'BT' and Darcy: The Worst Commentary Team in History?

BT was good before he was on commercial TV, will turn off if he is calling these days

Congrats WELL DESERVED

Arrogantly cracked the shits about Teddy Richards not getting a free when the replay clearly showed Ted launching himself forward, then calls a Collingwood player by the wrong name, Josh Kennedy, he has hit his straps early.

It's amazing that someone didn't correct him until the third quarter. Then he said something like "Josh Thomas that is, Josh Kennedy is of course the emergency"

Yes, OF COURSE.

He then went on to call him Josh Kennedy one more time after that. I don't mind BT normally, but that was ridiculous by him and those around him.

It's amazing that someone didn't correct him until the third quarter. Then he said something like "Josh Thomas that is, Josh Kennedy is of course the emergency"

Yes, OF COURSE.

He then went on to call him Josh Kennedy one more time after that. I don't mind BT normally, but that was ridiculous by him and those around him.

:confused:o_O

Yes, OF COURSE.

I actually think they don't correct him on it because of the power he holds with the group he is working with. He is clearly the alpha male and what he says, goes. BT has his head stuck so firmly up his sphincter, calling the incorrect player is irrelevant to him.

Darcy, Brereton, Russell and Maguire on a par I reckon. Huddo by far the best caller because he makes it exciting but it's not about him. Matthews the best special comments. Anyone know why we have boundary riders? Waste of time. There is definitely a shallow talent pool.

Taylor is awful, he obviously does not do his home work and goes over the same old crap time and again.

Sat night, first quarter we are hearing about Mumford, how big he is, how many sausages he eats etc etc. Meanwhile a 19 year old kid is going up against him and actually doing OK but BT says nothing about his background etc which I am tipping would be of more interest than a guy who has been in the system and we all know.

He is good on radio where we can't see the play and realise his bad calls. We really need to change the whole model in Australia where we have someone who calls the game, no stories, no stupid sayings, just calls the game accurately eg like Grybas used to and then hand over to expert commentators for insights etc.

Surely the game is advanced enough that we could have some proffesional callers?

They've barely commentated on the game tonight, just having conversations with Richo and Ling.

The 10-15 minute 3rd qtr chat about Hawkins back was the most painful thing to hear.They crapped on and on and then right at the end asked the actual expert on the boundary [Doc Larkins,not Ling ;)] and he summed it up in 30 seconds.

Why not just fricking ask him in the first place ?
He barely gets to speak in the 3 and a half hours.

They've barely commentated on the game tonight, just having conversations with Richo and Ling.

I know the game tonite wasn't very exciting but was there any chance they could actually commentate on the play??? - it was a friggin joke...when they were crapping on about Hawkins bad back for 10 mins they had to get Dr Larkins to put some some facts to the argument otherwise it would have dragged on all night with BT's non sensical crap!!!

Why Channel 7 (or the sporting media at large) seem convinced that we want our coverage to consist of blokey-blokes cracking jokes, ribbing each other and trying to invent catch-phrases as opposed to just commenting on the game, I'll never know. It's all down to BT - his demeanor poisons the group as they all get sucked into the stupid jokes and prodding one another, etc. Say what you will about Commetti and McAvaney but at least they seem interested in the game. It's been depressing watching Ling, who's clearly an astute analyser of the game, gradually conform to the blokey "Hor-hor, how 'bout that one, Richo, aye?" attitude. It is pathetic coverage.

The Josh Walker conversation that lasted around 15 minutes of game time was one of the most ridiculous things BT has come out with so far. Seriously, he actually said 'wowee, in junior footy that's a match forfeit, I'm sure he'll be getting a please explain from AFL house OH BOY' :rolleyes:

He'll do anything to get a Geelong player fined and suspended, and usually succeeds. Whatever helps the pathetic flog sleep at night I guess.

I liked the interview BT did with Buckley after Collingwood beat the Swans at ANZ a couple of weeks ago:

BT: Collingwood have got to be the best travelling side in the comp at the moment. It always amazes me how well you blokes play all over the country. How do you guys do it?

Buckley: We've lost our last three away games to Port, Freo and Gold Coast

'BT' and Darcy: The Worst Commentary Team in History?