bushrangers 2013/14 squad

White on fire, be nice if he got a 100 though

Anyway looks like we will be facing Tassie in the semi final after their upset of QLD today, cant see QLD dropping another one with still another game against WA to come as well as the redbacks and NSW

Victoria has pretty much guaranteed a top 3 finish with the win today with just the Blues to come before the finals

Really need to settle our openers down though, is Rogers being rested?

I can see NSW beating Qld honestly. SA and WA won't, but we're still in a very good position for 1st spot.

Or not :p

On a more serious note, could Finch be an option to open in the shield team? I reckon he always played as more of a no3 or middle order batsman, but seeing him quite comfortable at ODI level as opener, maybe he can partner Rogers and Quiney during test season?

Or not :p

On a more serious note, could Finch be an option to open in the shield team? I reckon he always played as more of a no3 or middle order batsman, but seeing him quite comfortable at ODI level as opener, maybe he can partner Rogers and Quiney during test season?

Nope. Ship has sailed on Finch. Our side should be (when all available, Patto injured):

Rogers (Hill/Stoinis), Quiney, Handscomb, White, Wade (+), Maxwell, Hastings, Sheridan (Patto when fit), Siddle (Ahmed), McKay, Holland

I placed Sherro ahead of Ahmed due to the fact that neither Siddle or Hastings are suited to the new pill and we need another new ball bowler.

Why would CA want a FC hack who should never ever get close to the test side to play ahead of one of Australia's most talented young batsman?

Nope. Ship has sailed on Finch. Our side should be (when all available, Patto injured):

Rogers (Hill/Stoinis), Quiney, Handscomb, White, Wade (+), Maxwell, Hastings, Sheridan (Patto when fit), Siddle (Ahmed), McKay, Holland

I placed Sherro ahead of Ahmed due to the fact that neither Siddle or Hastings are suited to the new pill and we need another new ball bowler.

Way too long of a tail there

Rogers, Finch, Quiney, Handscomb, White, Maxwell, Wade, Hastings, Siddle, McKay, Holland/Ahmed

Hill, Stoinis and Dussey as other options for batting

Why would CA want a FC hack who should never ever get close to the test side to play ahead of one of Australia's most talented young batsman?
remember when that FC hack captained Australia A a couple of months back....

He's a player of national interest. He shouldn't be. But he's the sort of guy who will become a test candidate very quickly if he scores some runs, similar to Warner, and CA urging CV to give him that opportunity would be of no surprise to me, even if it is unjust.

Way too long of a tail there

Rogers, Finch, Quiney, Handscomb, White, Maxwell, Wade, Hastings, Siddle, McKay, Holland/Ahmed

Hill, Stoinis and Dussey as other options for batting

When you look at the shield sides of last season, Tassie, NSW both had players like Hastings at 7 (Faulkner, Copeland). I'd definitely have Hill and Stoinis ahead of Finch. Finch shouldn't play FC cricket.

But that's because NSW don't have any batting depth at all, Victoria needs to decide which batsmen to leave out, leaving another out for an all rounder is stupid unless they are a quality batting all rounder, plus we don't need 7 bowlers

I would give him another crack, he may have gained some confidence from his international performances, plus he is such a good one day player we don't want to lose him, remember he tried to leave at the end last year

But that's because NSW don't have any batting depth at all, Victoria needs to decide which batsmen to leave out, leaving another out for an all rounder is stupid unless they are a quality batting all rounder, plus we don't need 7 bowlers

I would give him another crack, he may have gained some confidence from his international performances, plus he is such a good one day player we don't want to lose him, remember he tried to leave at the end last year

Mate, Finch is shit in FC cricket. OD he's very good, but shit in FC. Keeping Finch and letting McDonald go was the stupidest thing CV has done in a while

Definitely given the massive impact McDonald is having in the Ryobi Cup whilst Finch is away doing well for Australia...

i feel like aaron finch is a good chance to leave at season's end whatever happens. Option a) vic dont play him. so he leaves. Option b) vics play him, he fails, so he moves in what is considered a final effort to crack shield cricket. Option c) vics play him, he performs solidly, another team (hi SA) comes along and offers him the captaincy because finch is one of the few young captain options.

dont envy CV's situation

Definitely given the massive impact McDonald is having in the Ryobi Cup whilst Finch is away doing well for Australia...

Compare the facts in FC cricket:

Ave: McDonald 40, Finch 30
100's: McDonald 11, Finch 2
50's: McDonald 23, Finch 11

Yep, Finch is definitely better than McDonald :rolleyes:

Handscomb should bat at 3

He almost definitely won't make the full strength side and may not even make the side once the test players are out.

Rogers
Quiney
Maxwell (according to reports)
White
Hussey
Wade
Christian
Hastings
Siddle
Holland/McKay
Ahmed

That means that both Finch and Handscomb miss out. It'd probably take White (or Wade) to be called up for Handscomb to get a game, given Finch will replace Rogers when he goes for test duty.

bushrangers 2013/14 squad