Oct 16, 2009
Hoppers Crossing
Box Hill
Burnie (Shockers) Dockers

Well honestly I cant see Burnie surviving the season .. you may very well see the coach quit before a ball is even bounced ... the support plant has is so low that even he should know and resign...NOW. The board is no better(...). It must all start from the top and these people that are bringing the club down must leave now. The club have had no phone line connection for about six weeks.. how good is that. (...) . I think 18 turning up for training this time of year is pitifull.. even penguin have 40 to 50. I know everbody around the club is extremely worried about the future of this club.. but unfortunately all the damage is done and you cant turn back time.. i think the president must stand down .. you need someone with some true leadership .. the coach just has to go.. holds no respect from anybody I have spoken to.. Shakleton/Munday .. coach ..but if it was me deciding I would try my hardest to talk Max Brown into bringing some stability and discipline into club get him there ..NOW .. (...)

Re: Burnie (Shockers) Dockers

I heard things weren't good but far out it's sounds shocking up there, Hobart 1994-98 style diabolical.
They wanna hurry up and get the ball rolling by turning things around and not just putting up with it and ending up like what old Hobart did for years there (BADLY run).
Sounds like they might need a bit of a coup, a group of influential past players, members and supporters to jump in.
What's the club's relationship with the past players like? Does Burnie have many supporters around anymore?
Is that bloke that owned the car dealership up there still around them (used to tip heaps of coin into them).
I remember someone telling me that Burnie was run by some group that had no real deep connection with the footy club - eg: a marketing or sporting firm or something and that nobody (fans, players, members etc) had no real input into decision making that goes on in the place and were pretty hacked off with it all, is that correct or am I barking up the wrong tree on that one?

Could it be a possibility of Ulverstone IN - Dockers OUT?

yeah the club is run by Burnie Sport & Events (Burnie Council) makes it almost impossible for the club to run forums or guest nights to make some money. I think what happens at start of year the club say they need X amount of money for year and they get it. I think it was another bad move going to BS&E they get all bar takings and make all of the rules. The guy you was talking about Ken Murray was owner Fairfords not sure where he is now. Supporters.. no not many at all has dwindled over past years.. mostly fault of board no direction they dont do anything to attract members .. no social life around club. I dont blame some of life members walking away when at annual dinner they were made to pay for there meals. This time last year there were almost 50 on the track .. what 12 months can do.

Sorry about the situation at Burnie. If SWL is to work it needs the biggest towns & clubs to be represented. I am a bit confused though. B(S)D says the board are a bunch of w***ers & this mess is their fault, then he says that the BS&E (council) make it impossible to run the club. I can't follow that:confused:. Whose fault is it? Some around the traps have blamed Plappy & the contracts dished out:eek: I suppose if the council hold the finances then they are really responsible for this disorganisation. Maybe they need to clean the slate & call for a club forum & new fresh elections. We need Burnie up & about. Its hard to believe they were just one kick from a GF appearence only 4 short months ago!

Ha, sorry I meant hawk 69 says ---etc. I'm still a bit fuzzy from last night. I had 3 beers, two too many I reckon!:D

i can honestly say that burnie haven't had that bad of number that has been posted i know a bloke pretty well who plays with them and the lowest number of players since they have been back from the break was friday and they had between 20 - 25 mostly younger guys but have been getting over 30 in the other 2 nights and things have been positive but i spose you have to say that when your playing with the club?

Well to answer both things ..it was the boards decision to allow BS&E to run club and numbers at training i have been there and i can assure you 18 is a very common number.

Good numbers at training if your playing in a basketball side!!!!! Crisis meeting anyone???/ I have heard that the club is having a crisis meeting this week and are contacting all intending players for a committment. And if they don't commit by the end of the week the club is going to Vincent Funeral homes to organise a wake!!!! I must admit though it's good to see all the players support the club with all Plapp's apparent f*ck ups and stay at the club :confused: Oh thats right, they struggling for numbers, i think it's time for the board to show the courage they reckon they have and pull the boots back on and play themselves!!

I heard a whisper their B&F winner Banham is fed up and thinking of going back to Ulverstone. Also got told their gun junior Rudy Barrett wants out also, and his parents have even contacted AFL tas to see if this is possible as they believe is football future is in jepardy staying at the Shockers.

I think Hawk69 is right on the money. Its time for people to get over playing the blame game and start to realise that this club has never in its 120 odd year history been at such a low ebb.
If it mean that the Board/Coaches have to stand down they should do it in the interest of the clubs survival. The AGM hasnt even been held yet so
members have had no chance to have a say about anything.
Something has to change NOW. It is simply too late to let this go on any longer. How can it be that one of the oldest and most successful clubs in the state can be on its knees in the space of a few short months ?
The decision to let Burnie Sports & Events run the club has turned out to be a complete disaster. It has robbed the club of all its volunteers as all the bars and most other revenue raising avenues are totally controlled by Burnie Sports & Events
Scott Wade and Co will have to intervene soon or this years TSL will be a nine team competition and thats no joke.

I think Hawk69 is right on the money. Its time for people to get over playing the blame game and start to realise that this club has never in its 120 odd year history been at such a low ebb.
If it mean that the Board/Coaches have to stand down they should do it in the interest of the clubs survival. The AGM hasnt even been held yet so
members have had no chance to have a say about anything.
Something has to change NOW. It is simply too late to let this go on any longer. How can it be that one of the oldest and most successful clubs in the state can be on its knees in the space of a few short months ?
The decision to let Burnie Sports & Events run the club has turned out to be a complete disaster. It has robbed the club of all its volunteers as all the bars and most other revenue raising avenues are totally controlled by Burnie Sports & Events
Scott Wade and Co will have to intervene soon or this years TSL will be a nine team competition and thats no joke.

If what you say is correct you blokes north of the border need to have a long hard look at yourselves. AFL Tas introduced a good concept in the Devils (as a pathway for our better players), which was supported by Tasmanians (particularly when they made the finals). Sure the Kangaroos experiment was a totally failure. But ultimately by surreptitiously withholding your better players and led by that clown Thurlow you convinced Wade that a TSL was the best way to progress our footy. Now you say that “Wade and Co” need to step in. Get those northern presidents who were so prominent in the establishment of this TSL to “step in” and show some leadership for a change instead of (a) undermining everything good and (b) expecting AFL Tas to look after them.
As a footnote to comments by other people on other threads who say that Lauderdale should be back in the bush. We may be a young club (yet prove ourselves on the senior TSL field) but at least we will get a team on the park within an environment where our young kids are encouraged to achieve their best this seems a bit different to the 120 year old city club, Burnie (or is that Cooee) now “on its knees”.

If what you say is correct you blokes north of the border need to have a long hard look at yourselves. AFL Tas introduced a good concept in the Devils (as a pathway for our better players), which was supported by Tasmanians (particularly when they made the finals). Sure the Kangaroos experiment was a totally failure. But ultimately by surreptitiously withholding your better players and led by that clown Thurlow you convinced Wade that a TSL was the best way to progress our footy. Now you say that “Wade and Co” need to step in. Get those northern presidents who were so prominent in the establishment of this TSL to “step in” and show some leadership for a change instead of (a) undermining everything good and (b) expecting AFL Tas to look after them.
As a footnote to comments by other people on other threads who say that Lauderdale should be back in the bush. We may be a young club (yet prove ourselves on the senior TSL field) but at least we will get a team on the park within an environment where our young kids are encouraged to achieve their best this seems a bit different to the 120 year old city club, Burnie (or is that Cooee) now “on its knees”.

At the end of the day the only thing on it's knees is Peter "Stiffy" Vincent and he is taking it from a few, BS&E, other board members and his own ego! In response to the Northern Presidents telling AFL tas what to do, the devils lost all support by tasmanians with the merger and the fall out with cresswell, the crowd numbers and lack of interest from players backs this up! The new State league was on the cards years ago, trust me this was not something that was rushed through in a couple of months. For the state league to be strong the Northern clubs especially Devonport and Burnie both need to be strong. It's the young kids at Burnie that will suffer, hence why some of them are looking elsewhere now, they no the shit they have been left with when the club was in a position for someone to roll into the shoes that plapp left with the club financial and a good playing list to work with. Players have stood up to the sh*t decisions made by the current board and walked, someone tell me why 37 players from Seniors, Reserves and u/18's combined have walked since all coach's positions were advertised without being told anything????

Some positives to come out of shocker land, was the re-signing of Matty Stevenson as assistant coach and he is really enjoying the new modern training techniques that the new Head coach is dishing up such as criss cross handball and lanework.

Yeah ringading is correct it all falls on the board of Burnie Football Club and Peter Vincent ..February 18th 7.30pm at Dockers Clubrooms AGM .. Vincent should then stand down and all of the other no hopers on the board and make way for some of us that care about the club ... but shit no the damage has already been done it will take at least three years to get back to where the club was last season (start of 2009) That board just have no idea. Banham well there is a bloody gun player had an outstanding year in 2009 ( I told him he would win B&F) he was going to bring a few from Ulverstone and they are not coming now Soden etc.. I know some of them dont like Brent Plant so they not coming and it would not surprise me to see Banham go back to Ulverstone to. I heard about the Rudy Barrett thing as well. Stevo did not get a fair go last year ..did not get alot of game time I am sure this season if he plays he wont get a spell because he will have to do it all.

Why have an AGM so late in the preseason? CLubs should conduct their AGMs early in October (?), get BOMs in place, so they can make the big calls rather than jokers who set clubs up poorly for oncoming the season.

only 19 at training wednesday night .. that sure is going to field three teams.. That crisis meeting cant be to far away.

The crisis meeting was early in the week, my cousins mate plays there and they had it on tues or weds. 15 players turned up.

The crisis meeting needed to be held with all involved ...not just players .. to many times this board has made decisions with only 2 or 3 involved. The future of this club lies with board.. sponsors ... members.. supporters and players. Still no phone on at football club must be getting towards three months now. You have board members running around getting signitures of players under 18 years of age (not a legal document without parents signiture). You have an appointment of under 17's coach without the position being advertised and that decision has many juniors upset because they wont play under him again (coached them at school). I also believe two more dockers have signed with penguin. Peter Vincent come on dont let the club go down this path.

Jeez what a mess.
It really does sound like the place needs a group of former Dockers/Hawks/Tigers/Bulldogs to walk in and take over the place and put the community feel back into it, it's almost as bad as when the old Hawks had almost no following at all (or money for that matter) in the years leading up to the change to the Dockers and getting $680k in debt during the late 90's with the Council having to bail them out to survive.

On a side note, I hope former Dockers president Terry Lamprey's watching what's going on there, especially after his distasteful comments on other TFL clubs that ended up in bad situations during the 1990's, it can happen to ANY team.
What did happen to him anyway?

WHo are you Hawk69? You seem to know alot about the BFC? Are you a former player or coach? instead of bagging out that footy club maybe with your ideas and talents you should go to the club and help.

I have heard (dont quote me on this one) that a Life Member at Cooee/Burnie that has been the backbone of the Club forever .. Match Manager/ Property Manager and generally does everything else around the club .. wont be there this year as well. I heard he is so pissed off with what has transpired from the end of 2009 season till now. I think he is very unhappy with most of the appointments in place. I think he is spot on......

WHo are you Hawk69? You seem to know alot about the BFC? Are you a former player or coach? instead of bagging out that footy club maybe with your ideas and talents you should go to the club and help.

sorry formerrobin its to late to do anything about it this season the damage is all done .. needs a cleanout .. why appoint a coach that nobody has any time for .. just shows the board done no homework at all .. he may have been on coaches panel last season but I can tell you for sure he was not very welcome by senior coaches...a sniper!!!

I have heard (dont quote me on this one) that a Life Member at Cooee/Burnie that has been the backbone of the Club forever .. Match Manager/ Property Manager and generally does everything else around the club .. wont be there this year as well. I heard he is so pissed off with what has transpired from the end of 2009 season till now. I think he is very unhappy with most of the appointments in place. I think he is spot on......

Who is this then? Hally? Is he still around?

No me old mate John Hall died about twelve months ago and his passing was not even aknowledged by the Dockers.. that is another sore point.. if you have been around the dockers recently you know who he is..

That would be Sticks Broomhall. A big loss for the club.

sorry formerrobin its to late to do anything about it this season the damage is all done .. needs a cleanout .. why appoint a coach that nobody has any time for .. just shows the board done no homework at all .. he may have been on coaches panel last season but I can tell you for sure he was not very welcome by senior coaches...a sniper!!!

Totally correct.

The job Plant did on Plapp last year makes Grant Thomas' takeover of Malcolm Blight look above board.

Plant angled for this job for all of last year, the results he is going to get will be just deserts for the way he "won" the job.

Meanwhile Plapp is making every post a winner at Hawthorn & Box Hill.

Karma.

Totally correct.

The job Plant did on Plapp last year makes Grant Thomas' takeover of Malcolm Blight look above board.

Plant angled for this job for all of last year, the results he is going to get will be just deserts for the way he "won" the job.

Meanwhile Plapp is making every post a winner at Hawthorn & Box Hill.

Karma.

Hey you are spot on there Disco Roach ... Plant continually back stabbed Plapp all season ...running back to the board at every oppertunity..and yeah now he is left with nothing.