In the wings members

Just coz this upgrade saga is keeping me amused, might as well keep asking questions that are unlikely to be answered. Would love to know the number of seats that are released each upgrade. Eg. 1000 seats / upgrade
Like to think if i can work that might be sneaky chance of receiving an email one day!

wow

gee thanks. im guessing i will be able to watch the game every week on my tv at home.
It's what I've done (mostly) while on the list for the last 10 years.

I don't get all the angst, but then again I was on the wait list for ages and after I got past the 3-4 year mark and saw how slowly it moved, I just kinda got complacent about it all.

I just bought tickets in the Public reserve and went to all the games except the derby. The access ITW gave me to finals tickets before the public meant I could also go to all of the home finals. In the end I was actually quite surprised to realise I'd been on the list for 10 years. It should be easy to get public reserve tickets with the New stadium as well, with the increased allocation.

Did everyone get this email?

With our first match at Optus Stadium imminent, we are faced with an issue in relation to our ticket onsale for the season.

Unlike previous seasons, where we have provided the opportunity for our In The Wings members to enjoy a priority presale period in relation to tickets for West Coast Eagles home matches, the State Government will no longer allow this to occur and requires us to strictly observe the requirement that 6,000 tickets be made available to the general public as a whole for each of our home matches. The State Government’s policy, at this time, also means no priority presale period for any of our members for away derby matches.

We are not pleased with this outcome and have fought hard against this decision, with no success, and this has somewhat delayed the onsale date.

As one of our members most affected by this decision, we would like to provide this advance notice that the ticket onsale will commence at 9am on Monday, March 12. We will also send a reminder to you first thing on Monday morning, to make sure that you don’t miss the opportunity!

Tickets to matches up to and including round 11 will be available in this onsale.

I appreciate that you may be upset by this decision; however, I ask that you please not vent your frustration at the club or the Membership Services team.

Thank you for your understanding.

Did everyone get this email?

With our first match at Optus Stadium imminent, we are faced with an issue in relation to our ticket onsale for the season.

Unlike previous seasons, where we have provided the opportunity for our In The Wings members to enjoy a priority presale period in relation to tickets for West Coast Eagles home matches, the State Government will no longer allow this to occur and requires us to strictly observe the requirement that 6,000 tickets be made available to the general public as a whole for each of our home matches. The State Government’s policy, at this time, also means no priority presale period for any of our members for away derby matches.

We are not pleased with this outcome and have fought hard against this decision, with no success, and this has somewhat delayed the onsale date.

As one of our members most affected by this decision, we would like to provide this advance notice that the ticket onsale will commence at 9am on Monday, March 12. We will also send a reminder to you first thing on Monday morning, to make sure that you don’t miss the opportunity!

Tickets to matches up to and including round 11 will be available in this onsale.

I appreciate that you may be upset by this decision; however, I ask that you please not vent your frustration at the club or the Membership Services team.

Thank you for your understanding.
Id say it would be just those who wont be offered an upgrade

I got it and my upgrade window opens tomorrow morning at 10am so I'm guessing it was a blanket email to all ITW.

They might have to look at reducing the cost of ITW or including some merchandise (a cap maybe? cheapskates!) otherwise they'll lose a lot of people.

Also I think those in the top 2-3,000 ITW after all the allocations are done will probably find they'll move through the waitlist a lot quicker. than the 2-300 positions prior to the stadium being built. The waitlist slowed down a lot once the new stadium was announced.

I think after the first season of the new stadium some people will start rationalising their tickets or moving to 3-5game memberships.

Id say it would be just those who wont be offered an
I got it and my upgrade window opens tomorrow morning at 10am so I'm guessing it was a blanket email to all ITW.

They might have to look at reducing the cost of ITW or including some merchandise (a cap maybe? cheapskates!) otherwise they'll lose a lot of people.

Also I think those in the top 2-3,000 ITW after all the allocations are done will probably find they'll move through the waitlist a lot quicker. than the 2-300 positions prior to the stadium being built. The waitlist slowed down a lot once the new stadium was announced.

I think after the first season of the new stadium some people will start rationalising their tickets or moving to 3-5game memberships.
Yeh ok nice one. Pretty sure it has been said just buy tix as youll be reimbursed if offered seating. Best to hedge your bets and snaffle a couple I reckon.

I can't justify the $70 a year without the presale so I'll be cancelling unfortunatly. Hopefully I'll get some general public tickets or I'll be watching who ever play Freo to get my live footy fix.

been on the list for nearly as long as you (8 years and counting). the angst is hearing that others who bought kids and will now upgrade to an adult seat via payment or those who had members in the existing group and got piggybacked

now the in the wing members are also being shafted with pre sale tickets as well and you can now see $70 is pretty much putting your name to a list that god knows when youll be able to get tickets.

At 9000th on the list, I think I’ll just cancel my membership and get Foxtel.

Yeah thats pretty rotten. You will still probably get a seat through open admission, I heard somewhere they are given members first pick?
They also have a members buy back option which you get first dibs at so you will still get to go to games, just won't be the same seat each time.

been on the list for nearly as long as you (8 years and counting). the angst is hearing that others who bought kids and will now upgrade to an adult seat via payment or those who had members in the existing group and got piggybacked

now the in the wing members are also being shafted with pre sale tickets as well and you can now see $70 is pretty much putting your name to a list that god knows when youll be able to get tickets.

New stadium, new arrangement , sook by all means but if you need someone to blame, dial a prayer.

New stadium and new arrangement but seems to still be the same price.

Fair enough for people to complain, they would've been holding out hope of finally getting off the waiting list when the new stadium opens and now they find out that not only are they still waiting, they don't even get the benefits they used to.

New stadium and new arrangement but seems to still be the same price.

Fair enough for people to complain, they would've been holding out hope of finally getting off the waiting list when the new stadium opens and now they find out that not only are they still waiting, they don't even get the benefits they used to.

Can understand the frustration as to not knowing whether an upgrade will be offered or not. Am waiting myself. But, they were never going to be able to upgrade everyone & there were also never any gurantees.

As to 1st access to tickets, thats out of the clubs control & if ppl are going to ditch their membership because of all of this, Id have to question why you're a member anyway?

Attachments

• unnamed-1.gif
    unnamed-1.gif
    4.5 MB · Views: 8
As to 1st access to tickets, thats out of the clubs control & if ppl are going to ditch their membership because of all of this, Id have to question why you're a member anyway?

I understand it's out of the club's control, but at the end of the day people are entitled to do a cost benefit analysis and decide whether it's still worth paying the $70 a year. It doesn't mean they're going to stop supporting the team.

I agree, I won't stop supporting the team. I'll still fly to an away game once a year and try to get general public tickets when i can, but if I'm in the general public pool for the left over tickets I won't be paying $70 for a lanyard, sticker and a badge.

Can understand the frustration as to not knowing whether an upgrade will be offered or not. Am waiting myself. But, they were never going to be able to upgrade everyone & there were also never any gurantees.

I will keep my ITW membership because to me it is part of supporting the club.

I am most disappointed by how few ITW members progressed. I never really expected to get seats this year but I had hoped to progress on the list by more than 3 or 4 thousand places. I figure I will end up around 6k on the list which could take another decade or more at the usual rate of turnover. Perhaps a 60k seat stadium was not big enough.

The $70 was worth it given the early access to tickets and the hope of thousands of seats becoming available via the new stadium, but now if you're still on in the waiting list with no prospect of getting a membership for the foreseeable future and no side benefits what's the point?

Hopefully the club is looking at other meaningful ways it can provide value for ITW members.

I'm somewhere around 3550... picking my seats tomorrow. If you want front row or cheer squad you have to ask for it separately not via the virtual venue - that's how I interpreted them email they sent me.

ahhh well done mate, I'm #3758, and starting to get the feeling I'm going to be close to a #1 ticket holder for who knows how long..
bean.gif

The State Government’s policy, at this time, also means no priority presale period for any of our members for away derby matches.

Kinda shit. But for now will probably work in Eagles favour. We will only have the 6k seats available. Say at worst a 50/50 split between dockers fans and eagles fans buying those tickets (and thats at very worst - the state is probably a 70%-30% split??). So only 3K dockers fans get a ticket at our home derby. On the other hand I doubt Freo will get anywhere near 40k seated members. So 20k seats available to buy. Again at very worst a 50/50 split means 10k eagles fans at an away derby.

But I think its just going to open the door for scalpers.

In the wings members