Scratch

Draftee
Feb 13, 2006
Has anyone got any news on the off season rumours in the Black Diamond Footy League

Normally I would have been the one to pass on any rumours, but since i'm in London now I haven't heard much.

There have been quite a few rep players leave the area as reported on the bdafl website but thats about it.

Cardiff's old ground has been demolished (thanks for nothing NSW Government) and they will play out of Maryland again in '07.

BTW are you the Scratch that coached Cardiff Reserve Grade in 2001??

A couple of moves from the website, both involving Cardiff.

Mick Ryan to Qld and Mick Krake moved with the army as well.

Both big losses.

Can anyone tell me what happened to the former Cardiff and Wests gun forward Brad King

Brad King umpires in the BDAFL occasionally. I think he's actually found his calling- he actually goes alright at it.

Apparently Angus Darling has left Terrigal as well.

From what I hear Cardiff have recruited well to cover Ryan & Krake's loss.

BTW you still haven't answered my question Scratch

No mate never coached Cardiff, know the bloke you are talking about though. Bit of a hothead ********er from what I can remember.

Brad King umpires in the BDAFL occasionally. I think he's actually found his calling- he actually goes alright at it.

Apparently Angus Darling has left Terrigal as well.

From what I hear Cardiff have recruited well to cover Ryan & Krake's loss.

BTW you still haven't answered my question Scratch
They would be recruiting well to get a proven 100 goal forward to replace Ryan.

Any more info ?

Played with Maurice a few years back at Woy Woy Swans

Whatever happened to my other old club Wests? Did they just die or merge?

No mate never coached Cardiff, know the bloke you are talking about though. Bit of a hothead ********er from what I can remember.

Nah Scratch wasn't a hot head, you must be thinking of Duges :D

They would be recruiting well to get a proven 100 goal forward to replace Ryan.
Any more info ?

Made a quick call back to OZ to a mate who is returning to the club this year and he said there is a new on baller and a new forward there at training- thats all I know. Given the fact I was paying for the call I didn't want to spend 30 mins talking about the Club!
In saying that there are 3-4 players in the first grade team that could his position easily.

Played with Maurice a few years back at Woy Woy Swans

Whatever happened to my other old club Wests? Did they just die or merge?

They died. Had no juniors, no comittee, in debt and majority of the team over 30. A few ex players now at Warners Bay but the rest seem to have drifted away. Real shame really.

Is Simon Tworek still having a kick a Warners Bay? One of the best left footers I ever saw.

I agree, they may well be able to move a player forward, but that guy then leaves a hole.

Ryan in my opinion is a huge loss and they will be hoping the new forward delivers big time.

Someone said Shaun Smith is back though. Pretty Good young kid.

The fact that have such a great record over the last 10 years will ensure that they pick up quality players whilst they are on top though.

The BDAFL comp in most cases is simply a case of even the weaker teams are only 5 new players from becoming a real force.

Nelson Bay would want to recruit some guys for this year. The RAAF concentration of numbers is a disaster as they are sent away heaps more than they used to. Last season they were stretched to the limit depth wise at times. Not alot of young guys either. No 18's.

Young Bird, a great prospect, but he wont see alot of Nelson Bay action if any this year I wouldn't think.

Killarney Vale seem to be rebuilding a bit with some returns to the club.

Wyong are saying they have recruited a couple of southerners, need more than two though.

City should be strong again great depth and a number of good young ones around the club for the future. Seconds and Under 18 premiers last year.

Terrigal has lost Darling I read. Huge for them. Should still be up there though.

Warners Bay still need a few imports to take the next step. Improving though.

Havent heard much from impoving Gosford. Have some good young ones coming through.

Yeah looking like a very interesting season ahead in the BDAFL.
Cardiff obviously looking the favourites again despite the loss of Krake and Ryan still have a very strong playing list will undoubtedly recruit well and im sure D. Flynn could slot in at CHF quite easily if need be.
Warners are a side who should take the next step. Not real sure about their gains and losses at the moment but Buckley will be a good addition in their side, a classy left footer who has been playin seniors in ACTAFL. They have a good mix of youth and experience and could be a big threat
City again should be strong with an impressive playing list and plenty of talls. The rumored loss of Kemp will be tough for them to overcome but Im sure they will find replacements. Look to have been recruiting heavily and their last few recruits over the yrs have been very handy players.
Gosford improved at the end of last yr and have signed a player from the Ovens and Murray and should be interesting to see how he goes. The tigers played some great footy in the 2nd half of last season, have a young list and if they recruit some old experienced heads to cover a few missing links could be the dark horse if they get on a roll early on.
Terrigal will be hurt by the loss of Darling and will struggle to cover him. Van Dam will prob ruck but rumors out of Terrigal are they arent having a super pre season and i know a few were a bit disenchanted with the coach during the prelim final. Spoonys retirement too will hit them hard, he mightnt be the player he was but is still the most competitive player in the comp.
Killarney will be an interesting side to watch with the appointment of Schell and Cutler as co coaches. They were disappointing last yr and the loss of Austerberry could break them. Edgley will be a good pick up but im not sure about Harrisons return. Seems like there struggling a bit getting him back.
Wyong looked a fair way off the pace last yr and will prob continue in that vein in 2007, rumor has it that Mitchell Ede is coaching there and at only 20 yrs of age is a massive role, especially considering he was in and out of the side last yr. Need a few recruits, have good players in Hillman, Berry and the Koop Fokes but need more to step up and a full yr from Ty Gallagher would help them out.
All rumor ive heard from Nelson Bay is that its going to be a massive struggle this year. Loss of about half their squad from last year, no real recruiting, not a full committee, coach appointed a couple of weeks ago, one of their better young players injured, Craig Bird playing in Swans reserves all year doesnt look good for the Marlins.
Anyway thats my thoughts 7 weeks out from rd 1.
And has anyone else heard the rumor about Clint Austerberry signing with Cardiff? It could make sense knowing his brothers did play there a few years back

The fact that have such a great record over the last 10 years will ensure that they pick up quality players whilst they are on top though.

The BDAFL comp in most cases is simply a case of even the weaker teams are only 5 new players from becoming a real force.

This is true. Look at Killarney Vale in 05. Picked up 5 and made the GF. The problem is though, you still need the youth coming through to suppliment the imports. This is why clubs like Cardiff, City & Terrigal are always contenders. They have strong Juniors, year in year out coming through the grades. You only have to look at the 16's GF last year. An absolute cracker of a game with some awesome talent in both teams. The standard has definately come a long way since I played juniors!

City should be strong again great depth and a number of good young ones around the club for the future. Seconds and Under 18 premiers last year.
See my above comment. City will always be strong while they have good numbers coming through and they have a strong pull of uni students (in fact City & Cardiff seem to have that market almost exclusively to themselves). (and you know you were damn lucky to get the Ressies cup last year ;) )

Interesting comments re Auterberry/Cardiff and Mitch Ede/Wyong.

Auterbery has trained at K/V I thought, money does talk though.

Know Mitch Ede, great young guy. Knowledgeable can handle the job, needs some troops though to save his bacon.

Nelson Bay supposedly have a guy with WAFL coaching experience driving them, however not really credible source. They did say he was unsure of his commitment too. They need a heap of players and no Bird in 07. Struggle and this year is crucial to their survival as no 18's, no 16's coming through.
Great juniors, but lower ages.

Kemp is still at City as far as I have heard. Lost about 4, but recruited at least that many too replace them.

Flynn could push to CHF, but my point was that someone has to step up into his spot and then their spot and so on.

A direct replacement for Ryan is needed or they might start to come back a touch. Probably better for the comp if they were to weaken. They certainly have dominated for a good period.

Warners are a side who should take the next step. Not real sure about their gains and losses at the moment but Buckley will be a good addition in their side, a classy left footer who has been playin seniors in ACTAFL. They have a good mix of youth and experience and could be a big threat
Bucks is a good young player, and with guys like Gordon coming out of 18's, they should be a real force. They started like a house on fire last season but faded late. With their brigade of young talent getting more and more senior experience they could be a dark horse this year.

Gosford improved at the end of last yr and have signed a player from the Ovens and Murray and should be interesting to see how he goes. The tigers played some great footy in the 2nd half of last season, have a young list and if they recruit some old experienced heads to cover a few missing links could be the dark horse if they get on a roll early on.

The Tiges will be another dark horse, with the youth coming through from the previous 3 grand finals, and the experience that has stuck around, expect them to do well, and possibly make the 4.

Terrigal will be hurt by the loss of Darling and will struggle to cover him. Van Dam will prob ruck but rumors out of Terrigal are they arent having a super pre season and i know a few were a bit disenchanted with the coach during the prelim final. Spoonys retirement too will hit them hard, he mightnt be the player he was but is still the most competitive player in the comp.

True. The end of the season for the panthers was pretty farcical, to the extent that even the Terrigal fans cheered when the coach dragged himself in the prelim final. The loss of 2 key players will hurt the panthers, but expect them to show some grit and push for a finals spot.

Killarney will be an interesting side to watch with the appointment of Schell and Cutler as co coaches. They were disappointing last yr and the loss of Austerberry could break them. Edgley will be a good pick up but im not sure about Harrisons return. Seems like there struggling a bit getting him back.
Unfortunately for Killarney Vale they seem to lose a lot of players in the 16-18 year age groups, which affects their depth somewhat. I think Wal Harrison will play until he drops, which is great to have a stalwart who wants to put in his all, but his time as a first grade footballer should be well behind him. You never know they might throw some $$ at a few greedy Sydneysiders to try and buy their way into another Grand Final :p

Wyong looked a fair way off the pace last yr and will prob continue in that vein in 2007, rumor has it that Mitchell Ede is coaching there and at only 20 yrs of age is a massive role, especially considering he was in and out of the side last yr. Need a few recruits, have good players in Hillman, Berry and the Koop Fokes but need more to step up and a full yr from Ty Gallagher would help them out.

Mitch will make a great coach, I have no doubts about it. He really has maturity well beyond his years, and has a great footy brain. He is unfortunately a bit injury prone(who can forget the broken sternum in the finals in '04), which has caused him to be a bit in-and-out. What they need is a few good recruits and a bit of self confidence and they will come good in the not too distant future (love their ground by the way!!)

All rumor ive heard from Nelson Bay is that its going to be a massive struggle this year. Loss of about half their squad from last year, no real recruiting, not a full committee, coach appointed a couple of weeks ago, one of their better young players injured, Craig Bird playing in Swans reserves all year doesnt look good for the Marlins.

To be honest, I think it won't be long before their is a merger of sorts between Port and Nelson Bay, with the Senior footy being played at Medowie.

And has anyone else heard the rumor about Clint Austerberry signing with Cardiff? It could make sense knowing his brothers did play there a few years back

That rumour gets trotted out every year, and has done since Luke and Daniel were playing Juniors with Cardiff. Until I see the clearance on the website, I'd take that one with a grain of salt.

Interesting to see a few peoples different thoughts and opinions on how the comp is shaping up in 07.
Looks like 07 is gonna be a long one for the Marlins, I was up there a couple of weeks ago catching up with one of their players and he was saying theres a massive amount of good players been posted interstate and looks like there will be a few blokes playing 2 games a weekend there.
Havent heard much from the other Newcastle clubs, although you would expect Cardiff and City to gain some quality players as a result of their success over the past few years, while Warners have a good mix of experience and young blokes and should kick on this year.
On the coast side of things very interesting to see Ede is coaching at Wyong, having been 21 and coaching 1st grade myself at one point I can say he is going to have a rough time of it trying to work things out while he is playing, however he does have a good footy head and is passionate about it so good luck to him although i think he will be banging his head against the wall on more than a few occasions!
Havent heard too much from Killarney, seen a few boys out and about but thats been the extent of it. Be interesting to see how they go without Bubbles and Kolby, Bubbles carried about 9 blokes when we played them the 2nd time last year. Was one of the best individual games ive seen but still couldnt get them over the line. The return of Wal will be interesting too because last time i spoke to him he said he was gettin to the stage where he realised he was kidding himself if he played again!
The panthers will be another to watch with no Gus and Spoony, they have the blokes though like the Males, Grentell and Van Dam but who seem to always lift a cog when the game is tight. Maurie has indicated in the press that this will be his last year so im sure they would like to send him off on a high. The panthers are my tip for the 18s flag too, they have some very very good young blokes out there.
My blokes at the Tigers are looking good, its the best vibe around the club in the past 10 years and we are getting 35-50 blokes at training every night. Ted Crowden is back as a fitness coach and Spinksy has been floggin the guts out of us (ive still got plenty of gut to lose). Lots of young blokes around, it feels strange bein an old bloke on the track at 24. Have only had Simon Berry retire from last years 1st grade side and have picked up a couple so should be interesting to see how we go in 2007. Look for Brad Deitz, Aaron Monk and Tadd Walford to lead the way while a few young blokes like Lyons and Barrett will make a big impact on the comp in 07.

Look for Brad Deitz, Aaron Monk and Tadd Walford to lead the way while a few young blokes like Lyons and Barrett will make a big impact on the comp in 07.
Good work on the self wrap Deitzy!!!But seriously, i hear you blokes are looking alright for 07??I will be watching your trial against the Goannas, with great interest(hope to be playing stright after if all works out)

Ha not me mate, its the brother. The fittest hes been in a couple of years and the keenest hes been since he was playing in Canberra. Im admittedly a slow fat hack who will happily slot into a back pocket!

You're not that bad deitzy, though I think it's a bit sad that you have a newspaper shot on your myspace page!!!

By the way, found a photo of thommo from the Canberra trip the other day (forgot I took some on my camera phone) I'll send it your way

Ha sweet thanks mate. Was up at the bay with Thommo the other week. Saw Grinspoon and had a fairly massive day/night! The Myspace thing is all over my head. Got a few pics of me off our website and copied and pasted! By the way Jets at the Doylo 3rd March, will Walmo be there or not?
How are clubs looking for practice matches? We have Penrith on the 10th at Kelso and Parra on the 17th at Gipps Rd. Pretty tough for coast clubs to get practice games with the water restrictions so Sydney is the only real option.
Absolutely hanging out for rd 1. Gonna be a great day of footy and a great initiative by the BDAFL

Confirmation in the Port Stephens examiner.

The guy the Bay appointed as coach has resigned due to a chronic knee injury which may need a full replacement.

Article said he was heavily involved coaching West Coast players, so he would have been excellent for them.

With the RAAF movements occurring now, I would say things would be pretty concerning up there.

Confirmation in the Port Stephens examiner.

The guy the Bay appointed as coach has resigned due to a chronic knee injury which may need a full replacement.

Article said he was heavily involved coaching West Coast players, so he would have been excellent for them.

With the RAAF movements occurring now, I would say things would be pretty concerning up there.
Its getting harder and harder to rely on Defence players..We draw heavily from RAAF Richmond, and numbers are steadily decreasing off the base,with 36 and 37 Sqdn merging and half moving to Amberley(QLD)we cant lean on the RAAFies any longer.... They supplement the list rather than make up the 50-60% of the list they used to represent.I can undestand Nelson Bays problems, they arent unique.