Toast James Sicily - Hawthorn captain 2023 - AA 2023!

Yep and you can bet your bottom dollar that a star player will do the same thing in a prelim but the AFL being the AFL will grade it as low impact so they can control the narrative and let the player play. Nothing surer.
Pretty sure this already happened in that Richmond vs GWS Prelim a few years back. Shiel even missed the rest of the game with a concussion.

If Caminiti went after the call like Sicily thought he was going to it would have been a side bump and nothing more. The guy pulled up like he wasn't going for the ball but Sic didn't know that. Couldn't exactly tackle the guy as he didn't have possession so that argument doesn't wash. Bloody ridiculous stuff.

What really s….a me up the wall is that anytime Sicily is involved in a potentially reportable incident the MRO give him exactly 0% margin of doubt. In essence he is guilty until proven innocent.

But if it’s say Patrick Cripps or Patrick Dangerfield in the exact same incident it will all be, oh what an unfortunate incident it’s just part of footy he’s a good bloke he wouldn’t have meant it.

What a load of absolute Bollocks 😡

I feel for you then.

He is an incredible player who is an absolute joy to watch.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk
I’ll be okay. Thanks for your concern. 😉

He’s very good to watch at the moment and played a great game on Saturday.

I just don’t love him.

He and the club just copped the week for him hitting Caminiti in the head. He didn’t need to do it, but he did, and we don’t know why.

That’s one of the reasons I find it hard to love him. Our captain shouldn’t be getting himself suspended like that.

Not helped by the Saints flog making an early run for an Oscar - ‘strangely’ got up rather quickly when his dive didn’t result in a free

Sicily premium strikes again as there’s no way that warrants a week relative to other incidents during the season

What really s….a me up the wall is that anytime Sicily is involved in a potentially reportable incident the MRO give him exactly 0% margin of doubt. In essence he is guilty until proven innocent.

But if it’s say Patrick Cripps or Patrick Dangerfield in the exact same incident it will all be, oh what an unfortunate incident it’s just part of footy he’s a good bloke he wouldn’t have meant it.

Come next season James Sicily will be changing his name to Patrick Sicily to ensure favourable MRO treatment

I’ll be okay. Thanks for your concern.😉

I just don’t love him.

He and the club just copped the week for him hitting Caminiti in the head. He didn’t need to do it, but he did, and we don’t know why.

That’s one of the reasons I find it hard to love him. Our captain shouldn’t be getting himself suspended like that.
Because Luke Hodge never did anything like this. Hodge would be risking a suspension every week with how he played, and I don't have a problem with either of them. In 2023 they'd have him out of the game for 6 weeks with what he tried to do to Wingard back in the day.

I miss that Wingard

Jordan Lewis was another.
The unsociable aspect of our team a decade ago worked for us.
I don't mind it.

It’s clear the AFL is doing whatever it can to reduce, if not eliminate, players heads getting struck in tackles / bumps.

Hodge was able to do that 5 - 20 years ago because the competition (and the players) didn’t appreciate the link between repeated head collisions and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy.

Knowing what we do now (Tuck, Frawley, Farmer, Barnes, Smith, etc) the rules change and we have to protect the head at all costs.

Hodge would be suspended now if he did - and rightly so. People should learn and adjust their behaviour accordingly.

It’s pretty simple.

It’s clear the AFL is doing whatever it can to reduce, if not eliminate, players heads getting struck in tackles / bumps.

Hodge was able to do that 5 - 20 years ago because the competition (and the players) didn’t appreciate the link between repeated head collisions and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy.

Knowing what we do now (Tuck, Frawley, Farmer, Barnes, Smith, etc) the rules change and we have to protect the head at all costs.

Hodge would be suspended now if he did - and rightly so. People should learn and adjust their behaviour accordingly.

It’s pretty simple.
Ah yes, you used the full words for CTE. Very smart.

The point was that I don't want our players to stop attacking contests because their opponent might pull back and open their head to contact like Caminiti did. You're acting like this was an intentional hit to the head by Sicily when it wasn't.

I do have to wonder if your reaction to it would have been different if it wasn't a player you've already admitted you don't like.

I’ll be okay. Thanks for your concern.😉

I just don’t love him.

He clipped the bloke who then flopped, nothing in it and it’s a farce.

Also, you mustn’t of liked hodge 💀

He choose to bump, he got a player in the head.

It’s really that simple.
He was always getting a week.

He choose to bump, he got a player in the head.

It’s really that simple.
He was always getting a week.
Don't often agree with the bloke up there, but do you think the penalty would be the same for say, Bontempelli, who would be up there as odds on favourite for the Brownlow?

I agree by the way the rules are laid out that a week is on the money, but I do think that it would not be the case if there was a chance it'd invalidate a possible Brownlow winner.

Don't often agree with the bloke up there, but do you think the penalty would be the same for say, Bontempelli, who would be up there as odds on favourite for the Brownlow?
Just sounds like a conspiracy theory.

Not without precedent. Cotchin concussed Shiel in a year where 3 fines were cause for a week suspension, and not only did he not get a week for opting to bump he didn't even cop a fine. They removed that rule in addition to the carry over points system specifically to avoid being embarrassed by a star player missing finals or being ruled ineligible for the Brownlow. The AFL is notoriously conscious of appearances.

Its not a conspiracy. The media do control the narrative. I mean just a couple of weeks ago van rooyen gets suspended for two and the media get behind the kid there is a huge uproar and he gets off. I long for those days in the past where the media had to shut the **** up till after the verdict. They do prejudice the sanctions its as as plain as day.

Not without precedent. Cotchin concussed Shiel in a year where 3 fines were cause for a week suspension, and not only did he not get a week for opting to bump he didn't even cop a fine. They removed that rule in addition to the carry over points system specifically to avoid being embarrassed by a star player missing finals or being ruled ineligible for the Brownlow. The AFL is notoriously conscious of appearances.
It’s not 2019 anymore. Are you suggesting an incident involving Cotchin in 2019 before the AFL copped a class action about head trauma is an appropriate comparison.

It’s far stricter now, and rightly so. Would be negligent for the AFL to continue to pretend it has not been an issue which needed to be addressed.

….and KermitJagger - just because I don’t love our captain doesn’t mean I don’t admire how he is playing or that I don’t “like” him. I do.

I’m just more critical of his flaws than others on here.

Finally - it’s odd that some here are sooking about him copping a week’s suspension.

The club and Sicily himself accepted the one week ban pretty quickly. 🤷‍♂️

It’s not 2019 anymore. Are you suggesting an incident involving Cotchin in 2019 before the AFL copped a class action about head trauma is an appropriate comparison.

It’s far stricter now, and rightly so. Would be negligent for the AFL to continue to pretend it has not been an issue which needed to be addressed.

….and KermitJagger - just because I don’t love our captain doesn’t mean I don’t admire how he is playing or that I don’t “like” him. I do.

I’m just more critical of his flaws than others on here.

Finally - it’s odd that some here are sooking about him copping a week’s suspension.

The club and Sicily himself accepted the one week ban pretty quickly. 🤷‍♂️
The point is that if the AFL have the ability to manipulate an outcome, as they do with things like the tribunal and free agency compensation, they will probably use that ability if put in a situation where it would be embarrassing for them to not do so. They've done it before.

Talking about the class action is convenient because it was this year, leaves me with very little to work with. All I can do is lean on the AFLs history of doing just this, and assume they'd find a way out by just changing the impact.

"I'm not a big fan of him by any stretch" is a quote by you prior to his game on the weekend, his report and suspension. Clearly it was a leap for me to interpret this fairly definitive statement as you not liking him.

To address your point about sooking that he's got a week - I'm not. I understand that this is a week in the way that the rules are written but, as explained above, it would be applied differently to different players in different situations AND that if Caminiti had not pulled back it would have been seen completely differently. The club most certainly wouldn't have accepted it if we had something on the line.

It's the holier than thou preaching from people like you acting like it was a dirty act, intentionally head high and stupid that I can't stand. Sicily has done intentionally dirty things in the past, this is not one.

You can’t really even compare the AFL tribunal from month to month, let alone year to year. The rules and how they are upheld change more often than North’s coaching panel.

The rules can change all they want but it's still the AFL running it. It's not the rules I have issue with, it's the AFLs history of being loose with how they enforce them.

Welcome to the AFL.

He chose to bump? He chose to try and get his body in front of the other player. Happens in a pack marking situation 20 times a game. If we are serious about head protection, MAKE ALL THE PLAYERS WEAR A BRADSHAW LIKE HELMUT...

Toast James Sicily - Hawthorn captain 2023 - AA 2023!