Autopsy Hawthorn v the great pretenders

I have sort of answered this above but..
As a young guy playing senior footy you can still play tough in the contest or show resilience in adversity which he has on occasion. I just thought it funny seeing him trapping off to Zebel from behind a few players. Jack most definitely took a mental note for next time & I look forward to how this plays out as Jack will dish it out.
Dermi mk2 is a big call & in all honesty I would rather his toughness be in the Mitchell mould of resilience, reliability & consistency. If he is getting 20 -25 disposals with 3-5 tackles & kicking 2-3 goals a game as a complete player offensively & defensively, Hawthorn will win more games than not.

Mate, you keep creating straw man standards for Sicily that you don't ask of anyone else.
It's clear. You called him out early, and regularly, and are not particularly of mind to change that thinking, so you're going to forever further those goal posts for him to be an 'acceptable player' to you.

It's tiring man.
The kid is doing GREAT.
Move on to another with your bailiwick. Please.

Mate, you keep creating straw man standards for Sicily that you don't ask of anyone else.
It's clear. You called him out early, and regularly, and are not particularly of mind to change that thinking, so you're going to forever further those goal posts for him to be an 'acceptable player' to you.

It's tiring man.
The kid is doing GREAT.

My North mates on Friday where claiming that Sicily is the best young forward in the game ( a bit of a stretch but he played like it Friday ). The kid has only been in the system 3 years, his influences on games is fast becoming more consistent and damaging. If it wasn't for Clarko educating him as a defender we may have seen another bag or 2, he has been the surprise packet of the season.

James will win the HFC plenty of games over his career, I love him.

The controversy regarding free kicks and Hawthorn continues, evolving into this greatest chapter yet. The commentators, the media and now the coaches have bumbled, stumbled and finally tied themselves in knots. I hope they make Scott do a verbal apology and send a memo to Watson.

What's with all the articles saying North Melbourne apologises FOR Scott? Sounds like he has been gagged...... ;)

It was digusting the way Norf kept targeting Bruest all game. He is a small forward with no thuggery in him.

So wish we had Roughy and Hodge out there to straighten them out. Also reckon we should have kept Lake, if not to take on the gorillas and control the back line, but as an enforcer.
We could use lake at times even as a foward during a game like this one, kick the ball on his head and he marks whatever comes his way. I know it's been discussed ad nauseum but I feel the club could have squeezed one more year out of him, even if it meant he played minimally and got him cherry ripe for the pointy end

It's tiring man.
The kid is doing GREAT.

Rubbish.
I expect the same from everyone.
I called doc for being crap for a number of games & I got a bake over that.
I have called out smith on a number of occasions for poor form.
I have called for Lewis to be rested when he was ordinary early.
If you are only finding my concerns about Sicilys defensive efforts concerning them don't read them.
As far as his attributes go & my expectations there are concerned; my point was that he is a young player with an inflated sense of self should probably model his actions on Sam Mitchell rather than Dermott Brereton.
There is always characters in the AFL & I'm sure Sicily will become one of those in time but I would personally like to see the humble worker develop into a charismatic star than a cocky kid try to replicate something that has been out of the game for 30 years...
I have enjoyed watching him play as a forward & I don't have a problem with his marking & kicking, I think it's exceptional!
My view has not been set in stone & I have conceded he has improved slightly with his defensive efforts.
I have no way written this kid off, merely calling him out on his defensive skills & the so called "swagger" that is raved about; I call BS on this because he doesn't have the runs on the board to back it up!

We could use lake at times even as a foward during a game like this one, kick the ball on his head and he marks whatever comes his way. I know it's been discussed ad nauseum but I feel the club could have squeezed one more year out of him, even if it meant he played minimally and got him cherry ripe for the pointy end
He would have been out for 4 weeks after that game :)

It was digusting the way Norf kept targeting Bruest all game. He is a small forward with no thuggery in him.

Why? Firrito is a talentless waste of space so if he went head to head with Breust he would have been destroyed. Instead he, and the other North defenders, got inside Breust's head and appeared to put him off his game. Honestly I would be expecting to see more of the tactic now.

That said was good to see Rioli finally snap and start sticking up for Breust.

So wish we had Roughy and Hodge out there to straighten them out. Also reckon we should have kept Lake, if not to take on the gorillas and control the back line, but as an enforcer.

But we won the game, right? Bruest can take care of himself. The thuggery was on and it was his turn to go. He never ran from the "contest". I reckon he did a great job taking the heat for the side.

What's with all the articles saying North Melbourne apologises FOR Scott? Sounds like he has been gagged...... ;)
My thoughts too. Why the f* can't he apologise for himself?

I see a quite large fine coming his way.

I think the press reports this week about the roughness in the game have subtly attributed most of the crap that went on to Scotty's boys. Lots of words about how the Hawks weren't sucked in and kept their cool to win in the end.

I can't help feeling that the wheels have fallen off down at Arden Street. Scott throwing tanties in the presser, players gagged, club apologies on behalf of the coach. After winning 9, they are obviously feeling the pressure of losing three out of four and not handling it well. Scott's behaviour is escalating the pressure. I wouldn't be surprised to see a total cave in in the second half of the season.

Oh, I reckon some pretty serious consequences are likely from this. Norf have gone onto Brayshaw is the only guy who works here mode. Brayshaw and the lawyer typing our press releases.

This was a monumentally stupid and amateur mistake by Scott. I think all of the "integrity of the game" instincts which the AFL managed to ignore during the Essendon fiasco are now cranked up to 11. The comments from the umpires that Norf are the worst serial whiners give a little insight, I think, into the mood at all house about this.

Sicily is going to be a gun. Made an out of form otherwise gun Key defender look like an amateur. I'd say he's entitled to a little swagger and it's good, it infuriates opposition.
Totally agree about Sic, but have to say that if the Hawks are going to take part in the big final, they are going to need a big defender, so its time to put a lot into Brand who is all that we have really got to put down there. I say give him the attention that he needs. We also need a big man up forward to take strong high balls coming in from up field, or at least get the ball to ground level for our great small forwards. But having said that I do agree that TOB is developing well if he can just build up a bit more along the lines of the great Roughy. The Cats team last night was perfectly balanced with talls to mids to smalls, and are going to be hard to beat in the run up to, and in the finals.

Late to the party... but how good was Bruest's mark in the goal square? Especially after being targeted all night.
That's what happens when you keep an eye on the ball, Firroto.

Ha ha, I like some of the deliberate misspelling of that nothing team's players in this thread.

Zeebull, Forroto, etc.

Keep it coming boys, nobody knows who the nonentities are!

HERE HERE! Definitely agree!

Anyone remember Ziebell in his efforts to "set the tone" trying wholeheartedly to pull down Smith by his jumper and failing while Smith just stood there with his arms outstretched.

Picked his targets did Ziebell, the skinniest and the ones with their backs turned.
Well, except when he leapt into Big Boy's arms like a toddler jumping up to his daddy. And when BB dropped him like a sack of spuds, of course he was the one who got the free...

Autopsy Hawthorn v the great pretenders