Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & very Fugly

Crazy that we scored 111, if we'd kicked straighter it would've been a massive score, we can clearly kick high totals when we get going, that forward line doesn't look like a problem all of a sudden with our spread of goal kickers.

7 rushed behinds , score line not as bad as it looks
Few silly kicks to the top of the goal square didn't help. Still can improve on forward entries. A lot of our goals were scored from turnover and winning the contest when the ball hit the deck.

I can't recall the exact moment of the game, we were kicking right of screen.

Can anyone remember that kick from spargo on the MCC wing inboard that hit Jackson?

It was an absolute cracker. He's just so safe with ball in hand.

Yeah, that was an incredible kick. That was late in the third, I think. Game was pretty much in the bag, but still a ballsy kick.

Few silly kicks to the top of the goal square didn't help. Still can improve on forward entries. A lot of our goals were scored from turnover and winning the contest when the ball hit the deck.

I still hate how hard it is for us to kick goals. Like pulling teeth. No arguments from me about the amount of shots we had last night however.

Feel like we own Brisbane , much like the Dogs, so am not going overboard with this win...like I said last night, I want to get excited but will hold back til I see the next couple of weeks. Cant bring myself to remove my veil after just one week.

I still hate how hard it is for us to kick goals. Like pulling teeth. No arguments from me about the amount of shots we had last night however.

Feel like we own Brisbane , much like the Dogs, so am not going overboard with this win...like I said last night, I want to get excited but will hold back til I see the next couple of weeks. Cant bring myself to remove my veil after just one week.
I want us to persist with a small forwardline as it makes us way less predictable and will bring our talls more into the game as defenders will have more to worry about. Last night it didn't matter at all if Weid and Brown couldn't take marks as long as they competed we were a chance once it hit the deck. Still not perfect but so much improvement in how we moved the ball last night from the past month too which helped since the Lions couldn't get their defenders back quick enough to clog everything up.

Yes, we really need to stop resting Gawn forward, I know hes kicked some goals but I feel like when hes forward its just a license for all our mids to play slow and bomb it forward. Would much rather him rest on the pine.

I am coming around to this view. I prefer him dropping back into the hole. Not that he can't kick a goal when needed, but I do think his presence down there does make our forward delivery pretty one-dimensional. Plus that dimension is starting to look pretty dreadful. There seem to be a few teams now that persistently bomb it to the tallest player and it's not working. Maybe its the whole zone defence, and the increase of the interceptor role, but you can't keep playing as though your big men have a one-on-one strength battle.

Nothing wrong with rotating him and Jackson off the bench, keeps them fresh, makes us far less predictable going inside 50 and there was much more defensive pressure as a result of having one less lumbering tall in our f50 last night.

Fine to plonk Gawn forward occasionally but its been getting to a stage where we were doing it weekly for significant periods of time

What a win. Back to our rope-a-dope first quarters of 2021 where we start slow and then just keep upping the pressure and ultimately crush the opposition.

Midfield unit, take a bow. Viney with a 2017 WCE styled game as stand in skip, inspirational and brutal in equal measures. Is having a really underrated and consistent season with his first proper pre-season in a long time. Clarry doing clarry things. Trac getting some explosiveness back, whilst his finishing is still off, he's only 5% away from some BOG performances again. Had some of those contests on the wing where he wins the ball in congestion and explodes away and nobody can even get close enough to attempt a tackle. When Trac is playing like that he's best in the comp. Just needs to tidy up his inside 50s and finish some goals, but he's getting there. Role players all had great games - JJ, Spaz with some big spaz moments, Harmes with a great job on Neale and 2 snags - all with no Gawn and Dogga battling away really well in the ruck. Wait and see, but I think our midfield might thrive with Dogga as first ruck and without being "fed" taps from Gawn.

Pressure was amazing. It's such a cliche, but pressure is everything in modern footy. Nibs really led from the front here, some amazing efforts that got us goals. Bedford was a great in, his finishing and composure has improved dramatically. Keep him in the side. Fritsch fluffed a few chances and did some dumb s*** but contested well in the air against the bigger Adams. Liked the way we looked with Fritta playing taller. BBB was great when the game was hot in the first half and deserved another goal or two. Was outmarked a bit, but overall with the amount of inside 50s we had and the strength of their tall backs, I think he did really well. Kozz, although quiet for patches can still provide magic moments, I love him.

Rick Lever take a bow as well. Has had a really average year and in the big game against maybe one of the best tall forward setups he dominated the air. Had that dynamic, play making ability back where he was playing on isntinct, taking the game on and clunking grabs from difficult positions. People say he only plays well as the spare but I don't buy that - he killed Hipwood in some 1 on 1s and took some big grabs when Brissy won clearance and it was 6/6/6 when he clearly wasn't a spare. Need more of this from Rick against the great teams. Having May back (although patchy) clearly helped the structure and understanding overall. Petty just doing Petty things and doing heavy body spoils non-stop - a man after my heart. Hibb is a class act. Gave CC a bath. Brayshaw just a main stay back there now, deserves AA to be honest.

Trac said after the game the game plan was to just "go out there and have fun" - definitely looked like we were enjoying ourselves out there. Two moments I loved: When Viney got corked in the bum and like 6 players ran up and picked him up, patted him on the bum and kind of joked with him as he jogged it off. And the behind the goal vision of Bedford's second goal when he sold some candy and finished on the run - almost the whole team, all the way back to the defenders, had their arms up in a "Yesss Toby!". Great vision.

Connection, nourishment, respecting the game, celebrating the method, it was all there. Go Dees.

EDIT: Forgot to mention the umpiring. Definitely told to "put the whistle away" like a finals game and they didn't pay many of the "technical" ones and let a lot of stuff go which was good to see.

Obviously being greedy when we've already got a super talented side but imagine if we had a clinical finisher like Toby Greene or Luke Breust in his prime up forward. So many times we wander into the forward line with 5 options available and still stuff it up. Those guys who have a knack of getting on the end of it and finishing it off with no fuss would easily kick 6 on nights like last night.

3 things that I absolutely loved about last night.

- The whole side celebrated every goal. Jake Lever was jumping up and down like a primary school kid every time we kicked a goal we were back to genuinely enjoying the game.

- Steven May pointing to the scoreboard (and giving a bit of lip) when the Lions cheersquad were trying to get stuck into him. Usually I'm not one for engaging with the crowd but in this case I'll give him a pass. Why the hell would you boo him as an opposition player? WTF has he done to anyone outside of the club?

- Watching Mitch Robinson totally squib it up after trying to be a tough guy. Dogga was running into the centre square for a centre bounce and Robinson tried to bump him for absolutely no reason. Not only was his bump ineffectual, he went totally missing after it.

That was so ******* satisfying
Me too. There were the ten wins - and there was last night's game. It was qualitatively different, even from the match against GWS.

3 things that I absolutely loved about last night.

- The whole side celebrated every goal. Jake Lever was jumping up and down like a primary school kid every time we kicked a goal we were back to genuinely enjoying the game.

- Steven May pointing to the scoreboard (and giving a bit of lip) when the Lions cheersquad were trying to get stuck into him. Usually I'm not one for engaging with the crowd but in this case I'll give him a pass. Why the hell would you boo him as an opposition player? WTF has he done to anyone outside of the club?

- Watching Mitch Robinson totally squib it up after trying to be a tough guy. Dogga was running into the centre square for a centre bounce and Robinson tried to bump him for absolutely no reason. Not only was his bump ineffectual, he went totally missing after it.

May has knocked out a few Lions players over the years, they can boo who they like.

I've never heard them boo him before, and it was only with any level of vigour for the first couple of possessions he had so I would be surprised if they were booing because of any past indiscretions against the Lions.

I have no issue with people booing, I also have no issue with May reacting the way he did. It you want to act floggish, expect a response fit for a flog.

Yeah, that was an incredible kick. That was late in the third, I think. Game was pretty much in the bag, but still a ballsy kick.
I went looking for it as I'm doing sweet FA today.

The play itself was elite until the finish.

Lever intercept, short kick to may, handball over top to Brayshaw, the long kick to spargo who takes a few steps and hits Jackson, quick hands to ANB who doesn't make the distance qnd spoiled over the line by Andrews.

Said it many times but if ANB could finish his work off, he would be talked about the same way as Tom Papley is.

Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & very Fugly