Dogs Owned By Cats Yet Again - 94-66 Loss

I wonder if Bevo is not taking a massive punt on scrapping into the 8 and then changing things up to a side that no one (including us) has had a look at.

Take Naughts for example. What's the actual point of leaving him in the fwd line when the opposition have the run on and he's starved of the ball. He'd still be our best defender if he was put back.

And stoppages, particularly CBs. Last nights Q3 and GF Q3. We have to be able to put a physically combative ruckman in there who'll smack into the opposing ruck and their midfielders at every opportunity to help stop the bleed.

IF we make it to week one of the finals I reckon we look like this

FB: Duryea Naughton Khamis

HB: Dale Gardner Richards

C: Williams Bont Macrae

HF: Treloar English Smith

FF: Weightman Bruce JUH

R: Martin Libba Dunkley

INT: Garcia West JJ Daniel/McLean/Cleary (one of the 3)

SUB: McSteal

I would trade every other win this season to beat Geelong. Such is the distaste I have for them and how they own us..

The way Geelong have treated us for the best part of 30 years reminds me of Billy Connolly's wildebeest routine.

We're the naive, weak wildebeest and they're the lions that prey on us, wait to strike and tear us apart limb by limb.

The thread should be called Scott owns Bevo Yet again.

Ed great, Cordy and Gardner were ok. Yes a couple of mistakes but Gardner took his career best mark and deserves his spot. Has improved. Bont getting injured hurt us.

The coach has a lot of explaining to do about why there is no defensive strategy when teams get a run on. He is like a dear frozen in headlights.

Not sure why West was not given a go in the centre. you know he will give 110% and can lay a tackle

The thread should be called Scott owns Bevo Yet again.

Ed great, Cordy and Gardner were ok. Yes a couple of mistakes but Gardner took his career best mark and deserves his spot. Has improved. Bont getting injured hurt us.

The coach has a lot of explaining to do about why there is no defensive strategy when teams get a run on. He is like a dear frozen in headlights.

Not sure why West was not given a go in the centre. you know he will give 110% and can lay a tackle
Bevo’s response to getting smashed in the 3rd was the mids were beaten in one on one contests.

Thanks Bevo, sure glad we are paying you $800k to tell us that.

I wonder if Bevo is not taking a massive punt on scrapping into the 8 and then changing things up to a side that no one (including us) has had a look at.

Take Naughts for example. What's the actual point of leaving him in the fwd line when the opposition have the run on and he's starved of the ball. He'd still be our best defender if he was put back.

And stoppages, particularly CBs. Last nights Q3 and GF Q3. We have to be able to put a physically combative ruckman in there who'll smack into the opposing ruck and their midfielders at every opportunity to help stop the bleed.

IF we make it to week one of the finals I reckon we look like this

FB: Duryea Naughton Khamis

HB: Dale Gardner Richards

C: Williams Bont Macrae

HF: Treloar English Smith

FF: Weightman Bruce JUH

R: Martin Libba Dunkley

INT: Garcia West JJ Daniel/McLean

SUB: McSteal
Brilliant, that would work very well.

Out of answers.
That’s what I took out of his presser. Real suburban footy stuff.

You’d think we’d have plans in place to counter when they would eventually up the pressure. Apparently not.

I’m an English fan for what he can do around the ground, but having a guy who can’t get a hand to it when the opposition lift isn’t ideal.

Couple of observations.

Bruce is still miles off. A couple of times he got the ball and had zero confidence in his ability to shake off his opponent. He pretty much conceded the contest and accepted that he was going to get tackled rather than breaking it.

Caleb is not above playing reserves after comig back from injury. Was putrid.

Naughton's form is a bit of a worry

Hannan's hands are not reliable enough for a defender. Too fumbly when under pressure.

I know technically the season is still alive for us but I hope team selection is made with an eye to next year from now on. Play the pups.
Buku shows something . I like how he doesn’t play beyond his means. If the ball comes to him in heavy traffic he doesn’t try anything beyond his capabilities, just takes the tackle and we can reset.
I am not as big as some on Garcia but hope we persist with him. Does some good things and shows there might be something there. More involvement will come with more games.
Cleary seems to have something worth developing. Hard to fit another hbf in but I would give him games.

I know technically the season is still alive for us but I hope team selection is made with an eye to next year from now on. Play the pups.
Buku shows something . I like how he doesn’t play beyond his means. If the ball comes to him in heavy traffic he doesn’t try anything beyond his capabilities, just takes the tackle and we can reset.
I am not as big as some on Garcia but hope we persist with him. Does some good things and shows there might be something there. More involvement will come with more games.
Cleary seems to have something worth developing. Hard to fit another hbf in but I would give him games.

Agree with you

Cleary in for Hannam is the biggest no brainer and therefore won’t happen.

Bendendo or Toby in for McComb is another one

Sweet in to be number 1 ruck and English to be forward/ruck is another move I would make. Enough weak efforts and no direction with tap work. I would even play English in VFL he should not be allowed to have base performances that are sub standard. Let’s see what our centre square work looks like with someone who has some physical presence.

Bruce out to VFL and early pre season

I would play Schache but there is no use as he won’t be there next year. Find a club that will settle you in one position.

Smith to VFL to work on quality of possession not quantity. Learn to put it to the advantage of a teammate I would settle for that for now hopefully then learn to hit a target.

That’s what I took out of his presser. Real suburban footy stuff.

You’d think we’d have plans in place to counter when they would eventually up the pressure. Apparently not.

I’m an English fan for what he can do around the ground, but having a guy who can’t get a hand to it when the opposition lift isn’t ideal.

When a coach says the same thing after every loss, it's a concern. He's paid to come up with answers not come up with the Captain Obvious 'we were beaten in contests' stuff. As supporters, that sort of thing gives us nothing, no hope, zero.

I guess they call it the premiership quarter for a reason?

Relatively simple plan

• tag/block out Bonti and Macrae at centre bounces (even the top team is prepared to sacrifice two players to choke us - and buy crashing in blocks take the wind out of them and hope for a corky or other ways to slow keep them out - No name Atkins and Blicavs were as important as Danger and gave him corridors)
  • tap the ball further out to burst midfielder (Petracca/Danger) who Libba/Dunkley can’t catch
  • open forward line buy playing one extra in defence to stand 10 metres in front of Naughton - with pressure ball will always drop short but also makes it impossible for him to jump over is opponent
  • most important —- increase physical pressure around the ground to expose weaknesses like popping a pimple (Hannan, McComb who take too long to make a decision and then only bad hacks). We can get a roll on but the best teams have a way of turning up the heat - and they love it - especially when they see and feel the other team move to trying to hold on then crack.
  • We don’t have a snarl in us that says ‘bring it and see who can last the longest’. You can’t keep it up all game so when do great teams bring it - the premiership quarter. Everyone knows it - we should be prepared and in front of it not backing our team to react but instigating it ourselves.
  • last night - Yes Bont was injured and could not lead it but this is when you put Smith in Macrae out - West in to Tag their bull / Dunkley out - Naughton goes back to CHB - Bont (last night) or Dunkey forward otherwise (we did do this)
  • this is all doable and I bet smarter than me could come up with something better but the point is we must do two things - bring snarl in the third and be proactive - even if we are winning to make sure we have this gear and don’t wait to react. Don’t blame defensive efforts - we are on the back foot trying to stop the bleed acting defensively - that does not work - we need to be on the front foot pushing the ball forward and being more aggressive.

Positives:
  • can still make it - just
  • best team at home not an embarrassment (yes the pimple pop was embarrassing)
  • Ed Richards played his best game for the club - in the biggest heat he just kept getting better and fighting
  • Jamarra did his job and when the heat was on went looking for work and showed up his senior amigos
  • Weightman was good and fearless
  • Cordy was good and Gardner was plying on Hawkins with his team in a role and stood up - with Keath injured/out of form we just don’t have the talent to be positive from defence. TOB hasn’t worked and does even carve up VFL. Khamis did well but he is not the leader yet and can’t be expected to be (maybe we send a hostage taking team to Bali to bring back Wood or perhaps LJizz………..
  • first game back for Daniel - he will get better
  • missed Trelor badly - he has been averaging 30 from HBF and his decision making and defensive smarts have been a revelation
  • Duryea played well and is at galaxy apart upgrade on Hannan who does not have defensive traits to make an impact and just panics putting the whole team under pressure. I see what Bevo is trying to do - Cleary will take that role next year (has the traits) but is still a kid and is either senior player out of position (worked for Trelor) or kid in position. Short story is it hasn’t worked so need new option (and Trelor is an A grader and so I think logic has some weaknesses). Crozier is the story here - AFL top level talent who just a little while ago was one of the first picked - has fallen off the cliff - must be something serious and I hope the guy is ok.
  • McLean is coming through VFL and will give us a huge lift v McComb who has not adjusted to the speed of AFL - has more time in VFL where he is good - he needs to find a role like a tagged or defensive mid and own it. Would also far prefer McNeil.

Bevo’s response to getting smashed in the 3rd was the mids were beaten in one on one contests.

Thanks Bevo, sure glad we are paying you $800k to tell us that.
But that's pretty much bang on what happened. They were overpowered and smashed by a core group of Selwood, Danger, Steglar, Blicavs, Guthrie, Duncan and Atkins who wanted it more and that was the game.

As talented as our midfield can be, they haven't wanted it badly enough or gone hard long enough to go with the hard nosed professionalism of the likes of the Cats.

But that's pretty much bang on what happened. They were overpowered and smashed by a core group of Selwood, Danger, Steglar, Blicavs, Guthrie, Duncan and Atkins who wanted it more and that was the game.

As talented as our midfield can be, they haven't wanted it badly enough or gone hard long enough to go with the hard nosed professionalism of the likes of the Cats.
Get that but at what stage do you change it up? Concede they have momentum and play defensively with a sweeper? We seem to just want to play flat out attack all the time

If there is a change, it has to be in the level of commitment and desperation from our ruck/onballers/midfielders. They are our one wood. Collectively, and somewhere in their top 2 inches, they simply have to resolve not to be beaten. They were, very badly, and it cost us the game.

Fair enough. Unfortunately it’s not a one off either.

When a coach says the same thing after every loss, it's a concern. He's paid to come up with answers not come up with the Captain Obvious 'we were beaten in contests' stuff. As supporters, that sort of thing gives us nothing, no hope, zero.
Name a coach that doesn't say the same thing at the presser after every loss? They are all the same mate, you aren't going to get answers listening to that. The only answers you will get is here, on Big Footy.

I'm convinced when Geelong see the fixture each year they arrogantly chalk up the 1-2 games against us as 100% certainties and mark them down in the book..

And we gutlessly and timidly play along with it being their little bitches.. Like the schoolyard wimp who gets bullied and doesn't stand up and do anything about it..

You can always rely on our defenders getting caught up the ground and Rohan/ Stengle and co getting easy ones out the back. Our need for an interceptor or 2 has never been greater.

Dogs Owned By Cats Yet Again - 94-66 Loss