Certified Legendary Thread GEELONG WINS 2022 GRAND FINAL BY PLENTY

The thing I truly loved about our finals campaign, and even our season as a whole was how we played as a team. A champion team rather than a team of champions. Sure Danger stood up, Hawkins had some great games but so did Rohan, Atkins, Blicavs and Stengle. You could never pick who would be BOG on any given day and the GF was no exception. Who would have had Smith as the NS winner? We play as a team and when its your turn to go, you go.

Also can't get enough of the media, what a great time to be a Cats supporter.
Right?
Wasn't just our 'stars' it was a full team effort. Everyone stood up as a whole and the guys we would usually rely on I suppose didn't need to go huge because everyone played their role.

I cannot count the amount of friends and customers at work have come up to me today knowing I'm one eyed Cats tell me that they had us wrong.
They had Joel wrong, Chris Scott, the entire club basically.
Not that we need any validation but it's nice to see people realise what we've known all along. This is one hell of a club that we are all so proud to support & for good reason.

Just posting so i can see the trophy flair next to Geelong.
Did your opinion change at all on Geelong not taking the stoppage/clearance aspect of games seriously enough under Scott? Scores from stoppages compared to against were pretty solid this finals campaign. Saving Dangerfield and Selwood, making Guthrie the main man and adding Atkins + Blicavs were masterstrokes this year.

A really good bump + Papley folded like a cheap suit. Stayed down too, was winded, but I thought he was hit in the goolies 😏
Reminded me of a game against the Pies long ago. I think it was us, but someone shirtfronted Didak hard fairly early. He had been hot in preceding games and pretty much disappeared for rest of the game and Pies lost. :thumbsu:

Did your opinion change at all on Geelong not taking the stoppage/clearance aspect of games seriously enough under Scott? Scores from stoppages compared to against were pretty solid this finals campaign. Saving Dangerfield and Selwood, making Guthrie the main man and adding Atkins + Blicavs were masterstrokes this year.

I think about the doubts i had after the Quali Final, seeing the same few names not contributing, i think i wasnt alone in being worried about the likes of Miers, MOC, Kolo, even Blicavs. We know that if you go into a finals campaign with a handful of players who struggle to contribute it makes it tough. But they turned it around. Im happy to admit being wrong about them. Although i still have doubts about O'Connors longevity in the team, especially if we add a few of the names mentioned so far this pre-season.

On the game plan, we found a way to stop the chaos ball, it's as simple as that, i needed to see it work and that's what we saw on Saturday. Generating turnovers across half back and then attacking with pace and precision is the blueprint to play against it moving forward. The way we used Stanley to free up Stewart and Henry is god tier coaching. We avoided getting into a scrum against a team that thrives in that environment. We did enough in the stoppages to generate turnovers and clearances, and we were able to apply pressure everywhere else. The individual efforts to pressure the ball carrier were huge on Saturday.

Adding Atkins to the midfield was a stroke of genius that gave us something extra, finding Stengle and letting him develop and find a spot in the team will forever be one of Scott's crowning achievements, and the management of the list has been beyond anything i can remember in the AFL. Never have i been happier to be wrong.

2-1 for me!
I almost didn’t attend as it was my first live game of the streak and I didn’t want to mozz us,
But some long suffering mates talked sense into me saying whatever happens will happen whether I’m there or not

Anyway what a day, probably the best I’ve ever had at the footy
To paraphrase.. this is Everest

I’ve been to 9 gf’s for 4 wins. The four ‘89-95 were very hard to endure, leaving a scar. The four since have been such a tonic of delight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Only just watched the replay for the 3rd time

What a magnificent Premiership

A hell of a lot of big footy Geel; posters -throughout the week thought the Cats would win easily - 6 goals plus - not quite the 96 pts ( not far short though ) id wished for re last game 2011 v the Magpies

Even though Geel have been up for so long - there was tremendous pressure on the club to get that elusive premiership - and now that Premirship drought clock is set back at a beautiful big Zero

Make no mistake about it - right at this point in time - this the highpoint of the Geelong Football Club - in my opinion in its entire history

Not getting carried away - conservative poster - but i thought wed flog both Bris and Syd and we did - 4 premiership - i reckon if the Cats jag another one ( and they are a big chance to ) that would make 5 - in 17 years - then i think it would be the greatest AFL/VFL era of any club ever - given the number of wins - the times in the finals - Prelims - GFs and Premierships

The pressure is off the club - the players - the supporters - the Cats i think are going to be even more dangerous given that fact

Yes although 44 GF appearances for 15 premierships since 1897 I suspect is a better record for Collingwood. Or Carlton’s 29 played for 16 premierships. Jag another though will certainly be the most successful since 2000 by a country mile. But most importantly we haven’t sacrificed our soul to do so unlike others.

Just to name a few smelly clubs:
Melb
Carl
Ess
Haw, allegedly.

What a celebration!!! Seriously, the day was just perfect, so many memorable moments. It all started with Gaz giving his little Levi to Joel, and to see the smile on Levi’s face was just awesome I even started to get teary, it showed just the type of person Joel is, and as the day went on it just got better and better.

His banana goal from 45m out late in the 4th will be played over and over for years to come.

Listening to the ABC on Sunday on the way back from st Mary’s and they were at it again writing us off for next year given our list Age profile!! Jake Niall, greg Baum and a couple of abc presenters. Callers hammered them. It was great. They’re picking rich and the Melb with list changes to be up there and for us to slide. Have they learnt nothing???

I think about the doubts i had after the Quali Final, seeing the same few names not contributing, i think i wasnt alone in being worried about the likes of Miers, MOC, Kolo, even Blicavs. We know that if you go into a finals campaign with a handful of players who struggle to contribute it makes it tough. But they turned it around. Im happy to admit being wrong about them. Although i still have doubts about O'Connors longevity in the team, especially if we add a few of the names mentioned so far this pre-season.

On the game plan, we found a way to stop the chaos ball, it's as simple as that, i needed to see it work and that's what we saw on Saturday. Generating turnovers across half back and then attacking with pace and precision is the blueprint to play against it moving forward. The way we used Stanley to free up Stewart and Henry is god tier coaching. We avoided getting into a scrum against a team that thrives in that environment. We did enough in the stoppages to generate turnovers and clearances, and we were able to apply pressure everywhere else. The individual efforts to pressure the ball carrier were huge on Saturday.

Adding Atkins to the midfield was a stroke of genius that gave us something extra, finding Stengle and letting him develop and find a spot in the team will forever be one of Scott's crowning achievements, and the management of the list has been beyond anything i can remember in the AFL. Never have i been happier to be wrong.
Well said. I think lessons were being learned a while back. What didn't work: the Danger-Selwood-Ablett midfield of '18, morphing into Danger-Selwood-Kelly by '19. All good players but there was no balance and not enough rotations. They felt they had no choice but to lean on Dangerfield and Selwood to carry the load all year then become burnt out by finals.

Kelly leaving allowed Parfitt, Duncan and more importantly Guthrie to stand up. While getting the picks to land a superstar forward we'd needed for a decade to partner Hawkins. That midfield still lacked a hard defensive edge and a rotation or two though. And we still put too much burden on an aging Selwood and Dangerfield. This year they addressed that.

Atkins back to his VFL midfield bull role and Blicavs as a stoppage beast (mid/2nd ruck). Guthrie a super accountable player. Holmes or Duncan for quick bursts. A much more well rounded unit, all getting less minutes but being fresher when they were there. Actually giving Danger and Sel the games off they required without fearing we would be throwing games. Emergencies as good as Parfitt.

Raw clearance numbers might not have gone up but I'm certain our ratio of damaging clearances and scoring clearances compared to opposition dramatically improved. Quality over quantity. Atkins and Blicavs getting 16 tackles and countless defensive blocks/bumps/tap ons between them per game blanketed the other team. Actual midfield bulls to aid the talents of the rest of them.

Loved that Scott on 360 is already talking about planning the next assault and giving Max Holmes the chance to win one
Completely agree and it's exactly why Selwood is going to play on next year despite everyone assuming he'll walk off into the sunset.

His idea of a sunset is running through the banner every week for the rest of his life. While he can still run, he's going to want to play.

Completely agree and it's exactly why Selwood is going to play on next year despite everyone assuming he'll walk off into the sunset.

His idea of a sunset is running through the banner every week for the rest of his life. While he can still run, he's going to want to play.
Manage he, Duncan and Dangerfield the same way they did this year. If they only play 12-14 regular season games so be it. You can organise it so (mostly) only one misses at a time.

For their positions we have Guthrie, Parfitt, Atkins, Blicavs, Menegola, Smith, Holmes. Maybe Bruhn. Stephens will get more games. Duncan was more back flank this season but we have plenty of options there too.

I don't see the point of Selwood retiring unless there is a motivation issue. He had a really good year the way we managed him.

Feel good for Dangerfield to finally get one, and Selwood and Hawkins to get to the end or close to it with another, but some other guys it feels really good to see one finally get one too. Guthrie, Blicavs, Bews, Stanley. They've battled it out with us and together for a long time. They've all matured as players and vindicated continued persistence. Very well-deserved medals. Really formed lasting legacies at the club associated with Scott's brand and coaching tenure. Questioned it, but he backed them and they have now paid it off. Good on them.

I didn't expect a lot of these guys to be premiership players, but there you go. Shows what I know.

Good on you Biggy for standing up.

Well done to all the nay sayers and pollyanna’s along the road who have offered their thoughts and arguments often with hilarious effect.

Has anyone scene any saltiness around from the tuggers and hawkers? Gosh I can remember a hawks supporter absolutely goading the boards about how the hawks will just fall down the ladder a few years then rise up but we’ll be stuck perennially losing finals.

Well said. I think lessons were being learned a while back. What didn't work: the Danger-Selwood-Ablett midfield of '18, morphing into Danger-Selwood-Kelly by '19. All good players but there was no balance and not enough rotations. They felt they had no choice but to lean on Dangerfield and Selwood to carry the load all year then become burnt out by finals.

Kelly leaving allowed Parfitt, Duncan and more importantly Guthrie to stand up. While getting the picks to land a superstar forward we'd needed for a decade to partner Hawkins. That midfield still lacked a hard defensive edge and a rotation or two though. And we still put too much burden on an aging Selwood and Dangerfield. This year they addressed that.

Atkins back to his VFL midfield bull role and Blicavs as a stoppage beast (mid/2nd ruck). Guthrie a super accountable player. Holmes or Duncan for quick bursts. A much more well rounded unit, all getting less minutes but being fresher when they were there. Actually giving Danger and Sel the games off they required without fearing we would be throwing games. Emergencies as good as Parfitt.

Raw clearance numbers might not have gone up but I'm certain our ratio of damaging clearances and scoring clearances compared to opposition dramatically improved. Quality over quantity. Atkins and Blicavs getting 16 tackles and countless defensive blocks/bumps/tap ons between them per game blanketed the other team. Actual midfield bulls to aid the talents of the rest of them.

Very incisive. It must be remembered throughout these changes from 2019, we were in some ways, awaiting secure development of several players. In this forum at least, there were questions and criticisms over the form of Stanley, Parfitt, Atkins, Zuthrie, Blics, Menegola, Miers and unbelievably, Danger. And of course Chris Scott. A good block of posters screamed for youth, Neale, Dempsey et al. while Close and SDK were guns from the start.
To me that's fine, they called it as they saw it at the time, more in frustration than anything else.
Don't you love it when a plan - the coaches plan - comes together.

Manage he, Duncan and Dangerfield the same way they did this year. If they only play 12-14 regular season games so be it. You can organise it so (mostly) only one misses at a time.

For their positions we have Guthrie, Parfitt, Atkins, Blicavs, Menegola, Smith, Holmes. Maybe Bruhn. Stephens will get more games. Duncan was more back flank this season but we have plenty of options there too.

I don't see the point of Selwood retiring unless there is a motivation issue. He had a really good year the way we managed him.

How good was Scott on 360 tonight, 3 sheets to the wind and spilling his guts.
He's had to be pretty sly about what he gives the media in the past.
But there he was, telling how he commitment questioned Danger and Sel, ready to hand in his own notice. Funny.

Edit: Maybe Joel wants to retire to hand the reigns to Stephens.Then welcome the long awaited bub in 23, he's that sort of bloke.

Not a bad run...

Been following since the same year as the person who tweeted that. Surely it can only get worse from here? Then again the Cats haven’t been bottom four since before WCE joined so maybe not?

Certified Legendary Thread GEELONG WINS 2022 GRAND FINAL BY PLENTY