Covid 19 (OPEN DISCUSSION)

Not my partner. Will need to go through full visa exemption route, where as previously we had confirmed that we can apply once in country having arrived on tourist visa.

Can't delay coming to Aus for work reasons. Real sh*t sandwich.
Sorry to hear mate, maybe your mum could come visit in Queensland if she's up to it?

Hoping that "Specialist skills not available in WA" somehow includes elite level footballers & basketballers

McGowan is likely scared that the already not-up-to-scratch WA health infrastructure won't be able to cope.

And he's probably right. If only he could do something about it. 😒
I mean he can obviously increase funding (which he seems to be doing) but it's probably pretty hard to muster up a bunch of extra doctors and nurses at a time when the entire world is trying to do the exact same thing.

Thought is was a bit rich him talking about employment and the economy. A lot of businesses are suffering because they cant get workers since internationals have been shut out.
Personally I think it is at least as much about the economy as the hospitals atm. Businesses suffering because they can't service all of their customers surely is preferable to businesses can't stay open because all their staff are sick and they can't get products to see and customers are too scared to leave their houses anyway.

Absolutely shattered. Family I haven't seen in so long, but won't come under compassionate reasoning. The amount of people taking joy in others suffering right now is absurd.
My interpretation is you can come across on compassionate grounds and also separately there are increased exemptions for people returning to WA or with direct family connections here. The exemptions aren’t strictly on compassionate grounds or medical care.

I mean he can obviously increase funding (which he seems to be doing) but it's probably pretty hard to muster up a bunch of extra doctors and nurses at a time when the entire world is trying to do the exact same thing.

On the flipside he has had an entirely captive pool to draw on for two years.....

Some good questions being asked - what happens when new variant comes in?

Will we need a 4th shot to open?

You haven’t done anything for hospitals?
Quarantine has been the best protection for life . Its never been Rocket science . Letting the plague in so people don't have to quarantine for 14 days is the lamest reason to kill people and make thousands sick I would rather risk the economy and go through a depression than kill people by letting the plagues in

I can live with my first suspension in 17 years posting here for criticizing this prick. Hill worth dying on. At a wave of his wand this man just locked 2m people, who are 90% vaccinated and mandated a third jab.
Not keen on starting a mud slinging match but neither you or anybody else has been suspended for criticising Mark McGowan. You got an infraction for repeatedly using Nazi references in the context of vaccines and Covid.

Not everyone can afford 14 days quarantine out of their own pocket.
Sure and I do sympathise, but you have to weigh that up against the extra lives this will likely save and the fact that less people will have to go through the experience of seeing their relative dying.
It's a shitty situation and everyone has their own life to live but like it or not there is a very real cost to just opening to borders to all and sundry. It might not cost you directly but this decision has potentially prevented a lot of people from paying that price.

It's a much bigger shitshow over east with omicron though

Because of insane isolation requirements which will go away eventually for asymptomatic cases.

There is less people in ICU in Vic right now than at the peak of the Delta wave when we opened up.

Well, sh*t. I can understand his reasoning and it's probably sound politics, but it's hard to see what the plan is besides delaying the inevitable while ballsing up another footy season. It'd also be nice to get back and catch up with my family eventually. My sister's had a couple of kids I haven't even met yet.

Logically, kicking the can down the road was the optimal choice. We know what will happen if omicron gets in - we now have lots of data from interstate and around the world about the effectiveness of vaccines and boosters. Logically, you may as well keep boosting as fast as possible and hope for the best because we know - eventually - that COVID will arrive and spread through the community, whether omicron or pi or an even later variant that might be more contagious and more lethal (fingers crossed it doesn't).

Politically, it will upset a lot of people, especially those who were tolerant of seeing the enormous numbers over east and thinking we could live with it, and were planning on reunions. Mr 89% will take a dive in the approval ratings, guaranteed.

Personally, I am not supportive (would rather postpone say an extra four weeks to get more boosters into arms, maybe extend the vaccination mandate to a triple dose) even if it makes rational sense to delay and hope for a better outcome later on.

Collectively, it's all a mess and I suspect there is already community transmission anyway which makes tonight's press conference redundant.

McGowan is likely scared that the already not-up-to-scratch WA health infrastructure won't be able to cope.

And he's probably right. If only he could do something about it. 😒

My understanding is he has been way to busy doing press conferences and simply has not had time to do the jobs he was elected to do.

So last week he wanted to make the unvaccinated pay the price for not being vaccinated but now he wants to protect them because they are unvaccinated….
Seriously pick a lane
I mean there's plenty of kids who weren't too stressed about the bottle shop thing but haven't had the chance to get vaccinated yet

What's the likely outcome for your team now? A round one derby then a month on the road to start the year?

Not everyone can afford 14 days quarantine out of their own pocket.
We came to Australia when I was 3 . My relatives couldn't even afford to come visit Couldnt even afford a phone call. I never saw my Grandparents again they died too poor to holiday other side of the world . I don't know my cousins . At least these days you have facetime. Do you feel sorry for me I don't. . I and my family dealt with it . Society today is way to entitled and you want thousands to die so your family can holiday .