List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

I only watched 10 minutes of below, and I'm convinced he's worth serious consideration. Tough, pacy and a very neat kick both sides.

Especially loved 3 aspects of Stockers kicking, hits targets with both feet, is brave with his kicking when kicking to the corridor & his kicking to the advantage side of his forwards is first class.

Gary Lyon and Nathan Jones also Ex- Demons, are reporting the same.
There must be substance to rumour.

I'm more inclined to think the opposite

Why is it only these ex-Melbourne players who wouldn't want to lose Jackson saying this?

If Jackon wants to go home despite playing for the reigning Premier, why does he suddenly not want to go home? I don't buy it

Geelong is the team I want least to win the flag this year

F*cking bovine shufflers
Part- time fishermen, rustic bogans, hub cap pinchers, provincial hillbillies
Deliverance Dueling Banjos GIF

I genuinely hope you’re right.

I’d love to know what negotiating power you think we have. For instance, if Dees are the only suitor and say to us, “We’ll give you a second rounder and you pay $250K of his salary, take it or leave it.” then what do you see us doing?

As I see it, we can’t take Grundy back and fit his wage in on top of the uplifted DeGoey contract and expected arrivals of McStay, Mitchell, Bobby Hill, etc. So how would it play out?

You do realise that Melbourne actually want Grundy and have made a pitch to him right? It’s not as if we went to them and said, “Hey can you take BG of our hands, we don’t want him anymore.”

I’ll be absolutely staggered if we don’t get a first rounder back as a minimum. GW ain’t stupid and in the end we hold the upper hand, if the return isn’t adequate then we keep him!!

This is in no way another fire sale and Treloar situation.

I'm more inclined to think the opposite

Why is it only these ex-Melbourne players who wouldn't want to lose Jackson saying this?

If Jackon wants to go home despite playing for the reigning Premier, why does he suddenly not want to go home? I don't buy it
These guys protect their reputations, and therefore are not prone to suggest random or unsubstantiated rumours.
Their jobs are far more important than their club allegiances.

There probly is a rumour or whisper about it. But it could be for any reason. Could be a case of his management just making sure he gets everything he can. Don't be surprised if he still goes.

The highlight in the Stocker video is that Mitchell averages 39 possessions against Carlton.
That can be the #2 reason we get him. The #1 being that he averages 36 disposals against us over 10 games. Even last season he had 44 and a goal when they beat us

Are his disposals effective? Buckley made the comment in one game when Mitchell had a lot of disposals that "he's not doing us much damage"

It depends. In one of the 50 disposal games he had against us we won, but he has a 5-5 record against us. Some of his games were hugely damaging from memory.

I think he'd do a lot more damage feeding good users on the outside.

I'll take Titch, McStay and Frampton for not too much, get a few top draft picks, and I'll be happy

From out side on the weekend:
Cox OUT; McStay IN
WHE OUT; Titch IN
Murphy OUT; Frampton IN*

OBVIOUSLY Frampton will need to prove himself, but I like the idea of him taking the #1 FWD, freeing up Moore and Howe
On Murphy, he's shown enough, he is the long term Howe replacement, but he has to wait his turn

Cameron needs to have a big preseason, to prepare for more ruck time. McStay will play as the chop-out ruck. Should be a 75/25% split

I'd prefer to keep Grundy, but it looks like he's going, so nothing we can do about it

I'll take Titch, McStay and Frampton for not too much, get a few top draft picks, and I'll be happy

Cox OUT; McStay IN
WHE OUT; Titch IN
Murphy OUT; Frampton IN*

OBVIOUSLY Frampton will need to prove himself, but I like the idea of him taking the #1 FWD, freeing up Moore and Howe
On Murphy, he's shown enough, he is the long term Howe replacement, but he has to wait his turn

Cameron needs to have a big preseason, to prepare for more ruck time. McStay will play as the chop-out ruck. Should be a 75/25% split

I'd prefer to keep Grundy, but it looks like he's going, so nothing we can do about it
Dean would be ahead of Frampton given how much faith the coaches already have in him, I reckon. Would be interesting to see if we want Dean & Frampton to allow Maynard to move further up the field.

I think McStay fits into the measuring (not the salary offer though). He averages over 6 marks a game despite playing a lot of football besides Daniher, McCarthy, Rayner and Hipwood who are all targets inside 50. I’m starting to think that if he is used more as a target inside 50 which will happen at the Pies his stats could increase more than I was originally thinking.
I still don’t like the monetary offer though

I recall reading that someone had done an analysis of McStay's aerial contests and he was very rarely beaten. That didn't necessarily translate to marks or direct scoring opportunities but it brought the ball to ground. That could well be an unknown or undervalued stat which allows us to control field position forward of the ball. Bring it to ground, lock it in, repeat F50 opportunities = better chamce of offensive success. I suspected that may be the appeal in McStay and that could be some interesting statistical analysis. It could all be nonsense too. I agree about the contract value/length and particularly the length.

I genuinely hope you’re right.

I’d love to know what negotiating power you think we have. For instance, if Dees are the only suitor and say to us, “We’ll give you a second rounder and you pay $250K of his salary, take it or leave it.” then what do you see us doing?

As I see it, we can’t take Grundy back and fit his wage in on top of the uplifted DeGoey contract and expected arrivals of McStay, Mitchell, Bobby Hill, etc. So how would it play out?

Then we keep him.

Part of me wonders if we should be having a look at Adam Tomlinson as part of the deal should Grundy go to Melbourne?

I'd be ok getting Weideman, Tomlinson and a pick in the deal. Both add valuable depth (at minimum) at both ends and Tomlinson has even shown he can have a run in the middle as a big bodied mid in spurts.

This talk on Mitchell legit? I’m torn with this, he is an A grade extractor which would be huge at Centre bounces for us but he’s such an annoying little prick to watch play. Be hard work barracking for him in a Pies jumper.
Also warming to the McStay arrival. Checkers starting to lag badly and McStay could be that option moving forward.

Change your Mind when is in the Black White

Cox OUT; McStay IN
WHE OUT; Titch IN
Murphy OUT; Frampton IN*

I would be looking to upgrade Ginners.

How have people viewed Crisp in second half of the season?

Yeah and imo I'd select Tom Scully as later selection and just see how he develops. Sometimes these perceived flaws go away and the players become dominant.

Hell Ben Brown won a Coleman and he was similarly not rated as a junior going at pick 47 in his draft year.

Sometimes recruiters especially with talls just completely read the tea leaves wrong.
Ben Brown didn't go at any pick in his draft year, or the next few years. Wasn't drafted until 21.

I would be looking to upgrade Ginners.

How have people viewed Crisp in second half of the season?

Hrmm, not sure that's a good idea. While he's not proven just yet that he'll be a mainstay 22 for his whole career - Ginnivan could still be incredible. Think about the media attention and now umpiring shit he's copping in his second year of footy. 100% that's had an impact.

He's the perfect example of a player that has a real chance to shine after a pre season that likely won't be interfered with by the media - as they will have no reason to talk about him when he's not playing.

I recall reading that someone had done an analysis of McStay's aerial contests and he was very rarely beaten. That didn't necessarily translate to marks or direct scoring opportunities but it brought the ball to ground. That could well be an unknown or undervalued stat which allows us to control field position forward of the ball. Bring it to ground, lock it in, repeat F50 opportunities = better chamce of offensive success. I suspected that may be the appeal in McStay and that could be some interesting statistical analysis. It could all be nonsense too. I agree about the contract value/length and particularly the length.

Actual Moneyball as opposed to Cheapball which gets called moneyball?

Been watching Brisbane games heaps since he's been linked to us and this was the first thing I noticed. While he didn't "win" every 50/50 I can't recall seeing a defender just outmark him too often. Reminded me of a less unco Chris Dawes... NOT in his skill level or anything. More in the fact that while Dawes had the marking ability of a handless blind man - he was rarely ever straight beaten by being outmarked.