Senior Callum Ah Chee (2019-)

The Brisbane Lions have traded for skillful defender Callum Ah Chee from the Gold Coast SUNS in return for the Club’s future second and fourth round selections at the 2020 NAB AFL Draft.

Ah Chee, who was selected at pick No. 8 at the 2015 NAB AFL Draft, comes to the Lions Den after four seasons with the SUNS. He started his career as a forward, booting 21 goals over his first two seasons, before being recently shifted into defence.

NOTHING TO BE SNEEZED AT, STARS FINALLY ALIGN FOR AH CHEE BATTLE
After five long years of waiting, the Ah Chee brothers – Brendon and Callum – finally took the field against one another last Saturday night. It was a special moment for the brothers, and their family watching back in Western Australia.

As the Brisbane Lions outlasted West Coast at the Gabba on Saturday night, there was a fascinating one-on-one battle taking place within the clash. Finally, after five years together in the AFL system, the Ah Chee brothers locked horns for the first time and, fittingly, were tasked with playing on each other for the bulk of the contest.

However, elder brother Brendon, who played 27 games with Port Adelaide before crossing to West Coast at the end of 2017, once feared the moment would never arise. “It always seemed that the stars would align for us not to play against each other,” the 26-year-old recounted. “I’d either be in the ‘twos’ or Callum would be injured, or something would happen that would stop us from playing.”

It’s a view shared by younger brother Callum, who was drafted to Gold Coast with the eighth pick in the 2015 draft where he managed 45 games, before moving up the Pacific Motorway to join the Lions at the end of last season. “It was weird, it’s only taken us five years,” he joked. “I really enjoyed it and it was something that I dreamed of when I was little. “We got the win, so I was pretty happy with that, and got the bragging rights, so it was good.”

While the Gabba matchup proved fitting, Brendon merrily reflected on a time the brothers might have made a famous name for themselves overseas. “I thought the first time (they would face-off) was going to be when Port Adelaide played Gold Coast over in Shanghai, China,” he reflected.

“[Our] last name is Ah Chee and that’s a Chinese last name, so we were sort of joking about how we’d get an extra million fans by going and playing over there. “But he (Callum) ended up having a sore back, so it got to the point where I was almost thinking it wasn’t going to happen.”

With both Callum, from the forward line to the backline, and Brendon, from the midfield to the forward line making positional moves, the brothers had the chance to actually go head-to-head. It was a challenge they both enjoyed immensely. “Obviously I tried to not let him get the ball, one because that’s what I’ve got to do for the team but two because he’s my brother, and I didn’t want him to be beating me. “There was a little bragging rights game going as well. Unfortunately I didn’t get to kick any goals on him or take any marks on him, but we got a few contests in which was good.”

For Callum, the match-up required little homework. “I knew how he played. I watch every game that he plays, and he’s been giving me tips since I was younger, so I know the way he plays,” he said.

Quizzed on whether he recalled any specific moments to win brotherly pride over Callum, a tongue-in-cheek Brendon bemoaned a missed free kick. “There was an opportunity in the forward 50 where we were in a one-on-one (contest). I think he was trying to block for Lachie Neale, [which] in my opinion was a free kick, so I should’ve had a set shot at goal,” he said. “That would’ve been brilliant, but unfortunately it was play on and he ended up tackling me once I got the ground ball. “Afterwards we had a good joke about it.”

Back home in Western Australia, the Ah Chee family watched on intently. “They (parents) sent us a photo of them dressed up in Eagles and Brisbane colours,” Brendon said. “We’ve got a big family. When we play, we represent them, so for them to get dressed up and make a night out of it, it was probably just as special for them to watch us play.”

It’s a feeling echoed by Callum, too. “It was pretty funny. Mum and Dad, it’s something that they’ve always wanted to see happen as well, so it was a big day for them,” he said. “Dad always has a West Coast hat on or a ‘Brissy’ shirt on, but I’m just glad that those two finally got to see us play.”

1594424065891.png

Post-game, the Ah Chees took to Skype to soak in the moment. “We had a laugh. We all jumped on that and started talking about it,” Brendon said. “They’ve been waiting for a long time to see us play against each other. “We weren’t sure it was ever going to happen, so to have it finally happen and have the family behind us all the way, it was pretty special.”

As Callum begins to secure his spot in a strong Lions line-up, Brendon believes his younger brother’s freakish ability is likely to be illustrated further. “I got to watch him when he was under 13s under 14s, and he was a freak, he was the best junior player that I saw at his age,” he reflected. “I just want him to be able to recapture that and show everyone what he can do, and he’s building to and he’s showing glimpses, but I know he’s working on his consistency.

“If Brisbane can get the best out of him, they’re going to be a pretty lucky club.” Brendon is beginning to forge his own path of consistency, locking down a spot in the Eagles forward line after a strong pre-season, attracting Callum’s praise in the process. “I’m so proud of him, he’s someone that I’ve seen as a massive role model,” Callum said. “I’m glad that he’s happy playing footy and hopefully he cements his spot this year.”
1594423842663.png

Ah Chee, Wowee
After a slow start to his Brisbane career, all it took was a change of position to unleash Callum Ah Chee. With Cam Rayner (hamstring) missing, the former Gold Coast utility was moved from his usual half-back position to half-forward, having instant results. He eased Brisbane's nerves after a slow start, cleverly outmarking Tim English and then slotting the Lions' first from a tight angle. He then took a huge overhead mark almost on the goal-line for his second and the home team was away.

UNSUNG HEROES - ROUND 11
Brisbane: Callum Ah Chee

With Cam Rayner missing for the first time since his debut in 2018, Ah Chee moved to the front half of the ground against the Bulldogs and it paid instant dividends. After a shaky start from the Lions, Ah Chee helped settle the home side kicking their first goal of the game at the 14-minute mark and another shortly after. Although he only had 10 touches for the match they were critical in opening up Brisbane’s game and working their way towards an important 24-point win. To top off the win, Ah Chee took a Mark of the Year contender with a brilliant grab over the Bulldogs’ Ryan Gardiner.

Hopefully this gives him the confidence to attack the footy and play with the same flair off the half backline.

Cal Ah Chee and Keidean Coleman Become Parents

The Lions family has welcome two new Lions cubs this week, with Callum Ah Chee and Keidean Coleman both becoming parents.

Ah Chee and his partner Laura announced the arrival of a baby boy, Iver Ricky Ah Chee, last Thursday.

Ah Chee: "I Didn't Know What to Expect, But I Love It"

A beaming Callum Ah Chee could barely contain his excitement when speaking on the arrival of his first child, Iver.

Chatting on the Roar Deal, Ah Chee said that while his son’s birth came early, that Mum and bub were both doing well.

“It’s been amazing, he came a month early, but he and Laura are really healthy and it’s so nice to come home to him and put my energy toward him,” he said.

“I didn’t know what to expect but he’s amazing and he’s been awesome so far and I’m absolutely loving it.”

Ah Chee was a late out for the Lions Round 18 clash against Richmond, a move that had the full support of Head Coach, Chris Fagan.

“Late Sunday night, Loz’s water broke and then Tuesday she went into labour. We were leaving for the game on Wednesday and Fages and I had a conversation and I said that I didn’t want to miss the birth of my first child,” Ah Chee said.

“Fages and Danny Daly were really supportive of my decision and said that I’d be making the right decision to be by Laura’s side in that time.

“I can’t thank the club and the staff and players for the support they’ve provided, they’ve been great through the entire process for us.”

Why being Brisbane's Mr Fix-It is a 'blessing' for ex-Sun

CALLUM Ah Chee is Brisbane's 'Mr Fix-It'.

This season alone the 23-year-old has spent considerable time at half-back, played at half-forward and the past three weeks has been used as a wingman.

He'll often play multiple roles within the one game.

In many ways the versatility fits his personality.

Quietly spoken and humble, Ah Chee is as much a "do whatever the team needs" person as any player on the Lions' list.

PG5Bl9Nj.jpg

He is genuinely not concerned about statistics and told AFL.com.au he was at peace with being moved all over the field if that helped winning.

"For me it's a bit of a blessing," Ah Chee said.

"I just go in knowing that if I perform my role, the team is happy, the coach is happy, I'm happy.

"'Fages' [coach Chris Fagan] says I should feel good that I'm able to play different roles and that I know the gameplan in three different zones.

"He's helped me come to terms with that and put confidence in me that not everyone can do it."

Ever since Fagan arrived at the Lions almost five years ago he's been big on multi-positional players, and the likes of Zac Bailey, Hugh McCluggage and Jarrod Berry fit that mould, but Ah Chee's defence-wing-forward combination is different.

He has been a constant in Brisbane's team since heading north late in 2019 following four seasons with Gold Coast.

After missing the opening round of 2020, the No.8 pick from the 2015 NAB AFL Draft has missed just one more game – for the birth of his first child ahead of round 18 this year.

Injuries dogged him at the Suns, playing 45 games across those four years, but the talent was always there.

"It was tough to move at the start," he said.

"I didn't make the decision lightly.

"It was difficult knowing you've spent four years building relationships at one club and you get settled. It's your home, you're there every day around the same blokes.

"Ever since I got to Brisbane it's been awesome though, everyone is so welcoming.

"It's home now. I've bought a place here, me and my partner have had a little bub.

"The club's been fantastic. I can come to training every day and can just be myself."

Ah Chee is exceptional overhead for his 182cm frame, disciplined, clean at ground level and an excellent ball user.

It's the type of skill-set that has made him a lock in Brisbane's 22, despite not finding that one 'home' on-field.

"I still feel like I've got a lot to offer," he said.

"I know I haven't played my best football, I've just showed it in glimpses.

"I'm used to the system now and getting more and more confident every day.

"I know how our club works and how our team works together and I'm at terms with that now and feel good about it.

"All I wanted as a kid was to play in the AFL, so playing for the Brissie Lions is like a dream."

Make or break season for Cal next year. Does he take a big step forward and start influencing games more consistently or does he continue to be one of those just inside the best 22 who could easily be passed by someone younger than he is.

2021 Season Review: Ah Chee & Gardiner

Callum Ah Chee continued to serve as Chris Fagan’s troubleshooter in 2021 while Darcy Gardiner was forced to battle through one injury after another, with some patches of solid form in between.

In his second year at the Lions Ah Chee once again demonstrated his versatility playing at half back, on a wing and in the forward line.

He played a career high 21 games with his best performance a 15 possession, six tackle outing against Collingwood in Rd 22.

He hit the scoreboard in six games with his best return coming in the Q Clash where he booted two goals against his former club Gold Coast.

While his ability to play multiple positions has come in handy for the Lions, the 24-year-old has yet to settle in and make one spot his own which might allow him to rediscover the ball winning form of his most consistent season in the AFL in 2018 where he averaged 15 disposals over 14 games for the Suns.

‘It is beautiful’: Lions star explains reasoning behind heartwarming mid-match embrace

Brisbane Lions star Lachie Neale has explained the emotional scenes involving teammate Callum Ah Chee during last Saturday night’s win over North Melbourne.

Ah Chee kicked a goal in the fourth quarter before pointing to his armband and the sky as teammates swarmed to their tearful teammate.

Speaking on AFL 360, Neale said Ah Chee’s reaction - and embrace with coach Chris Fagan after the game - stemmed from a personal tragedy.

“His nan unfortunately passed away on Saturday morning, the day of the game. For him to lace up the boots and get out there and play as well as he did was an amazing effort,” Neale said.

“The guys really rallied behind him and it was great he could finish in that last quarter with a goal as well.

“For him to play as well as he did on such a tough day for him was fantastic and the guys really got around him which is what we’re all about.”

Ah Chee performed incredibly despite the emotional toll the day would’ve had on him - he finished with 20 disposals and a goal to go with seven score involvements.

Norm Smith medallist Christian Petracca labelled the moment “beautiful” and explained how the culture of football clubs can often be healing for those going through off-field difficulty.

“I think at the end of the day, footy is only a part of us as an aspect of who we are as humans. We have a life and stuff outside of footy. The best thing about footy is the relationships and the culture that footy clubs create,” he said.

“You go to work and have distractions away from footy but just put them aside for the time you’re there. Anyone that retires understands, that’s the thing they miss, that banter with their teammates, getting massages and just talking a bit of crap, that’s the thing we love about footy clubs, it sort of distracts you away from stuff that’s going on in your life.

“To see those scenes, it is beautiful. To see the guys hugging the coach and those relationships, it is amazing.”

Senior Callum Ah Chee (2019-)