Fat Pizza

Feb 1, 2001
Fitzroy
Gold Coast
Fitzroy
What was Fitzroy coach, Robert Shaw’s first reaction, when he saw Brad Boyd, after Boyd had torn a hamstring in just his second senior game for Fitzroy?

g'day fp Jeez this is ahard 1 i dont know much but what i do is that boyd was recruited from bundoora to Collingwood,and played in the pies researves and captained the under 19s i think.when he was 19 he played the resarves there andsuffed two stress fractures in the lower back wich gave to nerve probs then he had related hams and groins and the end of 1991 was traded to Fitzroy. i never saw the second game he played as was not there because of work and would say he had just as many injuries at collingwood under another coach,can i have half a point lol

No real idea but I'll go with : "Arrr, who's the skinny kid who's just done his hammy???"

We're getting some interesting insights into people's perceptions of Robert Shaw's psyche. He didn't brush it off with "this boy has no luck" & he didn't threaten to never play Boyd again. His initial comment was somewhere in between those two responses, but he also combined it with a physical action, which stunned the young player. Keep trying.

Shawy probably told him he'd never play again while he was coach.

But i really have no idea, Tim the Toolman may be the person to ask.

Forget that. We gave Shawy a very wide berth in my days there. He was psycho! Your best mate one day and then wanting to smack you the next.

He was probably wrapped with Boydy, only to be pissed off that he did it and then the next day forgave him etc...? :rolleyes:

Ok FP this is a tough one but I have asked some people who may or should know and they tell me that it may have something to do with taking a screen out to put around him and shooting him??

Very tough and lacking in taste I know but I am told this may have been his reference to when a horse breaks down......and apparently his sense of humor??!!:)

Ok FP this is a tough one but I have asked some people who may or should know and they tell me that it may have something to do with taking a screen out to put around him and shooting him??

Very tough and lacking in taste I know but I am told this may have been his reference to when a horse breaks down......and apparently his sense of humor??!!:)
The version I have came from Boyd himself & he didn't mention anything about a screen or a shooting. It involved Shaw throwing something at him.

He threw a cup of coffee at Boyd and asked what sort of dud player Collingwood had traded to the Roys.

Dog act from Shaw, i'm not sure what benefit that sort of action has on a team/player. Perhaps that is why he had such atrocious results with the Roys and Adelaide.

I think you are being too harsh on Shaw. Considering the resources he had to work with, his teams performed remarkably well for Fitzroy. His style obviously upset some players & hastened their exit from the club. Others responded well to him & led the team to some wonderful victories. I think some players performed better in an effort to prove Shaw wrong, if he had indicated he thought they were lacking in some areas, particularly courage. His tactics on gamedays were usually better than the opposition coaches as well.

I don't know whether that early confrontation with Shaw helped or hindered Boyd's development, but he ended up being an excellent player for Fitzroy. He really stepped up a notch, after he convinced Shaw to play him on the ball.

Fitzroy were unlucky not to make the finals in 1993 and Shaw had the team playing very good football. That was one of the most even years in football - we finished 10th in a 15 team competition, 2 games out of the 8 and 3 games from top spot! We lost a couple of games by a kick or less, and also had P.Roos out injured for a month (which saw us have a mid-season slump). Had we made the finals that year, it would not have been outside of the team's capacity to win against the other teams that made it (with the possible exception of Carlton, who I think had our measure and I would regard as having been the best side that year - unlucky not to win the flag).

As FP has pointed out, Shaw got the best out of many players and maintained a sense of urgency in the team's performance. It was not his fault that the club was unable to compete financially to retain its star players. Had we been able to keep them, I am sure that we would have been a force to be reckoned with in 1994-1996.

Hopefully the coffee wasn't that hot. Shaw was certainly passionate, but I don't think he was totally crazy.

I can't imagine that his ranting and raving would be any different to various occasions of the same by the likes of Malthouse, Matthews, Sheedy, Eade and so on.

He has obviously been thought of well enough to still be involved in coaching, as well.

I can't imagine that his ranting and raving would be any different to various occasions of the same by the likes of Malthouse, Matthews, Sheedy, Eade and so on.

He has obviously been thought of well enough to still be involved in coaching, as well.

Well, if we're talking crazy, I think that argument begins and ends with Robert Walls. Decent coach for the Roys, in so far as he got results for us during his time, and if memory serves, a solid player for us before that, but the guy is certainly a couple of cans short of a 6-pack.

Look at the depths of insanity he reached at the Bears, for instance...

I like Wallsy. I guess his tenure at the Bears was a bit Kurtz-esque. But then again, I like that sort of shit. M.Blight's time with the Crows was a bit Kurtz-esque as well. :thumbsu:

I have nothing but respect for Walls and Blight. Both are straight shooters with a hint of nutcase about them. I wish Blight called footy more, he's great to listen to, especially when he's angry!

Why's that Stocka... are you thinking he could've sent Michael Corleone to 'whack' Oakley for us? ;)

Fat Pizza's Trivia Question #418