auste1234

Jul 24, 2003
Anything from WA
Some of his best work yet. I reckon what he said at about 10:50pm was some of the most intelligent things i have seen lately.

He was spot on the money, and hopefully CC was watching it, i am surprised we didnt feature in the chipy chipy sideways backwards play.

At the end of the day he was dead right, and i applaud him!
We have the list, especially Kpp's in the forward line so hopefully last week wasn't a once off!

Well done sam! :)

Dutchey said:
You can't be serious ?

The bloke is a tool.

I haven't watched that crap show for 7 years but I'd bet John Newman hasn't changed one bit.

He was also a very good player and knows a lot about the game. Aside from playing the fool he is capable of making very insightful comments about football and how it should be played.

Sammy's spot on ..

This chippinmg around game that we are seeing (not only from Freo, but heaps of other sides) is boring, and takes stops the game from becoming a spectactle.
Makes it look like everybody is playing keepings-off

Are you referring to him talking about premiership teams being the type of teams that kick long and direct into the square? And not teams that chip the ball around like Sydney?

He said alot of very good things.... Like he does every now and then, but is overlooked a lot of times.

He said this chipy chipy possesion football is killing the game. Handpassing, kicking backwards,sideways, running around in circles getting cheap kicks, he showed about 30 different occasions it happened. A bit like we play/ used to play ;)

He said gameplans and the game itself is over analized, and players are afraid to play real football, and thats kick to a one on one. If someone isnt free and has nobody within 30m then don't kick it to him, instead they go sideways, backwards. Once again, abit, ahh, who am i kidding, alot like we play.

Of course he said the only team that doesnt play this BS style are the brissy lions, who just happen to have someone down there, but so does every side, it's just flooding doesnt give them a chance.

You had to see it i guess, but the man was spot on!

Hopefully CC was watching, and we will continue the same sort of gameplan as the weekend, on a permenant basis

Well you're always going to have coaches who have young underdeveloped players in their team that would get creamed if a game was played in that manner. Then guys like Rodney Eade come around and alter the way the game is played in order to make their teams competitive in games. You can understand why they do it, but at the same time it does make the game an ugly spectacle.

As mentioned we're as guilty of it as anyone. Coaches will adapt quarter by quarter to using this style if needed to get them or keep them in the game. It's not going to stop!

auste1234 said:
He said alot of very good things.... Like he does every now and then, but is overlooked a lot of times.

He said this chipy chipy possesion football is killing the game. Handpassing, kicking backwards,sideways, running around in circles getting cheap kicks, he showed about 30 different occasions it happened. A bit like we play/ used to play ;)

He said gameplans and the game itself is over analized, and players are afraid to play real football, and thats kick to a one on one. If someone isnt free and has nobody within 30m then don't kick it to him, instead they go sideways, backwards. Once again, abit, ahh, who am i kidding, alot like we play.

Of course he said the only team that doesnt play this BS style are the brissy lions, who just happen to have someone down there, but so does every side, it's just flooding doesnt give them a chance.

You had to see it i guess, but the man was spot on!

Hopefully CC was watching, and we will continue the same sort of gameplan as the weekend, on a permenant basis

Raved on and on about Jonathon Brown being the only man to stand up and take on his opponents in a forward line with his team kicking long and direct to him.
Must have missed Luke McPharlins performance on the weekend.

dockertor said:
Raved on and on about Jonathon Brown being the only man to stand up and take on his opponents in a forward line with his team kicking long and direct to him.
Must have missed Luke McPharlins performance on the weekend.
Yeah, I would have been more convinced about his argument if he had given a bit of credit to both Melbourne and Freo in last weekend's game.

Part of his argument was that many, or even most, of the teams in the AFL have big blokes in the forward line, and you have to have faith in them. He did single Brown out, but only to say that he didn't think that there was anything that special about Brown that meant that Brisbane were the only team who should play that way.

We are definitely one of the teams who have the cattle that we can play direct more often than we have in the past. I don't know that I agree with him that all the teams in the AFL would be better off without the chippy-chippy, but I will agree that it would be better in our case. Direct football should be the rule, not the exception.

He did mention Pav in the list of other players who should be "played through" like Brown was. Half of the problem is upfield players/coaching staff not having the confidence in the forwards, the other half is the forwards not having the arrogance to demand the ball.

Pav has been doing this for the past few weeks. McPharlin did it for the first half last week, we need to continue to do this, and have Murphy/Johnson/etc continue it into the next few years.

But, the fact is, at the moment, possession type footy does work most of the time. ANd notice that most of the examples shown had Adelaide in them? Between the Cows, Power, Bulldogs and Swans, the 30-80m flood (all players 30-80m from the ball at almost all times) makes the possession/sideways/switching game nearly essential, because even Pav, Brown, Reiwoldt etc at their best won't outmark 3 opposing players more than 20% of the time.

Footy show - Sam Newman