How do you respond to a difficult eagles loss?

How do you respond to a bad footy loss?

How do you cope with (or not cope with!) a difficult footy loss?
How I react depends on the circumstances/game/other things happening in my life at the time but what surprised me was that my immediate reactions today were crying (I haven't cried over the footy since about 2007 and never cried about a H&A game before) and feeling physically sick. I also wanted to brood alone. I'm normally more of a debriefing person, followed by *it could be worse* or *footy doesn't really matter* person

I've been off sugar for 2 weeks. After we lost I ate sugar. Felt good.
Comfort eating, oops oversight on my part. I've used that strategy too. Along with the opposite (exercise)

Other

I like to think that we are building something for the back end or next year, then I wake in a cold sweat
Sounds like look on the bright side to me :)

gutted, but i knew midway through the 3rd quarter we were gonna lose coz we didnt take our chances. proud of our effort tonight, nobody including my slef gave us a chance tonight, still to lose to those flogs in such a tight game, it hurt, it hurt a whole bunch.

I usually start by swearing really loud at the tv.

Then I take my daughter out for some icecream or to the playground. After about half an hour I remember I'm getting worked up about a game that I'm not even playing and I chill out a fair bit.

Then I do it all again a fortnight later.

Drinks, table tennis dominance and a foot long joint to push the pain away. That was our chance to beat the filth at home and we blew it. Dominated the game but let too many easy goals through.

A part of me says we are building to something better long term.
On the other hand I see honourable losses as what they are and they don't mean crap.
We continue to play the same midfield and we lose more often than not.
The losing does not hurt me as sometimes you simply are not good enough, but look at today against Collingwood we dominated the midfield for 3/4 of the game, the other quarter was dominated by class midfielders like Pendelbury and we lose the match.
It is so obvious our midfield even when dominating have zero influence on the game yet each week we continue with the same guys.
All I know is that the WCE will never ever win a premiership while Priddis, Selwood and Masten are part of our midfield. If that means we have to wait for another 5 years or so to eliminate these guys then so be it.

angry-gif1.gif

I agree with you GWS, but I also said we'd never win a flag with Hunter and Glass as our KPDs. 3 years later we did precisely that.

For me Marlin01 today was the biggest of all pointers where our midfield is at. we dominated the midfield today for 3/4 yet failed to hit the scoreboard. This is and has been an ongoing problem for 3 years now. Pendelbury in one quarter won the game for them pretty much on his own.
Others might think today was a positive good performance, i predicted what would happen to my mate yesterday and said we will play well, we will push them and at some stage look all over them but we will lose in the end.
I would like to think our club knows where we are at, I am sure they do. What worries me is that next week our midfield will be the same and it will be same old shit again.
We will not be winning the flag this year, I would rather dump this midfield, lose the next 10 games and try all our young players and new players through the midfield. Where we finish on the ladder has no impact on our club in regards to income so who cares.
How any of the coaches think priddis, selwood or Masten are going to find some extraordinary abilities they don't have now is beyond me. They are what they are. They won't get better. Nothing against any of them but they are producing their best now which is C Grade or maybe B Grade at best in this comp. Why are we perseveering with them when we can't have success with them? And we are not blooding new players because of them?
Happy to give Simpson time, but sure ly he must know these answers already. We all do.

Depends on who we are playing and the circumstances. When we lose to fremantle I just get genuinely disgusted and only vent with my hubby and daughters who hate them like I do..then I move on quickly and wipe it from my mind. The loss to Carlton I was angry and broody, what can one say about a stupid wasteful loss like that against a very mediocre side..that's swearing and venting territory.
When we get smashed by a good side I can shrug it off and bide my time waiting till we are that good side again soon.
The loss to Collingwood yesterday just utter dissapointment which tends to grow for a few days and I need to talk about it..in fact talked to a Doggies supporter all the way home on the train and bus after the game and it helped. Woke up this morning still feeling bad..yesterday was a game that really mattered.

How do you cope with (or not cope with!) a difficult footy loss?
How I react depends on the circumstances/game/other things happening in my life at the time but what surprised me was that my immediate reactions today were crying (I haven't cried over the footy since about 2007 and never cried about a H&A game before) and feeling physically sick. I also wanted to brood alone. I'm normally more of a debriefing person, followed by *it could be worse* or *footy doesn't really matter* person
are you man or woman?

Bang the shit out of my missus
yep thats how I deal with it too, I bang the shit out of your missus and while we're on the subject do you start work at the normal time tomorrow?
*joke obviously

I just got a bit cranky and consumed more beer to get over it.

How do you respond to a difficult eagles loss?