Review Fremantle Contest a Game in South Australia

Carlton peeps, come on, no one on here wants your advice, stay out

Edit: holy **** Carlton people, how can you think anyone here wants your input on umpires or anything to do with the game. Stay out or get pointed

I don’t want it to be seen as taking a potshot at the guy, I’ve said a 3rd game McPharlin wouldn’t stand a chance in that situation but if you watch the replay look for how many 1v1 contests he even halved.

Not his fault but we win the game with Cox or McDonald comfortably IMO

I think it was Schofield that said at such a crucial point of the game Moose should have been moved onto Curnow for the last 5 minutes.

Yeah, I’m sure Carlton didn’t make it easy either and made sure Draper was in as many 1v1s as possible because it’s a free win

You're very engaged with taking an oppositional stance on a Freo player, aren't you?
no jsut dont like people building a hastred for others with no substance to their claims.

If the proof is out there, then we should see it/ hear it.

But until then i will withhold joining the bandwagon of hatred towards the umpires and the AFL in general

no jsut dont like people building a hastred for others with no substance to their claims.

But until then i will withhold joining the bandwagon of hatred towards the umpires and the AFL in general
I think the issue people have is that, rather than refusing to join a dogpile bandwagon, you seem to be forming your own pre-judgements. Jordan Clark and Alex Pearce have said that the umps didn't know what was said. So when you say this:
Where is the AFL statement that umpires did not hear the dissent , this seems to being reported in various media outlets but no official statements from the umpires. Watching the video replay of the event, there is no way the umpire did not hear jordan. they were very close, and even players further from Jordan than the umpire, quickly came to Jordan to calm him down. So they all heard it.
You are ostensibly taking the AFL's word over our captain's and another key player's in the absence of hard evidence either way. You're saying you don't believe their version of events (opening the door to the insinuation that you're calling them liars). That's far from the neutral "let's withhold judgement" stance you're claiming that you're taking.

What a joke of a competition.
mate I dont even Bother....

There is a difference Between West coast and freo when it comes to the AFL.

West coast can complain about the injustice they get to the AFL. But in the end AFL wont do anything.

Fremantle, we wont bother complaining to the AFL because the AFL will do nothing.

Just confirms you better put money on Carlton for the flag.

I think the issue people have is that, rather than refusing to join a dogpile bandwagon, you seem to be forming your own pre-judgements. Jordan Clark and Alex Pearce have said that the umps didn't know what was said. So when you say this:

You are ostensibly taking the AFL's word over our captain's and another key player's in the absence of hard evidence either way. You're saying you don't believe their version of events (opening the door to the insinuation that you're calling them liars). That's far from the neutral "let's withhold judgement" stance you're claiming that you're taking.
No i havent seen the statements from either of them.

so if there are statements from then. please provide the link.

Simple....

One issue in the dissent free kick. From what I can see the closest player when the offense occurred was Fogarty not Kennedy. I think the umpire looked up and saw Kennedys number whereas Fogarty was more side-on but appeared a meter of two closer. I am not suggesting Fogarty would have missed from that spot, however it harkens back to that loss we had to them after the siren with the out of bounds on the full. That time was a much more blatant mistake. Maybe they need to review these instances as there is often a lot going on at once.

No i havent seen the statements from either of them.

so if there are statements from then. please provide the link.

Simple....
Wait my bad, it appears only Pearce made the claim. Directly from Pearce:

“I chatted to the umpire straight afterwards and he didn’t hear what he said either, it was just the way it was said,” Pearce told reporters on Monday.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/freman...ent-free-kick-against-jordan-clark-c-14236335 (interview available on Freo's youtube channel)

Indirectly/spoken through the journos:

This was Jon Ralph covering what Jordan Clark claimed he said "you fing idiot Jordan" (I think first reported in The West). The added part at the end about the umps not knowing what was said came from Pearce as well. So that was through the press on Sunday, and then today from Pearce's mouth himself the claim that the ump didn't hear what was said either.

One issue in the dissent free kick. From what I can see the closest player when the offense occurred was Fogarty not Kennedy. I think the umpire looked up and saw Kennedys number whereas Fogarty was more side-on but appeared a meter of two closer. I am not suggesting Fogarty would have missed from that spot, however it harkens back to that loss we had to them after the siren with the out of bounds on the full. That time was a much more blatant mistake. Maybe they need to review these instances as there is often a lot going on at once.
Also has anyone commented on the incident when Tabs had marked on the wing and umpires brought it back because a free was paid, surely we were allowed to play on to advantage ( i think it was Cotteral in the first quarter got to play on when every one had stopped and kicked a goal)

What redeeming features makes you a fan of a corrupt comp like the AFL.

I reckon the silver lining is we’re getting the rub of the green for a while.
200.gif

What would happen if this was a grand final?

The AFL need a policy for these exact issues - it's why the score review was created.

There needs to be a fix here and not another AFL heads in the sand moment.

What shits me is that nobody is addressing Moose's comment about the ump not actually hearing it. That to me is extremely egregious and the AFL world should be up in arms about an umpire paying the free kick on what he thought and not on what actually happened.

Thanks for putting this up.

Most of it was decent discussion. I just hate when Robbo refers to 120 years of decisions and no technology etc. Well times have changed you buffoon. We have the technology now. Use it!

That was the only real dumb part he said.

Robbo also criticises Jackson and says 'hit it to the boundary instead'. They guy is so slow of mind that he doesn't realise they are in the middle of the ground.

Also - Whately says they didn't have vision on the day. They did. You could see on the call, and the commentators noticed it, that the delts moved as the ball went past.

If these guys are going to give expert comment, at least know what you are talking about.

Robbo also criticises Jackson and says 'hit it to the boundary instead'. They guy is so slow of mind that he doesn't realise they are in the middle of the ground.

Also - Whately says they didn't have vision on the day. They did. You could see on the call, and the commentators noticed it, that the delts moved as the ball went past.

If these guys are going to give expert comment, at least know what you are talking about.
If it had been a non call against Essendon, Robbo would be frothing at the mouth about how outrageous the system was and how the umpires were at fault. Same with Whutley Mutley, if the call had been a non call against Geebung Handbaggers, Gewawd Whatleee would be all up in arms about how umpires need more training and how unfairly Geelong are treated.

I'm sure you're going to make a real difference. Your efforts seem more directed at prosecuting Clark though. Although it does beg the question if there's a supporters of Umpires/AFL executives Big Footy forum.

Review Fremantle Contest a Game in South Australia