Autopsy Autopsy vs Collingwood aka the Great Pain Robbery

absolutely gutted, almost pulled a vocal chord when fisher had that shot on goal. devastating result but that’s the standard going forward now.

why did they sub phillips out for stephenson when shiels should of been subbed out. kept daicos relatively quiet for his standards up until that point.

Commiserations on the loss. North played some exciting footy early. Just have to play four quarters of that and you’ll be hard to beat. All the best for next week. Keep your chins up.
If we played four quarters of that effort, we would have trounced them by 20 goals. That level of effort is not feasible at this stage of our development.

The first half was lead by all of the younger guys. Some of the best footy this club has played for years.

Second half had far too much involvement from senior players who can’t execute effectively.
That’s a very simplistic view, in my mind. However, they are the same sort of stupid, irrational thoughts that I had during the last quarter too. I’m over it now though. We got beaten because we ran out of legs, plain and simple. Also, Collingwood’s self-belief is worth about four goals to them. That alone got them across the line today and on countless other occasions in the last few years. On the other hand, our lack of self-belief is a about a four goal negative for us. Switch that around and we flog them.

Farkin can’t take a trick from the footy gods rn. For some stupid reason I decided to keep watching the VFL game rather than switch over. Checked the scores after that finished and was like WTF! Thought I did my duty by steering clear of the coverage, scores, game day thread… But nooo… I’m shattered and will now go and revisit and pick up the pieces.

Having said that, enormously proud of the lads and shows we’re on course.

Something that really saddens me is you could see how much LDU and Zurhaar wanted it. But will they want to stick around after games like that? Where they give everything an its ripped away at the final minute because we aren't one of the big teams and thus aren't supposed to get late free kicks. Why wouldn't they go to a team that does get that kind of umpiring love?
LDU is not leaving. He has cemented a flag blowing in the wind to say that this midfield is his.

Not sure about CZ.

Alright.

Things that sucked. Giving up the lead and umpires who want to eat Nick Daicos arse. Umpires want a daicos b****e. Makes heaps of sense and physically unwell at the same time

Things that were awesome.

EVERYTHING ELSE. Proud of the boys. I knew they were going to come back. Would have been nice for that last kick at goal to sneak through, gee it was close.

Things the boys are learning, its really good signs. Bring on Melbourne at the G

Great first half and 1/8th.

Wardlaw and LDU were huge. Larkey had so much more space. Phillips great tagging, X doing plenty in the middle and around the ground. Northball, or good footy, was exhilarating. We will eventually turn it on for longer. Exciting times ahead.

Once again senior players with poor skills and/or decision making let us down. Corr, for all his good work, gives away stupid frees & his decision not to force a behind with 2 secs on the clock in the 2nd was a shocker. McDonald with ball in hand is a potential calamity more often than not. He had a good look at goal on his left in the 2nd and kicked out on the full, and streaming out of defence in the 3rd when we were under the pump he booted it long to an outnumbered contest & the ball rebounded. Felt a bit sorry for him with the Daicos head-down, front-on free but....meh

For all the rubbish umpiring we punched ourselves in the dick in crucial moments, none more so than Zurhaar in the last with an open forward line, under 'no' pressure, and two players free inside 50 & he decides not to kick but to scrub a handball to ground. His inconsistency is infuriating.

The maggot who tried to be a hero with the CFMEU will come out and say nothing to see here. The AFL are weak as piss to own up.
Understand we blew th lead but we got screwed in the 2nd half by the peanuts. Not once was there a 50/50 for the pies that didn't get paid in their favour.
Disappointed but more annoyed that this is the standard of umpiring.
They get influenced and pressured by the bigger clubs supporting base.
That's my vent, but if this is what we can produce then happy days next year 😁

If you'd told me last night we're going to lose to Collingwood I would've said "well yeah, of course we will. I just hope it's competitive and we show signs of progress." We were never going to win the flag or even make finals this year, as much as wins are nice the points don't mean much. I'll take an absolute robbery that everyone knows is a robbery. I can live with that. The progress was plain to see.
That’s about where I’m at right now.

That could change after getting home and watching the replay and see just how badly the maggots fisted us.

I’m proud as punch at the way we played today and that won’t change even if rage at being robbed bubbles to the surface.

Something that really saddens me is you could see how much LDU and Zurhaar wanted it. But will they want to stick around after games like that? Where they give everything an its ripped away at the final minute because we aren't one of the big teams and thus aren't supposed to get late free kicks. Why wouldn't they go to a team that does get that kind of umpiring love?
If it took that to stop us winning today, then when this side has played together for a few years it'll take more than that to stop them. Why wouldn't you stick around with this?

Larkey disappearing was sad.
The unknown for mine was, yes, great game by Zuurhar, but can he replicate it again this year?
It seems like the first game.
Interesting that everyone thinks the Phillips change was the wrong move, but Clarkson doesn’t think so.

I said in another thread our fitness is poor which is not just the end of games but end of quarters. Using the list profile is not a valid excuse considering other similar age/experience sides don’t have this issue.
Needs to be accountability and individuals responsible for this moved on in the off-season. We need the best of the best as fitness is as important as anything in the modern game.

• Wardlaw needs to improve his tank, he is such a dominant player in the middle and only playing 70-75% of the game is hurting us.
This will probably piss off a few, but its true. He was the #1 reason we dominated the first half, and gave us a massive platform to launch from.
But in the last quarter when the pressure was on and we needed players to step up, he was absolutely cooked and couldn't impact.

Shades of Cunners in his first couple of seasons.
Once his tank is up to scratch. Look out.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Collingwood aka the Great Pain Robbery