Play Nice Derailed, (The Place to Continue Off-Topic Discussion)

Can we please stop with every fricken thread on this board being the same people arguing about Phillips.

It’s getting really boring and ruining this board. Take the argument to the Tom Phillips thread please.

This is a welcome to Collingwood thread for our newest player.

A question for some, and it really depends who wants to answer, but is it fun always being so negative?

The bloke hasn’t even stepped foot in the club yet and he’s already being written off and given shit for an apparent lack of whatever. Let the kid have a crack before we start making judgments ffs

A question for some, and it really depends who wants to answer, but is it fun always being so negative?

The bloke hasn’t even stepped foot in the club yet and he’s already being written off and given **** for an apparent lack of whatever. Let the kid have a crack before we start making judgments ffs
Mate some here have agendas that they will never abandon - their loss.

Can we please stop with every fricken thread on this board being the same people arguing about Phillips.

It’s getting really boring and ruining this board. Take the argument to the Tom Phillips thread please.

This is a welcome to Collingwood thread for our newest player.
Exactly

I mean, is it written anywhere in the rules that we all have to agree on liking every player on the list?

As long as the debates/discussion/argument involve some kind of rational/logical ideas, there shouldn't be an issue.

I've never taken a dump on Reid/Phillips/Langdon without articulating why. I've also turned around on players I didn't initially like, like Maynard. I was just as harsh on Maynard for quite some time (if not harsher) than I was on those other 3, yet he managed to turn me around.

My dislike for those 3 doesn't come from some irrational place where I can't be swayed one way or another. But you're sure as shit not going to convince me of Phillips' worth trying to tell me how "hard he tries and runs real hard", because stuff like that means jack shit to me when he turns the ball over, shirks contests (in before "Bu bu bu ANZAC Day") and costs numerous goals through poor disposal and a LACK of this fabled run he apparently possesses.

I just wish people would stop quoting stats in these arguments because stats are more meaningless in 2019 than they ever have been before. I trust my eyes long before I trust stats. Treloar keeps getting nearly 40 possessions a game yet I've barely noticed him the last few weeks so grading his performances purely on those numbers doesn't hold much water. Given I don't believe he's topped the coaches votes in many (if any) of our wins suggests the coaches haven't valued his 40 touches a game either.

But boy oh boy this has been derailed well and truly.

I mean, is it written anywhere in the rules that we all have to agree on liking every player on the list?

As long as the debates/discussion/argument involve some kind of rational/logical ideas, there shouldn't be an issue.

I've never taken a dump on Reid/Phillips/Langdon without articulating why. I've also turned around on players I didn't initially like, like Maynard. I was just as harsh on Maynard for quite some time (if not harsher) than I was on those other 3, yet he managed to turn me around.

My dislike for those 3 doesn't come from some irrational place where I can't be swayed one way or another. But you're sure as **** not going to convince me of Phillips' worth trying to tell me how "hard he tries and runs real hard", because stuff like that means jack **** to me when he turns the ball over, shirks contests (in before "Bu bu bu ANZAC Day") and costs numerous goals through poor disposal and a LACK of this fabled run he apparently possesses.

I just wish people would stop quoting stats in these arguments because stats are more meaningless in 2019 than they ever have been before. I trust my eyes long before I trust stats. Treloar keeps getting nearly 40 possessions a game yet I've barely noticed him the last few weeks so grading his performances purely on those numbers doesn't hold much water. Given I don't believe he's topped the coaches votes in many (if any) of our wins suggests the coaches haven't valued his 40 touches a game either.

I trust the coaches who rated him our 6th best player last season.

My dislike for those 3 doesn't come from some irrational place where I can't be swayed one way or another. But you're sure as **** not going to convince me of Phillips' worth trying to tell me how "hard he tries and runs real hard", because stuff like that means jack **** to me when he turns the ball over, shirks contests (in before "Bu bu bu ANZAC Day") and costs numerous goals through poor disposal and a LACK of this fabled run he apparently possesses.

For me, it’s the weird shit you come out with about selection that’s confusing. Bitching about Reid being selected when there was really no other option. Complaining that we aren’t putting our best players on the park when they’re injured. It’s odd, and overtly negative. I mean, it’s cool that you don’t rate certain players, but why type things like ‘Buckley is tanking’ when there’s fairly clearly no superior option to Reid as a Cox replacement, or Madgen getting selected ahead of Goldsack who’s played forward all year?

Last season

Read that again.....last season

I'm more concerned with a players output in 2019. We lost the Grand Final in 2018 remember? Funnily enough because of our midfield. So you'll have to forgive me if I'm not shouting from the rooftops about past season performances of players who lost a Grand Final they should never have lost and are now under performing (both statistically AND to the eye) in season 2019. A season where we're attempting to go one better.

Our midfield mostly gets smashed week in week out. This supposedly "best midfield ever/in the competition" is being pantsed on a regular basis.

So...to bring it back to Noble, when I hear that he supposedly possesses both speed AND endurance, it piques my interest because we have a few players that possess one attribute or the other but not both. So, as a supporter who doesn't overly rate Phillips (one of the players who only possesses endurance and little else) that's why I mentioned him in one of my earlier posts in this thread.

For me, it’s the weird **** you come out with about selection that’s confusing. Bitching about Reid being selected when there was really no other option. Complaining that we aren’t putting our best players on the park when they’re injured. It’s odd, and overtly negative. I mean, it’s cool that you don’t rate certain players, but why type things like ‘Buckley is tanking’ when there’s fairly clearly no superior option to Reid as a Cox replacement, or Madgen getting selected ahead of Goldsack who’s played forward all year?

I"m gonna put on my tinfoil hat for a second...

We're currently at the tail end of our "easy part" of the draw. Let's just assume for a second Buckley believes we're good enough to beat the sides we're currently opposed to without these players and decided to "manage"/rest them what have you in order to have them fresh and 100% fit for the tail end of the season. Do you think Buckley would risk displaying the arrogance that would come with making such an announcement public?

Doubt it

He would most like say they're injured for an inordinate/vague amount of time that seems to just happen to keep extending out.

You don't find it at least the TINIEST bit odd that De Goey has apprently been playing managed just fine for most of the last 15-20 games but now....while we're in a period of the draw where we're playing weaker teams he can't "play through it" and needs 3/4/5 weeks off? Sorry, I apologise for being a conspiracy theorist on that one but I don't buy it. I just don't buy that arguably our 4 most important players (excluding Grundy who...lo and behold we don't have cover for) are all injured at the same time with a very vague time frame of return all during our easiest part of the draw.

Why and how on Earth would Buckley be tanking? He must be the worst tanker in history because we are currently sitting 2nd.

Just why would he have any thoughts of tanking at 12 o'clock in the premiership clock.

I didn't see the comment but that's the strangest thing I've ever heard.

Why and how on Earth would Buckley be tanking? He must be the worst tanker in history because we are currently sitting 2nd.

Just why would he have any thoughts of tanking at 12 o'clock in the premiership clock.

I didn't see the comment but that's the strangest thing I've ever heard.

The tanking joke I made was in response to some of the selections Buckley has been making of late. As someone who feels we might be managing these players during the easier period of our draw, I have questioned whether he's risking losing games at the expense of maybe over resting some of these players.

So far, he's made a fool out of me even if I am right because we just fielded the worst side we've fielded since last year's Sydney game and won it.

Ed the score is on the board mate, it has been a stressful time for us all but I remember the Cats doing exactly the same shit in '11 and hitting the finals series like a runaway freight train.

I'm likewise certain Buckley hasn't forgotten.

Last season

I'm more concerned with a players output in 2019. We lost the Grand Final in 2018 remember? Funnily enough because of our midfield. So you'll have to forgive me if I'm not shouting from the rooftops about past season performances of players who lost a Grand Final they should never have lost and are now under performing (both statistically AND to the eye) in season 2019. A season where we're attempting to go one better.

Our midfield mostly gets smashed week in week out. This supposedly "best midfield ever/in the competition" is being pantsed on a regular basis.

So...to bring it back to Noble, when I hear that he supposedly possesses both speed AND endurance, it piques my interest because we have a few players that possess one attribute or the other but not both. So, as a supporter who doesn't overly rate Phillips (one of the players who only possesses endurance and little else) that's why I mentioned him in one of my earlier posts in this thread.

We're currently at the tail end of our "easy part" of the draw. Let's just assume for a second Buckley believes we're good enough to beat the sides we're currently opposed to without these players and decided to "manage"/rest them what have you in order to have them fresh and 100% fit for the tail end of the season. Do you think Buckley would risk displaying the arrogance that would come with making such an announcement public?

Doubt it

He would most like say they're injured for an inordinate/vague amount of time that seems to just happen to keep extending out.

You don't find it at least the TINIEST bit odd that De Goey has apprently been playing managed just fine for most of the last 15-20 games but now....while we're in a period of the draw where we're playing weaker teams he can't "play through it" and needs 3/4/5 weeks off? Sorry, I apologise for being a conspiracy theorist on that one but I don't buy it. I just don't buy that arguably our 4 most important players (excluding Grundy who...lo and behold we don't have cover for) are all injured at the same time with a very vague time frame of return all during our easiest part of the draw.

I kinda agree with you there, Cox is fine I reckon and Adams/De Goey would be playing too if it was finals. But it's a luxury we can afford and why not get everyone mickey mouse for the business end.

I"m fine with resting players to have them cherry for the second half of the year/finals.

But you made the PERFECT comment.

If we were playing the Grand Final this week, do we still think these 4 players would still be "injured"? I very much doubt it. But like I said, completely cool with resting and managing players. In fact, in past season I have said I hoped our list would get top a point where we COULD treat our list like soccer teams do and manage them throughout a season.

But I had more a game or two here and a game or two there in my head. Not up to a month. We need to lock in a top 2 spot. Over managing could jeapordise that.

I don't think theyd be resting Cox. He still needs to get footy into him. But i do think they'd be mire inclined to give games off to guys like Degoey. Im pretty confident they'd be playing him if it was finals. Moore has been an even more interesting one. Je rolled his ankle, played the next few games and then has had a break because of his ankle once the theoretically easuer games have come around.

I"m fine with resting players to have them cherry for the second half of the year/finals.

If we were playing the Grand Final this week, do we still think these 4 players would still be "injured"? I very much doubt it. But like I said, completely cool with resting and managing players. In fact, in past season I have said I hoped our list would get top a point where we COULD treat our list like soccer teams do and manage them throughout a season.

But I had more a game or two here and a game or two there in my head. Not up to a month. We need to lock in a top 2 spot. Over managing could jeapordise that.

We are doing exactly what Geelong and Hawthorn used to do to us. Even Geelong supporters know we have 15% more upside in our best team than theirs, and they are playing everyone at full revs to maintain their spot on top of the ladder but arguably have been playing their best stuff too early whereas we are sitting back just getting the job done and everyone knows when we put our best side together and click we will be the ones to beat.

Richmond have real injuries and have been forced to go full throttle to hang onto the pack and I think West Coast are cruising a bit like us.

In a couple of months all this will be forgotten and we have banked the 4 points every week which is all that matters.

We will come around the corner beautifully, have faith in the mission. We haven't even rolled up our sleeves yet.

When the whips start cracking we will be red hot and others will fall away.

This time of year for a good side is just about cruise control and clocking wins and managing. Which we are doing really well and setting ourselves up to be fearsome come business time. They probably do have niggles and we can afford to get it 100% right at the moment rather than players going in with concerns.

I don't think theyd be resting Cox. He still needs to get footy into him. But i do think they'd be mire inclined to give games off to guys like Degoey. Im pretty confident they'd be playing him if it was finals. Moore has been an even more interesting one. Je rolled his ankle, played the next few games and then has had a break because of his ankle once the theoretically easuer games have come around.

It's management, he probably played under a little duress and maybe injections to get through but they thought it's better to let it heal properly and come back in at 100% again instead of risking aggravation.

Given a half way decent run with injury from here - rollseyes.gif - this will be a vastly different finals series for us than last years.

Last year entering the finals with all of our first choice backs out, All of DeGoo, Pendles and Sidey carrying injuries we were only one more serious injury away from crashing out of contention.

This year we have the enticing prospect of hitting the finals in full beast mode.

We are doing exactly what Geelong and Hawthorn used to do to us. Even Geelong supporters know we have 15% more upside in our best team than theirs, and they are playing everyone at full revs to maintain their spot on top of the ladder but arguably have been playing their best stuff too early whereas we are sitting back just getting the job done and everyone knows when we put our best side together and click we will be the ones to beat.

Richmond have real injuries and have been forced to go full throttle to hang onto the pack and I think West Coast are cruising a bit like us.

In a couple of months all this will be forgotten and we have banked the 4 points every week which is all that matters.

We will come around the corner beautifully, have faith in the mission. We haven't even rolled up our sleeves yet.

When the whips start cracking we will be red hot and others will fall away.

This time of year for a good side is just about cruise control and clocking wins and managing. Which we are doing really well and setting ourselves up to be fearsome come business time. They probably do have niggles and we can afford to get it 100% right at the moment rather than players going in with concerns.

This has been my thoughts.

Geelong and GWS have healthy lists and are playing as well as they possibly can.

Us and West Coast are getting by playing quite poorly and managing blokes through (West Coast less so). Like I said, I'm ok with that, in fact, I like it, I just think he's overdoing it somewhat and should be spreading it out a bit more.

This has been my thoughts.

Geelong and GWS have healthy lists and are playing as well as they possibly can.

Us and West Coast are getting by playing quite poorly and managing blokes through (West Coast less so). Like I said, I'm ok with that, in fact, I like it, I just think he's overdoing it somewhat and should be spreading it out a bit more.

At the end of the day it's the ladder that counts in home and away and we are right up Geelong's arse despite them going full tilt so we are in prime position in my eyes and I couldn't be happier. But we all like to see the best possible team on the park and we have been cutting it fine to get away with some of these wins but lo and behold we just got there and can only benefit from it while sitting in a very healthy position. Good luck to us.

If the bye wasn’t only a couple of weeks away, i’m Sure they would have been brought back. However, why not give them a complete rest to recover and come back for the remaining season plus finals. In the meantime, others get game time as you know know what may happen end of season injurywise

Last season

Doubt it

Sorry Ed, but you’ve gone full tin foil there. I don’t buy for a second that our match committee would flirt with form and potential losses simply to rest players in what’s looking like the tightest season for a finals birth in recent memory.

The coaches are the deciders of a players worth.

Us internet types, not so much.

What different opinions are out there is all part of good discussion.

Some very positive, some not so much.

As a general rule the more depth added to the post, the more respected the poster might be in the readership.

The less insightful the more “weird” the less respect the poster might be perceived.

But it’s all a bit of fun.

Nothing to stress over.

(ps we all see things differently; it’s in the eye of the beholder.)