List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016 part 2 - see Mod Warning p 281

Mark Stevens reckons Hawks will trade out James Sicily to get JOM. Are we interested in getting involved? Witts (and whatever else Hawks can muster) to GCS, Sicily to us, JOM to Hawks.

Not really. I'm not sure Sicily adds what we need to our forward line. Or anything much off the wing. I think we can do better for Witts personally.

This is a trade talk thread.
Keep it on topic please.
Please take all discussions about past players and coaches to their respective threads.
Any further posts not on topic will be deleted.

Gone Critical Magpie Girl Vicky Park
Let it be known that I am trademarking all the talk of past players in current discussions as "Shawking" and all posters will have the right to proclaim "No Shawkers allowed".

Not really. I'm not sure Sicily adds what we need to our forward line. Or anything much off the wing. I think we can do better for Witts personally.

Agreed, and as Suns have stated they want players not picks, it would seem unlikely that they would on trade a player that was obtained for JOM. Given how many picks they currently have, I think we may be pleasantly surprised in what we get for Witts (assuming of course he goes to the Suns).

Sicily isn't a Key Position player. He's going to be a good player, and I wouldn't say no to targeting him but he's a half forward. I'd rather we target list needs first like Key Forwards.

So how about that Heath Shaw trade hey?

Sicily is a massive diving flog but he's pretty good at kicking goals. An area we could improve on. Why would Hawks want rid of him?

Sicily doesn't inspire confidence in me. Hate his arm raising, knee dropping ways too. Not sold on him as a star but maybe would be a handy pick up if we can work the 'annoying flog' out of him.

He only wanted out because we forced him out. Its a pretty ******* simple concept to understand ffs.

If we didn't force him out he wouldn't have wanted out. Is there something you don't get?

Let this one go mate its just not a discussion our boards capable of having.

I feel like Sicily still tries to play like he's playing u18s against players the same size as him. Tries to run through tackles, etc. and bump out bigger bodies in marking contests. If he ever adjusts, or gets bigger himself, I think he'll be a fairly handy player.

There's no way we'll end up with him though unless Witts goes straight to the Hawks.

Posted something along these lines up the other day;

Currently have picks 25, 43, 61 and 79.

My bet is Collingwood will aim to take in 1 - 2 picks before they expect a bid on Daicos & Brown. Personally I think that will be around pick 25 onwards and I think Daicos will get hit first FWIW.

Given Lions & Suns interest in Witts I would be aiming to get one of the picks the Suns land through their O'Meara deal. I reckon it will be the Hawks pick 14 that we might ultimately get and then hand back # 43. People will laugh at that but go and have a look at historic deals for ruck men like Jacobs, Longger and Hickey.

That now gives us 14, 25, 47, 61 and 79

I think Frost will be moved on and I suspect Lions will land him for a pick around 40 which they source from somewhere. They have 47 but i suspect Collingwood will see that as to low. The deals in previous years around Hampson, White, West, Panful, S.Frost, Jenkins, Renouf, Lynch who were all comparable to him at the same stage were all done in the early 30's so I would think a pick around 40 about right.

In respect to Cloke I can't see Collingwood accepting a 4th round selection so I think the pick 33 now comes in to play if they don't agree a player swap of Dale or Hrovat. I could see Collingwood taking pick 33 and handing back pick 61.

Oxley I think will move on and I suspect a pick around 55 would see him done.

That would leave us with 14, 25, 33, 40, 55, 61 and 79.

From their I think Collingwood will do one of two things. They will try and use those first 3-4 trades to get higher or take a view that its an even draft and just use those picks.

If they trade up I think the two clubs up the order who would be open are Port and North. So I would put on the table 14 and 40 and see if you could get to their 9 or 11 respectively. Saints may be another. If they want Steele and think #10 is to much and given don't have a 2nd round then our 25 and 33 may be pretty handy too them. Maybe they would take that deal and then hand over 14 to GWS.

Going to be interesting. We could end up getting quite a bit higher in this draft yet.

Let this one go mate its just not a discussion our boards capable of having.

I don't think that's true. It's just this thread isn't the place for it.

Look I'm all for ripping off other clubs but Witts and #43 for #14 is the biggest robbery since Shannon Noll came runner-up in australian idol season 1. No chance.

That's a real obscure reference.

I think you're right about Witts. The only hope is that clubs can sometimes get desperate at this time of year and ruckmen are in demand. If he dominates a VFL prelim today then it just gets more and more interesting.

I was originally thinking we would be stoked with an early 20's pick and I think that will still be the case. #14 would be nice though.

Look I'm all for ripping off other clubs but Witts and #43 for #14 is the biggest robbery since Shannon Noll came runner-up in australian idol season 1. No chance.

What about me?
It isn't fair!

I've had enough, now I want my share!

I agree. Sicily would be a nice addition but he is not a KPD, KPF or small, quick goal sneak. Witts and Cloke trades must be aimed at hitting these needs.

That's a real obscure reference.

I think you're right about Witts. The only hope is that clubs can sometimes get desperate at this time of year and ruckmen are in demand. If he dominates a VFL prelim today then it just gets more and more interesting.

I was originally thinking we would be stoked with an early 20's pick and I think that will still be the case. #14 would be nice though.
Well Nollsy was robbed

I wouldn't discount pick 14 for Witts. It just might be something like Witts + pick 25 for pick 14 and maybe a later pick thrown back our way.This crucially gets us into the first round. This time last year we swapped picks so many times and did complex 3 way deals with Howe, Kennedy and seedsman... I don't rule much out trade wise now

Nice stolen joke :handok:

image.jpeg

No love for Josh Green? He's certainly not Cyril/Walters but more dangerous than Blairy, especially if Mayne comes on board as that defensive forward.

Here's some other names I haven't heard mentioned too often that may be worth some consideration and wouldn't cost top $:

Taylor Garner (really like Mason Shaw but don't think he'll be going anywhere, makes Garner expendable?)
Jonathan Freeman
Michael Close
Sam Reid
Titch Edwards
Nathan Hrovat
Mitch Honeychurch
Hayden Crozier
Cam Ellis-Yolmen
Brendon AhChee
Clancee Pearce
Jason Holmes (understand the idea of Maric, but he really looks shot)

Or if we did have some assets to spare, I'd really like the idea of:

Ben Lennon
Steve Motlop
Aaron Hall

I don't think that's true. It's just this thread isn't the place for it.

I agree on that, but I seriously think as a group we're too close to it in order to have a rational discussion on it that doesn't end in frustration and name calling.