List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

The club would not want Willie back surely? The playing group was divided about him coming back to us after the suspension never mind this
Well, if Willie doesn't get traded he's looking down the barrel of seriously sub standard deals elsewhere after all this. He will have plenty of reasons to improve his standing among the boys. He's still a good footy player, obviously, and we should look at the situation as fixable if Port dick him.

He can start making amends by losing his deadshit manager.

This is what i was thinking with Junior. It's all good to nominate them but they seem to not give a shit about you being left out in the cold especially if a more important iron that they have had in the fire nominates them as well.

And was part of the issue with Kelly and the way we handled that. We did not want Kelly to feel as though you nominated us but we are prepared to walk away. At least we don't do the above.

The relationship between North and JHF must have gotten to a really bad place for them to be so happy to trade him out. They must think it will get really poisonous on them and their negotiating position will be even worse in 12 months time. Maybe they think he might even do a Cam McCarthy and walk out on them half way through the season.

JHF added his step father's name. Fabian Francis. An indigenous player.

Clarko coaching North. JHF says nah, that's not going to work for me at all after what's come out. Trade me or I'll walk next year.

Another dense question, but... doesn't JHF have a standard 2-year deal? He's contracted until the end of 2023. I know North don't want to take a risk and have him leave at the end of his contract. But at the same time, they are under zero obligation to take a shitty deal either. Keeping him would be a gamble for sure... but even at the end of 2023, if he still wants to go home, he's unlikely to nominate for the PSD.

And despite the fact that he's nominated Port... why aren't North sniffing around Adelaide to see what they might be able to offer? If JHF's issue is a desire to go home, he should be willing to entertain the idea of being traded to Adelaide. I have no issue with players nominating a preferred club... but surely it's just that. Preferred.

Adelaide have a better draft position than Port.

Iirc, there's a family link with Port.

Edit: see post above.

And despite the fact that he's nominated Port... why aren't North sniffing around Adelaide to see what they might be able to offer? If JHF's issue is a desire to go home, he should be willing to entertain the idea of being traded to Adelaide. I have no issue with players nominating a preferred club... but surely it's just that. Preferred.

Crows pick 5 will go to Gold Coast for Rankine so I don’t think they could offer much more than Port are.

Only advantage is that their future first would be in the top 10, but I don’t know how they produce another first rounder.

JHF added his step father's name. Fabian Francis. An indigenous player.

Clarko coaching North. JHF says nah, that's not going to work for me at all after what's come out. Trade me or I'll walk next year.
I guess it is also that after it came out Fabian asked around (he works with indigenous youth I think) and through connections got more to the stories about Clarkson and told JHF "he's finished, get out of there now".

So Ratugolea to Port

Jason Cripps will now have the ladders and chairs game with a tag team.

In one corner, we have Steven Wells

In the other corner, we have The Pieman and Rawlings in a tag team.

Tables Ladders And Chairs GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Another dense question, but... doesn't JHF have a standard 2-year deal? He's contracted until the end of 2023. I know North don't want to take a risk and have him leave at the end of his contract. But at the same time, they are under zero obligation to take a shitty deal either. Keeping him would be a gamble for sure... but even at the end of 2023, if he still wants to go home, he's unlikely to nominate for the PSD.

There are a few facets to this (some of which others have already answered) but the main one is that Adelaide are all-in on Rankine and that will take pick 5.

They aren't Port, where they want to commit to trading for a player where they don't have the assets to get the deal done.

So Ratugolea to Port

Jason Cripps will now have the ladders and chairs game with a tag team.

In one corner, we have Steven Wells

In the other corner, we have The Pieman and Rawlings in a tag team.

Tables Ladders And Chairs GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Port quickly looking like that bloke at paramount at 3am asking every girl to go home with him and inexplicably succeeding.

(Also known as a young Keys)

Port are loading up.

Meanwhile I'm preparing to death ride their 2023 whether we have their future picks or not

Excited Friday GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

Picking up 3 players whose output next year could go either way (and with a pretty low ceiling on Esava). Have lost Gray and Amon. Could finish anywhere from 1st-16th.

Hmm... Port want Rioli, JHF and now Ratugolea... and to the best of my knowledge, haven't shown a willingness to give up any players. HTF do they get those deals done?

I suppose Esava is probably only worth a 4th rounder... which means Geelong will probably demand two-second rounders ;)

Riley Beveridge

@RileyBev
·
3m

West Coast is understood to have enquired about Port Adelaide's Dan Houston as part of the Junior Rioli talks + the three-team trade with North Melbourne and the No.2 pick. Houston signed a five-year deal with the Power in March, taking him through to 2027.
@AFLcomau

Riley Beveridge
@RileyBev
·
3m

West Coast is understood to have enquired about Port Adelaide's Dan Houston as part of the Junior Rioli talks + the three-team trade with North Melbourne and the No.2 pick. Houston signed a five-year deal with the Power in March, taking him through to 2027.
@AFLcomau
Good to see us stirring the pot.

It either gets shut down by Port and the headline is "Port blocking JHF by refusing to trade"

or

Port talk with Houston who gets unsettled and pissed off with the club

On behalf of everyone that derided you for revealing what everyone already knew, I offer sincerest apologies.
Actually not true, whilst a pick swap was on the cards, the idea of sliding down to pick locals was largely untalked about on here until i suggested it and then most called me a liar and shouted BS so if most were already thinking it then why would they say i was wrong and West Coast dont have an issue picking interstate. You cant have it both ways.

How those lemons taste ?

AFL Trade Radio

@traderadio
·
2m

"We've learned this afternoon that the Eagles have decided to ask Port for access to Dan Houston. He doesn't want to go, I don't think Port Adelaide will be entertaining it." - Damian Barrett

Actually not true, whilst a pick swap was on the cards, the idea of sliding down to pick locals was largely untalked about on here until i suggested it and then most called me a liar and shouted BS so if most were already thinking it then why would they say i was wrong and West Coast dont have an issue picking interstate. You cant have it both ways.

How those lemons taste ?
Is that you Chumpy Chops or is this goeaglesgosgio?

Eagles give: f4 and Rioli,
eagles get: pick 7 (Geelong), f1 Port, georgiades,

geelong give: pick 7, Ratugolea
geelong get: f4 (Eagles)

Port give: pick 8, f1, Dursma, bonner, georgiades
port get: Rioli, ratugolea, JHF

north give: JHF
north get: pick 8 Dursma and bonner.

key pillars seem about right, maybe a few later picks. Would hate for anyone to get in the way of getting players where they ant to go, so just make it happen I reckon you kents. may need to get brissie in on it too so we can get Dev as part of the later pick swaps.

How those lemons taste ?

Look, I can only apologise so many times, I'm just not sure what you want - unless it's more apologies?