Play Nice Australia Day 2025

BunjiMC

Aug 31, 2016
I know this is going to cause some controversy, however, this is not my aim.

This might seem pedantic but as an employee of the SANFL and the AFL you'd think you'd just stay out of the debate. I was going to send it directly to the SANFL but could not find an email address to send to.

Screenshot_20250126_092859_Facebook.jpg Screenshot_20250126_092622_Facebook.jpg Screenshot_20250126_092629_Facebook.jpg

This might seem pedantic but as an employee of the SANFL and the AFL you'd think you'd just stay out of the debate. I was going to send it directly to the SANFL but could not find an email address to send to.

View attachment 2211677View attachment 2211678View attachment 2211679
Honestly mate keep out of it I reckon.
Has he posted anything derogatory?
People are allowed a view point.

https://sanfl.com.au/inside-sanfl/contact/ would be your first port of call.

Both the AFL and SANFL would have social media policies that would be along the lines of ‘Don’t do anything on social media that’ll make us look bad’, which this could fall under

If he's publicly identifying himself as an employee of the AFL and SANFL then I'd expect they'd have some interest in it.
I don’t think it’s really up to any of us to dob him in.

Who cares, RAPs are almost universally total meaningless garbage. Our club should be focussing on delivering successful football teams, posts like that deserve to be laughed at.

Why would you laugh at the club posting about indigenous employment initiatives?

I laugh at all businesses that divert from their core reason of existence to waste finite resources and do nothing other than virtue signal. We’re a football club that has many advantages over competitors, including the poor cousin down the road, and yet we’ve delivered nothing resembling success or even sustained top few competitiveness for two and a half decades.

I think it’s an embarrassment that a performance based entity that has our record would spend a single nanosecond on making sure they post about aboriginal job opportunities on Australia Day.

Is what a surprise? The public's comments or the club's posting?
The kind of comments you see on Facebook.

It seems like a few clubs have made direct statements about today and its effect on First Nations people - Port Adelaide, St Kilda and Collingwood are three I've seen so far.

We haven't done that. We've instead highlighted the work being done around indigenous employment. I don't know if that's better or not.

I don't see how anyone can be offended by this, unless they're a bit of an identity warrior who want to dismiss the feelings of some First Nations people around this date. I think it's possible to both acknowledge that, and hope for a day of celebration for all Australians.

Laughing at reconciliation is a viewpoint, sure.

Not one that I'd want an employee holding publicly, though.
How do you know what his view point is though?
It’s a laugh react.

It seems like a few clubs have made direct statements about today and its effect on First Nations people - Port Adelaide, St Kilda and Collingwood are three I've seen so far.

We haven't done that. We've instead highlighted the work being done around indigenous employment. I don't know if that's better or not.

I don't see how anyone can be offended by this, unless they're a bit of an identity warrior who want to dismiss the feelings of some First Nations people around this date. I think it's possible to both acknowledge that, and hope for a day of celebration for all Australians.
What aren’t you getting, the club has not celebrated for all Australians, they’ve not mentioned it hence the comments!!

Who’s offended? I think all those clubs should worry about delivering premierships to their members. These lazy ‘efforts’ do nothing of value.

Just a thought, but how about footy clubs do footy rather than telling people what or how
to think in any which way, shape or form about anything.
Footy clubs aren't just that though, they're community leaders.

People want their teams to be something more than that, that's just how people are today. Otherwise the GWS dress up thing wouldn't have blown up like it did.

I'm not saying whether it's right or wrong, it's just the way it is.

People want their teams to be something more than that, that's just how people are today. Otherwise the GWS dress up thing wouldn't have blown up like it did.

Also - clubs have First Nations men and women who work there. They want to know their club recognises them and their experiences.

Not every indigenous person is going to feel the same way about January 26, but I think it's important that they know their view is respected.

I fondly recall the support ROB got around here when he posted an image of himself and that Jordan Peterson bloke. Most people don’t care either way and just want to support their footy club. Then there’s those that are happy for the club to get into political messaging as long as it aligns with their views.

"This view doesn't align with mine, I should contact their employer and see if I can get them sacked"

Can't honestly see how you can be anymore passive/aggressive. We live in a society where it is OK to have different views, they should be tolerated. Someone laughing at an organisation virtue-signalling is not hate speech, just leave it alone you sad, sad campaigner.

Play Nice Australia Day 2025