Preview Changes: R2 vs Collingwood - Saturday March 26, 1.15pm ACDT

Laird broke his right hand in the Community Series game against Port Adelaide on March 5 but avoided surgery and has been training strongly since.

“Rory has been running really well, obviously one of the advantages of a hand injury is you can still run so he’s pushing for selection this week,” Burgess said.

“He will do most of training on Wednesday and if he gets through that unscathed then he will be available this week, and if not this week, then certainly back for Round Three.”
That's a heck of quick recovery from a break...

Very lucky IMHO. It's a very "I deliberately punched him and broke his jaw. But I was aiming for the shoulder so it doesn't count" verdict.
If anyone thinks Sloane would ever intentionally try to make impact with another players eye, then I have no idea what universe they are in. Sloane has had multiple eye injuries over recent seasons, including one where there was a very real possibility of losing his sight in one eye. It was clearly careless, but intentional? The MRO are smoking something strong to come up with these decisions.

you have to love crows Facebook supporters especially the elderly ones, if you even bring up captain courageous in a bad light they start swearing at ya, I think I’ll stick to bigfooty.
Or “Keays’y” god forbid I criticise him
Soo.. many kool aid drinkers
The guys an honest trier nothing more

If anyone thinks Sloane would ever intentionally try to make impact with another players eye, then I have no idea what universe they are in. Sloane has had multiple eye injuries over recent seasons, including one where there was a very real possibility of losing his sight in one eye. It was clearly careless, but intentional? The MRO are smoking something strong to come up with these decisions.
He was found guilty of doing something illegal with the potential to damage the eyes and doing that deliberately. The logic that it was only careless because he didn't specifically intend to strike the eye region is pretty dubious, and wouldn't really hold in other cases.

Cant see this happening, but I reckon the below would be competitive against a relatively small and inexperience Magpies side..

B: Doedee Butts Brown
HB: Smith Murray Dawson
C: Scholl Laird Keays
HF: McHenry Gollant Sloane
F: Rachele Fogarty TT
Fol: ROB Schoenberg Crouch
I/R: Rowe Hinge Milera (Pedlar (pref) / Hateley (if you want more experience)
Sub: Hinge

Sloane has to be moved away from stinking up the centre square, Himmelberg needs to never play again for the tri-colours, McPherson injured and Soligo back to the 2s...

FB: Brown - Butts - Doedee
HB: Smith - Murray - Jones
C: Sholl - Keays - Dawson
HF: Rachele - Thilthorpe - Sloane
FF: Rowe - Fogarty - Gollant
FOLL: O'Brien - Schoenberg - Crouch
INT: Milera - Hinge - McHenry - Himmelberg
SUB: Pedlar
EMER: Soligo - Frampton - Hately

He was found guilty of doing something illegal with the potential to damage the eyes and doing that deliberately. The logic that it was only careless because he didn't specifically intend to strike the eye region is pretty dubious, and wouldn't really hold in other cases.

Sunday’s incident — on Docker Blake Acres in the first quarter — was assessed as intentional conduct, low impact and high contact.

Sloane, who had surgery on a detached retina last year and had previous eye procedures, said: “I’m very aware of what even just a little scratch in the eye can do, even just a poke. There’s no way I’d go after anyone’s eye because I’m very aware of the damage it can cause”.

“I was super close to being finished in football and close to losing my eyesight so there’s no way I’d go near anyone’s eye,” Sloane told the tribunal.

Adelaide skipper Rory Sloane says he was unaware he made contact to Blake Acres’ eye when he was “scrapping for the ball”.

Sloane said he knew his hand was resting on the Fremantle midfielder’s forehead but not near the eye during the first-quarter incident.

Trying to argue it was careless rather than intentional, Sloane told the tribunal that Acres’s head landed in his bicep and he was trying to get up and push off his elbow to get the football.

The tribunal agreed the eye region was not simply the eye but also the eyebrow and upper cheekbone.

Adelaide’s legal counsel, Tom Duggan QC, said the only digit near the eye was Sloane’s pinky, the thumb was in Acres’s hair and the index was close to the Docker’s hairline.

Duggan suggested Sloane did not adjust his finger and the crook of the arm was already in that position, indicating it was a careless act, not a deliberate one.

“He has no ability of his own motion to gouge or move the hand,” Duggan said.

Duggan also showed viaion of Fremantle’s Andrew Brayshaw lifting Sloane up, which he said had a large bearing on any contact to the eye.

Acres did not require any further treatment and will not miss this week’s game.

I see Laird listed as a "test"...surely this is a smoke and mirrors scenario? How could he possibly play with a broken hand?
Playing with injuries is one of our club's greatest strengths

Onviously before Sloane getting off.

ADELAIDE

B: T.Doedee, J.Butts, L.Brown

HB: B.Smith, N.Murray, C.Jones

C: J.Dawson, B.Keays, M.Hinge

HF: N.McHenry, L.Gollant, L.Pedlar

F: J.Rachele, D.Fogarty, R.Thilthorpe

FOLL: R.O’Brien, H.Schoenberg, M.Crouch

I/C: J.Rowe, J.Soligo, W.Milera, L.Sholl

IN: L.Sholl, L.Gollant, L.Pedlar

OUT: A.McPherson, E.Himmelberg, R.Sloane

The Crows could have a big loss for a game they will be hoping to win against Collingwood with Rory Sloane offered a one-match ban for contact to Blake Acres’ eye region. Luke Pedlar kicked four in the SANFL trial match on the weekend to put his name forward. Lachie Gollant kicked five himself and will have Elliott Himmelberg sweating on his place after just six disposals against Fremantle. Andy McPherson was subbed out with a hamstring injury in the second quarter, Lachie Sholl performed strongly in his place.

– Simeon Thomas-Wilson

COLLINGWOOD

B: I.Quaynor, D.Moore, J.Madgen

HB: S.Pendlebury, J.Howe, N.Daicos

C: J.Daicos, T.Adams, S.Sidebottom

HF: N Kreuger, B.Mihocek, B.McCreery

F: O.Henry, J.De Goey, J.Elliott

FOLL: B.Grundy, P.Lipinski, J.Crisp

I/C: M.Cox, J.Noble, T.Brown, W. Hoskin-Elliott

EMG: T.Wilson, C.Brown, D.Cameron, H.Harrison

IN:Will Hoskin-Elliott, Nathan Kreuger

OUT: J.Ginnivan, Trent Bianco

Brayden Maynard still has one week to serve on a pre-season suspension but Nathan Kreuger is available to make his Collingwood debut. Will Hoskin-Elliott (hip and groin) is likely to put his hand up.

– Sam Landsberger

yep i saw that and thought it has to be broken.
Perhaps some form of RSI from overdoing the bow+arrow? Does he still do that?
On Footy Classified last night when old mate was going on again about that young Collingwood kid on the go pro celebrating after the game.

“You don’t see Geelong do that. You don’t see Port do that”

Port … bow & arrow, drums in the change rooms, changing into special jumpers … that Port?

Onviously before Sloane getting off.

ADELAIDE

B: T.Doedee, J.Butts, L.Brown

HB: B.Smith, N.Murray, C.Jones

C: J.Dawson, B.Keays, M.Hinge

HF: N.McHenry, L.Gollant, L.Pedlar

F: J.Rachele, D.Fogarty, R.Thilthorpe

FOLL: R.O’Brien, H.Schoenberg, M.Crouch

I/C: J.Rowe, J.Soligo, W.Milera, L.Sholl

IN: L.Sholl, L.Gollant, L.Pedlar

OUT: A.McPherson, E.Himmelberg, R.Sloane

The Crows could have a big loss for a game they will be hoping to win against Collingwood with Rory Sloane offered a one-match ban for contact to Blake Acres’ eye region. Luke Pedlar kicked four in the SANFL trial match on the weekend to put his name forward. Lachie Gollant kicked five himself and will have Elliott Himmelberg sweating on his place after just six disposals against Fremantle. Andy McPherson was subbed out with a hamstring injury in the second quarter, Lachie Sholl performed strongly in his place.

– Simeon Thomas-Wilson

COLLINGWOOD

B: I.Quaynor, D.Moore, J.Madgen

HB: S.Pendlebury, J.Howe, N.Daicos

C: J.Daicos, T.Adams, S.Sidebottom

HF: N Kreuger, B.Mihocek, B.McCreery

F: O.Henry, J.De Goey, J.Elliott

FOLL: B.Grundy, P.Lipinski, J.Crisp

I/C: M.Cox, J.Noble, T.Brown, W. Hoskin-Elliott

EMG: T.Wilson, C.Brown, D.Cameron, H.Harrison

IN:Will Hoskin-Elliott, Nathan Kreuger

OUT: J.Ginnivan, Trent Bianco

Brayden Maynard still has one week to serve on a pre-season suspension but Nathan Kreuger is available to make his Collingwood debut. Will Hoskin-Elliott (hip and groin) is likely to put his hand up.

– Sam Landsberger

Ginnivan going to bring out his GoPro after a win in the VFL?

Preview Changes: R2 vs Collingwood - Saturday March 26, 1.15pm ACDT