News James Hird hired by the AFL-owned Giants.

I’ve often thought how immature the AFL world is (the inner sanctum, footy clubs, HQ etc.) but seems they’re much more mature than the general footy public going by this thread.

Yep, Hird stuffed up, paid his penance and looks to have been approached to guide some of the youngest fine men in the land in a game he excelled at as a player himself.

No worries guys, keep holding grudges that mean absolutely zero to the real world. Will only put you in a grave earlier the way some of you carry on

When Essendon supporters stop defending the behavior of their club pre and post the drugs scandal and apologize for bringing the entire code into disrepute then Ill move on. But no , it was Demetriou , it was Gil , it was Dank , it was Caro , it was the WEapon , it was Ziggy , it was Melbourne, it was Gold Coast , it was Geelong. It was never Essendon. Defended by an Essendon media mafia that honestly was so compromised it became even more embarrassing.

To think how feverish you Essendon people were about Carltons salary cap stuff. They atoned , took their medicine and blamed no-one but themselves( rightfully). But you guys and your victim mentality is just pathetic. That's why their is zero respect for that club, your own supporters bring about this disrespect as your sense of entitlement and lack of accountability is glaring.

Enjoy the current long long wilderness.

Wow , just a pathetic cohort of supporters.

When Essendon supporters stop defending the behavior of their club pre and post the drugs scandal and apologize for bringing the entire code into disrepute then Ill move on. But no , it was Demetriou , it was Gil , it was Dank , it was Caro , it was the WEapon , it was Ziggy , it was Melbourne, it was Gold Coast , it was Geelong. It was never Essendon. Defended by an Essendon media mafia that honestly was so compromised it became even more embarrassing.

To think how feverish you Essendon people were about Carltons salary cap stuff. They atoned , took their medicine and blamed no-one but themselves( rightfully). But you guys and your victim mentality is just pathetic. That's why their is zero respect for that club, your own supporters bring about this disrespect as your sense of entitlement and lack of accountability is glaring.

Enjoy the current long long wilderness.

Wow , just a pathetic cohort of supporters.
Why should the supporters apologise to anyone? The supporters didn't dope anyone. What a bizarre take.

In the real world cheats shouldn't be allowed tp proper and your club tried cheating and was caught.

And??

The people in question have served there penance and the more important figureheads removed from my club..

Another weird take

What does Essendon have to do with Hirdy returning to football at a completely different state let alone different club

And??

The people in question have served there penance and the more important figureheads removed from my club..

Another weird take

What does Essendon have to do with Hirdy returning to football at a completely different state let alone different club
Read my earlier posting to Beerfish

I honestly don't know.
Did they destroy all evidence of what was injected into the players?
I was talking to a sports journo and he said "we didn't have the money to dig into other clubs".

Read my earlier posting to Beerfish

This one??

It has, but some bombers fans still claim their club is innocent, but you to your credit are not one of them.
In my opinion the whole sage will haunt Hird more than your club in the long term, and I'm sure that if Hird turns up at another club in some capacity the actions of that club will be very closely watched, and the same with Dank as well

I already responded to this before your comment. No matter what he does, he'll be kept on a tight leash.

Why should the supporters apologise to anyone? The supporters didn't dope anyone. What a bizarre take.

thats it , concentrate on the one percenter , that’ll make it go away . Really the stuff of genius .

by virtue of your ( by ‘your’ i mean the entire essendon cohort , incl Robbo and Connolly ) who keep bemoaning the “injustice” and keep attcking / deflecting back to Demetriou you have become apologists for the situation .

Dress it anyway you like , until you all acknowledge it , this includes denouncing the appalling and factually incorrect Foxtel episode in the recent series where the cries for Watson to get the brownlow reinstated were just a farce , all supporters of this generation will hold Essendon in contempt.

the only thing thst is bizarre is your constant denials and refusal to cede the fact that Hird got his come uppance . It’s embarrassing for you and the media mafia .

grow up.

thats it , concentrate on the one percenter , that’ll make it go away . Really the stuff of genius .

by virtue of your ( by ‘your’ i mean the entire essendon cohort , incl Robbo and Connolly ) who keep bemoaning the “injustice” and keep attcking / deflecting back to Demetriou you have become apologists for the situation .

Dress it anyway you like , until you all acknowledge it , this includes denouncing the appalling and factually incorrect Foxtel episode in the recent series where the cries for Watson to get the brownlow reinstated were just a farce , all supporters of this generation will hold Essendon in contempt.

the only thing thst is bizarre is your constant denials and refusal to cede the fact that Hird got his come uppance . It’s embarrassing for you and the media mafia .

grow up.

Again, what does Essendon and it's supporter base have to do with James Hird taking up a casual refferal role at an interstate football club struggling with the finer details of AFL football?

The implication is heavy in the texts about sidelining the club doctor.

It wasn't just passive, he was an active participant in dodging the rules.
Also, every single player that had the jabs lied on their ASADA forms, several times each.
When asked why they'd all neglected to mention all of the jabs they were getting on their ASADA documentation, Watson and the others all had a standard response: "I can't explain that"
As guilty as sin the lot of them. They all new that they were drug cheating at the time. They all lied through their teeth about it and tried to cover it up. They were lucky to get off as lightly as they did. These days they'd all be banned for 5 years.

James Hird was likely a drug cheat as a player and he was definitely a drug cheat as a coach, being an enthusiastic participant in the implementation and attempted cover-up of the most systematic drug cheating program in Australian sporting history. He should absolutely be let no where near the game at any level ever again.

Maybe Melbourne did, we know Essendon certainly didn’t destroy all evidence.
Do you think Melbourne should have been investigated?
Yes i think so and not only Melbourne but other clubs as well. Lets be honest and admit that the game has had drug problems for many years and hence why the brought in the 3 strike rule
Are you saying that the bombers didn't destroy all evidence because they didn't keep records of what as injected into the players, or they have hidden some evidence?

Also, every single player that had the jabs lied on their ASADA forms, several times each.
When asked why they'd all neglected to mention all of the jabs they were getting on their ASADA documentation, Watson and the others all had a standard response: "I can't explain that"
As guilty as sin the lot of them. They all new that they were drug cheating at the time. They all lied through their teeth about it and tried to cover it up. They were lucky to get off as lightly as they did. These days they'd all be banned for 5 years.

James Hird was likely a drug cheat as a player and he was definitely a drug cheat as a coach, being an enthusiastic participant in the implementation and attempted cover-up of the most systematic drug cheating program in Australian sporting history. He should absolutely be let no where near the game at any level ever again.

agree with your sentiment but i reckon the ONLY innocent person in this was Dr Reid . Man that club tried to sully hus reputation .
he was a great man , just had that club surround him with crooks .
its funny in life how lay people, even nurses , always think they know more about medicine than doctors.

My dad was a surgeon , it used to amaze me what id hear !! we see it now with vaccination. Mental giants telling us all what to do . unfortunately the EFC coach and managers ignored the great man .

Hirdys knowledge of the how game is played is amazing and will help the Giants go the next step
If he's been out for 10 years, how will his decade old knowledge be useful?

(also pretty sure it's less than 10 years)

News James Hird hired by the AFL-owned Giants.