List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

If Richmond recruit both Hopper and Taranto then they are top 4 next season. That addresses the reliance on Prestia.

In some ways I am happy as it means Geelong miss out.

Surely Dusty would have to be leaving though?

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

As much as I loath them, they seem to get what they target, great recruiting team - getting these two guys would keep them very competitive.

In the old days - that was the Collingwood way !

I wonder if the plan is to go the low cost money ball style players in this trade period in Hill, Frampton, Stocker etc (exception being McStay), then moving on Grundy, keeping our powder dry for one season before going hard at a couple of really notable superstar talents that are coming out of contract in 2023.

Matt Rowell
Noah Anderson

The interesting component for me is that we have Pendlebury and Howe, who you would think are on biggish money coming out of contract next season. Unclear if they would be looking to play on, but if they did, you would think it would be a similar situation to what Richmond are looking like they are able to do by opening up big money from Riewoldt/Cotchin continuing on virtually minimum type deals.

How good would it be adding one of those two to play alongside their old school footy mate in Nick Daicos for the next 10 years...

So, if Jackson backflips and stays at the Dees, presumably they pull out of the chase for Grundy?

I hope it plays out that way. I don’t like the idea of us making the Dees stronger and subsidising Grundy’s wages for five years. Also, if the Dees are a No, then perhaps we can strike a deal with Hawks which sees us swap Grundy for Tom Mitchell with some adjustments of late picks and dollars. It’s as close to a win-win deal as we could possibly hope for.

So, if Jackson backflips and stays at the Dees, presumably they pull out of the chase for Grundy?

I hope it plays out that way. I don’t like the idea of us making the Dees stronger and subsidising Grundy’s wages for five years. Also, if the Dees are a No, then perhaps we can strike a deal with Hawks which sees us swap Grundy for Tom Mitchell with some adjustments of late picks and dollars. It’s as close to a win-win deal as we could possibly hope for.

Would Mitch Lewis be a part of those adjustments?

Dunno. But I reckon trading Grundy to Hawks in exchange for Mitchell is the only way to avoid us getting totally screwed over on the Grundy trade in terms of both picks and dollars, as was the case in our last fire sale, of Treloar.

I get that Richmond are freeing up space with new contracts to Cotchin and Riewoldt. Retirements to Lambert and Edwards. And whilst they've had to pay up for the likes of Bolton and Baker, they might also lose Dusty Martin.

So whilst they probably have some space, and potentially even heaps of space, I just can't see them being any bigger of a lure than a club like Essendon right now.

If I'm a Taranto or Hopper I'm wondering if I'm even joining a finalist for next season and that's before Cotchin and Riewoldt do actually retire.

Easier for clubs to stay up now with free agency and future pick swaps but I just don't know if Richmond will be able to emulate what Geelong are doing, and to a lesser extent the Swans (despite bottoming out a couple of years ago).

Also clearly something is up with Stocker for him to be delisted this early. Usually fringe players like him at least get dangled out in the shop front during the Trade Period.

We're notorious for holding a player in our drawers until we know for sure where our list sits or if anyone wants our OOC players.

Also clearly something is up with Stocker for him to be delisted this early. Usually fringe players like him at least get dangled out in the shop front during the Trade Period.

We're notorious for holding a player in our drawers until we know for sure where our list sits or if anyone wants our OOC players.
Yeah its interesting. Surely you hold him and let him explore whats out there in the upcomimg trade period; surely some interest given he was a 1st round pick not too long ago.

Ralph reporting JDG has had the old contract offer reinstated - 2 years guaranteed with automatic 2 year extension if behavioral clauses are met. $800k per year. JDG will stay.
Grundy - friends saying he is so motivated that he’s telling them he’ll win the Brownlow next year.
If he’s that motivated I would not trade him.
Funny how no one reported that Grundy's friends reckon he's so motivated to win the Brownlow after he signed a seven-year deal.

Yeah something smells about it.

Edwards retirement and their low balling Cotchin and Riewoldt into one year deals saving them $1.5M apparently..
Sorry to intrude

Lambert Caddy & Edwards are all coming off big deals they had from 2017/18 with all being between 500k-600k
and jack / Cotch has been offered huge reductions to cotinue and Jack would have been on 700k with Cotchin on more coming off his 5 year deal from 2018.

Any interest in Will Gould from Sydney? Been outstanding as a key position defender in the twos and looks like he hasn't been re-signed yet. Only reason he hasn't been given a chance in the ones appears to be because the Swans' back six are too good. Might relish a new chapter with another side? Stands at 191cm, age 21, 98kg...

Why would we give Grundy to the Hawks for Mitchell when we can get Mitchell for a 3rd rounder? That's not win for us at all, it's a stitch-up.

I get that Richmond are freeing up space with new contracts to Cotchin and Riewoldt. Retirements to Lambert and Edwards. And whilst they've had to pay up for the likes of Bolton and Baker, they might also lose Dusty Martin.

So whilst they probably have some space, and potentially even heaps of space, I just can't see them being any bigger of a lure than a club like Essendon right now.

If I'm a Taranto or Hopper I'm wondering if I'm even joining a finalist for next season and that's before Cotchin and Riewoldt do actually retire.

Easier for clubs to stay up now with free agency and future pick swaps but I just don't know if Richmond will be able to emulate what Geelong are doing, and to a lesser extent the Swans (despite bottoming out a couple of years ago).
I think the first point that is worth making is you’re actually better off going to St Kevin’s old boys than you would be by going to Essendon, so Richmond is definitely the better option.

I think you’ve somewhat hit the nail on the head though, Richmond Is a smart club, they know what they need, they know when they need it and more importantly they know when they don’t, in the modern world of player movement I see clubs like them thriving and staying up for a long time. Clubs like St Kilda and Essendon who seemingly throw a lot of mediocre darts at the dart board hoping they hit are destined for prolonged period down the bottom.

It’s what gives me optimism with the Henry negotiations, the old Collingwood has buckled and given him what he wants by now, from the outside looks like we’re a lot more strategic but still need a couple more years to see if that’s correct or just a hunch

Funny how no one reported that Grundy's friends reckon he's so motivated to win the Brownlow after he signed a seven-year deal.
I'm disgusted by the lack of journalistic quality. Clearly every time a player signs a contract, the first thing a journalist should be doing is calling every one of their friends to ask them a quote about their Brownlow chances. I want to know what Johnny Noble thinks about his Brownlow chances! It's the only indicator of effort!

Yep, I’m sold on him as a Moneyball pick. I like his aggression. Looks an upgrade on several on our list.

How does Moneyball apply to Liam Stocker? he's not a hidden gem that nobody valued apart from us. Was an early pick who apparently doesn't work that hard and that's why he was delisted. If he got on base a lot and that's a skill other clubs don't rate and we picked him up on that basis then he'd be a Moneyball pick.