List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. Other Assorted Crap. 2020 Edition

IN : Langdon, 58, 62, Future 2nd (Port), future 3rd (Syd)

OUT : Hickey, 34, 54, 60

(Witherden and presumably our future 3rd added in tomorrow)

which would be

IN : Langdon, Witherden, 58, 62, Future 2nd (Port)

OUT : Hickey, 34, 54, 60

which pretty much equates to

IN: Witherden and Langdon
OUT: Hickey
Or am I missing something,
It sounds pretty good to me!

surely we pick up a mature age ruck from the state leagues Somewhere
Nah .
Nic is injury free going into pre season

Williams back up to fast track development

Vardy is break glass in case of emergency

Jamerson is developing

Allen is chop out

With smaller lists this should be fine .

Just a bit worried about the afl saying we will be playing more games next year at the shorter format .

It feels like they are just trying to get more TV rights money at the players expense

Hickey plays like a guy who spent his entire childhood as a clumsy galoot who was constantly yelled at to not crush the other children beneath his outlandishly large frame.

He just can't be aggressive. There's Pavlovian/Freudian sh*t hardwired into him.

Source: look into a mirror every goddamn day.
I don't see this at all . He applies some ripper crushing tackles

Was thinking this might be his most likely role if he ends up here.
He’d get burnt big time there surely. Masten and Ainsworth were good at it because of their ability to cover ground quickly and consistently. Feel like Witherden needs to either play in the Jetta “we don’t give a shit about his opponent” role or somewhere kicking into the forward 50 where he doesn’t get exposed. Basically wherever Jetta was he needs to go.

Hickey doesn’t appear well loved at st kilda - but I reckon most west coast fans want him to do well

he’s a 1st Ruck who toiled hard but didn’t have the skill set to play second fiddle

at Sydney he can be first Ruck allowing Sinclair to play more forward - should suit him better

he’s no world beater - but he’s solid

surely we pick up a mature age ruck from the state leagues Somewhere

What is the point of having 2 years of development put into Bailey Williams, including some senior footy, if we don’t get more games into him when the opportunities come?

If we had kept Hickey and played him (or Vardy, or ‘Keegan Giles’/Johnny Stateleague) ahead of Williams, we’d only be wasting an opportunity to get more games into the young guy. He’s not a twig, he will continue to develop his ruck craft and if we want to avoid ending up like half the clubs in the league having to overpay for some lanky goober to prop up our ruck division while we fail to develop a replacement (again) then Williams is 100% the way forward.

Or yeah, if it goes to total shit we take a plus sized log from the state leagues in one of the mid season drafts to plug a hole.

Hickey doesn’t appear well loved at st kilda - but I reckon most west coast fans want him to do well

he’s a 1st Ruck who toiled hard but didn’t have the skill set to play second fiddle

at Sydney he can be first Ruck allowing Sinclair to play more forward - should suit him better

he’s no world beater - but he’s solid

Hickey will be much improved after working with Nic nat , he`s finally been shown what it takes to be a ruckman ..

What is the point of having 2 years of development put into Bailey Williams, including some senior footy, if we don’t get more games into him when the opportunities come?

If we had kept Hickey and played him (or Vardy, or ‘Keegan Giles’/Johnny Stateleague) ahead of Williams, we’d only be wasting an opportunity to get more games into the young guy. He’s not a twig, he will continue to develop his ruck craft and if we want to avoid ending up like half the clubs in the league having to overpay for some lanky goober to prop up our ruck division while we fail to develop a replacement (again) then Williams is 100% the way forward.

Or yeah, if it goes to total sh*t we take a plus sized log from the state leagues in one of the mid season drafts to plug a hole.
Good call, the mid season drafts should be interesting

Hoping tomorrow we secure Witherden with our future 3rd.
Gives us a decent chance to move up the draft order this year with 2x future 2nd round picks. I think we will do this on the night only if we see someone on the board still that we like.

Not sure what to make of that

So he has 2 years left on very good coin by the sounds of it . Above minimum wage so say 500k a year .

He wants his 2 years contract remaining at brissy to be turned into 3 years at West coast.

Maybe he wants close to 500k in his 3rd year too !