Portfolio Footy Logos (by Costa fc)

Costa fc

Jan 19, 2010
Hi all. Thought I'd start a thread with some new designs I've been scratching up. Always love hearing all your feedback.

brisbane-bronco.jpg

Brisbane Broncos
The current logo feels a bit stale to me. Wanted to lighten it up and inject some energy. Which one's better - shield or no shield?

broncos-brisbane.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/new-brisbane-bronco-logo-nrl

carlton-football.jpg

Tried to create something that's bolder and has more presence than the current design yet still feels historic.

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/new-carlton-football-logo-afl

richmond-tigers-fc.jpg

I also redid the face of my Richmond logo to add a bit more fierceness.

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/richmond-tigers-football-club-afl

Got more to come soon. If anyone would like to leave their comments on my website I'd really appreciate it. :thumbsu:

Re: Costa footy logos

I'm not sure, your both great designers. Your logos just remind me of his.

Fan of your work, I am, as always.

One criticism is the ear of the Bronco. It looks like a horn, so perhaps changing the size or positioning will stop it looking like a unicorn? A great logo, nonetheless.

Fan of your work, I am, as always.

One criticism is the ear of the Bronco. It looks like a horn, so perhaps changing the size or positioning will stop it looking like a unicorn? A great logo, nonetheless.

Hey that's a good call. I'll spruce it up!

Hi all. Thought I'd start a thread with some new designs I've been scratching up. Always love hearing all your feedback.

brisbane-bronco.jpg

Brisbane Broncos
The current logo feels a bit stale to me. Wanted to lighten it up and inject some energy. Which one's better - shield or no shield?

broncos-brisbane.jpg

Looks a lot better with the shield IMO.

carlton-football.jpg

Tried to create something that's bolder and has more presence than the current design yet still feels historic.?

It looks good but the monogram looks a bit Squashed.

Are you Brothashane88 ?

Hes not shane. Why are you using your old account now?

The Broncos logo with the shield is the better logo. Probably the dark background that the Bronco is on makes it show up more. One thing, wasn't the Bronco white in the first place. This Bronco may look better in white. Maroon shield, Gold outline of the shield and White Bronco.

The Carlton logo is to much like the Carlton jumper logo of the 1970's. I don't think they will go back to it. The current logo was modified to look better on the jumper when the actual logo was printed on the jumper. The current logo needs to be place on a shield or a football. The navy blue background does nothing.

Hey guys, knocked out a couple of new logos the other day. Always interested in hearing your take on my stuff – the feedback's always really constructive.

Essendon Bombers

Wanted a plane that's fast, sleek, but not militaristic. Think it's important that it's also flying up as per the club song:

essendon-fc.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/essendon-fc

Canberra Raiders

Went for something a bit more stylised than the current comic book illustration:

canberra-raiders_0.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/canberra-raiders

And from a little while back....

Melbourne Demons

Wanted something a bit bolder and less busy than their current design. Think the monogram would look strong on a New Era.

melbourne-football-club.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/melbourne-football-club

North Melbourne Kangaroos / Perth Reds

Shield for the Kangas doubling up as a reincarnation of WA's RL franchise. Think the current Kangaroos emblem is a bit blocky. Wanted something that captures a smooth bounding motion.

north-melbourne-football-club.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/north-melbourne-football-club

perth-rugby-league.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/perth-rugby-league

Sydney Swans

Like the current logo, but experimented with something a bit more 3D and dramatic.

sydney-swans.jpg

More:
http://www.costasportslogos.com/content/sydney-swans-afl

Apologies for being a bit slack with new stuff lately, hope to step things up a little and hang out here a bit more. Cheers again. Feel free to drop a comment on my site.

Very nice. I like the Raiders one, and I'm not sure if it's intentional, but the curved head almost makes the white/blue/yellow look like chevrons. Nice touch if so ;)

Now do a new Port logo ;)

Very nice. I like the Raiders one, and I'm not sure if it's intentional, but the curved head almost makes the white/blue/yellow look like chevrons. Nice touch if so ;)

Now do a new Port logo ;)
Cheers Stormageddon. Absolutely unintentional, but I'll take it ;)

Thought about Port. Reckon they need something that speaks to the heritage of their club.

You should keep thinking about it, Port are in absolute dire need of a new one.

Like them all, great job mate :thumbsu: but I feel that I've seen that Sydney one somewhere before..?

I'm not sure it just seems familiar.

lmach did a similar Swans logo a little while back.

On the Essendon logo, I think the monogram could be a little bit smaller, just to keep things from getting too clogged up. Other then that, they're all great pieces of work.

Cool, I'll have to check it out. Had that Swan hanging around on my site since June.

Fair call on the monogram. My only concern would be that when you shrink the logo down for a newspaper etc would that detail start start to disappear?

Amazing work as usual, especially the Swans one. Here's mine from LOTW last year.

21an6ro.png

Safe to say you pulled off the concept a thousand times better than I did.

Amazing work as usual, especially the Swans one. Here's mine from LOTW last year.

21an6ro.png

Safe to say you pulled off the concept a thousand times better than I did.
Thanks man. Guess we're on the same wavelength!

I got the basic idea for mine from the Vietnamese Swans Jumper. Really dig the silhouette:

untitled18.jpg

Also in the early 80s the WA Origin side was using a design very similar to the JAL logo. Thought it had a nice symmetry.:

images

I love your logos, costa. They all look so bold and brilliant. Though the melbourne one doesn't grab me so much. Maybe because I am so used to crazy melbourne logo that this one looks a bit bland and blockly.

Portfolio Footy Logos (by Costa fc)