Review Cats keep season alive with 12 point win

Im sorry stewart is prone to brain farts in relation to blicavs? Seriously? Blicavs? :drunk: Mind blown.

blicavs might be in his last season next year. He will be 33.

stewarts currently the best defender in the game. A generational player whose attack on the ball is as elite as it gets.
Stewart plays on the edge, which is a good thing. But it also means he is prone to giving away a silly free kick because he is frustrated, and he also runs close to the wind with respect to undisciplined acts.

Has Blitz ever been suspended because he couldn’t control his emotions?

He is a more complete choice as captain.

That is no offence to Stewart, who I said is a great player. I just feel that Blitz would be a better captain.

Blitz is rock solid, and has at least 2 years left. Until last week he has been almost the most durable player in the league since he debuted.

Ive never rated Parfitt- however it is horses for courses - and the barrel is pretty empty

Taylor Adams is not quick - also cant kick over a jam tin - why dont they give Parfitt a run with role opposed to T Adams - Blight use to say if youve got a player out of form - then give him a specific task - like a run with roll

I dont rate Adams at all - and one aspect of his play - he is worse than Blicavs when he played FB - in the aspect when he got the ball - as to what to do with it next

I reckon Parfitt could play allright on Adams
A run with role against a player who is no good? That seems like a very poor use of resources.

Totally agree with you

Maybe Patrick should look at his Internet Bank Acct - and see that beautiful 50k credit - with the Payer - Geel F C ( assuming he gets $1 mil a year - so 50k a game ) - i think he has got a hide saying that

I think Dangerfield when he talks - is a bit like C Scott - you just dont listen to it - because you dont know if they mean what they are saying at times - just talk for the sake of talking
This is just another example of the unwarranted criticism Danger has faced over the years.

It is staggering how under-appreciated he has been, mostly by Geelong fans. At any other club he would be beloved, but for unknown reasons geelong fans love to stick the boots in. I don’t get it.

Parfitt gets most of his kicks round the boundary line; you rarely see him gather clean ball in space. He is not quick. And he has always been a horrible kick.

If we're playing him we're not bent on improving the team.

Rohan and Henry are in doubt it seems - Parfitt doesn't replace them but Knevitt and Neale could.

Yup, a couple of poor decisions led to back to back goals for them.

Midfield definitely did not set up their zone or run hard enough or stick tackles to support the backs. We could clearly see space opening up in the centre of the ground when port switched inwards from the wings and our players were out positioned, which led to them taking some easy marks near directly in front of the goals.
excellent observation, thanks :thumbsu:

wish the fricken footy shows would do more of that instead of the obvious stuff

Sicily is a weapon. Stewart does a lot of great work because he is given licence to leave his opponent. However, Port got a couple of easy goals due to Stewart's wandering nature. He gets let off too easily for this. It's hard to tell who Stewart is playing on so no suprise he escapes scrutiny.
A bit like Steve Johnson, when you gamble some much often with tough odd, you going to lose big when you don't nail it.
One bit of vision when someone got out the back, you can see him in two minds whether to attack the contest 20 some meters away or go back to the oppo behind him also 20m away. He ended up a few strides away when the guy scored the goal.

"Efficiency: The total effective statistics divided by the total statistics for a said category."

"Effective Handball: A handball to a teammate that hits the intended target."

"Effective Kick: The sum of effective short kicks, effective long kicks and effective ground kicks."

"Effective Long Kick: A kick of more than 40 metres to a 50/50 contest or better for the team."

"Effective Short Kick: A kick of less than 40 metres that results in the intended target retaining possession. Does not include kicks that are spoiled by the opposition"

So, with a disposal efficiency or 33% even his long kicks (+40m) were ineffective.

Stanley

Disposals 18 (11k, 7hb) at 33%
Clearances 2
Centre clearances 0
Stoppage clearances 2
Score involvements 7
Hit outs: 31

Visenti (in his third(?) game)

Disposals 10 (4k, 6hb) 80% efficiency
Contested 8
Clearances 8
Centre clearances 7
Stoppage 1
Score involvements 5
Hitouts: 25
Probably doesn't surprise me, as Stanley does pretty well against established and even excellent ruckmen, but on occasions he can be against an absolute no-name and be exposed. But he wasn't too bad last night, our midfield weakness means we're often struggling for clearances which make a ruckman look good when they happen the right way.

Parfitt gets most of his kicks round the boundary line; you rarely see him gather clean ball in space. He is not quick. And he has always been a horrible kick.

If we're playing him we're not bent on improving the team.

Rohan and Henry are in doubt it seems - Parfitt doesn't replace them but Knevitt and Neale could.

I wouldn't mind Parfitt playing like he did last night. He could have 0 kicks and 25 handballs for all I care, as long as the handballs are releasing the likes of Holmes or Danger to burst out of congestion in the middle of the ground.

3 things.

1. Stewart is an absolute gun and just about the best defender in the league.

2. I will keep thanking richmond for bruhn and henry for years to come. Sliding doors moment.

3. I know the selectors will put mids like trac and bont in the fwd line bur miers just HAS to be AA surely? His assist work is off the charts.

Im still not sure how we won that game getting smacked in the midfield that much but im glad we stood up in the last 10 mins. Season very much alive.
I thought Stewart was indecisive in the first half and directly responsible for 3-4 goals

I wouldn't mind Parfitt playing like he did last night. He could have 0 kicks and 25 handballs for all I care, as long as the handballs are releasing the likes of Holmes or Danger to burst out of congestion in the middle of the ground.
Of his 8 handballs 5 were score involvements where he got it to faster or better skilled players in the chain.

Felt we were slaughtered in the midfield (at the game, yet to watch the replay), but a +19 CP differential is huge considering how poor we've been in that area over the past fortnight.

Good signs early with a noticeable intent to move the ball quickly and we opened them up when we did with some slick ball movement. The middle quarters weren't so free flowing as they tightened the screws around the ball and at ground level restricting us to very little quick transition.

But I always felt we would win it and once again a stirring last quarter where the crowd played it's part got us home. We've got a flicker of hope, but on current form we aren't going to be a threat. Though one look at everyone else in the eight and there's no standouts, unlike us last year, with cracks appearing in a number of teams at times.

It's that type of year where a month of good footy with a healthy list could be enough to win a flag regardless of your ladder position, ala 2016.

I do have to chuckle at the apparent umpire bias that always gets thrown around when we win, particularly at home. Of course there was nothing said about the dream run Port got early in the game and in the third quarter especially, when they cut the deficit within six minutes. I thought our last quarter free kicks were a result of us going harder and lower at the ball. If you do that, you'll generally get rewarded more often than not.

Overall happy with the hunger and effort, but we need to improve lengths if we're to make an impact, and it's highly questionable whether we can. Next week is huge, beat the Pies and all of a sudden it could become game on.

This is just another example of the unwarranted criticism Danger has faced over the years.

It is staggering how under-appreciated he has been, mostly by Geelong fans. At any other club he would be beloved, but for unknown reasons geelong fans love to stick the boots in. I don’t get it.

Absolute bulldust - and im one of his biggest fans - love watching him play- carried Geel for years - ive posted that numerous times

But it is all relative to the annual remuneration - he is getting 1 million a year - yet he says it is mentally challenging getting up each week - if they are not in the prime time slots - thats what he said

Imagine a CEO on a million a year - said to the board who appointed him - its mentally challenging to get stimulated/motivated every week - fair dinkum -but thats the real world - not the ridiculous AFL world

Absolute bulldust - and im one of his biggest fans - love watching him play- carried Geel for years - ive posted that numerous times

But it is all relative to the annual remuneration - he is getting 1 million a year - yet he says it is mentally challenging getting up each week - if they are not in the prime time slots - thats what he said

Imagine a CEO on a million a year - said to the board who appointed him - its mentally challenging to get stimulated/motivated every week - fair dinkum -but thats the real world - not the ridiculous AFL world
Ok, so if you are paid more you aren’t allowed to give an honest interview.

Got it

Ok, so if you are paid more you aren’t allowed to give an honest interview.

Got it

Last comment/post on it

The Captain on a million a year says " Its harder to get up for a game thats in the middle of the day than it is prime time "

I wonder if Joel ever had that problem - id doubt it

Last comment/post on it

The Captain on a million a year says " Its harder to get up for a game thats in the middle of the day than it is prime time "

I wonder if Joel ever had that problem - id doubt it
The club should make a new rule, only robots are allowed to earn a million a year. With the advances in robotics and AI this should be workable.

Good idea👍

Do we really think Dangerfield was Geelong’s 2nd best player - as per the AFL match report? Stewart third?

I must have been at a different game. Danger had less than 10 touches at 3/4 time …. Picked it up a notch in the last but I thought he was average and looked well off being the best few players out there. A few of his kicks were Danger specials. Horne - Francis outpointed Danger around the contest and I thought did a number on him when they were head to head.

As for Stewart, similar to Dangerfield. He’s a defender who gave up 4 goals in the first 3/4 and then had a better last qtr.

Hard to fathom the way they came up with best players.

Agree that I think they will want to bring in another forward option. And/or midfield. From the sounds of things Hawkins will be at least one more week away (don’t want to risk 35 yo hammy no matter how minor?)

Given Collingwood are not tall but are mobile I think they should look to bring in some pace. That may work against Neale and more toward Knevitt or Dempsey in my mind. But given they have shown reluctance bringing them in for big games maybe they do default to Bews and move Bowes forwarhave

Agree that I think they will want to bring in another forward option. And/or midfield. From the sounds of things Hawkins will be at least one more week away (don’t want to risk 35 yo hammy no matter how minor?)

Given Collingwood are not tall but are mobile I think they should look to bring in some pace. That may work against Neale and more toward Knevitt or Dempsey in my mind. But given they have shown reluctance bringing them in for big games maybe they do default to Bews and move Bowes forward?
It's pretty obvious MC will not play knevitt or Dempsey again this year as both have been better than parfitt, bews and menegola in vfl but it's clear there age and experience worries MC. Maybe last game if we can't make finals.

Stanley useless? What game were you watching?

clearly won the ruck contest again and had 18 disposals and some key marks. Was in our top 3 players behind miers and Stewart.

would of possibly been best on ground if it wasnt for those two howling passes.

ah thats it. The 2 passess is why you thought he was useless. Missed the rest of his game.
Thought Visentini smashed him to be honest, Rhys had a whole lot of taps to nobody but in terms of actually providing first use Visentini was the clear better Ruck, post Ruck contest he also dominated with 8 clearances himself.

I don't recall that alleged trip at all.

I remember Holmes getting taken high and Bowes coming in to fly the flag - so not sure if it was linked to that, maybe tripped which lead to the high contact