Coaching update?

Mar 16, 2001
Melbourne VIC
Wales, Eastwood, West Ham
I see in the Sun that Richmond are talking about chasing Malthouse, which should help hurry Collingwood up a bit - and Mark Robinson mentions that Buckley was on 3AW last night saying he'd talked to North and Richmond about next year "which included meeting North representatives four times in the past month".

Anyone hear the interview, or anything else of interest? My radio has a ban on 3AW.

Also in the HS it mentioned that Collingwood was promoting one of their assistant coaches Mark Neeld as a possible senior coach.

I though are they trying to make room.

to answer your question I didn't hear the interview on AW.

Buckley meeting North officials 4 times proves that what we know already - forget what the media is telling us - this process as been going on for a while. The meeting this weekend was probaby a final one and a decison eiher way must be imminent.

Anyone hear the interview, or anything else of interest? My radio has a ban on 3AW.

i heard it. it wasnt an interview. just general chit chat. GH asked Buckley when he spoke to North, NB confirmed it was Friday arvo, and had spoken to them 4 times ( why so many times ??? very odd )
GH then mentioned if he had signed a contract ( something along the lines of a 5 yr deal ) would he tell them on air. NB said no. and that was pretty much it.
The impression I got from GH, was that he knew more that what he was letting out.

It strikes me as odd when he said he's going through the process at Richmond as well. If he's already signed or on the brink of signing with North then why would he say that? To go through our process would involve a series of interviews that would halt his discussions with North. All signs do point do point to him going to North but I just thought that was a little weird.

Who says he has signed at North?

When do 2010 AFL draw club wish lists need to be submitted? Home game, in our own stripes, at the G on a Friday night against Collingwood?

Who says he has signed at North?

Just a few people have mentioned it as a rumour. I said signed or on the brink of signing. Just thought it was weird he said he's also going through the process at Richmond as well which I don't see how that is possible if North want a decision very soon.

I'll give you one possible reason. Let's say Buckley has signed or is on the brink of signing (obviously hypothetical) but he and the club don't yet want it revealed for whatever reason. Him pulling out of the Richmond process right now would put him under the pump and questions would be flooding in. If he wanted to keep it quiet he would not pull out of the Richmond process just yet. Especially given that (to the best of my knowledge) it's not like Richmond is asking him to prepare a huge presetation by the end of the week or anything like that. I don't think they are that far into the process yet.

Not really. The Richmond process has barely begun, he wouldn't have done anything except a preliminary meeting with them, which is entirely reasonable to weigh up the two opportunities and to find out what is required of him to go through the Richmond process. The only odd thing would be if he was on the brink of signing with North and then continued to put together his presentation for Richmond.

Its amazing how hushed the media are being on this. Sounds like Derbrain and Geraaard had heard something. Sounds like no mention of it on the 3 footy shows last night either.

But its very good to see our "process" not being played out in the media like Richmond's.

Not really. The Richmond process has barely begun, he wouldn't have done anything except a preliminary meeting with them, which is entirely reasonable to weigh up the two opportunities and to find out what is required of him to go through the Richmond process. The only odd thing would be if he was on the brink of signing with North and then continued to put together his presentation for Richmond.

Sounds like a logical reason.

I'll give you one possible reason. Let's say Buckley has signed or is on the brink of signing (obviously hypothetical) but he and the club don't yet want it revealed for whatever reason. Him pulling out of the Richmond process right now would put him under the pump and questions would be flooding in. If he wanted to keep it quiet he would not pull out of the Richmond process just yet. Especially given that (to the best of my knowledge) it's not like Richmond is asking him to prepare a huge presetation by the end of the week or anything like that. I don't think they are that far into the process yet.

I reckon youre spot on

I said yesterday in that good call/bad call thread that I didnt think you'd get buckley, but todays events have changed my mind.

Put it this way. Buckley is happy with North, but ideally would prefer the head role at the pies. He's keen to sign, but needs the malthouse issue resolved first (just in case there is an opening for him). Thats the delay.

Now Richmond have got wind that they arent going to get Buckley, so are making a play for Malthouse. Buckley then has to delay incase they actually get Malthouse. Collingwood delay the Malthouse decision, well, because they are collingwood.

I said yesterday in that good call/bad call thread that I didnt think you'd get buckley, but todays events have changed my mind.

Put it this way. Buckley is happy with North, but ideally would prefer the head role at the pies. He's keen to sign, but needs the malthouse issue resolved first (just in case there is an opening for him). Thats the delay.

Now Richmond have got wind that they arent going to get Buckley, so are making a play for Malthouse. Buckley then has to delay incase they actually get Malthouse. Collingwood delay the Malthouse decision, well, because they are collingwood.

There are a lot of possibilities.

I don't know how things will pan out. I have heard rumors that Buckley has accepted the position in principal but a time frame was agreed on for announcing it and it would be after our board meeting at the end of the month which will approve of the appointment.

I am not really fussed to be honest. If I felt our list was in dire problems and that there was a lack of good candidates around I would be really anxious but I think Richmond, Collingwood and North list wise are fairly even, Malthouse has done a lot better job this year than Wallace or Laidley has and is getting the most out of their players, I think there is still huge potential in both clubs looking for a coach and there are half a dozen top class candidates looking for a coaching gig.

Even if we don't get Bucks, I still feel we will end up with a very good coaching prospect so not really fussed. Buckley to me seems he is a natural leader with good communication skills and is a perfectionist which I think are elements which will make him a good coach. If Laidley had the people skills and the natural leadership ability I think he would have been a good coach. There are some things experience wont give you.

Buckley seems to have the attributes that you would want in a coach, but there are no guarantees he would be a good coach. So at the end of the day you still don't know until he is given the chance.

I think our club needs an improved image to sell it more to neutral potential supporters, needs more exposure and ultimate needs the best people we can get in the football department. If he makes a good coach AND helps in other areas then I think we would get a lot more out of him than any other club would.

Richmond and Collingwood just need a good coach.

Coaching update?