Preview Changes v Geelong, R23 2015

I'm gonna laugh my arse off if they are winning going into the last quarter ... what will the players do? If I was the AFL I'd have a very close eye on the coaching moves in this game :)

Will be an even bigger laugh if they get belted tomorrow because they rested all their stars, then get belted again by Richmond next week because those stars have lost form and momentum. :D

They can call them injuries, but you know that they would be playing if they thought there was anything to be gained. Its just resting.
i was only 13% serious

No we shouldn't. Watching Sauce, he thrives on continually playing. He also trains fully with the midfielders, hence why the boys nickname him 'Tall Mid'. And sorry it was part of the tweet that accompanied the story.

Seriously NN, have you ever seen him rested. How would we know whether he thrives on rests? We've got no idea because we have had a culture of 'best 22, every week regardless'.

Our game is still live if the Lions win.

Would be disappointing if we lose by a narrow margin resting players.

Yeh, diabolical if we lose a 4 point game even if it results in us having a greater chance of winning the week after. Can't knock back 4 points, they're the most important thing in AFL footy every round of the year. Can't believe Freo would consider resting players when 4 points are on offer. Regardless of next weeks results, I'm sure they'll look back and rue the loss of 4points in round 23.

We don't win at Simonds, look at the last decade+. The emotion surrounding some of the players fare-welling the club will only spur Geelong on. We shouldn't be favourites.

If they were insipid in the last 2 weeks when the finals was on the line then i doubt the emotion will help them now.

In: J.Tippett, M.Daw, A.Mullett, A.Black, B.McKenzie, M.Wood, T.Dumont, L.McDonald, K.Turner
Out: N.Dal Santo (managed), J.Waite (managed), M.Firrito (knee), A.Swallow (knee), S.Higgins (knee), T.Goldstein (managed), S.Wright (knee), B.Cunnington (knee), S.Thompson (ankle)

North Melbourne out's , This is absolutely ridiculous

What's absolutely ridiculous is that as a club we continue to not look any further than the 4 points on offer this weekend. It's a culture that has gotten us nowhere and will continue to do so. Perhaps don't rest 10 players, but FFS, at least consider the week after. Nup, not us, we've got the runs on the board and our league-leading methodology will eventually be proven best practise.

I don't quite know how you do it, but finding the negative out of any situation seems to be a specialty of yours, well done. I'm not sure how the North situation has anything to do with the Crows, who can still theoretically get a home final and need to ride the momentum to do any damage in finals. But hey, if you like supporting teams that rest players on the eve of finals, North and Freo will gladly have you.

I means seriously, what the ****. There is no need for the Crows to rest players, it makes no sense at all, and if you can't see that you really do need to take the blinkers off.

I don't quite know how you do it, but finding the negative out of any situation seems to be a specialty of yours, well done. I'm not sure how the North situation has anything to do with the Crows, who can still theoretically get a home final and need to ride the momentum to do any damage in finals. But hey, if you like supporting teams that rest players on the eve of finals, North and Freo will gladly have you.

I means seriously, what the ****. There is no need for the Crows to rest players, it makes no sense at all, and if you can't see that you really do need to take the blinkers off.

So our 'no rest' policy is 100% the only way to go. I'm aware that many supporters consider the club has always had the best philosophies, staff and practices, but has been unlucky over the past few years. Of course we couldn't change anything and improve. How can you improve upon perfection Baccs? Certainly not by resting players. The AFL schedules a bye for every club and they've determined when players get a rest. Couldn't possibly massage that at club level.

Just continue celebrating our premierships over the last decade mate. It's an enjoyable pastime for us all.

So our 'no rest' policy is 100% the only way to go. I'm aware that many supporters consider the club has always had the best philosophies, staff and practices, but has been unlucky over the past few years. Of course we couldn't change anything and improve. How can you improve upon perfection Baccs? Certainly not by resting players. The AFL schedules a bye for every club and they've determined when players get a rest. Couldn't possibly massage that at club level.

Just continue celebrating our premierships over the last decade mate. It's an enjoyable pastime for us all.
Why are you even trying to have this debate? Are you bored that there are no changes to complain about?

Enjoy your club playing finals after an extremely tough season. Or don't, I really couldn't care less.

Considering we've been the form side of the comp for the last 4 weeks, resting players would be a stupid thing.

Momentum is a funny beast after all. You don't want to risk losing a run of good form due to something as small as dropping a few players to protect them, because it's a reset.

Why are you even trying to have this debate? Are you bored that there are no changes to complain about?

Enjoy your club playing finals after an extremely tough season. Or don't, I really couldn't care less.

If it's a genuine dead rubber, I'd like to think we'd at least consider whether there's a benefit to giving a player or two a week off. Obviously with Thommo as our only real long term warrior and seeing VB is off a year off and is going ok, we're certainly short of obvious candidates. But the principle of always playing your best available team, no matter what, is flawed. Seeing posters decry other clubs for managing their players is ridiculous, especially seeing that our policy has hardly yielded results ahead of theirs.

FWIW, I wonder whether M Crouch us feeling the pinch a bit. Had an interrupted PS off his first ever footy preseason. But, I do agree, our momentum is important, but the question must be asked as to how be at our best for next week.

I reckon there's going to be some in game management such as Danger playing largely forward swapping with Thommo, Sauce being subbed in the last and maybe starting Charlie as the sub.

I don't mind the way we've gone about it, its good to see the young guys being backed in.

Preview Changes v Geelong, R23 2015