Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!

What to do with Tas games?

• MCG

Votes: 206 83.1%
  • Darwin

Votes: 13 5.2%
  • Albury

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Newcastle

Votes: 5 2.0%
  • Auckland

Votes: 9 3.6%
  • Canberra

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Marvel

Votes: 18 7.3%
  • Elsewhere

Votes: 11 4.4%
  • Cairns

Votes: 6 2.4%

I could cop 9 and 2 given we would have away games at the MCG against MCG tenants and Geelong.

I'm sure the chicken little set would disagree - I just can't see why, as a MCG tenant, we would not slip back into a 9-10 game schedule at the MCG. Richmond and Collingwood end up playing interstate minnows at the MCG so I don't see why we wouldn't.

Would love for us to play some boutique grounds with a theme like the did in baseball for field of dreams, the branding and marketing is worth just as much as the revenue, could do a classic day at Glenferrie and bring back the woolen jumpers for a game, a red dirt game in the middle of Australia.

Our inability to grow different revenue streams is because we keep trying the old fashioned ways

I dare say that is what would happen. If we didn't seek a Bulldogs style regional arrangement to play some games (with the Commonwealth Games going regional you'd imagine the government/AFL might encourage another team to play in Bendigo/Gippsland etc) then a 10/1 or 9/2 split between the MCG and Marvel would be the likely outcome. Playing home games at Marvel is sadly unavoidable but hopefully 2 is the the most we would have to do.

People need to get over the Marvel thing imo. It's a fantastic stadium to watch football from and it's right in the CBD. Looked like a fantastic atmosphere last Friday night for the Blues game when there was a full house.
As an interstater it's just something I can't understand.

People need to get over the Marvel thing imo. It's a fantastic stadium to watch football from and it's right in the CBD. Looked like a fantastic atmosphere last Friday night for the Blues game when there was a full house.
As an interstater it's just something I can't understand.

I disagree entirely that is is fantastic to watch football at - there is no atmosphere there. I have been there at a full state of origin game and it felt like it was taking place at a library. It's also horrendous getting there - and being caught in crowds exiting the place in the middle of winter in what is the coldest, windiest place in the city in the middle of a concrete concourse is not exactly a fun way to spend the remainder of your evening. And I live inner-city and close to transport and it is a nightmare getting there so I can only imagine how annoying it is for those who live further out.

There's a reason there is so much contempt for the place. There is no comparison to the MCG.

I disagree entirely that is is fantastic to watch football at - there is no atmosphere there. I have been there at a full state of origin game and it felt like it was taking place at a library. It's also horrendous getting there - and being caught in crowds exiting the place in the middle of winter in what is the coldest, windiest place in the city in the middle of a concrete concourse is not exactly a fun way to spend the remainder of your evening. And I live inner-city and close to transport and it is a nightmare getting there so I can only imagine how annoying it is for those who live further out.

There's a reason there is so much contempt for the place. There is no comparison to the MCG.

Yeah, I don't mean to compare it to the G mate, obviously not as good. But as far as viewing angles, it's up there with as good as anywhere you will get. I have only been once in the past while which was Good Friday this year, the atmosphere wasn't really there obviously but I'd be interested to see how it is with a packed house.
Fair call re - exiting. But can you educate me on why it's so hard to get there? Most trams would go down Flinders St right to the stadium wouldn't they? Plus the train station is right there?

I want to like it, but for many of the reasons you've covered I just can't. I'll still go to the odd game there but compared to the MCG it's not a great experience. That said, I previously got frequent access to cheap/free tickets to seats in the Medallion Club (or whatever it's called now) and that was pretty good. But sitting up on level 3 dodging spilt beers and seagull shit isn't a great night out.

My preference is ALL home games at the MCG (AFL should not be relocating games to Marvel it's unfair. If hawthorn have to play a home game there against the bulldogs, so should west coast).

Outside 2-3 home games in Tasmania is fine. I think 4 homes games in Launceston and 2 away in Hobart (north and TAS) is too many. AFL will 100% want us to play home and away against Tasmania in Tasmania. They will need all the help they can get for crowds.

If we are to completely exit Tasmania, I wouldn't mind playing a home game against low drawing sides like GC in Geelong.
AFL won't let any teams play in "established" markets for sold games.

The bulldogs wanted to play in Geelong before settling on Ballarat, the roos wanted to sell 2 games to WA.

But can you educate me on why it's so hard to get there? Most trams would go down Flinders St right to the stadium wouldn't they? Plus the train station is right there?

I should have phrased it better. Getting out of there is a pain in the arse due to the crowd crush and subsequent overcrowding of train/team platforms - getting there isn’t as much of a hassle. I imagine getting out of there for night games with tired kids in tow would be hellish for families.

Had the pleasure of listening to Clarko talking about Tassie as the next franchise for 30 minutes or so this morning at a forum in Hobart. The man is so passionate about it happening, I could have ran through a wall after he had finished.

I got the feeling that if it happens he will be in charge of building the side from the ground up. Infrastructure and off field personnel and then to move into the coaching side of it. Learn from the mistakes of Gold Coast & GWS was mentioned a few times.

He really loves the state and the people, he wants it to happen and believes it will thrive if given the chance. Sounds like they have really thought outside the box with there submission to get it over the line.

Being a Tasmanian I thought it would ok to get a team but after today I now believe it’s a must and it will be a travesty if it doesn’t happen.

Go Hawks

Tassie as team 19 is becoming more and more likely each day. Only GC against it and Swans and Pies yet to decide. All other 15 clubs are supportive (including us).

So, hopefully part of our discussions around this is nine MCG games once we exit Tassie in the next year or two (Dees/Tigers get 10, Pies 9). Other options are Darwin (Cyril would be happy) for a game (Suns deal expires 2023), Albury (has has a reno but only holds 11K with 1500 seats), Newcastle (getting a reno but only 800 seats and 10K standing), Canberra (GWS deal is year by year) and Auckland.

Given that our rhetoric around Tassie has changed in the past week (both JK & new pres stating support), hopefully the AFL has already given us an assurance of increased MCG games. Tassie was great for us, but we are better than having to play at substandard regional venues with no home ground advantage. We can surely stand on our own two feet. We deserve the same opportunity as the other MCG tenants.

Tassie as team 19 is becoming more and more likely each day. Only GC against it and Swans and Pies yet to decide. All other 15 clubs are supportive (including us).

So, hopefully part of our discussions around this is nine MCG games once we exit Tassie in the next year or two (Dees/Tigers get 10, Pies 9). Other options are Darwin (Cyril would be happy) for a game (Suns deal expires 2023), Albury (has has a reno but only holds 11K with 1500 seats), Newcastle (has had a reno but only 800 seats and 10K standing), Canberra (GWS deal is year by year) and Auckland.

Given that our rhetoric around Tassie has changed in the past week (both JK & new pres stating support), hopefully the AFL has already given us an assurance of increased MCG games. We deserve the same as the other MCG tenants.

Really offends me that Gold Coast is against it. Tassie will basically be the Gold Coast franchise in terms of a resource drain on the governing body but in an Aussie Rules heartland where it belongs so it won't be a complete waste of money.

Actually Tassie will be on the minimum AFL distribution (like Hawks/Pies/WC/Crows) for at least 15 years (Tas govt making up any difference), so they won't be a drain at all. The increased broadcast rights for 11 extra games will more than cover the AFL distribution so they will actually be a contributor rather than a drain on AFL finances.

Regardless, Gil has his 'strong majority' so it is going to happen. Just a matter of how and when.

So, hopefully part of our discussions around this is nine MCG games once we exit Tassie in the next year or two (Dees/Tigers get 10, Pies 9). Other options are Darwin (Cyril would be happy) for a game (Suns deal expires 2023), Albury (has has a reno but only holds 11K with 1500 seats), Newcastle (getting a reno but only 800 seats and 10K standing), Canberra (GWS deal is year by year) and Auckland.

Given that our rhetoric around Tassie has changed in the past week (both JK & new pres stating support), hopefully the AFL has already given us an assurance of increased MCG games. Tassie was great for us, but we are better than having to play at substandard regional venues with no home ground advantage. We can surely stand on our own two feet. We deserve the same opportunity as the other MCG tenants.

No chance we get a 9/2 agreement - not with 2025 around the corner and the Essendon deal up for grabs.

I dont want to be a broken record on this but we really missed the boat in terms of negotiating an exit - our time was 2010 and again in 2014/15 when our bargaining power was at its zenith.

The last 3-4 seasons we've had 6 MCG games, 1 Docklands game and 4 Tasmanian games.

My money is on the AFL pushing Hawthorn into a Carlton / Essendon (After 2025) fixed stadium deal where we get 6 MCG home games and 5 Docklands home games.

That way, the AFL will get 15 home and away fixtures featuring 3 of Victoria's 5 biggest clubs.

The key for HFC is a stadium deal where we can provide our 30,000 MCG season ticket holders with a guaranteed level 1, 2 or front-row level 3 seat for the Docklands home games which will almost certainly fall our way.

My money is on the AFL pushing Hawthorn into a Carlton / Essendon (After 2025) fixed stadium deal where we get 6 MCG home games and 5 Docklands home games.

If this happens then every person who came up with excuses such as 'bbbut it was too cold to go to Burger's 350th' or 'bbbut the Socceroos were on' can absolutely opt out from having a whinge.

If Reeves and Nank want to get judged on their merits then securing us a 9/2 split will be their minimum benchmark. If that doesn't happen then I will bloody challenge for the presidency (well, no I won't - but boy will I seethe!).

I actually don't mind the Bulldogs / Ballarat model - couple of games a year right? Bulldog mate travels up regularly and loves it (although cold). Stadium will be getting investment / improvement in lead up to Comm Games where Ballarat will be key venue.

I'm not sure what the Comm games infrastructure plans are in the other identified locations - Bendigo, Geelong & Gippsland - but maybe there is an opportunity for us in that. Two games max I reckon & maybe Gippsland if there is going to be a suitable stadium in the region.

I actually don't mind the Bulldogs / Ballarat model - couple of games a year right? Bulldog mate travels up regularly and loves it (although cold). Stadium will be getting investment / improvement in lead up to Comm Games where Ballarat will be key venue.

I'm not sure what the Comm games infrastructure plans are in the other identified locations - Bendigo, Geelong & Gippsland - but maybe there is an opportunity for us in that. Two games max I reckon & maybe Gippsland if there is going to be a suitable stadium in the region.

I have been saying this also - the Dogs get a decent sum from the government to do it also. If that could be an offer for us I would jump at it.

Would take 8/3 MCG/Marvel split as a minimum. Don't want 6/5 as that is just crap. I'm a Marvel Stadium fan in general, and reckon most that sook about the stadium are just sooks. That's not the point here though. Important negotiation for the club.

Exactly what I was thinking although being from SA I have no idea if there would be a suitable MARS like stadium out East.

Would take 8/3 MCG/Marvel split as a minimum. Don't want 6/5 as that is just crap. I'm a Marvel Stadium fan in general, and reckon most that sook about the stadium are just sooks. That's not the point here though. Important negotiation for the club.
Even if you don’t think Marvel is a sterile, soulless, concrete shopping mall made to look like a stadium - MCG tenants tend to win more flags (small sample size but I’m going with it).

Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!