Autopsy Freo Lose To North at Home

Yeah this is really annoying about Darcy.

He's one of the few guys in the team who can hoof it 60m but he never pulls the trigger on it.

Think he did it a couple of times last season. One against St Kilda at Marvel.

He chased a North mid down late in the game. Was it LDU? His effort is there, just making some bad decisions and giving away a few free kicks too.

When he was deeper in the forward 50m it seemed like our other tall forwards were the opponents he had to try and mark against as much as competing against the North defenders.

I’m not going to go on about our entries to the fwd line, or the inability to grab the footy.

My concern is the midfield and why Brodie our inside mid bull had so little CBA’s and when he did was effective, and the Serong who had lots of CBA’s and was ineffective.

We haven’t got our mid rotations right and til we do it’s gunna look like shitte.

Just my opinion.

Honestly we look overcoached

I watched Jackson pretty close and there was 1/2 a dozen times where he should have been breaking out of his running patterns to react to the ball but he just kept his head down motoring along to get to where he was ‘ supposed’ to be

I’ve played a lot of footy and watched it all my life and I’ve never really seen anything like it

I know AFL is a very structured version of the game but that was alarming too see

Last year when someone did well or kicked a goal there were 6 blokes there in a flash getting around them …. this year it seems a lot less joyful out there

That’s why I’m out. I said it last year and they sucked me back in. This time I’m done. Will watch with some interest, but no emotional investment. Maybe I’m a fair weather supporter - but I reckon not.

See ya round peoples! Might pop in to say gday here and there, but won’t be a regular. Anyone wanna catch up for a natter, send me a DM. 👍🏼

Freo forever, eh! 💜
homer simpson GIF

That was surreal. I knew in the first 10 minutes we were going to lose and haven't had that feeling for ages.
I thought one thing I could count on with this group is to have a crack. They were pathetic, utterly listless.

I haven't seen so many of our players so out of form, its just bizarre, however we trained in the pre-season it didn't work.

Darcy was awful, Jackson is pathetic, O'Meara is a spud, Brayshaw was making simple errors and he had become Mr Reliable.
Taberner is hopeless, Serong isn't being allowed to get near it. Whatever Brodie found last year he's lost it again.

ALL our players, ALL of them are afraid of kicking at goal. North kicked several from long range our guys don't even try to kick for goal close to or even inside 50.

Banfield and Hughes aren't good enough to be playing AFL. And how the hell can't Sam Sturt, an actual kicking forward not get a game?

We must start playing N'OD, Johnson, Sturt and Erasmus because this group is broken. JL just can't keep doubling down with the same crap gameplan and the same mediocre players.

Henry was good again and I thought Freddy at least dangerous at times. Switta was great in the middle.
"fast freddy" getting done by oppo ruckman - something wrong there

Longmuir twice said that he would 'guarantee' our round one woes of mid/forward connection would not occur again. I was pretty disappointed that no journo in the post match called him out on it.

I still think we have a good side (that won't play finals now) but there's no easy fix for our forward line until a marking forward develops on our list or is recruited.

We're currently 5th for average inside 50's in the league but 17th of inside 50/marks inside 50 conversion at 15% (Gold Coast after round one are 6.8%, Geelong are 31%). Opponents can go in with a fairly simple game plan of stacking our forward 50 because there's little threat of a contested mark to be conceded.

Taberner, Jackson, Darcy, Fyfe, Amiss & Treacy have combined for FOUR inside 50 marks from 118 entries... and a total of FOUR contested marks on all areas of the ground.

That's as bleak as you can get, but I don't to intend to put all of our failings on their inability to take a contested mark or break free from an opponent as most of our delivery has been trash.

I would play both Johnson & Erasmus. Erasmus is very fierce, he will hunt the ball at all costs, a clearance beast I reckon. Johnson is our Mundy replacement. We need some new blood, will badly miss NOD ,if there is one guy that can light up the place it's him, he doesn't shy away from having a crack at the goals. I would bring in Sturt. I would leave Hughes, Banfield, Shultz out, Fyfe & now Taberner are injured. Shultz just doesn't kick enough goals and for that matter nor does Frederick but he can be electrifying. Sturt looks to be a proper forward player who needs to be given another chance.
Drop Shulz?!

hes the only one out there that gives100% at every contest. After Lobb leaving he is now no1 goal kicker and you want him dropped?

There were 4 or 5 times the forward line got free and we missed them or took the wrong option.

Henry’s decision making is poor. Often takes the wrong option like kicking to a 2v1 with Schultz the one when people were open.

Not sure who missed Amiss when he was open on the lead.

The other big thing the forwards can't stand still. They have to get on the move.

Who are our crumbing small forwards?
Only Schultz? And Walters as a sub.

Switta and Frederick are quick, but don't offer much once the opposition get back.

There were 4 or 5 times the forward line got free and we missed them or took the wrong option.

Henry’s decision making is poor. Often takes the wrong option like kicking to a 2v1 with Schultz the one when people were open.

Not sure who missed Amiss when he was open on the lead.

The other big thing the forwards can't stand still. They have to get on the move.

Who are our crumbing small forwards?
Only Schultz? And Walters as a sub.

Switta and Frederick are quick, but don't offer much once the opposition get back.
Have said for years on here our small forwards arent good enough. Switta is a natural midfielder not a small forward.
Jaeger kicking 2 difficult (ish, by our standards anyway) set shots straight was an unexpected surprise and warrants further experimentation.

Disclaimer before I get in to this ... I am glad Norths won given how poorly Freo played. Freo did not deserve to salvage that game from a Free Kick after the siren. But ...

You can watch the last 2min replay and clearly see the ball crosses the line then bounces, then the siren sounds and then the Norths players start to celebrate. You can also clearly pause the video showing the ball over the boundary line prior to hearing the siren and seeing any celebration from North players.
I truly believe anybody being objective would admit the ball crossed the boundary line prior to the siren.

View attachment 1639815View attachment 1639817

Which then leads me to what I posted on the main Autoposy thread ...

It was the wrong decision by the umpires for the following reasons;
  • decisions can be made after the siren.
  • the siren went after the ball had crossed the boundary line.
  • it was clearly out of bounds intentionally.

Anybody who tries to argue that the decision must be made before the siren is wrong because if a player is having a set shot at goal after the siren and the opposition infringes on the mark, then a 50m penalty will be given ... after the siren.
The law states;
10.5 END OF QUARTER
(a) The end of a quarter occurs when any field Umpire or emergency Umpire first
hears the siren sounded by the Timekeepers to signal the end of a quarter.
The field Umpire shall acknowledge the siren and bring play to an end by blowing
a whistle and holding both arms above their head.
(b) For the avoidance of doubt, if immediately before hearing the siren to end a
quarter, a field Umpire is of the opinion that a Player should be awarded a Free
Kick or a Mark, the field Umpire shall signal that play has come to an end and then
award the Free Kick or Mark to the Player. A Free Kick will not be awarded where
the football has been kicked and, after the field Umpire has heard the siren,
lands Out of Bounds On the Full.

EDIT: personally, Freo did not deserve to win on that performance, but games should be umpired according to the rules and umpires should be aware of those rules.
The boundary umpire had fully raised his am as the siren went.
Clark shouldnt have kicked it to Ryan. If he as going to pass it off to anyone, should have hit up Willow who was standing on his own waving for the ball just beyond 50. He would have kicked something from 55, a point at least......

see now i think you are just trolling.....
2017, 1st in contested marks per game. 2019 first for contested marks per game. 2020 second for contested marks per game
I've made these arguments for Taberner here and elsewhere. But invariably with Tabs we end up having to use the "per game" stats.

This leads to one of the most critical stats for him, being availability. It's so crucial because of the type of forward he is and how that impacts forward line functioning.

Taberner is like the Gary Busey to Ben Brown's Nick Nolte. Similar lead and mark type forwards, who need a forward line to either be structured around them and/or time and capacity for them to sync with the dynamics of those around them. North shed Brown when his knees were impacting his availability. He still had the attributes to contribute what he had done seasons before, body permitting.

I always hoped Taberner would hit 25/26 and his injury issues would resolve, as they can do for big blokes, but his continuity seems as patchy as ever.

Drop Shulz?!

hes the only one out there that gives100% at every contest. After Lobb leaving he is now no1 goal kicker and you want him dropped?
We should absolutely drop Schulz. Along with Switta and Henry. What they provide does not outweigh the liabilities from being so small. We need more 185cm plus mids/flankers/wings. North had 14 and we had 8. Five in defence, Banfield and Hughes are WAFL level, and Brodie struggles to play 65% TOG (the lowest number for any midfielder in the league).

Need to bring all of Walker, O'Driscoll, Erasmus, Johnson, Sturt into the side and some shorter players have to make way. It might not help our physicality issue straight away, but is the only hope for the future.

Schultz and Switta are incredibly overrated by the coach and supporters. They might scrounge the odd goal by being little Aussie battlers, but they have no natural forward craft and are useless in the air.

Switta in the midfield can look exciting, but for the few times he can use his pace/sidestep, there are far more times he is physically dominated.

Watch the game closely and see how Cunnington and LDU just bullied guys like Serong and Switta in the centre bounce. They push them under or away from the ball with ease, swallow them in tackles, stand up in tackles and/or break them. Lining up with all of Brayshaw, Serong, Switta (like we did many times) is complete insanity.

see now i think you are just trolling.....
2017, 1st in contested marks per game. 2019 first for contested marks per game. 2020 second for contested marks per game
Per game is the key qualifier here. But even so, if he led those stats overall I wouldn’t care because he does not make our forwardline better. A sulking Lobb did more for our forwardline than Taberner ever has. The best we can ever say about Taberner is that he made the AA squad at 28 in a bad team - Jack Riewoldt won a Coleman at 22 in a team that went 0-10 and finished second last. That’s the difference between teams that win premierships and those that don’t, they don’t have bit part players squeaking out one OK season holding the most important positions on the ground.

The only good season Taberner had was when we played shortened games. And even now he's having to be subbed off after every game. His body is cooked. And we let Lobb walk at the worst time I always said. Should have kept that sooking bitch in the team and forced him to play out his contract so then at least Amiss and Treacy etc could develop playing that consistent 2nd/3rd tall.

The boundary umpire had fully raised his am as the siren went.
Clark shouldnt have kicked it to Ryan. If he as going to pass it off to anyone, should have hit up Willow who was standing on his own waving for the ball just beyond 50. He would have kicked something from 55, a point at least......
We can’t be looking to a Hail Mary kick after the siren to steal a point as the takeaway from this.

People might offer the argument that it is only week 2 but there’s a pretty strong cadre of teams from last year who look 8 bound again, and now we have the likes of saints, port, GWS, Bombers, Blues all looking pretty potent and are one or two games on us already. We would need to go on a big winning streak and hope a bunch of them fall over in a heap to perhaps sneak into 8th. The second part might happen but def not the first. Our miss and rucks are getting smashed by no names.

Autopsy Freo Lose To North at Home