Certified Legendary Thread GEELONG WINS 2022 GRAND FINAL BY PLENTY

Degree of difficulty.
Ablett, not a ruckman, leaps over the recognised rucks, lands, pivots, kicks truly from the pocket.
If it wasn't Senior, who had endless party tricks like that, this goal would be one of the GOAT goals.
Hawkins' 2 goals were brilliant, and set up our momentum, but neither of them individually beats that 89 goal, imho.

I've got a pre-prepared piece on Ablett's '''set piece'' goal from the 1989 GF somewhere - I've probably already posted it at some point - but it is my favourite goal of all time Vdubs, and I mean that. I saw it live - it was like an act of prestidigitation

Still - Hawkins 2nd goal today was not without merit nor cause for comparison to Ablett's set-piece.

Edit: whoops - by ''today'' of course I mean yesterday!!

It's taken too much of a toll being a Geelong supporter over the past decade! I swear, I almost want to retire on a high as myself; maybe take up going for the Storm or the Cowboys (as I relocated to Cairns 5 years ago now).
You've earned it mate 🤣

For the record, your posts have kept me returning to post game threads week in, week out, for many years.

Far out we went from Dahl and Gryan to Stengle and Close + Gryan

Decent turn around.
I'm not really a fan of Miers (I think a lot of it is his kicking action) but I'll give him, and Close, a shed-load of credit for the amount of territory they both cover during games.

The way they both get back to help out in defence and then spread quickly from the back half up the wings/corridor to be options bringing the ball forward is impressive. It also keeps the forward line more open for the other 4 forwards to operate in.

It's taken too much of a toll being a Geelong supporter over the past decade! I swear, I almost want to retire on a high as myself; maybe take up going for the Storm or the Cowboys (as I relocated to Cairns 5 years ago now).
The book wouldn't be too hard, just need to thread together all your post-game posts.;)

You've earned it mate 🤣

For the record, your posts have kept me returning to post game threads week in, week out, for many years.

Thank you - I actually got kind of sick of my own ''voice'' on this site; I still kind of am.

I did try to put in a little bit of effort to write some entertaining reviews in the midst of COVID lock-downs - as a Melbourne CBD defector I felt some sense of guilt and tried hard to write my best stuff that year (which of course culminated in a GF loss, sadly).

Regardless; there are still times when I feel compelled to share my thoughts and concerns, and I genuinely love the thrust and parry that the Geelong BF board generates - some really, really sharp minds around here, and, fittingly for such a great club, I think we're easily the best cohort of fans on BF - great board, with some equally great posters like Lunchlady Doris and PhatBoy who don't actually post much here and yet post with such diligence on behalf of Geelong.

I've got a pre-prepared piece on Ablett's '''set piece'' goal from the 1989 GF somewhere - I've probably already posted it at some point - but it is my favourite goal of all time Vdubs, and I mean that. I saw it live - it was like an act of prestidigitation

Still - Hawkins 2nd goal today was not without merit nor cause for comparison to Ablett's set-piece.
Agreed. We are a spoiled collective of supporters, as I keep reminding myself and others.
I was there with you that day. in 89...3 consecutive losses in one day by Geelong was tough. All by a goal or less

We ALWAYS have that special player every decade who just has it.

Ablett senior.
Brownless
Ablett junior.
SJ
Chappy
Bartel
Hawkins
Dangerfield
Cameron
Stengle

That Riccardi after siren goal.
That Brownless after siren goal.
Cameron this year- some of the best goals you can dream of.
Ditto Stengle.

Those Hawkins goals were crucial.

But better than Senior's? Great discussion point.

The book wouldn't be too hard, just need to thread together all your post-game posts.;)

Fred you might think I am being overdramatic (= a DQ, or Drama Queen as JUBJUB used to say) when I say it has all been actually rather traumatic - those 11 years that intervened between the 2011 win and yesterday's incredible, incredible win have taken a huge toll.

I reckon others could relate.

Who was it, maybe Carter (!?) who said that we Geelong supporters were suffering from a form of Success Fatigue at one point? I think there's something to that. It only makes me respect Joel Selwood and Chris Scott all the more.

Fred you might think I am being overdramatic (= a DQ, or Drama Queen as JUBJUB used to say) when I say it has all been actually rather traumatic - those 11 years that intervened between the 2011 win and yesterday's incredible, incredible win have taken a huge toll.

I reckon others could relate.

Who was it, maybe Carter (!?) who said that we Geelong supporters were suffering from a form of Success Fatigue at one point? I think there's something to that. It only makes me respect Joel Selwood and Chris Scott all the more.
You nailed it, as you always do.

When was the moment you knew we had it?
For me it was Stengles goal early 3rd

About the time Hamish announced "number 16, Sam de Koning" and he started the walk up to get his medal, I allowed myself to think "you know what, I don't think Sydney can pull it back from here!"

I’m going to remember this game as a celebration of the careers of 2 giants of the game. Joel Selwood and Paddy Dangerfield. Never have I been so emotional watching a game of footy. These 2 have given so much to our club and to the game.
I think this summarises it for me. The club is bigger than any player but I think the reason I was so nervous all week (all finals, really) was that I thought (unlike every other year) we were actually the best team and it would be a serious waste if we didn't win, but also that it was probably the last chance for a cohort of older dudes - Joel and Danger being the obvious ones but even Stanley, Guthrie, Tuohy and Blitz. We've woken up most Monday mornings over the last decade because those guys have won a game of footy for us, and while premierships shouldn't define a career they clearly do, and it would have killed me if they didn't get to experience that. I haven't seen it quoted/sampled that much in post match media but Selwood's 'they're just so hard to win...so hard to win' to Richo after spoke volumes.

About the time Hamish announced "number 16, Sam de Koning" and he started the walk up to get his medal, I allowed myself to think "you know what, I don't think Sydney can pull it back from here!"
Believe it or not, 3Q time for me. To be over 12 goals up, when Sydney only had 4 goals, even I could start to reply to those texts that come up in those situations (2007).

1Quarter time was emphatic, because all I wanted was to not have it all over effectively, as we have occasionally encountered.
Honestly thought pre game if we were anywhere near them at 3q time, we would run all over them in the last.

First few goals in the third i knew we had it in the bag.
Fortunately, our 2 seats were in the FP where we scored those 12 goals. The crowd reaction to every goal.... could not stop ruminating about that last night... poor sleep which is weird after a win like that, but not weird for me.

Replay count up to 5 already. Bout to Crack another bot of chivas and the party continues!
Three replays on telly so far. Driving back from the Surf Coast today so also had the ABC radio replay at 3pm, and then the SEN one at 5pm.

Nuffie factor approaching 100 now.....

Certified Legendary Thread GEELONG WINS 2022 GRAND FINAL BY PLENTY