Coach Fages and the coaching group

No. I don't think any coach wants their team to deliberately play bad or with less intent because it has such a massive chance of backfiring.
Of course not.

I didn't think it would be a coaching instruction. For whatever reason they seemed to go through the motions when we had the ball , just spoiling and running it over the line. Creating stoppages. Conserving energy.

They came out in the third with intent and precision and we were spent . Their leaders ?

It's been a tactic of all the great boxers over decades. Let your opponent use up all their best punches and conserve your energy. Rope a dope.

I remember Pagan addressing the team before a final. He said something along the lines of if they start getting on top we know how to take all their best punches. It's just a thought the way our game seemed to pan out.

… at which point he would use Fagan’s logic and explain that there is no need to panic because there are still 13 games to go.

Everyone has a different view, which is one of the good things about Big Footy. But jeez mate, if we were running classes on how to flog a dead horse - you would be a shoe-in for the lecturers job.

Ph.D

Plenty wrong. Just waiting until we successfully execute a game plan to criticise it

Personally, I can't believe Fagan's gameplan instructed the forwards to drop 9 marks inside 50. Disgraceful coaching.

The fact we had so many opportunities to mark inside 50 really makes everything else that school football coach Matthew Lloyd said sound pretty ridiculous
Pretty crapy marking opportunities mostly. Congested pockets with 6 players going for the mark or attempting to spoil the ball over the line.

Again, a lot of our entries give our tall forwards little chance of actually taking the mark.

They showed a few that really should've been taken
Hipwood has never been a good arms extended mark, even uncontested.

He’s best when he can cradle a chest mark.

Expecting anything different is just setting yourself up for disappointment.

I’m always presently surprised when he actually takes a contested mark. Take it as a bonus.

I thought it was quite amusing when we won the game against North Melbourne and during the after match press conference, Fagan didn't refer to his stat sheets once. Which is a completely different scenario when we lose.

He refers to the stats sheets after wins and losses. You don’t refer to the stats sheet when you pants an opposition, comes off as arrogant.

But I wanted to know how much we smashed them though ;)

Wonder if Lohman's performance will influence the policy of rookie/fringe players as sub. Or whether it is better to have them start, with an older head ready to be subbed on if they are quiet?
I still think Zorks has an iteration of his career as a sub and he’d be a bloody good one coming on and providing an instant spark which so many don’t. Whether that’s the back end of the year or even next year, I don’t know.

That would be absolutely perfect but unfortunately with the injuries we coped to good users of the ball we really need Zorko out there.

I wonder if that means he would also be expected to play in the VFL to make up his weekly game time to maintain fitness etc.

Gold Coast Titans coach Des Hasler with a gargantuan spray of his players.

Maybe this is what our coach needs to do 3KZ?

Warning- If offended by graphic foul language do not watch.

season 7 my ears GIF

On a serious note, this sort of coaching doesn’t work in the modern age anymore and Outf prefer Fages continue preaching his message effectively, wouldn’t be surprised if Hasler gets sacked without success up on the Goldie.

Reminds me of Eade 2.0 when he was coaching the Suns honestly.

Gold Coast Titans coach Des Hasler with a gargantuan spray of his players.

Maybe this is what our coach needs to do 3KZ?

Warning- If offended by graphic foul language do not watch.

This is parody surely.

Never even worked much back in my day except if someone who rarely gave a spray opened up and went off you tended to listen.

You can give the players a spray without the language , there are ways of doing it.

season 7 my ears GIF

On a serious note, this sort of coaching doesn’t work in the modern age anymore and Outf prefer Fages continue preaching his message effectively, wouldn’t be surprised if Hasler gets sacked without success up on the Goldie.

Reminds me of Eade 2.0 when he was coaching the Suns honestly.
Rugby League teams on the Gold Coast have been an absolute disaster. Chargers, Titans, Seagulls, Giants, Gladiators.

This is parody surely.

Never even worked much back in my day except if someone who rarely gave a spray opened up and went off you tended to listen.

You can give the players a spray without the language , there are ways of doing it.
I'm pretty sure it is fair dinkum, it was huge news in the Rugby League media at the time.

Coach Fages and the coaching group