B Rookie Bruce Reville (2023-)

Bruce personifies perseverance; wish him nothing but the best. Hope he can top it off by going that next step and playing a senior AFL game.
If Lohmann doesn’t make the leap this year, there is a very real possibility imo.

I thought other than Ah Chee, he looked the best out of our listed players in quarters 5 and 6 v Suns. Not easy playing with so many non-listed top ups against a Suns VFL side with so many AFL listed players but he looked good. Wasn’t perfect or dominant by any means but looked like one of the better players on the ground.

I think he will be a solid contributor once we field a VFL side with more of our listed players and I can tell physically both strength and fitness wise he has gone up a level. So I fully expect him to play at a high standard and if a spot opens up at any stage for him to be promoted from Cat B he may get a chance at senior level.

I thought other than Ah Chee, he looked the best out of our listed players in quarters 5 and 6 v Suns. Not easy playing with so many non-listed top ups against a Suns VFL side with so many AFL listed players but he looked good. Wasn’t perfect or dominant by any means but looked like one of the better players on the ground.

I think he will be a solid contributor once we field a VFL side with more of our listed players and I can tell physically both strength and fitness wise he has gone up a level. So I fully expect him to play at a high standard and if a spot opens up at any stage for him to be promoted from Cat B he may get a chance at senior level.
Id seriously be playing Bruce before a host of listed and rookies including the likes of KLohmann, Madden, Sharp potentially Answerth etc and think he would impact games more than what some of the blokes would

Lions Rookie To Reville In Opportunity To Debut

240160_Player_Debut_Graphic_Bruce_Reville_Article_header.jpg

Bruce Reville’s long-awaited dream of playing AFL will come true on Sunday night when the 23-year-old rookie makes his debut against the Gold Coast SUNS.

The highly anticipated QClash 26 will be extra special for the Lions Academy graduate who will play his first AFL game in front of a home crowd at The Gabba.

Reville, born in Papua New Guinea, grew up in Cairns until age seven, before moving to Burrum Heads where he played under 9s for the Burrum Joeys.

It was then junior footy for the Maryborough Bears before officially joining the Lions’ AFL program as a Category B rookie on a one-year deal at the end of 2023.

Prior to that the utility was one of Brisbane’s regular best performers in the VFL since missing out on being drafted in 2019.

Yet when the moment did come to find out he would debut, Reville admitted he initially missed the call from coach Chris Fagan before calling back.

“When Fages (Chris Fagan) told me I was playing I couldn’t get any words out for a little bit, I was pumped up and just over the moon about it,” Reville said.

“I guess I feel kind of relieved in one way to have finally made it, it’s quite emotional really.

“A lot has happened for me to get to this point, from working multiple jobs and making a lot of sacrifices from me and my partner to try and pursue an AFL career.”

Those jobs included shifts cutting meat at a local abattoir, driving a forklift at Bunnings and delivering packages at Christmas for extra money.

Reville’s story is one that somewhat resembles that of a typical Hollywood underdog movie, and fortunately for the 23-year-old it includes triumph.

“There were a lot of days where you have a lot of time to sit there and think, and the last thing I wanted to be doing was cutting meat or driving around a forklift,” Reville admitted.

“I think that’s why I worked so hard to get to this position because I knew it’s not what I wanted to be doing in life.

“I also did a bit of diesel mechanic work, which I wanted to follow as a career, but I put that aside to concentrate on footy.”

Having that opportunity to focus purely on football has seen Reville continue to develop and become a standout player for the Lions in the VFL.

Reville said he now wants to repay the faith shown in him.

“I am not putting expectations on myself, I will go out playing my role, bringing my strengths to the team and keep doing what has been working for me,” he said.

“There’s a lot of quality players around me so I just want to be a sponge and take everything in I can from them and keep learning and getting better.”

One thing that makes Reville so appealing to Fagan and the Lions match committee is his ability to play multiple positions.

Reville, a silky mover with a penetrating kick, has spent a of his career playing through the midfield, though is a dangerous forward who can also play down back.

Brisbane Lions General Manager Football, Danny Daly said he was thrilled to see Reville rewarded.

“The journey of Bruce Reville is one of those great football stories that any aspiring AFL player or anyone chasing their dream should look at,” Daly said.

“Bruce spent the best part of seven years in our Brisbane Lions Academy and playing at VFL level where he just kept persisting and wanting to get better.

“It was such a great feeling when we offered him a spot on our AFL list late last year and now to tell him he will make his debut is just really special for him and his family.

“He has done all of the hard work to earn this opportunity and everyone at the Club can’t wait to watch him debut on Sunday night.”

Bruce a Lion for Another Year

240158_AFL_Re-Signing_Bruce_Reville_Article_Header.jpg

The Brisbane Lions’ newest cult hero, Bruce Reville has inked a new one-year contract extension continuing a whirlwind year for the 23-year-old.

Selected as a Category B rookie in the 2023 Rookie Draft, Reville made his AFL debut against the Gold Coast SUNS in Round 8 at the Gabba.

Instantly beloved by Lions fans, chants of ‘Bruce’ could be heard echoing around the stadium with every touch of the football.

Reville’s pre-football story, included shifts cutting meat at a local abattoir, driving a forklift at Bunnings and delivering packages at Christmas for extra money.

“Who would’ve thought… to think I was playing for Sherwood in the QAFL at the start of last year to now be playing AFL, it’s amazing to see how far I’ve come,” Reville said, reflecting on his rise to AFL in the last 12 months.

“From the playing group to the staff and the facilities, we are so lucky to have the people that we do around us at the Lions.

“Everyone is always so happy to help whether that’s on or off field, it’s easy to see why the Club has been so successful in the last few years.”

Reville has let his footy do the talking in his first five outings at AFL level, with the Academy product becoming a regular fixture in Chris Fagan’s side.

After initially signing a one-year deal when drafted, Reville is now looking at least another season with the Lions, something he is incredibly grateful for.

“It’s massive to know I’m going to be here another year and can solely focus on my footy.

“For my family it’s great, we love it here in Brisbane and wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.”

Brisbane Lions General Manager Football, Danny Daly said Bruce’s journey shows that determination and hard work pays off.

“He’s such a great story, coming through our Academy pathway and he’s done a lot of hard yards to get to this position,” Daly said.

“He took his opportunity with both hands when he got into our program full-time and he is an example of what hard work and perseverance can get you.

“Its great reward for Bruce and we are really pleased to be able to have him at our footy club.”

Reville will play his sixth game of AFL on Friday night as the classy left footer suits up for the Lions trip to Marvel to take on the Bulldogs.

Love and loss the driving forces behind Lion's long journey

0507_reville_hero.jpg

NO MATTER how many setbacks, frustrations or roadblocks Bruce Reville hit in his journey to the AFL, there was no way Brisbane's latest crowd favourite wasn't seeing it through.

Literally travelling a road longer than most to make it, Reville drove four hours each way to attend training as a teenager, turned his back on other sports, was repeatedly overlooked in national drafts and overcame injury to make it.

He also worked full-time jobs cutting meat at an abattoir and driving a forklift at Bunnings before bursting on to the AFL stage for the Lions eight matches ago at the age of 23.

Reville's story is one of dedication and persistence, but underpinning it all was a promise to a long-time friend before they lost a battle with cancer.

The Sharman family were an integral part of Reville's upbringing, taking him into their Burrum Heads home between the ages of nine to 12, while his dad – also named Bruce – worked two hours west to earn money.

Josh Sharman was Bruce's best mate. Mother Julie drove them to any and every sporting event they could get to. And dad Lenny was there to kick a footy or do whatever the boys wanted or needed.

"The Sharman family was incredible for me," Reville told AFL.com.au.

"I pretty much played every sport I wanted to; athletics, swimming, rugby, Australian Rules, soccer, all at the same time.

"It was only due to them I got the exposure to trial all those sports. Having that balance definitely helped develop those traits that have helped me reach some level of success now.

08BrGC24RF-150.jpg

"They did so much for me. I just can't get across how good they were."

Lenny was an inspiration, a man that worked that many hours to "make sure we got whatever we wanted".

That's why when he passed away in Reville's 19th year, Lenny's words continued to ring loud.

"The last time I spoke to him he made me promise I'd see it out until the end, and that was a big reason I stuck with it for so long.

"He was the biggest believer in me from the start.

"He made us kick on both feet when we were kids. Me and Josh would kick all afternoon in the backyard.

"People say kicking on both sides is my best skill and I dedicate that to him."

That may have been the promise that drove Reville to "see it out" in the past few years, but it's never been an easy path for the man born in Papua New Guinea.

His family moved to the North Queensland city of Cairns when he was four years old, and then even further south three years later to Burrum Heads.

The small beachside town is situated about four hours north of Brisbane in the Wide Bay region.

Like many youngsters in Queensland, he grew up playing rugby league. Look at his rugged tackling and physical play today and it's easy to see why he was strong in the 13-a-side code.

But upon meeting Josh and the Sharmans, he had a run for the Burrum Joeys, a tiny Australian Rules club that subsequently folded, and then on to the Maryborough Bears where he finished his junior days.

08BrGC24RF-174.jpg

It was at the age of 15 that things would take a twist for Reville.

Not only was he already identified by the Lions Academy, but he won the Troy Clarke Scholarship, named after the former Brisbane Bears player and respected AFL Queensland game development manager who passed away in 2013.

The scholarship was designed to support a young player from regional Queensland who displayed the same core values, such as dedication, passion and respect, that Clarke embodied throughout his life.

They're traits that Reville still carries to this day.

Kurt Tippett presented the scholarship to the quietly-spoken teenager that provided him with some much-needed funds to pursue his Australian Rules dreams.

After making the Queensland under-16 team and having his heart set on becoming as good as he possibly could, Reville committed to getting to Brisbane to train twice a week for eight weeks.

VFL21BrWi23RF-40.jpg

His father would pick him up from Hervey Bay State High School at lunch time and they'd commence the four-hour drive south.

"It was the weirdest period of my life," Reville recalled.

"I was playing league, union and everything for school. I was being asked to join schools to play union. I was at a crossroads with my sport.

"When the Lions contacted me and then I won the (Troy Clarke) Scholarship, it made things pretty clear for me.

"Dad wanted me to have the best opportunity I could to make it to the AFL.

16BrMe24CH051412310.jpg

"We decided if we were going to do it, this is what had to be done.

"He'd pick me up from school at about 12(pm) and we wouldn't get home until about 1(am) the next morning.

"I was on my Ls (learner's permit) at the time, so I got my hours up pretty quickly," he laughed.

Reville moved to Brisbane for his final year of school and lived with older brother Jon-Paul. Dad moved south too.

He played for the Allies at the under-18 national championships, but being dropped after one game realised his draft prospects were slim.

NASBrGc20RF28086.JPG

In many ways, it would come to define a 'close, but not quite there' period of his life.

The difficult few years included the COVID-19 interrupted seasons of 2020 and 2021, which included a broken collarbone.

Paying rent to his brother and then moving out with partner Zoe, Reville needed money, and this is where his balancing act began.

The abattoir was a tough job. He'd work 12-hour shifts as a machine operator then a knife hand and spend most of his time in a freezer before training at night.

He regularly got sick going from one extreme in temperature to another in the Queensland heat. He'd lose weight, with a less-than-ideal diet as he'd race from long work days to training.

Zoe worked at Bunnings and shortly Reville did too, driving forklifts and cutting the work shifts down to 'just' eight hours.

He split time between the Lions, getting the occasional call-up for NEAFL/VFL, Redlands and Sherwood, never losing hope.

"I always thought I had the talent for it and just thought I needed the opportunity and was getting setback after setback," he said.

"The staff at the Lions and boys back at Sherwood always said: "you've got the talent, you've just got to keep working hard"

"They told me to stay ready. I've just had a lot of belief and a lot of people around me had the same mindset."

Last season was the breakthrough. With a few VFL spots eventually opening up on Brisbane's healthy list, Reville pounced, kicking three goals against Frankston in his first game and never looking back.

Playing his best football of the season during the finals series, he was suddenly a chance and Brisbane selected him as a Category B Rookie.

He was just shy of turning 23 and had spent the four seasons since being overlooked in his draft year grinding away, hoping and believing.

"I was very emotional, it's such a big thing," he said.

"Zoe – there's no way I could have got through it all without her - my family, they all know how much I've sacrificed and what it means to me."

With the road he travelled to get on a list, it should be little surprise Reville quickly made a fist of things at the top level.

Not burdened with juggling work and football, he has improved rapidly in 2024 and was a popular addition to the Lions' team ahead of facing Gold Coast in round eight.

Since then, he's played eight straight games, showing composure, kicking skills and tenacity well beyond his experience level.

Last week's nine-disposal, six score involvement final quarter in Brisbane's comeback win over Melbourne was a huge step forward in his development.

"Bruce is a brave player, a really good tackler and he's a team man," coach Chris Fagan said.

Next time you see the man with dreadlocks and hear the "Bruuuuuuce" crowd call during a Lions game, know the man behind it has tread one of the longest, windiest roads you could to reach the AFL.

Sorry .... not clever (or young enough) to know how to link articles like you whipper snappers do (as per above) .... maybe a mod can "tidy this up" ......

Last edited by a moderator:

B Rookie Bruce Reville (2023-)