Boys came out on fire today
Nietz kicks a bag

Bad: dunstal kicked a bigger bag
Everyone getting out of dunstals way letting him kick his 100th for the season

Ugly: nietz stumbling under the ball in our last entry into the 50

And realising that i was watching before the bounce, hawks vs dees rd 22 1996

Wellllll its half time

Good- Theres a handful of players that we can build our club around

Chris Dawes worked his ass off to gather 8 marks and always presented, he may not have kicked the goals but he has been really good, its too bad he cant kick to himself today

Dean Terlich, love the way he does his stuff he has 100% commitment and he will be a very good member of the back 6 for a long long time

Nathan Jones, seriously if he missed a game we wouldnt have a midfield... he is a fair dinkum inside monster as good as ive seen in a melbourne jumper.

Colin Garland, he is now an A grade defender in my opinion, him and frawley have owned franklin and roughy and if it wasnt going in a billion times we would be talking about how awesome our back pair is.

i dont wanna do the bads or uglies

Good:
Dawes: 10+ marks fighting a lone hand, earned his money today.
Jones: A-grader
Garland + Frawley: Both won their individual contests, deserve better from their midfielders.
Kent: Like his dash, just needs to be more composed when he finds space.
Davey: Not as good today, but at least tries to make stuff happen.

Bad:
Pedersen: Spoil the thing.
Bail: Time for a rest, bring in Taggert.
Evans: See above, but Blease.

Ugly:
McKenzie: Who was he playing on? Because if he ain't locking down, I see no use for him. Magner please.
Strauss: Made Puopolo look like Carey. Two ridiculous pushes in the marking contest, and numerous missed tackles.

Watched Neeld walk to the change rooms he should have just kept going to his car and gone home ..

He was reading some note .. one positive is that we nearly kicked as many points as them ... we have 22 players on the park ... its not about the coach its about the players .. pity they don't want to play for the coach.

Good. Effort today from all, even if we got destroyed the effort was there.
Dawes, brilliant, BOG for me i think.
Rodan, maybe his efficiency wasn't there but he had a hand in a lot of plays
Garland and Frawley, what can i say, stood strong against an plethora of inside 50 and it was only in the dying stages that roughy and buddy made an impact.

Good:
- Our ferocity & improved work ethic. Sounds like a weird thing to say when you lose by 95 points, but it seemed like for the majority of the match, the majority of the players gave it a shot.
- Chip Frawley - Gave buddy a bath. Showed his value to this team and how much of a loss he would be if he were to leave.
- Colin Garland - Somehow amongst all of this shit, he's having one of the best (if not the best) season of his career. Steps up every week
- Nathan Jones - Need I say anymore? Champion.
- Chris Dawes - Looked good, makes me excited for a forward line of Dawes, Clark & Hogan.
- Dent Kent - Really love the way his bloke goes about it. Give him an extended run and lets see how he goes!

Bad -
- Skill level. We say it every week, but some of the skills on these guys makes you wonder.
- Jordie McKenzie - Looks lost, hasn't been able to keep a player quiet, skill level way way way below par and he can't find the footy on his own.

Ugly -
- The next few days. We're gonna be in the headlines for this week and whether Neeld says or go, it's gonna be an interesting week.
- Cam Pedersons spoiling...

Good:
- tall backs were fantastic in neutralizing Hawks' tall forwards; Chip and Garland were great
- finally laid some tackles; we out-tackled an opponent that isn't GWS
- disposal efficiency and marking were good too; we out-marked an opponent that isn't GWS
- Dawes was a magnificent pick up, he carries the the load well. Think he'll really shine when Clark returns
- Jonesy
- Kent has some flash

Ugly:
- Rodan and Fitzey
- despite the effort and what the stats sheet says, We were still rolled by 95
- nobody capable of stopping Breust

Fugly:
- it was a boring game.

One thing on Dean Terlich, he's been a great pick up but I find myself wanting to belt him a lot.

Numerous times I see him get the ball and his first instinct is to stop and weigh up options, you cannot do that at AFL level. If you're going to have a successful career at the highest level you have to be able to make good decisions on the move, when he gets the ball and keeps moving he is very good.

Point is, don't get the ball and come to a stand still.

Watched Neeld walk to the change rooms he should have just kept going to his car and gone home ..

He was reading some note .. one positive is that we nearly kicked as many points as them ... we have 22 players on the park ... its not about the coach its about the players .. pity they don't want to play for the coach.

Disagree. I'd like to see Neeld see out his tenure as he has been extremely hard done by, but this match has stamped his papers. Not because the players didn't try.

But because they did, and they still lost by 95 points. Melbourne is simply not good enough at the moment.

FWIW, I think there's a strong core group of players to build from and if Neeld were given another year to get some quality midfielders and small-medium players, as well as another pre-season, he might just turn it around. Guys like Bail won't get you anywhere and guys like Rodan are stopgaps at best. Your bookends were very strong today and you've got some talents like the two Joneses, Evans, Howe, Kent and Terlich who will just get better. Not to mention Hogan next year.

But he doesn't have the credits in the bank to keep taking shellackings on the field and from the media and everybody else.

Good:
- Dawes: was huge. Worked hard up the ground and always at least made a contest. Took some very strong grabs too.
- Garland and Frawley: great down back. Given the supply, they held Buddy and Roughy very well and managed to provide some drive of their own.
- Jonesy: Loved his work all day. Constantly putting his body on the line and getting the hard ball
- Kent: some good dash and took the game on well; seems more settled at AFL level now.
- Howe: had a solid game; no weekly hanger though!
- Terlich: solid down back, worked hard.
- Watts: a couple of mistakes, but generally a solid game from him. Some good intensity though.
Bad:
- Strauss: gave away some silly frees and his tackling was weak.
- Rodan: started very poor. Did get better as the game went on, but some of his decisions and disposals were putrid.
- Joel Mac: kept Mitchell quiet in patches, but his disposal was poor again. Gave quite a few hospital passes where a low hard pass could have set up a shot.
- Jamar: some of his ruckwork was alright, but gave nothing around the ground.
- Bail: got a bit of the ball, but again some silly errors. That dropped chest mark was terrible.
Fugly:
- Fitzy: tough first game for the year and did struggle. Lacked composure, but should stay in for the next few weeks at least so he can have a decent run at it and get some confidence at AFL level.
- We were playing probably as well as we have all year, the Hawks were going half paced for most of the game, and it was a 95 point loss.
- Heard Frawley may have hurt his hammy in the last, anyone got anymore news on this? If true...

Good:
- tall backs were fantastic in neutralizing Hawks' tall forwards; Chip and Garland were great
- finally laid some tackles; we out-tackled an opponent that isn't GWS
- disposal efficiency and marking were good too; we out-marked an opponent that isn't GWS
- Dawes was a magnificent pick up, he carries the the load well. Think he'll really shine when Clark returns
- Jonesy
- Kent has some flash

Ugly:
- Rodan and Fitzey
- despite the effort and what the stats sheet says, We were still rolled by 95
- nobody capable of stopping Breust

Fugly:
- it was a boring game.

Give us a spell. Rodan had 24 touches and 11 tackles.

Good: Frawley, Jones, Garland, Dawes, Terlich, Howe
Bad: Bail, Mckenzie
Fugly: Pedersen, Fitzy's (lack of) co-ordination

see right below to the score the copy-ed had screwed when they published the page

Melbs kicked 16 goals and 7 points in the final quarter in an absolute onslaught:thumbsu:

no doubt, they will edit it soon, but happy faces http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2013/10/melb-v-haw

Blowtorch on Neeld as Hawks dominate
By Mark MacguganExclusive to AFL Bigpond Network 06:15pm June 2, 13
289633-tlsnewsportrait.jpg
Hawthorn's Shaun Burgoyne celebrates a goal on Sunday
RELATED
HAWTHORN has plunged Melbourne's season of misery to further depths with a ruthless 95-point drubbing of Mark Neeld's struggling team at the MCG on Sunday.
Although the Demons competed hard at times and even won the third quarter, Alastair Clarkson's powerhouse side was far too strong in the 21.17 (143) to 6.12 (48) win in front of 28,546 fans.
It was the Hawks' ninth straight victory, and sees them head to their round 11 bye on top of the AFL ladder.
But the post-match focus will rest squarely with Melbourne and its coach Neeld, who will meet the club's board on Monday afternoon amid speculation he may lose his job.
The Demons sit second-bottom on the table with just one win, and their nine losses have come at an average margin of almost 77 points.
Small forward Luke Breust was the chief destroyer for the victors with five goals in an outstanding display, while Jarryd Roughead booted three, and four other Hawks added two goals.
Midfielder Brad Sewell had 31 disposals, including 14 in a blistering first quarter, while Jordan Lewis, Shaun Burgoyne and Isaac Smith were other key contributors.
The form of recruit Chris Dawes was the major positive for Melbourne, the key forward amassing 21 disposals, 12 marks and a goal in an encouraging day's work.
At the other end, James Frawley battled hard against Lance Franklin, the Hawthorn spearhead held to two goals, both from free kicks.
Through the middle of the ground, Nathan Jones toiled relentlessly with 28 disposals and 11 clearances, while David Rodan, in his first senior appearance since round five, had nine clearances and laid 11 tackles.
Inaccurate in front of goal in the first quarter, the Hawks found range in the second and broke the game open with nine goals to one, going to half-time with a 69-point buffer.
The Demons pegged the margin back 11 points in the third quarter as Hawthorn's intensity dropped off, before the ladder leaders took back control in the final term and piled on a further seven goals.
It was Hawthorn's 10th straight win over Melbourne, in a run dating back to 2006.
The Demons face Collingwood in their marquee Queen's Birthday match-up next Monday, before a bye in round 12.
1_10MeHa13MW0802.jpg
Hawthorn's Jordan Lewis, Ben Stratton, Grant Birchall and Taylor Duryea celebrate on Sunday. Photo: AFL Media
MELBOURNE 0.3 1.7 5.10 21.17 (143)
HAWTHORN 3.9 12.10 14.14 6.12 (48)
GOALS
Melbourne: Howe, Dawes, Watts, Davey, Kent, Evans​
Hawthorn: Breust 5, Roughead 3, Hill 2, Smith 2, Franklin 2, Puopolo 2, Lewis, Burgoyne, Birchall, Grimley, Simpkin
BEST
Melbourne: Dawes, N. Jones, Frawley, Rodan.​
Hawthorn: Sewell, Breust, Burgoyne, Lewis, Smith, Mitchell.
INJURIES
Melbourne: Nil​
Hawthorn: Nil
SUBSTITUTES
Melbourne: Luke Tapscott replaced Matt Jones in the third quarter.​
Hawthorn: Kyle Cheney replaced Luke Hodge in the third quarter.
Reports: Nil
Umpires: Farmer, Hay, Mitchell
Official crowd: 28,546 at the MCG.
The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs

Why did you come to our board?

because i went to the AFL and read the article, and the copy-ed, had screwed it up. i thought one could see the humour in it. if you do a member search for me, on your sub-forum, you will see any posts i have made have not been a troll or ridicule, they have been the opposite. so quit the inference when i said why i posted this mate.

member search: blackcat
subforum: Melbourne Demons.

see the posts to discern my record of posts here. ALL IN GOOD FAITH mods. So please, pay some respect.

Good: Dawes, N.Jones, Garland, Frawley, Terlich, Davey... Rodan's second half was good, but we were already 70 points down by then. Not one of Howe's better games but still one of our better players. Kent showed some flashes and I hope he keeps his spot.

Bad: Fitz didn't offer much. Still think worth persisting with and is a better 2nd ruck/forward option than Spencer.

Fugly: Same old. Slow ball movement and crap disposal. Midfield overrun. Beaten by 95 and the Hawks never got out of 2nd gear. Early doors when it was still technically a competitive match, the way they moved the ball from the back 50 through the midfield was disgracefully easy. Free men everywhere and plenty of run from the back half.

Apart from the obvious (Frawley, Garland, Dawes, Jones, Rodan), I thought Trengove was promising without dominating. I saw some spring in his legs going for marks, which can only be a good sign. Seven tackles too, so he keeps on working hard inside.

Bail and McKenzie need to be dropped asap.

Fitzy was ordinary, but I want him to be given a few games.

Garland was immense today. He was everywhere just owning dudes. Frawley kept buddy reasonable. I think Pedo had about 20 kicked on him though.

Liked the effort from Fitz, Jones, Dawes is born leader. Buckley is a dead set **** head to get rid of him for old man Q stick.

I can't believe I'm gonna say this after a 90 point loss but I think the effort was there from at least half the team today. Just very poor disposal, we are our own worst enemy. And definitely some clear failures defensive structures.

I still don't know what to do about Neeld.