Preview Changes: R16 2019 vs Port Adelaide

Douglas was crap before he got injured and missed weeks... then he came back and played sanfl and was ordinary... then he was called up into the AFL side and has three putrid games in a row..

If he is not dropped it will be an utter disgrace... it’s disgusting that he actually got to play last night.

Gibbs.. needs to spend the rest of the year in the sanfl and if he can’t build some consistency and actually play like he gives a **** for multiple games in a row then he should be cut loose. None of this flipping him between the afl/sanfl when it’s clear that his attitude and effort hasn’t changed.

Murphy out.. great effort, great endeavour, tackles like his life depends on it.. but has poor skills and doesn’t provide enough scoreboard pressure...

Atkins on thin ice... again.

Ins will depend on who’s available and who puts their hand up in today’s sanfl game

Out:
Douglas - loved watching you for most of your career, Douggie. A great club man. But your time is done.
Gibbs - have hated watching you for most of your career - wasted at Carlton and over-paid at the Crows. Your time is done.
Davis - into the weights room.

In:
Lynch, CEY and Milera

If Tex is injured, play Thor as a forward and bring in the best mid from the SANFL.

Out:
Douglas - loved watching you for most of your career, Douggie. A great club man. But your time is done.
Gibbs - have hated watching you for most of your career - wasted at Carlton and over-paid at the Crows. Your time is done.
Davis - into the weights room.

In:
Lynch, CEY and Milera

If Tex is injured, play Thor as a forward and bring in the best mid from the SANFL.
Need Fog to take control today, if Tex is hampered theres an opportunity.

Mchenry was reported to be carrying general soreness from playing SANFL the other week he clearly is struggling with the bigger bodies in the SANFL he needs to develop to get used to that before playing AFL

Jones will develop and has been given games like Douglas isn't up to it atm due to form Jones isn't up to it atm because he isnt ready

We have three players far more developed in Wilson macadam and stengle that we need to see if they have it or not

The classic thing about you ius your saying dougy needs to be dropped because of his output and are saying Jones provided the same output as dougy. Are you taking the kids saying we want someone with low output

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not sure if you saw the article in the last few days on Macadam, who has himself admitted that he's only just starting to get up to speed with the fitness demands of AFL football. He's not ready,will benefit from another preseason, i doubt we'll see him this year. Stengle should be the next in. Really we should have used the game against Geelong to give Stengle a crack, and Betts a rest before the showdown. His record is SO poor against Bews.

I haven't watched any sanfl this year but from the stats I've seen it seems stengle kicks 3 or 4 every week and 2 on poor weeks. How long can we ignore that type of form

I’ve said McHenry is injured.

No I’ve not said Jones isn’t ready, I see given the role, he is a better option than what you came up with and the more games he plays will see him improve.
Going on output and what we have seen at AFL level between Mackay dougy Jones

Guess what Mackay gets the nod on pure output and that can't be denied

Need Fog to take control today, if Tex is hampered theres an opportunity.

I really don't know what the unhealthy obsession is with Crows supporters and Fogarty. At least string together two or three games where you show the selectors SOMETHING.

Playing the half forward role? What’s his output been like in that role?
Not much. He's played okay on a wing, but Jones' pressure in the forward half makes him better suited for that role imo.

So you can provide examples of where this versatility has shown him play half forward let alone well? You might as well state he could replace ROB if he got injured.
Mr SuperVersatile. The Trent Ormond-allen of our time...

Out
Davis - simply not ready

Gibbs - is discombobulated. What a waste of talent.

Douglas - surprised to see he had 15 touches. Not even close to yellow-jacket-Dougy

Himmelberg - his 2 goals masked an insipid performance, but we’ve got nobody else as a back up ruck so he’ll play next week.(sauce and ROB can’t pkay in the same team)

Talia- if we didn’t have to cover Hordor next week I’d give him a rest. His slow plodding is painful to watch and his out-of-character brain fades are happening more regularly. That kick. There’s one or two of those every game now. They directly cost goals.

Murphy - time for a look at Stengel or McAdam? Or wait until after the showdown?

In
CEY, Lynch, Milera Fogarty.
Himmelberg insipid?

He’s kicked 2 himself + 1 assist + 6 score involvements, all from just 40% time in forward half.

That’s more than a token contribution particularly given our midfield was smashed.

Players who could be better described as insipid were Gibbs, Smith, Laird, Douglas, and Talia

So you can provide examples of where this versatility has shown him play half forward let alone well? You might as well state he could replace ROB if he got injured.
Elite face facts if dougy and Jones at HF aren't performing you could bring in a number if players stengle Mackay or bring in Wilson and bring someone into hf

Who are specialist HF dougy is a mid Jones was recruited as a mid outside mid and HF are very similar positions unless you are looking at a taller HF

Seeds Atkins Mackay Greenwood CEY stengle lynch Wilson Jones gibbs dougy Betts Murphy plus others could all play HF

Himmelberg insipid?

He’s kicked 2 himself + 1 assist + 6 score involvements, all from just 40% time in forward half.

That’s more than a token contribution particularly given our midfield was smashed.

Players who could be better described as insipid were Gibbs, Smith, Laird, Douglas, and Talia
What did you think of Betts

Elite face facts if dougy and Jones at HF aren't performing you could bring in a number if players stengle Mackay or bring in Wilson and bring someone into hf

Who are specialist HF dougy is a mid Jones was recruited as a mid outside mid and HF are very similar positions unless you are looking at a taller HF

Seeds Atkins Mackay Greenwood CEY stengle lynch Wilson Jones gibbs dougy Betts Murphy plus others could all play HF

You’ve lost it if you think Mackay is a half forward option, it’s as whacky as thinking Jacobs could replace Jenkins.

What did you think of Betts

Yep he was poor too.

I’m not concerned about the result and I’ve little doubt the club will either. It’s the Bermuda Triangle of footy.

What does grind my gears is when people want to take a swipe at young players and blame them for the shortcomings of some golden children.

Brodie Smith, long adored on this board, is a major underachiever against quality opposition but continues to escape scrutiny.

2 efforts, 1 from him and 1 from his comedy mate Laird, let them in for 2 goals against the run of play in the 1st. Absolutely putrid soft, efforts that kill momentum.

Yet I read that EH was insipid? With the numbers he put up as a key forward to a beaten midfield?

People just don’t analyse the game

Edit: did we notice the scorn of Cats players directed at Laird? That’s what happens when peers see a soft....ck effort. Stands out amongst committed players. They see that level of weakness and know the game is won.

Yep he was poor too.

I’m not concerned about the result and I’ve little doubt the club will either. It’s the Bermuda Triangle of footy.

What does grind my gears is when people want to take a swipe at young players and blame them for the shortcomings of some golden children.

Brodie Smith, long adored on this board, is a major underachiever against quality opposition but continues to escape scrutiny.

2 efforts, 1 from him and 1 from his comedy mate Laird, let them in for 2 goals against the run of play in the 1st. Absolutely putrid soft, efforts that kill momentum.

Yet I read that EH was insipid? With the numbers he put up as a key forward to a beaten midfield?

People just don’t analyse the game
It’s not that hard, all you’ve got to do is look at the respective inside 50 count, our comparable inside 50 efficiency and it’s as clear as day it was our midfield. Plus our defence giving up late goals.

Himmelberg insipid?

Talia insipid?

Midfield let Geelong have 63 inside 50s, and Talia kept Geelong’s best forward to 12 disposals and 2 goals.

He wasn’t amazing and we expect a lot from Talia. But without him I reckon Hawkins kicks 7.

Our defence wasn’t the problem.

It’s not that hard, all you’ve got to do is look at the respective inside 50 count, our comparable inside 50 efficiency and it’s as clear as day it was our midfield. Plus our defence giving up late goals.
Its largely midfield.

If the ball keeps coming in time after time your defence can only hold up for so long, in particular the defenders who dont actually defend that well.

Talia insipid?

Midfield let Geelong have 63 inside 50s, and Talia kept Geelong’s best forward to 12 disposals and 2 goals.

He wasn’t amazing and we expect a lot from Talia. But without him I reckon Hawkins kicks 7.

Our defence wasn’t the problem.
I’m really not invested in this result so I’m not bothering to argue too much.

I will defend the younger players though

Preview Changes: R16 2019 vs Port Adelaide