Wild Kangaroo

Apr 26, 2003
Fitzroy, AS Roma, Italy, Melb Storm
What is it with Gumboot Fevola. He seems to always play well agianst us, 17 goals in 3 games. Did we wrong him once? Was he training with us at one stage???

And players, like Fat Farm Whittnal bobs up.

Im glad we won today. But Seriously we should've put Carlton, who in all honsety are a rabble, still, away.

Don't take too much away from Carlton (except that aboriginal number 8 ... forget his name) they played extremely well and would have contested most teams in the league with that show. De Luca looks an AFL natural, Kenna can play, Scotland looked all class and Fevola should kick 80 goals this season. There ois more to a list than just comparing names.

That said, after dropping some close ones and missing the finals last year, to win one is certainly a great feeling.

take nothing away from fevola he could of kicked more but carlton do not honor his leads, and he plays well against other teams.

heres one:

how do you think we are gonna go against other strong leading forwards?
ie nietz, gehrig type players

Not having a stab at Shannon Watt he is doing the job at fullback, but he can only do it one-on-one!! anytime fevola got a kick he was coming off a lead and watt was 5m behind why not stand 5 m infront of fevola and when he goes to lead cut him off! Watt has the size to go back with the flight of a pack and bust it open. i dunno wat game u were watching mighty mick they kicked everything to him on the lead

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
Don't take too much away from Carlton (except that aboriginal number 8 ... forget his name) they played extremely well and would have contested most teams in the league with that show. De Luca looks an AFL natural, Kenna can play, Scotland looked all class and Fevola should kick 80 goals this season. There ois more to a list than just comparing names.

That said, after dropping some close ones and missing the finals last year, to win one is certainly a great feeling.

True PetrieDish. I dont doubt you. It was a great game today, we shouldve put them away. To their credit, they played well and did hit us hard. Theyll win their fair share of matches, and would be good to seem them knock th Bombers over next week.

Oh by the way that aboriginal number 8, not a bad player is he ;)

Originally posted by Wicko26
Not having a stab at Shannon Watt he is doing the job at fullback, but he can only do it one-on-one!! anytime fevola got a kick he was coming off a lead and watt was 5m behind why not stand 5 m infront of fevola and when he goes to lead cut him off! Watt has the size to go back with the flight of a pack and bust it open. i dunno wat game u were watching mighty mick they kicked everything to him on the lead

I thought Watt was ok. Fevola was just brilliant. Watt is quick, but Fevola worked hard to lead hard, held his marks, and kicked well.

I don't think any fullback could have done better. Watt needed someone to drop in to the space in front (eg Porter).

Playing 5 metres in front is difficult - the kick could just go over his head, and it's hard to follow him if he decides to double back, or change the direction of the lead.

I agree watt did play well but when the ball is in the center square and watt was side by side with fevola and the ball was won by carlton fevola had 3 or 4 steps on watt before he reacted and when the ball was on the rebound watt should have anticipated the lead, But hey he is putting his hand up and saying he wants to play key position and i give him credit and the best of luck and belive he can be one of the better full backs

We looked better when Porter was on - either in the backline himself, or allowing Brown to drop back.

Watt was ordinary at times, but Lee Harvey Oswald couldn't have stopped Fevola on a couple of those leads, and Sideshow definitely had his kicking boots on today.

Originally posted by Darky
Watt was ordinary at times, but Lee Harvey Oswald couldn't have stopped Fevola on a couple of those leads,

How about Mark Chapman?

I would say just about all of Fevolas marks were from leads into alot of space, 50+ meters away from goal, and the passes were right on the money.

Very, Very few full backs could stop Fevola in those situations.

Having said that Watt is still an average FB. He hasnt improved this year IMO, but he's still our best option.

was not having a go at fevola i was actually paying him a compliment as i do know he is a highly dangerous player, i was questioning norths defence on strong leading forwards:confused:

and i didnt mention watt in my post either, you brought that up

I don't think many teams could have stopped Fevola. Forget his off field reputation - this guy leads strongly, can hold out his opponent, and he's a very good kick. He just happens to be the latest successful Pagan ressurection job.

He got his goals on the lead and I doubt that many fullbacks could have stopped him. But what was interesting is that 12 months ago in the game at Docklands, Fevola wasn't just getting goals on the lead, but he was getting them in open play- I don't think he got any goals from open play today.

Another interesting tidbit I took notice of what that Fevola kicked almost all of his goals from on or outside 50, and a couple from the pockets. Credit for Watt for getting him out wide/so far up the ground, but this bloke is just a brilliant kick of the footy. He can dob it with ease anywhere inside 60 metres.

Originally posted by speedy
I would say just about all of Fevolas marks were from leads into alot of space, 50+ meters away from goal, and the passes were right on the money.

Very, Very few full backs could stop Fevola in those situations.

Having said that Watt is still an average FB. He hasnt improved this year IMO, but he's still our best option.

Spot on (on all three points). Don't remember Fevola taking a pack mark, but killed Watt on the lead.

Spoken like someone who has never played football. :p

If you are standing in front of Fevola which way are you facing? Facing him or facing the ball? If you are facing him you can not read the play and have to turn as soon as he does which leaves you vulnerable to a switch. It makes you look like a real donkey when you go one way, don't know where the ball is and find out he has switched on a lead to the other side of the ground.

If you are not facing him you do not know which way he is going to lead, that 5m can become more a penalty than a benefit.

Fevola is quick off the lead and the delivery to him was very good in the second half. We have professional coaches there teaching Watt the right way to approach the football and his defensive work.

The best way to shut him down is to be on top in the midfield or at least put more pressure on the delivery like we did in the first half.

Four goals is not a thrashing.

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
Another interesting tidbit I took notice of what that Fevola kicked almost all of his goals from on or outside 50, and a couple from the pockets. Credit for Watt for getting him out wide/so far up the ground, but this bloke is just a brilliant kick of the footy. He can dob it with ease anywhere inside 60 metres.

It is a dangerous game to play against Fevola, and the tactic cost us quite a few goals, and quite probably 4 points this time last year.

Still, I would have given Fevola 4 at the start of the game, I'm pleased that he was not more of an influence.

Moomba

Originally posted by Wild Kangaroo
What is it with Gumboot Fevola. He seems to always play well agianst us, 17 goals in 3 games. Did we wrong him once? Was he training with us at one stage???

And players, like Fat Farm Whittnal bobs up.

Im glad we won today. But Seriously we should've put Carlton, who in all honsety are a rabble, still, away.

What I meant by this comment, is why, and not only Carlton today, do average players play well against us. We dont man up and it has been happening for years, when this happens we get killed by the running players, like we did today. Houlihan is a good player, but made him look like a star today, same as Boywer, De Luca who probably wont play a standout game till he plays against us again, In all honesty, like I said We shouldve put Carlton away, but to their credit they were really good today, and have improved a hell of alot on the last few years. Play like that
Aganst the Lions, wouldve got smashed.

Couldve done with Sav Rocca today would've stretched their defence, possibly Harding.

You have at our midfield, Simmo, Shagga, and Boomer, up there with the best of them and we again almost got run off our legs.

We now have 8 days to recover, and prepare for the Swans ( who won by a goal) Against Geelong. That will be a great test to see were we are really at.

All in all, It was great to have a win. But just cant keep playing like that.

Ps. 1 - How good is Harris going to be, getting better week by week

2 - Corey Jones ( Sign him up quick, only on 1 year contract) debating whether to put his #21 or Wells #8 on my guernsey

;)

Watt's reaction time seems to be his downfall, he looked surprised at times when fevola took off on a lead.

Mick Martyn often stood in front of the full forward with success. He would stand side on and watch the opposition player.

Maybe Watt should harrass the full forward more. Stand right on their front shoulder and lean into the them. This should effectively cut off one direction they can lead in (or at least lessen the head start they get).

Originally posted by Tas

If you are standing in front of Fevola which way are you facing? Facing him or facing the ball? If you are facing him you can not read the play and have to turn as soon as he does which leaves you vulnerable to a switch. It makes you look like a real donkey when you go one way, don't know where the ball is and find out he has switched on a lead to the other side of the ground.

If you are not facing him you do not know which way he is going to lead, that 5m can become more a penalty than a benefit.

Fevola is quick off the lead and the delivery to him was very good in the second half. We have professional coaches there teaching Watt the right way to approach the football and his defensive work.

The best way to shut him down is to be on top in the midfield or at least put more pressure on the delivery like we did in the first half.

I agree with most of what you have said there Tas and yes I have played football for over 20 years. ;)
The problem I have with Watt is that he knew that Fevola was going to lead at every occasion yet waited until Fevola led before he took off. Fevola is too fast for anyone to catch so this tactic wont work. He should have worked out that he was getting beaten then try something else. Too often he stands next to Fevola without touching him. He should stand with a shoulder in front of him with his arm touching him. This way he can look up and actually read the play yet still know exactly where his opponent is by feeling him. Silvagni was a master at this. If this doesn't work then you can try a moving approach where you are not standing flat footed. You take the center space so your opponent must lead to a pocket. You are just enough in front of your man so when he goes you are on the move and already in front. He may be closer to the pocket then you but you can still cut off the lead because you are in front.
Then if nothing is working you can try and play football. Read the play, try and make the play yourself. You can see an onballer running out of the middle so don't just stand there take off.

Basicaly I think Watt will struggle against real fullforwards because he doesn't seem to know how to play the position.

Four goals is not a thrashing but 10 marks is.
Watt was killed.

Re: Re: Fevola..Why Why?

Originally posted by Wild Kangaroo
What I meant by this comment, is why, and not only Carlton today, do average players play well against us.

Haha. Are you calling Fevola an average player? I remember you last year after Round 8, showed hardly any respect to Fevola. He's one of the best full-forwards in the league. So far he's kicked 3, 5 and 4... two of those games he missed a few shots that's bread and butter to him.

same as Boywer, De Luca who probably wont play a standout game till he plays against us again,

Bowyer didn't play? I think you meant Teague... and I reckon you're not giving enough credit to Delcua. You're just upset that he played well against you... played only three games and he's shown that he CAN play. Why do you assume that he'll only play a stand-out game agisnt the Roos? Utter nonsense.

In all honesty, like I said We shouldve put Carlton away,

Could've, would've, should've - didn't. Fevola could've kicked the sealer, Stevens would've kicked the sealer, the umpire should've had a ball up. Didn't win.

In the end, you look back and both teams had opportunties to win the game. Carlton didn't take theirs, Kanags didn't either - but they were lucky to get that free kick. Obviously was a 50/50 decision.

Play like that
Aganst the Lions, wouldve got smashed.

We've been very competitive against them in 2002 where we almost wo nup at the Gabba (thanks Headland for winning it for Brissie) and last year we were really good against them for a half. Apart from last year's game, we have a good record against them. Seem to match up on them well, just like the Dons.

Couldve done with Sav Rocca today would've stretched their defence, possibly Harding.

Could've done with Kouta yesterday. Would've stretched their midfield or neagted Petrie to an extent. Didn't.

We managed to get on top one of the better midfields in the competition. Forget Essendon and Hird, the Kangaroo's midfield are better than them, your whole team is better. You've been in better form and since we got so close to beating you, I reckon we can beat Essendon on Friday. Hird or no Hird. Thronton has a very good record on Lloyd.

Besides Hird, who have they got? Bannister may have another job ahead of him. And for god's sake Wild Kangaroo, please show us more respect - especially Fevola. He kicked 63 goals last year with the least forward 50 entries in the worst midfield.

He will do better this year, as form currently shows.

Originally posted by fusion
I thought Watt was ok. Fevola was just brilliant. Watt is quick, but Fevola worked hard to lead hard, held his marks, and kicked well.

I don't think any fullback could have done better. Watt needed someone to drop in to the space in front (eg Porter).

Playing 5 metres in front is difficult - the kick could just go over his head, and it's hard to follow him if he decides to double back, or change the direction of the lead.

Mick Martyn would have done better. He would have played in front and ensured the Full Forward did not get away from him like Watt did today.

Fevola is not that tall and he is not as good overhead as he is on a lead. He has tremendous speed over the first 5-10 meters which is what makes him a good FF. I think Watts speed is more over 100m than off the mark speed.

Watt does not seem to have the ability to read the play well enough to play from behind. He needs to get in front of Fevola and other leading forwards if he is to be successful. He was great against Thompson last week, but needs to learn how to play different types of full forwards.

I actually thought he played btter in the game where Fevola kicked 9 goals last season than he did today.

Originally posted by racehorse27
Maybe Watt should harrass the full forward more. Stand right on their front shoulder and lean into the them. This should effectively cut off one direction they can lead in (or at least lessen the head start they get).

Yes!

Watt needs to get on the angry pills. Perhaps Arch can take him out to the pub one night and explain to him aout hating your opponent.

Firrito and Rawlings have certainly been to the Glenn Archer school of hating your opponent. Rawlings was niggling at Campo all day and Firrito just shows complete disrespect for the opposition .... LOVE IT!!

Originally posted by Tas

I agree. As a backman you can feel very powerless if your opponent is so quick and the delivery is good. All you can do is hope to force a contest. I don't think Fevola took a pack mark - they were mainly in space, away from goal. Rocca and Fevola have the ability to kick them from anywhere, so they can afford to lead so far out. There is a lot of space once you get to the 50 m line.

Fevola was mainly leading wide - his kicking was exceptional.

Look at the likes of Scarlett. Pretty much does the same as Watt, only reads it a little better. Mick could get away with it back in the day because a) the pace of the game was slower, b) the kicking skills were not as good overall, and c) the forwards were not as athletic.

He will be OK, but eventually, I would like someone else there and Watt at CHB.

Fevola..Why Why?