbane has some old Fitzroy support in Melbourne as well but there have been other games that drew lower crowds in the past few years.

Our games against Freo at The Dome were a worry and the "bring a friend " stratergy was launched for those games.

Last year's games at Princess Park drew low crowds (not only for us though).

However , you guys sure made plenty of noise all night......It was definately more noticable than ever before over the TV.

Only wish we were there to "join in the chorus"

Re your Cheer Squad enquiry, Thumping. I think the Club can give you the Cheer Squad contact number. I understand the joining fee is pretty reasonable and the RESERVED area is first come first served for Cheer Squad members.

I have reserved seats in aisle 38... met up with a mate who follows essendon who couldn't believe how small the crowd was. I guess they are used to 40000+ at the game.

He did say that we were bloody loud... we had the whole half back to half forward flank of that side of the ground... Great atmosphere...

I remember our crowds in the early 90s were bloody loud... I'm happy that my reserved seats are right in the middle of all the North supporters... we get spread out a bit at the MCG.

On Spencer Street station after the match there was this big guy with a painted face and player badges all over him who kept calling out incomprehensible North stuff to anyone who would listen (and everyone else, too!)

Noticed that everyone seemed to refer to him as Mick... could this have been the famed Mad Mick I keep hearing of?

Moomba when we played Brisbane in 2001 we got just over 30,000, I'm sure of it. It was at Telstra dome does anyone remember the one I'm talking about? We put up a stiff fight but the Lions were just too good, I think we went down by about three goals in the end. Corey had been having trouble that season but he played well that night. Anyway I remember being taken aback at how big the crowd was for an 'interstate' game, but we mustn't forget, if any Fitzroy supporter is going to barrack for the Bears it's going to be now, so it's not really a true interstate game when we play the Lions imo. In that light I do thing 24,000 is a little disappointing.

In the late 90's we once got 44K playing Syndey at a glorious day at the G around the time the Swans were still good, a similar scenario perhaps.

Although I gotta say Saturday night is a sucky night for a football match - how tempting would it be for the fence sitters to watch it on the box before heading out for the night. Also it's less friendly to families. I hope the administration is not thiking that Saturday nights are as good as Friday nights.

Originally posted by hurricane
On Spencer Street station after the match there was this big guy with a painted face and player badges all over him who kept calling out incomprehensible North stuff to anyone who would listen (and everyone else, too!)

Noticed that everyone seemed to refer to him as Mick... could this have been the famed Mad Mick I keep hearing of?
Epping Line? Had to be Mick.

Metal Mick that is. \m/

Although one might say he was a few snags short of a BBQ!!

Yep, the Epping line.

He sort of wandered up and down yelling 'Go Roos' to people at random. This continued on the train as well. Sometimes he sang, too.

Innocent bystanders seemed to be a bit scared of him, but every Roos supporter on the station seemed to know him by name. A couple were trying to wind him up a bit ("what'd ya think about Voss' point, Mick") but he wasn't having any of it.

Surprised I haven't noticed him before...

He's a fair unit at the best of times, but he looked particularly special with that face make-up on though!! Had a quick "chat" to him as we were walking across the bridge. I'm still trying to figure out what the heck he was on about...

Heart of gold though Mick. Built like a brick sh*thouse, but wouldnt harm a fly.

Originally posted by Archer_11
Moomba when we played Brisbane in 2001 we got just over 30,000, I'm sure of it. It was at Telstra dome does anyone remember the one I'm talking about?

26,776 according to Stats paradise , although I am not sure how these figures are calaculated. It may be that freebies etc are counted in the AFL figures and not these figures so you may still be right on the 30k+.

Moomba

It's $10 (I think) to join the cheer squad and $7 to renew each year - less for kids. First in get seats in the cheer squad section for H&A games, and there's a ballot for finals games. You can ring them or just talk to anyone sitting in the first couple of rows at a game and they'll point you to the lady who'll sign you up.

If you're really keen obviously there's the banner-making and other stuff going on all the time too, and they arrange transport to away games.

At the games it's a great place to be for atmosphere - I think they should move people out who won't join in the chanting, but that's just my view!

we had an amazing night on Saturday, with the enthusiasim from our suporters we even managed to convert my cousin who is an Essendon supporter, to by a North membership......we were quite pleased with that effort:D

Originally posted by hurricane

yes haha and he always makes a fist and shouts GO ROOOOOS over and over

I was sitting to the right of the 'Squad' and was checking Mick out after we scored a couple of times, and it was an Ominous site indeed!

That face paint made his eyes look SO intense.
He is a scream and adds so much colour to the supporters behind the goals.

ROOOOOOOOS(hissssS)

Atmosphere