List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

100% it's the modern day Judd trade and I for one am desperate for Pick 2 to be a bust, hell all of the top 5 to be s**t, and 8 and 12 to defy history and be better than all of them.

Even if pick 2 turns out to be a bust, if any of the next five picks turn out to be any good there’ll be people complaining that we gave up a chance to draft them.

100% it's the modern day Judd trade and I for one am desperate for Pick 2 to be a bust, hell all of the top 5 to be s**t, and 8 and 12 to defy history and be better than all of them.

I think people need to focus on the now, not what happened 15 years ago and work away from thoughts of doom if somehow pick traded away becomes a good player.

Honestly, why does it matter? Usually people who point out pick failures to others (eg to freo fans…justifiably) cannot handle the situation. Nothing to do what is best for the club, all about not being teased “in the playground”.

When personal reputation mixes with decision making, it leads to wrong decisions being made.

I like the fact recruiters did this. If you are going to fail, may as well fail by doing what you think is right. Got balls, give them that.

Even if pick 2 turns out to be a bust, if any of the next five picks turn out to be any good there’ll be people complaining that we gave up a chance to draft them.

True, but for me personally anyway, I'd only do that if our two bites at the cherry turn out to be busts.

Proper busts too, not Pick 3 playing 200 games and a premiership, or a rookie winning the Brownlow. **** me we have some campaigners on this board :straining:

So what is his playing style? To be fair we dont have anyone with leadership qualities in our squad now.
I think Barrass and Oscar are decent leaders.

Clark’s playing style is like Rory Sloan. I might get differing views but it’s how I see him

True, but for me personally anyway, I'd only do that if our two bites at the cherry turn out to be busts.

Proper busts too, not Pick 3 playing 200 games and a premiership, or a rookie winning the Brownlow. * me we have some campaigners on this board :straining:

I’m sure there were others but according to journos like Mark Duffield we were looking at Cadman and Clark at pick 2, then there was discussion of Ginbey. Excluding Cadman, we will most likely get one of them at pick 9.

You know its a quiet day on Big Footy when old mate " Kent Dark Sharks " is lamenting over our last pick in 2109 - pick 58 that is, whereby Johnson didn't eventuate into anything worthwhile.

Then further edging closer to having a panic attack at the ability of a player ................ that we haven't even drafted.

Just to show the compassionate side of me, I can cut the old kent some slack, as he is most likely under pressure on the home front, as his better half is bearing child, for those of us who have lived through similar, supporting our partners through the journey, we can sympathise with you as its a time when the female emotions and demands can themselves be testing and exhausting.

On a serious note: Mate I hope all is going well for Mrs DS with the pregnancy.

We might need to make a thread to suggest names for junior dark sharks if it's a boy.
I would put forward the suggestion Christopher Brayden ..... alas the names of two of DS's favourite Eagles of past.
Surely he calls the kid Kent

We’re on page 608 of this thread so the overall benefits of trading pick 2 for picks 8 and 12 have probably been explained roughly 608 times.
I've been away since trade period. Missed out on all this.
What's been said over this past month. Just give me the short version summary thanks.

I've been away since trade period. Missed out on all this.
What's been said over this past month. Just give me the short version summary thanks.

There’s a bunch of very even talent in the top 15 or so. This way we get two cracks at it.

Let me tell you a story about the greatest ruckman of his generation and his first attempt to run with the big boys.

"Once upon a time a big lad from Dampier, with an even bigger nose got rookie listed by West Coast..."
Keeler is sub 200cm Daniher.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Another journo’s phantom, paywalled though.

9. West Coast: REUBEN GINBEY​

• Position: Midfielder/defender
  • Height: 189cm
  • Weight: 85kg
The 18-year-old, who is expected to be the first West Aussie to have his name called out in the draft, has enjoyed a meteoric rise since moving to Perth as a boarder at Wesley College last year.

His transformation from half-back to big-bodied inside midfielder was another important step in his development this year, winning WA’s MVP and earning Under-18s All-Australian honours in his new role.

West Coast will swoop if he’s still available, but that’s a big ‘if’ with Gold Coast travelling across the country to meet with him and his family in Dunsborough this week.

Geelong and Hawthorn are among the other clubs linked with the fast-rising talent.

13. West Coast: ED ALLAN​

• Position: Midfielder
  • Height: 194cm
  • Weight: 82kg
Claremont son of a gun Ed Allan has emerged as one of WA’s strongest draft bolters, storming up the predicted order after a strong finish to the season to become a serious top-10 chance.

The 194cm utility averaged more than 25 possessions, six marks and four tackles in the WAFL colts since returning from a back injury for the final five games of the season.

His father Ben fell two games shy of Ed qualifying as a father-son prospect for the Hawks.

West Coast have shown plenty of late interest, but there’s every chance he’s off the table by then with Geelong also putting work into him.

Say we didn't do the trade during trade week, and knowing whatever info we know now. Do we still trade 2 for 8 and 12 if it's on offer?

I say yes without even thinking fwiw

Pick 2 would have likely been a choice between Wardlaw, Sheezel or maybe Phillipou

There will be players available at picks 8 and 12 that if selected will justify the decision to have two bites instead of one

It remains to be seen if we get those two picks right as a pair

Say we didn't do the trade during trade week, and knowing whatever info we know now. Do we still trade 2 for 8 and 12 if it's on offer?

I say yes without even thinking fwiw

No. I'd keep 2 and take FIGJAM Philipou.

Flog yes, but also going to be the best in this draft IMO. Still a year younger than most if these other kents.

toy story fashion GIF by Disney Pixar
ts

Pick 2 would have likely been a choice between Wardlaw, Sheezel or maybe Phillipou

There will be players available at picks 8 and 12 that if selected will justify the decision to have two bites instead of one

It remains to be seen if we get those two picks right as a pair
I'll count it a win if we take Mackenzie and Hewett/Hollands with our first two selections.... and then I guess I'll discover how right/wrong I was in about 5-7 years.
It's so hard to determine future development at this time. You can watch full games and there's certain aspects that jump out to some viewers whereas other viewers gravitate to other aspects or show concern on other attributes. I'm sure the same goes for scouts/recruiters, they just have a better cross-section of materials and other experts to base their opinions on.

Then, four years down the track one player can put in the hard yards, for example Ablett Jnr, and go from a role player to the best in the comp in one pre-season.
Other players, à la Sam Mitchell, on paper seem to be incredibly limited athletically yet just eek the most out of the footballing ability.
I've been wrong in my assessments of kids before, I remember watching Jack Macrae in the TAC Cup in a couple of games live early in the seasons and watching him spray the ball out-on-the-full over half a dozen times and thinking "this kid will never make it". I also remember watching Ben Lennon at U18 and thinking that he had a lot of attributes to become a Mitch Duncan type of player but, for various reasons, he failed to translate to AFL football. On the flip side I recall watching Cripps play his final game in the U18 champs against Metro (IIRC) and he monstered those Metro boys and I knew he'd be something special.

But, you can never properly judge mental application and physical development over the limited games you see them play and the snippets of interviews. I know how difficult it is to find professional staff in my workplace. People have great cover letters, CV's and they interview really well and say all the right things. But it's only when you slot them into the corporate structure (or small business) that you really find out about their character, work ethic, deficiencies and whether they're a team player. I would love to be a scout/recruiter in theory, but I don't envy what's expected of them. Seems like you would end up having to have one eye on the upcoming draft whilst also explaining to the club why the player that you staked your reputation on three years ago is not performing at the expected level.

Also the fact he can't even kick it from 50m out .

The other thing is although he’s quick now and has great agility he’s going to have to bulk up a fair bit to even have a chance & then is that going to cause him to lose some of that point of difference. He could very well just end up being another Legs Langdon who can’t kick 40 meters.