Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

I was a little off. Cost of project has gone up 50%. Now in three stages.

Doubt it - has that been mentioned anywhere today? The original proposal for $135m included a new eastern stand, with movable stands for rectangular sports and 7k extra seats, plus the 5k Indoor basketball stadium next door. With building costs up 30% - 50% since that was floated, reckon that will be it for the stadium. Where/how would you put another 6500 seats if the eastern stand is already done? The renders show a more simple, single tier stand, with no room for expansion or moveable stands.
Still a lot of temporary seating around the main scoreboard and northern end as well as the current func/corporate centre which was planned to be knocked down

I was a little off...
Yeah I imagine the rest of the stages will be getting rid of the all the temporary grand stands that’s were the extra capacity comes especially around the scoreboard which is standing room at the moment

Outside of a very strong push from Tassie there's no real appetite for expansion.

If not for Tassie we would have 18 teams for a while yet, at least until GC/GWS could stand on their own two feet — and that may never happen.

For sure. If Tassie had been brought in instead of one of them it would be a very different level of optimism

(But have you seen population growth figures? It seems they don’t equal bums on seats

For sure. If Tassie had been brought in instead of one of them it would be a very different level of optimism

(But have you seen population growth figures? It seems they don’t equal bums on seats
Demetriou is a clown. Hobart only has about 50k more people now than they did in 2011, and Tassie back then had nearly 500k people. In a footy mad state, they could've come in 10 years ago imo. Then Canberra could've come in around 2017 or 18.

I was a little off. Cost of project has gone up 50%. Now in three stages.
It was always stated that it would cost $200m, but they've never stated where the last $70m would come from, only that the state and federal governments would chip in $65m each (if the feds agree). I'm not sure what their plan is there.

And all government projects end up costing significantly more than originally claimed.

If Hobart comes in under a billion, I'll be stunned.

No, just an observer of other government projects and their cost overruns.

+50% seems to be a reasonable minimum expectation going by their past history.

Probably shaved the project down beforehand to get the ticks in boxes. Honest consultants would say ‘yes we got your projected costs down as you asked, but be aware These are the items no longer in scope’. But then you don’t get repeat business.

There would be a bit of that, and the governments would be nod nod, wink wink, because they don't want the full (expected) cost to be public.

But there are also a number of groups (not least unions) who will ramp up their prices and add extras as soon as the ink is dry on the contract because they know that at the end of the day, the government will pay.

There would be a bit of that, and the governments would be nod nod, wink wink, because they don't want the full (expected) cost to be public.

But there are also a number of groups (not least unions) who will ramp up their prices and add extras as soon as the ink is dry on the contract because they know that at the end of the day, the government will pay.

The playing field is skewed towards govts paying industry for almost anything these days

Thanks. Did some digging following on from your post. Here are the costings and plan from 2021.
  • second tier on the Eastern and Northern Terrace Grandstands linking as one through the Railway Workers Hill with retractable seating in the lower tier. 12,592 seats (approx extra 7,000) $65M (stage 1)
  • New Southern Stand 3,850 seats (extra 2,000) $44m (stage 3)
Stadium total $109m 24,112 seats, plus some standing room
- Sport and Entertainment Facility (next door) 5,000 seats $99m (stage 2)
OVERALL TOTAL - $208m

So, the $65 was going to cover a lot more than it will now (just a new eastern stand, no retractable seating, only 1,000 extra seats between the 50m arcs).

Info below, can't find a new masterplan anywhere.
file:///C:/Users/Mark%20Walsh/Downloads/Council-Agenda-Agenda-Item-20.1-Attachment-1-DRAFT-Future-Direction-Plan-York-Park-UTAS-Stadium-2021-11-February-2021%20(2).pdf

The playing field is skewed towards govts paying industry for almost anything these days

They know they have them over a barrel.

Either you pay an extra Million, or the electrical work will only cover 3 of the 4 sides....Politically, the government can't allow a substandard result like that, and it's not like it's their money....

Of course, there would probably also be some extras going the other way too that add to the bottom line, like a minister 'just happening' to mention to that electrical contractor....Gee, my useless nephew always like building sandcastles, and my sister is nagging me about him....You know, maybe a job in construction would suit him...hint hint...(and that extra $1M becomes $1.5M)

Or the unions....We had to shut down the site last week because someone knocked over a box of nails and it was a safety hazard, and it took 3 days for the approved union inspectors to confirm the site was safe....So now we'll need overtime to get the project back on schedule, and because it wasn't planned, it'll all be at double time and a half of course...

This, an absolute rort, costs the taxpayer millions more than it should.

Thanks. Did some digging following on from your post. Here are the costings and plan from 2021.
  • second tier on the Eastern and Northern Terrace Grandstands linking as one through the Railway Workers Hill with retractable seating in the lower tier. 12,592 seats (approx extra 7,000) $65M (stage 1)
OVERALL TOTAL - $208m

So, the $65 was going to cover a lot more than it will now (just a new eastern stand, no retractable seating, only 1,000 extra seats between the 50m arcs).

file:///C:/Users/Mark%20Walsh/Downloads/Council-Agenda-Agenda-Item-20.1-Attachment-1-DRAFT-Future-Direction-Plan-York-Park-UTAS-Stadium-2021-11-February-2021%20(2).pdf
So the UTAS stadium upgrade will not take the venue to more capacity than the new Hobart stadium now then?

OVERALL TOTAL - $208m

I don't think we'll see the full 27,500 seats. Probably only around 23 like Hobart. What do you think?

So the UTAS stadium upgrade will not take the venue to more capacity than the new Hobart stadium now then?

I don't think we'll see the full 27,500 seats. Probably only around 23 like Hobart. What do you think?
Stage 1 was supposed to add 6k extra capacity, with a two tiered grandstand, and we are getting single level with 1k added. They are only rebuilding one of the temporary stand at this stage, not two as planned. I reckon this will be it (capacity 20,500) for the new team entry, but if you demolish the other temporary stands and go single tier the whole way around the north and south, there is room to end up with 23k. So yes, reckon it will end up identical to Hobart.

So for 2026/27/28 we would have 20,500 at UTAS and 19,000 in Hobart. Reckon Launceston get the first game.

Stage 1 was supposed to add 6k extra capacity, with a two tiered grandstand, and we are getting single level with 1k added. They are only rebuilding one of the temporary stand at this stage, not two as planned. I reckon this will be it (capacity 20,500) for the new team entry, but if you demolish the other temporary stands and go single tier the whole way around the north and south, there is room to end up with 23k. So yes, reckon it will end up identical to Hobart.

So for 2026/27/28 we would have 20,500 at UTAS and 19,000 in Hobart. Reckon Launceston get the first game.

If the team gets a decent membership roll out of say 50k, how do they fit them in, more than 23k of them anyhow?.
Also any interstate visitors as well?

JJ's NBL team have been playing for <2yrs. They're already wanting an increase in stadium capacity!! As if 23k in enough, who is calculating all this?

Both grounds should be nearer the 27,500 mentioned before.

UTas will be upgraded more easily & first, getting first game is not an issue IMO. Nor should it be.

If the team gets a decent membership roll out of say 50k, how do they fit them in, more than 23k of them anyhow?.
Also any interstate visitors as well?

JJ's NBL team have been playing for <2yrs. They're already wanting an increase in stadium capacity!! As if 23k in enough, who is calculating all this?

Both grounds should be nearer the 27,500 mentioned before.

UTas will be upgraded more easily & first, getting first game is not an issue IMO. Nor should it be.
Agree. 23k is ridiculous. The Hawks averaged 15K pre COVID v the lowest drawing teams. As if an actual Tas team could not double that!

It wouldn't be a huge challenge to upgrade the UTAS capacity further if the team proves to be popular. Mac Point will be locked in at 23k for quite a while, which long term probably means Launceston will be able to better facilitate the high drawing games.

It is disappointing the new eastern stand at UTAS Stadium, in prime viewing position on the wing, is only going to be a single tier and so small. This is where you want to fit in the greater number of seats, as it’s where people prefer to watch from.

OVERALL TOTAL - $208m

Link deleted for privacy reasons

The link you provided is to your C-Drive where the file downloaded to your computer. Meaning others can’t access it.