Preview Hawks vs Saints Sat 29 Apr 1:45pm at UniTAS stadium

Well well well, i'll be damned Dunny omitted! I had to read it twice just to be sure it was actually seeing straight. Jeez maybe Richo has been on BF this week ;)

We will come out all guns blazing tomorrow. We normally back up very well after the team is challenged by the coach like they have been this week. I'm tipping a comfortable win.

I say you a margin of 10-15 points as a minimum.

Saints score 90-95 and Hawks around 70-80 points.

Another one managed...? Maybe he had his shoulder surgery last year, and just isn't right like GAJ last year. Maybe he needs this year off to recover his shoulder... I dunno.

I am more surprised that Holmes is the emergency.

Speaks volumes about Pierce. He's getting beaten by an American late comer to the sport who didn't get great wraps on his VFL game. And Pierce was drafted in the same draft as Grundy. Hasn't come on at all, and at this rate is a very low probability. Pierce is contracted to 2018, but I wouldn't be surprised if he got delisted and re rookied.

I am expecting that Marshall would fill his place as an upgrade.

Holmes is an excellent tap ruckman and really directs the ball, I would play him before Longer as they offer about the same around the ground. I reckon Longer is out, he copped a knee to the hip or the side he really struggled to get up from. I won't be surprised if he misses this week. pierce is a bit like Hickey, fine framed and more useful around the ground so struggles against the really big rucks. If Longer was to miss throwing Marshall in as our only ruckman would be a tough gig.

For some reason I was in the Geelong cheersquad area, saw the goal and put my head down in utter disbelief, as I did that I saw Stevic do something, I looked up and it literally turned my emotions around in a split second, nothing else has ever done that, needless to say as an annoying 13 year old I went nuts and probably made some of the Geelong fans want to murder me, twas a good day.
I saw the free straight away and was going nuts that it wasnt a 50 for Ling playing on.

It makes 100% sense for Dunstan to be the one who travels with the team and misses playing this weekend if we don't have any late outs, as he's been playing in the seniors for weeks and a break won't do him any harm.

More important for D-Mac to get the chance to push his claims further with another game for Sandy. Don't want him to miss a game just as he's struck some form.

This is the way we usually do it. Happened with Lonie last week from memory, Sav the week before, etc.

Jack Sinclair has been named on the ball in the vfl this week. What's that about?

On Nexus 6P using BigFooty.com mobile app
So is Koby Stevens. Just ignore it. Guys on the interchange often listed as in both initially. Shows the selectors' thinking prior to the final cut.

Anyone else think that naming Holmes means Longer perhaps not 100%?

I wonder if Hickey plays at Sandy.

No but it certainly sends a message to Lewie.
But talls do take a long time to develop.

Speaking of Acres, I know there are lots of calls for him to get more time in the midfield- and I'm sure if he did play there more he'd improve his midfield game- but do you know what he is improving instead? His forward game.

Last year he averaged 3.6 marks per game, but so far this year he's averaging a what I imagine would be rated "elite" 6.5 marks per game.

He's really marking well and with confidence now and if he continues to improve his forward play/craft, in a year or two when he probably does get more of a look in in the midfield, he's going to end up much more rounded and versatile as a result of having had all this time to learn how to play forward at AFL level and to grow in confidence in that role.

I suspect that playing midfield comes more naturally to him (although he did apparently play all over the shop at junior level, including CHF for a time- which shows with his marking), so if we can get him to the point where his forward game is a real strength, in a couple of years he might be at the point where he is just as effective in either role, which would be really valuable for us.

Speaking of Acres, I know there are lots of calls for him to get more time in the midfield- and I'm sure if he did play there more he'd improve his midfield game- but do you know what he has improving instead? His forward game.

Last year he averaged 3.6 marks per game, but so far this year he's averaging a what I imagine would be rated "elite" 6.5 marks per game.

He's really marking well and with confidence and if he continues to improve his forward play/craft, in a year or two when he probably does get more of a look in in the midfield, he's going to end up much more rounded and versatile as a result of having had all this time to learn how to play forward at AFL level and to grow in confidence in that role.
But he won't be as good a midfielder then will he. Cos he won't get an opportunity there for longer than 20 seconds unless all of Steven, Ross, Armo, Stevens, Every other player and Dunny are all injured and he's the only remaining player.

No, but if you check out the last paragraph that I edited in just a minute ago, I suspect that playing midfield might come a bit more naturally to him, so I don't think it will necessarily take that long for him to get up to speed playing there if we do eventually move him in there more.

We saw that late last year when he got to spend a lot more time there in the last 5-6 weeks after Dunstan did his shoulder. He was much better in the midfield than he had generally been forward prior to that, so at the moment we may just be trying to get him better forward, so that he gets to the point where he might be just as valuable in either area for us down the track.

For all the Dunstan dropping... (and even I wanted him to take a spell in VFL), his replacement in Koby Stevens isn't a world beater either.

He had 15 disposals last time against Hawthorn when he played them in 2016, and 12-13 were handballs.

Koby is a much higher output player than Dunstan ATM though. He's uneven in his out put- at the Dogs he had game where he took three brownlow votes in a midfield with players like the Bont and Libba but he can also just have games where he gets 18 possessions and doesn't really make the most of his abilities. His best is excellent and his worst is probably similar to Dunstan. I reckon injuries haven't helped him and at the Dogs he was easy to drop after a bad performance because they had so many good mids there.

Speaking of Acres, I know there are lots of calls for him to get more time in the midfield- and I'm sure if he did play there more he'd improve his midfield game- but do you know what he is improving instead? His forward game.

He's really marking well and with confidence now and if he continues to improve his forward play/craft, in a year or two when he probably does get more of a look in in the midfield, he's going to end up much more rounded and versatile as a result of having had all this time to learn how to play forward at AFL level and to grow in confidence in that role.

I suspect that playing midfield comes more naturally to him (although he did apparently play all over the shop at junior level, including CHF for a time- which shows with his marking), so if we can get him to the point where his forward game is a real strength, in a couple of years he might be at the point where he is just as effective in either role, which would be really valuable for us.

I think his biggest improvement has come in the way he defends now, he looked like he was doing enough to look busy last year with out really pressuring the ball carrier, this year he is much more committed and looks to have bought into the game plan.

If you compare Koby's recent stretches when playing mostly midfield (pretty sure he was playing mostly forward after he returned from injury in R16 last year, so before that) with Luke's output (given that he plays exclusively midfield), Koby gets a chunk more of the footy when fit and playing midfield.

Koby was playing mostly in the guts in his last 6 games of 2015 and in those games he had

23 disposals (8 contested), 4 clearances, 5 tackles, 1 goal
22 disposals (14 contested), 9 clearances, 11 tackles, 1 goal
22 disposals (9 contested), 5 clearances, 5 tackles, 1 goal
20 disposals (10 contested), 3 clearances, 4 tackles
28 disposals (13 contested), 7 clearances, 7 tackles
8 disposals (7 contested), 2 clearances, 2 tackles, from just 24% TOG (so he was on target for a 30 disposal (20 contested) 6 clearance, 6 tackle game, prior to injury, which put him out for the rest of the year.

So it looks like he was just warming up when injury put an end to his season, in R15, when he was on track for a 30 disp game, after 28 the week before.

He then started 2016 with (clearly playing more on a wing, with Libba back in the midfield, except in the 34 disposal game)

27 disposals (5 contested), 3 clearances, 8 tackles
23 disposals (8 contested), 1 clearances, 4 tackles
17 disposals (6 contested), 2 clearances, 6 tackles
25 disposals (7 contested), 0 clearances, 3 tackles, 2 goals, 1 Br vote
34 disposals (15 contested), 7 clearances, 6 tackles, 3 Br votes
28 disposals (5 contested), 1 clearance, 5 tackles, 1 goal

Before injury again put him out for 3 weeks

So by that stage, in his last 11 completed games, playing mostly midfield/wing, he was averaging 24.45 disposals per game. (Compared to Luke who is averaging 17 since the start of 2016 and 15.5 in his last 6 completed games).

Returns in R9 and has

14 disposals (8 contested), 2 clearances, 2 tackles

Then misses the next several weeks, with an injury that reportedly didn't allow him to run for 5 weeks, after which he was in and out for the rest of the season, playing forward a lot and mostly struggling (saying later that he was always playing catch-up, from a fitness POV).

Did have one more game of

34 disposals (12 contested), 8 clearances, 2 tackles, 2 goals, 2 Br votes

though, when given another shot in the midfield (presumably because they were playing an ordinary team and they wanted to give Bont and co. a break from the inside hurly burly.)

So while he may not be a "world beater", when he's given a decent run at it in or around the midfield, he can clearly football.

Problem is, he is the type who seems to get injured or something just as he's starting to really get rolling, which needs to stop!

He may not be the best ruckman but he has a very good tank & has something to offer up forward and around the ground. Billy will have to be accountable all day.

Big boy can be vital down back and can kick a goal up forward. Is amazing some forget what he is still capable of.

Anyone else think that naming Holmes means Longer perhaps not 100%?

I wonder if Hickey plays at Sandy.
I think its because the game is in Tasmania. You'd fly Holmes over for cover if something happened to Longer in the Warmup etc. It's not like Holmes has been in any form.
I'd say Hickey will play on the weekend for Sandy.

Koby's down games will be better than Dunstan's, and if we can get 3 or 4 of his really good games throughout the year then I think it's a massive win for us
And the good thing with him is that if he is having a down game, we don't have to keep on playing him in the midfield because he's not really able to play anywhere else, unlike Luke. He also won't be taking up a bench spot for as much of the game.

Suspect that there has been so much focus on the defensive side to Luke's game that he's forgotten how to get his hands on the footy. Averaging just 15.5 disposals in his last 6 completed games. Was getting much more of it in his first 10 games of AFL footy than he is now, despite being so much more experienced now and presumably a lot fitter and stronger.

The ability's there, I suspect he just needs to rediscover it and perhaps just be let off the leash a little bit.

And the good thing with him is that if he is having a down game, we don't have to keep on playing him in the midfield because he's not really able to play anywhere else, unlike Luke. He also won't be taking up a bench spot for as much of the game.

Suspect that there has been so much focus on the defensive side to Luke's game that he's forgotten how to get his hands on the footy. Averaging just 15.5 disposals in his last 6 completed games. Was getting much more of it in his first 10 games of AFL footy than he is now, despite being so much more experienced now and presumably a lot fitter and stronger.

The ability's there, I suspect he just needs to rediscover it and perhaps just be let off the leash a little bit.
What David King said about our mids not going 100% at 50/50 balls I felt like it was directed very much at Luke, he's been worried out of it too much this year so far